DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed July 7, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 30, and 34 have been amended; supports for the amendment can be found at least in paragraphs [0070] and [0110]-[0111] and Figures 2 and 6 of the Instant Specification. Claims 1-41 remain pending and have been examined on their merits in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed July 7, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant argues a) Jo in view of Huang does not appear to teach or suggest “wherein the case comprisies: an upper surface portion having a flat plate shape to an outer edge thereof; a central portion which is positioned at a central portion of the upper surface portion, has a terminal hole through which the terminal passes, and protrudes outward further than an uppermost surface of the upper surface portion; and a side surface portion extending downward from the outer edge of the upper surface portion” as recite din Applicant’s amended claim 1 and b) Miyashi does not appear to teach or suggest the positive electrode collector 11 comprising a terminal coupling portion arranged at a central portion of an electrode plate coupling portion, contacting a terminal, and protruding toward an electrode assembly.
Regarding argument A, Applicant’s argument has been considered but is considered moot in view of the new grounds of rejection below in view of Applicant’s amendments to the independent claim 1.
Regarding argument B, Miyashi teaches the positive electrode collector includes a flange-shaped collar section 14; therefore, when viewed in a figure such as Figure 6A, the portion of the positive electrode collector in contact with the terminal protrudes toward the electrode assembly. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-22, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20240380033 A1), hereinafter referred to as Jo, in view of Ashbolt et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20090029240 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ashbolt.
Regarding claim 1, Jo teaches a cylindrical secondary battery 1 (“a cylindrical secondary battery”) (see e.g., Abstract). Jo teaches the cylindrical secondary battery includes an electrode assembly 10 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) that includes a first electrode having a first polarity, a second electrode having a second polarity and a separator between the first electrode and the second electrode (“an electrode assembly comprising a first electrode plate, a separator, and a second electrode plate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0055]). Jo teaches the cylindrical secondary battery includes a battery can 20 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) accommodating the electrode assembly (see e.g., Figure 2) having an open portion on bottom (“a case having a cylindrical shape, in which the electrode assembly is accommodated, and of which a lower end portion is open”) (see e.g., paragraph [0071]). Jo teaches a penetrating terminal 40 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) passes through the upper surface of the battery can 20 and coupled to the battery can through an insulation gasket 50 (“a terminal passing through an upper surface portion of the case and coupled to the case through a first gasket”) (see e.g., paragraph [0089]). Jo teaches the cylindrical second battery includes a first current collector plate 60 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) interposed between the upper surface of the electrode assembly 10 and the battery can 20 (see e.g., Figure 2) and coupled to the central area of the terminal insertion portion 42 (see e.g., paragraph [0091]) and the uncoated region 11 of the electrode assembly 10 (“a first current collector plate arranged between an upper surface of the electrode assembly and the case, and electrically connecting the first electrode plate and the terminal”) (see e.g., paragraph [0105]). Jo teaches the cylindrical second battery includes a cap plate 30 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) on the bottom of the battery can 20 (“a cap plate configured to seal the lower end portion of the case”) (see e.g., paragraph [0073]). Jo teaches the upper surface of the battery can 20 has a flat plate shape (“wherein the case comprises: the upper surface portion having a flat plate shape to an outer edge thereof”) with a central portion of the upper surface of the battery can 20 having the penetrating terminal 40 (“central portion which is positioned at a central portion of the upper surface portion, has a terminal hole through which the terminal passes”) (see e.g., Figures 2 and 3) and has a side surface portion extending downward from an edge of the upper surface of the battery can 20 (“side surface portion extending downward from the outer edge of the upper surface portion”) (see e.g., Annotated Figure 3).
Annotated Jo Figure 3
Jo does not explicitly teach the central portion protrudes outward further than an uppermost surface of the upper surface portion.
However, Ashbolt teaches a battery (see e.g., Abstract) comprising a housing 102 having a cylindrical shape, a first cover 108, an anode current collector 202 and a seal 204 (see e.g., paragraph [0057]). Ashbolt teaches the central region of the seal 204 protrudes further upper than the outer regions of the seal 204 in order to position the seal cover to the first cover 108 and occupy less space within the housing 102, and thus, the battery can include approximately four to five percent more space available to house other components of the battery 100 (see e.g., paragraph [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the upper surface of the can of Jo to have a central region that protrudes further upward than the outer edges, as taught by Ashbolt, in order to include approximately four to five percent more space available to house other components of the battery (see e.g., paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jo teaches the penetrating terminal 40 has a circular shape (“wherein the terminal hole has a circular shape or a polygonal shape”) (see e.g., Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 2, as previously described.
Jo teaches the penetrating terminal 40 includes a terminal exposure portion 41 exposed through the battery can 20 (“wherein the terminal comprises: a head arranged on a central portion of the case”) and a terminal insertion portion 42 that may be rivet-coupled onto the inner surface of the battery can 20 (“a fastening portion which extends from the central portion of the head in an inward direction of the case, is integrally formed with the head, and passes through the terminal hole”) (see e.g., paragraph [0090] and Figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3, as previously described.
Jo teaches the terminal insertion portion 42 is also a circular shape (“wherein an outer diameter of the fastening portion corresponds to a shape of the terminal hole in a plan view”) and a diameter of the terminal insertion portion 42 is smaller than the terminal hole when aligned with the upper surface of the battery can 20 (“a diameter of the fastening portion is less than that of the terminal hole”) (see e.g., Figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3, as previously described.
Jo teaches the planar size of the terminal exposure portion 41 is larger than a planar size of the terminal insertion portion 42 (“wherein a planar size of the head is greater than a planar size of the fastening portion”) (see e.g., Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3, as previously described.
Jo teaches the terminal insertion portion 42 has an upper portion connected to the terminal exposure portion 41 and located in the terminal hole (“wherein the fastening portion comprises: an upper fastening portion connected to the head and located in the terminal hole of the upper surface portion of the case”) and has a lower portion extending downward from the upper portion located inside of the battery can 20 (“a lower fastening portion extending downward from the upper fastening portion and located inside the case”) (see e.g., Figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Jo teaches the lower portion of the terminal insertion portion 42 has a larger than the maximum width of the hole of the battery can 20 (“wherein an outer diameter of the lower fastening portion is greater than an outer diameter of the upper fastening portion”) (see e.g., paragraph [0090]).
Regarding claim 10, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3, as previously described.
Jo teaches the insulation gasket 50 is arranged between the terminal exposure portion 41 and the upper surface of the battery can 20 (see e.g., Figure 3) and between the terminal hole and the terminal insertion portion 42 (“wherein the first gasket is arranged between the head of the terminal and an upper surface of the central portion and between the terminal hole and the fastening portion of the terminal”) (see e.g., Figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jo teaches an inclined connection portion connecting the buckling portion of the upper surface of the battery case 5 surrounding the terminal 4 to the rest of the upper surface of the battery case 5 (“wherein the case further comprises an inclined connection portion connecting the central portion and the upper surface portion”) (see e.g., Annotated Figure 10) in order to increase stability of a connection between the battery terminal and the terminal insulating part (see e.g., paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 12, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
Jo teaches the upper surface of the battery can 20 is connected to the side surface portion by a bent portion bent in a rounded shape (“wherein the case further comprises a bent portion bent in a rounded shape between the upper surface portion and the side surface portion”) (see e.g., Annotated Figure 3).
Regarding claim 13, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 12, as previously described.
Jo teaches an insulator 70 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) covering the inner surfaces of the upper surface (includes the inner surfaces of the central portion, the connection portion, and the upper surface portion) and side surfaces of the battery can 20 (“further comprising an inner insulating member covering inner surfaces of the central portion, the connection portion, the upper surface portion, and the bent portion of the case”) (see e.g., Figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 11, as previously described.
Jo teaches an insulator 70 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) covering the inner surfaces of the upper surface of the battery can 20 (includes the inner surfaces of the central portion, the connection portion, and the upper surface portion) (“further comprising an inner insulating member covering inner surfaces of the central portion, the connection portion, and the upper surface portion of the case”) (see e.g., Figure 3).
Regarding claim 15, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jo teaches upper surface of the battery can surrounding the penetrating terminal 40 has a circular shape (“wherein the central portion has a circular shape or a polygonal shape”) (see e.g., Figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jo teaches the thickness of the upper surface of the battery can 20 is constant (“wherein a thickness of the central portion is less than or equal to a thickness of the upper surface portion”) (see e.g., Figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jo teaches the thickness of the upper surface of the battery can 20 is constant (“wherein a thickness of the central portion is in a range of 50% to 100% of a thickness of the upper surface portion”) (see e.g., Figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jo teaches an insulator 70 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) covering the inner surfaces of the upper surface of the battery can 20 (“further comprising an inner insulating member covering an inner surface of the central portion”) (see e.g., Figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jo teaches the first electrode current collector has a first uncoated region 11 in which the first electrode active material is not coated at one end in the widthwise direction (a direction parallel to the Z axis) protrudes upward (“wherein, in the electrode assembly, a positive electrode uncoated portion not coated with a positive electrode active material protrudes upward from the first electrode plate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0057] and Figure 2) and the second electrode current collector has a second uncoated region 12 in which the second electrode active material is not coated at the other end in the widthwise direction (the direction parallel to the Z axis) protrudes downward (“a negative electrode uncoated portion not coated with a negative electrode active material protrudes downward from the second electrode plate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0058] and Figure 2).
Regarding claim 20, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Jo teaches the battery can 20 includes a beading portion 21 below the electrode assembly (“wherein the case further comprises: a beading part recessed into the case on the cap plate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0073]) and a crimping portion 22 at the lower end that is extended and bent from the beading portion 21 to cover a part of the lower surface of the cap plate 30 around the outer circumferential surface of the cap plate 30 positioned below the beading portion 21 (“a crimping part formed below the cap plate by the lower end portion of the case being bent in an inward direction and configured to fix the cap plate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0074]).
Regarding claim 21, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 20, as previously described.
Jo teaches a sealing gasket positioned between the cap plate 30 and the crimping portion 22 of the battery can 20 (“further comprising a second gasket arranged between the cap plate and the beading part and between the cap plate and the crimping part”) (see e.g., paragraph [0084] and Figure 9). Jo teaches the cap plate 30 is non-polar (“wherein the cap plate is non-polar”) (see e.g., paragraph [0083]).
Regarding claim 22, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 21, as previously described.
Jo teaches the sealing gasket 90 has a lower end that protrudes further than the crimping portion 22 toward the center of the cap plate 30 (“wherein a lower end portion of the second gasket protrudes further than the crimping part toward a center of the cap plate”) (see e.g., Figure 9).
Regarding claim 26, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 21, as previously described.
Jo teaches a second current collector plate 80 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) and is coupled onto a coupling surface formed by the uncoated regions 12 (“further comprising a second current collector plate which has a circular plate shape corresponding to a lower surface of the electrode assembly and is in contact with and electrically connected to the second electrode plate exposed at the lower surface of the electrode assembly”) (see e.g., paragraph [0116] and Figure 9).
Regarding claim 27, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 26, as previously described.
Jo teaches the second current collector plate 80 has an uncoated region coupling portion 80a that is electrically connected to the electrode assembly (“wherein the second current collector plate comprises: a planar portion which has a circular shape and is in contact with the lower surface of the electrode assembly”) (see e.g., paragraph [0116]). Jo teaches the second current collector plate 80 includes a can coupling portion 80b that extends downward from an edge of the uncoated region coupling portion 80a (“an extension portion extending downward from an edge of the planar portion”) (see e.g., paragraph [0116] and Figure 9).
Regarding claim 28, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 27, as previously described.
Jo teaches the can coupling portion 80b is between the sealing gasket 90 and the beading portion 21 (“wherein the extension portion of the second current collector plate is between the second gasket and the beading part”) (see e.g., Figure 9).
Regarding claim 29, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 27, as previously described.
Jo teaches the can coupling portion 80b is bent to has a flat area along the lower beading portion 21b (“wherein the extension portion of the second current collector plate is bent or rounded along the beading part”) (see e.g., paragraph [0116] and Figure 9).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20240380033 A1) in view of Ashbolt et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20090029240 A1), and further in view of Hwangbo et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20220231345 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hwangbo.
Regarding claim 8, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Jo teaches the lower portion of the terminal insertion portion 42 has a groove formed inward from an outer surface (see e.g., Figure 3)
Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, does not explicitly teach wherein an outer diameter of the lower fastening portion is less than an outer diameter of the upper fastening portion.
However, Hwangbo teaches a battery (see e.g., Abstract). Hwangbo teaches the terminal 40 includes a terminal exposing portion 41 and a terminal insert portion 42, wherein the terminal insert portion 42 may include an electric connection portion 42a and a flange portion 42b (“a groove is formed inward from an outer surface of the lower fastening portion”) (see e.g., paragraph [0195]) and wherein the lower portion of electric connection portion 42a has a smaller diameter than that of the upper portion of the electric connection portion 42a (see e.g., Figure 7) in order to increase the maximum width of the terminal insert portion after the riveting process for fixing the terminal so that the terminal insert portion can pass through the maximum width of the hole formed in the battery can (see e.g., paragraph [0195]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the terminal insertion portion of Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, to have a diameter of the lower portion smaller than the diameter of an upper portion and bent toward the inner surface, as taught by Hwangbo, in order to ensure airtightness at the coupling interface between the insulating gasket and the battery terminal so that the coupling interface between the insulating gasket and the battery housing may be enhanced (see e.g., paragraph [0185]).
Regarding claim 9, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt and Hwangbo, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
Jo, as modified by Ashbolt and Hwangbo, does not explicitly teach a coupling member inserted into and coupled to the groove formed outside the lower fastening portion.
Hwangbo teaches a gasket insert portion 52 that is deformed together to come into close contact with the flange portion 42b and the inner surface of the battery can (“further comprising a coupling member inserted into and coupled to the groove formed outside the lower fastening portion”) (see e.g., paragraph [0218] and Figure 7) in order to secure sealing properties of the battery (see e.g., paragraph [0222]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the flange portion of the terminal of Jo, as modified by Ashbolt and Hwangbo, to include a gasket inert portion that is deformed to come into close contact with the flange portion, as taught by Hwangbo, in order to secure sealing properties of the battery (see e.g., paragraph [0222]).
Claims 23-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20240380033 A1), hereinafter referred to as Jo, in view of Ashbolt et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20090029240 A1), and further in view of Huang (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20240304960 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 21, as previously described.
Jo teaches the edge region of the cap plate 30 is positioned between the crimping portion 22a and the beading portion 21 (“wherein the cap plate comprises: an edge region between the crimping part and the beading part”) (see e.g., paragraph [0074] and Figure 9).
However, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, does not explicitly teach a central region which is concave in an inward direction of the case relative to the edge region.
However, Huang teaches a cover plate 51 disposed at the opening of the end of the battery case 5 (see e.g., paragraph [0060]). Huang teaches the central portion of the cover plate 51 is concave in an inward direction of the battery case relative to the edge of the cover plate 51 (“a central region which is concave in an inward direction of the case relative to the edge region”) (see e.g., Figure 9 and 11) in order to produce an explosion-proof valve body structure (see e.g., paragraph [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the central portion of the cap plate of Jo, as modified by Ashbolt, to be concave in an inward direction of the battery case relative to the edge of the cover plate, as taught by Huang, in order to produce an explosion-proof valve body structure (see e.g., paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 24, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt and Huang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 23, as previously described.
Jo teaches the cap plate 30 has a venting portion 31 which has a closed loop shape to force venting gas out more smoothly (“wherein the cap plate comprises a vent which is a notch formed upward from a lower surface of the cap plate in the central region”) (see e.g., paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 25, Jo, as modified by Ashbolt and Huang, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 24, as previously described.
Jo teaches the cap plate 30 has a venting portion 31 which has a closed loop shape to force venting gas out more smoothly (“wherein the vent has at least one pattern of which a planar shape is a ring shape, a straight shape, or a curved shape spaced apart from a center”) (see e.g., paragraph [0087]).
Claims 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20240380033 A1) in view of Miyahisa et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20050048365 A1), hereinafter referred to as Miyahisa.
Regarding claim 30, Jo teaches a cylindrical secondary battery 1 (“a cylindrical secondary battery”) (see e.g., Abstract). Jo teaches the cylindrical secondary battery includes an electrode assembly 10 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) that includes a first electrode having a first polarity, a second electrode having a second polarity and a separator between the first electrode and the second electrode (“an electrode assembly comprising a first electrode plate, a separator, and a second electrode plate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0055]). Jo teaches the cylindrical secondary battery includes a battery can 20 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) accommodating the electrode assembly (see e.g., Figure 2) having an open portion on bottom (“a case having a cylindrical shape, in which the electrode assembly is accommodated, and of which a lower end portion is open”) (see e.g., paragraph [0071]). Jo teaches a penetrating terminal 40 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) passes through the upper surface of the battery can 20 and coupled to the battery can through an insulation gasket 50 (“a terminal passing through an upper surface portion of the case and coupled to the case through a first gasket”) (see e.g., paragraph [0089]). Jo teaches the cylindrical second battery includes a first current collector plate 60 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) interposed between the upper surface of the electrode assembly 10 and the battery can 20 (see e.g., Figure 2) and coupled to the central area of the terminal insertion portion 42 (see e.g., paragraph [0091]) and the uncoated region 11 of the electrode assembly 10 (“a first current collector plate arranged between an upper surface of the electrode assembly and the case, and electrically connecting the first electrode plate and the terminal”) (see e.g., paragraph [0105]). Jo teaches the cylindrical second battery includes a cap plate 30 (see e.g., paragraph [0054]) on the bottom of the battery can 20 (“a cap plate configured to seal the lower end portion of the case”) (see e.g., paragraph [0073]). Jo teaches the first current collector plate 60 is coupled to the electrode assembly through the end of the first uncoated region 11 (“wherein the first current collector plate comprises: an electrode plate coupling portion connected to the first electrode plate of the electrode assembly”) (see e.g., paragraph [0104]). Jo teaches the first current collector plate 60 has a central portion (“a terminal coupling portion arranged at a central portion of the electrode plate coupling portion”) (see e.g., Figure 4).
Jo does not explicitly teach the terminal coupling contacting the terminal and protrudes toward the electrode assembly.
However, Miyahisa teaches a battery (see e.g., Abstract). Miyahisa teaches the battery comprises a positive electrode collector 11 with a disk-like shape (see e.g., paragraph [0049]) with an opening 19 has the shape of a cross viewed from above and disposed beneath the terminal portion that protrudes toward the electrode assembly because of its flange-shaped collar section (“protruding toward the electrode assembly”) (see e.g., paragraphs [0049]-[0050]) and contacts the terminal 19 (“contacting the terminal”) in order to reduce the number of parts and eliminate the attachment processes of unnecessary parts (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the first current collector of Jo to the center of the current collector protrude toward the electrode assembly, as taught by Miyahisa, in order to reduce the number of parts and eliminate the attachment processes of unnecessary parts (see e.g., paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 31, Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 30, as previously described.
Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, does not explicitly teach wherein the first current collector plate further comprises a fuse portion between the terminal coupling portion and the electrode plate coupling portion.
Miyahisa teaches the positive electrode collector 11 also includes burring projection pieces 20 which are perpendicularly bent from this opening 19 in a downward direction are formed integrally with the collector 11 (“wherein the first current collector plate further comprises a fuse portion between the terminal coupling portion and the electrode plate coupling portion”) (see e.g., paragraph [0050] and Figure 2A) to reduce contact resistance in the welding sections between the burring projecting pieces 20 and the end portion 3a of the positive electrode plate 3, thereby reduce the internal resistance of the battery (see e.g., paragraph [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the first current collector of Jo to projection pieces disposed between the central region and the edge region of the current collector, as taught by Miyahisa, in order to reduce contact resistance in the welding sections between the burring projecting pieces 20 and the end portion 3a of the positive electrode plate 3, thereby reduce the internal resistance of the battery (see e.g., paragraph [0059]).
Claims 32-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20240380033 A1) in view of Miyahisa et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20050048365 A1), and further in view of Sakai (JP 2001256954 A).
Regarding claim 32, Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 31, as previously described.
Jo teaches the first current collector plate 60 is coupled to the electrode assembly through the end of the first uncoated region 11 (see e.g., paragraph [0104]) and is integrally formed with portion connected to the penetrating terminal (“an electrode plate connection portion connecting the terminal coupling portion and the electrode plate coupling portion”) (see e.g., paragraph [0112]).
Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, does not explicitly teach wherein the fuse portion comprises: a fuse hole formed along a portion of an outer periphery of the terminal coupling portion.
However, Sakai teaches a current collector to prevent or suppress exfoliation of welded portions by giving elasticity to contact portion of current collector joined to armoring can to relieve vibration or shock applied to the welded portions with elastic deformation of this contact portion (see e.g., Abstract). Sakai teaches the current collector has a disc-shaped current collector body 61a with two arc-shaped slits 61a extending in the circumferential direction (“wherein the fuse portion comprises: a fuse hole formed along a portion of an outer periphery of the terminal coupling portion”) (see e.g., paragraph [0063] and Figure 9C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the first current collector of Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, to have arc-shaped slits between the terminal portion and the edge, as taught by Sakai, in order to prevent or suppress exfoliation of welded portions by giving elasticity to contact portion of current collector joined to armoring can to relieve vibration or shock applied to the welded portions with elastic deformation of this contact portion (see e.g., Abstract).
Regarding claim 33, Jo, as modified by Miyahisa and Sakai, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 32, as previously described.
Jo, as modified by Miyahisa and Sakai, do not explicitly teach wherein the electrode plate connection portion obliquely or vertically connects the terminal coupling portion and the electrode plate coupling portion with a step difference therebetween.
Miyahisa teaches the positive electrode collector 11 also includes burring projection pieces 20 which are perpendicularly bent from this opening 19 in a downward direction are formed integrally with the collector 11 (“wherein the electrode plate connection portion obliquely or vertically connects the terminal coupling portion and the electrode plate coupling portion with a step difference therebetween”) (see e.g., paragraph [0050] and Figure 2A) to reduce contact resistance in the welding sections between the burring projecting pieces 20 and the end portion 3a of the positive electrode plate 3, thereby reduce the internal resistance of the battery (see e.g., paragraph [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the first current collector of Jo, as modified by Miyahisa and Sakai, to projection pieces that vertically connect the opening and the edge with a step difference, as taught by Miyahisa, in order to reduce contact resistance in the welding sections between the burring projecting pieces 20 and the end portion 3a of the positive electrode plate 3, thereby reduce the internal resistance of the battery (see e.g., paragraph [0059]).
Regarding claim 34, Jo, as modified by Miyahisa and Sakai, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 33, as previously described.
Jo, as modified by Miyahisa and Sakai, does not explicitly teach wherein: the fuse portion further comprises protrusion holes formed at end portions of the fuse hole, and the protrusion holes protrude toward each other.
However, Sakai teaches a current collector to prevent or suppress exfoliation of welded portions by giving elasticity to contact portion of current collector joined to armoring can to relieve vibration or shock applied to the welded portions with elastic deformation of this contact portion (see e.g., Abstract). Sakai teaches the negative electrode current collector 61 with the two arc-shaped 62a extending in the circumferential direction and four radial slits 62b extending in the radial direction (“wherein: the fuse portion further comprises protrusion holes formed at end portions of the fuse hole”), and these slits 62a and 62b form a bridging piece 61b that acts as a contact portion (see e.g., paragraph [0063]), wherein the slits 62b extend toward each other in parallel (“the protrusion holes protrude toward each other”) (see e.g., Figure 9C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the first current collector of Jo, as modified by Miyahisa and Sakai, to have radial slits extending from the arc-shaped slits between the terminal portion and the edge that extend towards each other, as taught by Sakai, in order to prevent or suppress exfoliation of welded portions by giving elasticity to contact portion of current collector joined to armoring can to relieve vibration or shock applied to the welded portions with elastic deformation of this contact portion (see e.g., Abstract).
Regarding claim 35, Jo, as modified by Miyahisa and Sakai, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 33, as previously described.
Jo, as modified by Miyahisa and Sakai, does not explicitly teach wherein the fuse portion further comprises extension holes extending from ends of the fuse hole toward an outer side of the first current collector plate, and the extension holes are in parallel.
However, Sakai teaches a current collector to prevent or suppress exfoliation of welded portions by giving elasticity to contact portion of current collector joined to armoring can to relieve vibration or shock applied to the welded portions with elastic deformation of this contact portion (see e.g., Abstract). Sakai teaches the negative electrode current collector 61 with the two arc-shaped 62a extending in the circumferential direction and four radial slits 62b extending in the radial direction (“wherein the fuse portion further comprises extension holes extending from ends of the fuse hole toward an outer side of the first current collector plate”), and these slits 62a and 62b form a bridging piece 61b that acts as a contact portion (see e.g., paragraph [0063]), wherein the slits 62b extend toward each other in parallel (“the extension holes are in parallel”) (see e.g., Figure 9C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the first current collector of Jo, as modified by Miyahisa and Sakai, to have radial slits extending from the arc-shaped slits between the terminal portion and the edge that extend towards each other, as taught by Sakai, in order to prevent or suppress exfoliation of welded portions by giving elasticity to contact portion of current collector joined to armoring can to relieve vibration or shock applied to the welded portions with elastic deformation of this contact portion (see e.g., Abstract).
Regarding claim 36, Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 31, as previously described.
Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, does not explicitly teach wherein the first current collector plate comprises a plurality of buffer slits located outside the fuse portion to be symmetrical to each other with respect to the fuse portion.
However, Sakai teaches a current collector to prevent or suppress exfoliation of welded portions by giving elasticity to contact portion of current collector joined to armoring can to relieve vibration or shock applied to the welded portions with elastic deformation of this contact portion (see e.g., Abstract). Sakai teaches the current collector has a disc-shaped current collector body 61a with two arc-shaped slits 61a extending in the circumferential direction (“wherein the first current collector plate comprises a plurality of buffer slits located outside the fuse portion to be symmetrical to each other with respect to the fuse portion”) (see e.g., paragraph [0063] and Figure 9C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the first current collector of Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, to have arc-shaped slits between the terminal portion and the edge, as taught by Sakai, in order to prevent or suppress exfoliation of welded portions by giving elasticity to contact portion of current collector joined to armoring can to relieve vibration or shock applied to the welded portions with elastic deformation of this contact portion (see e.g., Abstract).
Regarding claim 37, Jo, as modified by Miyahisa and Sakai, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 36, as previously described.
Sakai teaches the current collector has a disc-shaped current collector body 61a with two arc-shaped slits 61a extending in the circumferential direction (“wherein a buffer slit of the plurality of buffer slits has a ‘U’ shape”) (see e.g., paragraph [0063] and Figure 9C).
Regarding claim 38, Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 31, as previously described.
Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, does not explicitly teach wherein the fuse portion comprises one or more fuse holes, and the fuse holes are located concentrically with respect to a center of the first current collector plate.
However, However, Sakai teaches a current collector to prevent or suppress exfoliation of welded portions by giving elasticity to contact portion of current collector joined to armoring can to relieve vibration or shock applied to the welded portions with elastic deformation of this contact portion (see e.g., Abstract). Sakai teaches the current collector has a disc-shaped current collector body 61a with two arc-shaped slits 61a extending in the circumferential direction (“wherein the fuse portion comprises one or more fuse holes, and the fuse holes are located concentrically with respect to a center of the first current collector plate”) (see e.g., paragraph [0063] and Figure 9C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the first current collector of Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, to have arc-shaped slits between the terminal portion and the edge, as taught by Sakai, in order to prevent or suppress exfoliation of welded portions by giving elasticity to contact portion of current collector joined to armoring can to relieve vibration or shock applied to the welded portions with elastic deformation of this contact portion (see e.g., Abstract).
Regarding claim 39, Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 30, as previously described.
Jo teaches the penetrating terminal 40 includes a terminal exposure portion 41 exposed through the battery can 20 (“wherein the terminal comprises: a head arranged on a central portion of the case”) and a terminal insertion portion 42 that may be rivet-coupled onto the inner surface of the battery can 20 (“a fastening portion which extends from the central portion of the head in an inward direction of the case, is integrally formed with the head, and passes through the terminal hole”) (see e.g., paragraph [0090] and Figure 3).
Regarding claim 40, Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 39, as previously described.
Jo teaches the terminal insertion portion 42 is also a circular shape and a diameter of the terminal insertion portion 42 is smaller than the terminal hole when aligned with the upper surface of the battery can 20 (“wherein a diameter of the terminal coupling portion is greater than that of a lower surface of the fastening portion and is less than that of a core hole of the electrode assembly”) (see e.g., Figure 3).
Regarding claim 41, Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 39, as previously described.
Jo, as modified by Miyahisa, teaches burring projection pieces 20 which are perpendicularly bent from this opening 19 in a downward direction are formed integrally with the collector 11 that would be inserted into a core hole of the electrode assembly (“wherein the terminal coupling portion is inserted into a core hole of the electrode assembly”) (see e.g., paragraph [0050] and Figure 2A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728