DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In [0026], line 2, “carbo” should read “carbon.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20050214644-A1 (A).
Regarding claim 1, A teaches
A negative active material for a rechargeable lithium battery [0039], the negative active material comprising a core (1) comprising silicon particles (11, [0037]), the silicon particles having a particle diameter of 100 nm to 10 microns (see Fig. 1), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.8 μm to 2 μm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
A further teaches an amorphous carbon coating layer on a surface of the core ([0097], conductive agent is added to anode mixture).
Regarding claim 2, A teaches an amount of the amorphous carbon coating layer is between 20 and 70% of the weight of the negative active material [0098], the endpoint of which overlaps with the claimed range of less than 20 wt% based on a total weight of the negative active material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 3, A teaches an amount of the amorphous carbon coating layer is between 20 and 70% of the weight of the negative active material [0098], the endpoint of which overlaps with the claimed range of between 5 wt% to 20 wt% based on a total weight of the negative active material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 4, A teaches the particle diameter of the silicon particles is 100 nm to 10 microns (see Fig. 1), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.8 μm to 1.5 μm (100 nm to 10 microns, see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 5, A teaches the amorphous carbon coating layer comprises sintered cokes ([0097], “various coke powders”).
Regarding claim 6, A teaches a silicon to carbon ratio of 90:10 [0050], which overlaps with the claimed amount of the silicon particles which is 80 wt% or more based on a total weight of the negative active material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 7 A teaches a silicon to carbon ratio of 90:10 [0050], which overlaps with the claimed amount of the silicon particles which is 80 wt% to about 95 wt% based on a total weight of the negative active material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 8, A teaches A rechargeable lithium battery [0007], comprising: a negative electrode comprising the negative active material [0028]; a positive electrode comprising a positive active material [0096]; and a non-aqueous electrolyte [0009].
Regarding claim 9, A teaches a silicon to carbon ratio of 90:10 [0050], which overlaps with the claimed amount of the silicon particles which is 80 wt% or more based on a total weight of the negative active material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 10, A teaches a silicon to carbon ratio of 90:10 [0050], which overlaps with the claimed amount of the silicon particles which is 80 wt% to about 95 wt% based on a total weight of the negative active material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 11, A teaches an amount of the amorphous carbon coating layer is between 20 and 70% of the weight of the negative active material [0098], the endpoint of which overlaps with the claimed range of less than 20 wt% based on a total weight of the negative active material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 12, A teaches an amount of the amorphous carbon coating layer is between 20 and 70% of the weight of the negative active material [0098], the endpoint of which overlaps with the claimed range of between 5 wt% to 20 wt% based on a total weight of the negative active material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 13, A teaches the particle diameter of the silicon particles is 100 nm to 10 microns (see Fig. 1), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.8 μm to 1.5 μm (100 nm to 10 microns, see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 14, A teaches the amorphous carbon coating layer comprises sintered cokes ([0097], “various coke powders”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUISE JAMES IANNUCCI/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721