Response to Arguments
The previous drawing objection(s) has/have been addressed and is/are withdrawn.
The previous specification objection(s) has/have been addressed and is/are withdrawn.
The previous claim objection(s) has/have been addressed and is/are withdrawn.
The previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection(s) has/have been addressed and is/are withdrawn.
Applicant s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination/interpretation of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. US10370040 in view of Tsubaki et al. US20220258802 and Ignes et al. US_20220315110.
Regarding independent claim 1, Cooper discloses, in Figures 1-4,
A vehicle rocker assembly (Cooper; Fig. 1-4) comprising: one or more of an outer sill (Cooper; rocker panel 18) or an inner sill (Cooper; floor side panel 16) to define an elongated hollow interior (Cooper; Fig. 3; cavity 58) defined by one or more of an inboard wall portion (Cooper; the wall of the floor side panel 16) of the inner sill and an outboard wall portion (Cooper; the wall of the rocker panel 18) of the outer sill; and a rocker insert (Cooper; external case/sleeve/container/sheath 46 that comprises internal channel 56) disposed within the elongated hollow interior, the rocker insert comprising: a channel section (Cooper; Fig. 3; internal channel 56) having a top wall (Cooper; top panel 50), a bottom wall (Cooper; bottom panel 52), and a side wall (Cooper; back panel 54) coupled to and extending between the top wall and the bottom wall (Cooper; Fig. 3), with the top wall, the bottom wall, and the side wall at least partially defining a second hollow interior (Cooper; Fig. 3; internal channel 56); and a stiffening member (Cooper; the assembly of crush cans 26 and webs 30) at least partially disposed within the second hollow interior and, the stiffening member comprising a plurality of enclosed sections (Cooper; crush cans 26) arranged along a length of the elongated hollow interior; a depth defined in a lateral vehicle direction between a first side edge and a second side edge of the plurality of enclosed sections (Cooper; the assembly of crush cans 26 and webs 30 has a first/outboard edge and a second/inboard edge); and wherein each of the plurality of enclosed sections are configured to carry a load path laterally between the inboard and outboard wall portions (Cooper; Fig. 1).
Cooper does not disclose a stiffening member defines a single integral extruded piece; wherein the plurality of enclosed sections comprises a uniform shape extending across a depth defined in a lateral vehicle direction between a first side edge and a second side edge of the plurality of enclosed sections.
Tsubaki teaches wherein the plurality of enclosed sections comprises a uniform shape extending across a depth defined in a lateral vehicle direction between a first side edge and a second side edge of the plurality of enclosed sections (Tsubaki; Fig. 16-17; flat upper/crest and lower/base portions 23b and also flat flanges23c that extend in the horizontal/lateral plane).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the enclosed sections as taught by Cooper so that they have a uniform shape at the upper/crest and lower/base surfaces and also at the webs/flanges extending across the lateral depth as taught by Tsubaki for the purpose of providing additional strength at the upper/crest and lower/base and webs/flanges surfaces of Cooper’s reinforcement structure 14 that comprises the crush cans 26.
Modified Cooper does not teach a stiffening member defines a single integral extruded piece.
Ignes teaches a stiffening member defines a single integral extruded piece (Ignes; [0059, 0062-0063] carrier produced by extrusion; [0063] extrusion facilitates production of ribs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the stiffening member as taught by Modified Cooper to be a single integral extruded piece as taught by Ignes for the purpose of facilitating the production of ribs such as Coopers webs 30.
Regarding claim 2, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle rocker assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of enclosed sections (Cooper; crush cans 26) each comprise a crest with a flat surface extending across the depth (Cooper; Fig. 2) (Tsubaki; Fig. 16-17; flat upper/crest and lower/base portions 23b that extend in the horizontal/lateral plane).
Regarding claim 3, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle rocker assembly of claim 2, wherein the plurality of enclosed sections (Cooper; crush cans 26) each comprise a base with a generally flat surface across the depth (Cooper; Fig. 2) (Tsubaki; Fig. 16-17; flat upper/crest and lower/base portions 23b that extend in the horizontal/lateral plane).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle rocker assembly of claim 1, wherein the stiffening member (Cooper; the assembly of crush cans 26 and webs 30) is formed by extrusion (Ignes; [0059, 0062-0063] carrier produced by extrusion; [0063] extrusion facilitates production of ribs) (MPEP 2113 Product-by-Process Claims).
Modified Cooper is silent regarding wherein the stiffening member is formed with an aluminum alloy.
Tsubaki teaches wherein the stiffening member is formed with an aluminum alloy (Tsubaki; [0058] reinforcement member 23 made of extruded aluminum alloy; [0060] aluminum alloy provides “a higher level of material strength and elasticity to absorb collision energy” and also allows the reinforcement member to be “highly manufacturable”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to select the stiffening member material as taught by Cooper to be an extruded aluminum alloy material as taught by Tsubaki for the purpose of providing “a higher level of material strength and elasticity to absorb collision energy” and also allowing the stiffening/reinforcement member to be “highly manufacturable” (Tsubaki; [0060] aluminum alloy provides “a higher level of material strength and elasticity to absorb collision energy” and also allows the reinforcement member to be “highly manufacturable”).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle rocker assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of enclosed sections (Cooper; crush cans 26) comprise a shape with a series of highest points extending in parallel with each other (Cooper; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle rocker assembly of claim 1, wherein a highest point (Cooper; Fig. 4; the highest point of a crush can 26 is indicated at the tip of the lead line for top panel 50) of the enclosed sections and a lowest point (Cooper; Fig. 4; the lowest point of a crush can 26 is indicated at the tip of the lead line for bottom panel 52) of the enclosed sections are disposed on the same vertical plane (Cooper; Fig. 4; the highest point of a crush can 26 and the lowest point of the crush can 26 is on the same vertical cross-sectional plane as shown in the cross-sectional view of Fig. 4.).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle rocker assembly of claim 1, wherein a highest point of the enclosed section (Cooper; crush cans 26) extends at least partially between the sill wall portions of the inner sill and the outer sill (Cooper; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle rocker assembly of claim 1, wherein the channel section of the rocker insert (Cooper; external case/sleeve/container/sheath 46 that comprises internal channel 56) is formed by a metal sheet (Cooper; col. 4:62-67 to col. 5:1 rolled sheet metal external case 46).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle rocker assembly of claim 1, wherein the side wall (Cooper; back panel 54) is coupled (Cooper; weld 60) with the inner sill (Cooper; floor side panel 16) or the outer sill to support the rocker insert in the elongated hollow interior (Cooper; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle rocker assembly of claim 1, wherein the stiffening member (Cooper; the assembly of crush cans 26 and webs 30) comprises a series of interconnected walls (Cooper; walls 28) that surround the plurality of enclosed section (Cooper; crush cans 26) and extend in a lateral vehicle direction perpendicular to a horizontal plane extending along a longitudinal axis of a vehicle (Cooper; Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle rocker assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of enclosed sections (Cooper; crush cans 26) comprise a plurality of repeating hollow shapes (Cooper; crush cans 26) selected from a circular shape, a hexagonal shape (Cooper; Fig. 2; crush cans 26; col. 2:55 “hexagonal shape”), a square shape, or a rectangular shape.
Regarding independent claim 13, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and, in Figures 1-4, the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to independent claim 1 above, and
A reinforcement insert (Cooper; external case/sleeve/container/sheath 46 that comprises internal channel 56) disposed within an elongated interior (Cooper; Fig. 3; cavity 58) of a vehicle component (Cooper; the assembly of rocker panel 18 and floor side panel 16), the reinforcement insert comprising: a channel section (Cooper; Fig. 3; internal channel 56) at least partially surrounding a hollow interior; and a stiffening member (Cooper; the assembly of crush cans 26 and webs 30) at least partially disposed within the hollow interior, the stiffening member having a single integral extruded piece (Ignes; [0059, 0062-0063] carrier produced by extrusion; [0063] extrusion facilitates production of ribs) (MPEP 2113 Product-by-Process Claims) with a consistent cross-sectional shape (Cooper; Fig. 2) extending in a direction configured to carry a load path transverse to a length of the elongated interior of the vehicle component (Cooper; Fig. 1-2); wherein the single extruded piece of the stiffening member comprises a plurality of enclosed sections (Cooper; crush cans 26) disposed along the hollow interior of the channel and configured to be spaced along the length of the elongated interior of the vehicle component (Cooper; Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reinforcement insert of claim 13, wherein the plurality of enclosed sections comprise a crest and a base that each have a generally flat surface (Tsubaki; Fig. 16-17; flat upper/crest and lower/base portions 23b that extend in the horizontal/lateral plane) across a depth defined in a lateral vehicle direction between a first side edge and a second side edge of the plurality of enclosed sections (Cooper; the assembly of crush cans 26 and webs 30 has a first/outboard edge and a second/inboard edge).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reinforcement insert of claim 13, wherein the stiffening member (Cooper; the assembly of crush cans 26 and webs 30) comprise a series of interconnected walls (Cooper; walls 28) that surround the plurality of enclosed sections (Cooper; crush cans 26), and wherein the series of interconnected walls extending in the direction that is configured to axially carry the load path (Cooper; Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reinforcement insert of claim 15, wherein the plurality of enclosed sections (Cooper; crush cans 26) of the rocker insert are formed by extrusion (Ignes; [0059, 0062-0063] carrier produced by extrusion; [0063] extrusion facilitates production of ribs) (MPEP 2113 Product-by-Process Claims) in a direction oriented in a lateral vehicle direction (Cooper; Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reinforcement insert of claim 13, wherein a cross-sectional shape of the plurality of enclosed sections (Cooper; crush cans 26) comprises a shape with a series of highest points extending in parallel with each other (Cooper; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reinforcement insert of claim 13, each of the plurality of enclosed sections have the same cross-sectional shape extending in a lateral vehicle direction (Cooper; Fig. 2; crush cans 26).
Regarding claim 19, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reinforcement insert of claim 13, wherein the channel section (Cooper; Fig. 3; internal channel 56) comprises a top wall (Cooper; top panel 50), a bottom wall (Cooper; bottom panel 52), and a side wall (Cooper; back panel 54) coupled to and extending between the top wall and the bottom wall (Cooper; Fig. 3), with the top wall, the bottom wall, and the side wall at least partially defining the hollow interior (Cooper; Fig. 3).
Regarding independent claim 20, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and, in Figures 1-4, the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to independent claims 1 and 13 above, and
A vehicle rocker assembly (Cooper; Fig. 1-4) comprising: a sill section (Cooper; floor side panel 16) having a wall portion (Cooper; the wall of the floor side panel 16) that borders along an elongated hollow interior (Cooper; Fig. 3; cavity 58) of the sill section; and a rocker insert (Cooper; external case/sleeve/container/sheath 46 that comprises internal channel 56) disposed within the elongated hollow interior, the rocker insert comprising: a channel section (Cooper; Fig. 3; internal channel 56) having a top wall (Cooper; top panel 50), a bottom wall (Cooper; bottom panel 52), and a side wall (Cooper; back panel 54) coupled to and extending between the top wall and the bottom wall, with the top wall, the bottom wall, and the side wall at least partially defining a second hollow interior (Cooper; Fig. 3; internal channel 56); and a stiffening member (Cooper; the assembly of crush cans 26 and webs 30) at least partially disposed within the second hollow interior and defines a single integral piece (Ignes; [0059, 0062-0063] carrier produced by extrusion; [0063] extrusion facilitates production of ribs) (MPEP 2113 Product-by-Process Claims), the single integral piece of the stiffening member comprising a series of interconnected walls that surround a plurality of enclosed sections (Cooper; crush cans 26) extending along a length of the elongated hollow interior, and wherein the series of interconnected walls (Cooper; walls 28) is configured to axially carry a load path transverse to a length of the elongated hollow interior of the sill section (Cooper; Fig. 1-2).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al. US10370040 in view of Tsubaki et al. US20220258802 and Ignes et al. US_20220315110 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Munjurulimana et al. US12448049 and Gao et al. US10155542.
Regarding claim 5, Modified Cooper teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The vehicle rocker assembly of claim 1, wherein the stiffening member comprises a plurality of stiffening sections (Cooper; the assembly of crush cans 26 and webs 30) arranged along the channel section, and wherein the plurality of stiffening sections include cross-sectional shapes configured to have stiffnesses at a corresponding section of the length of the hollow interior (Cooper; Fig. 1-2).
Modified Cooper does not disclose wherein the plurality of stiffening sections include different cross-sectional shapes configured to have different stiffnesses at a corresponding section of the length of the hollow interior.
Munjurulimana teaches wherein the plurality of stiffening sections include different cross-sectional shapes configured to have stiffnesses at a corresponding section of the length of the hollow interior (Munjurulimana; Fig. 4B; col. 10:7-22 first reinforcements 408 have different shapes in comparison to second reinforcements 410 that yields different deformations rates).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the plurality of stiffening sections as taught by Modified Cooper to have different cross-sectional shapes as taught by Munjurulimana for the purpose of providing different deformations rates (Munjurulimana; Fig. 4B; col. 10:7-22 first reinforcements 408 have different shapes in comparison to second reinforcements 410 that yields different deformations rates).
Modified Cooper does not teach wherein the plurality of stiffening sections include different cross-sectional shapes configured to have different stiffnesses at a corresponding section of the length of the hollow interior.
Gao teaches a plurality of stiffening sections that include cross-sectional shapes configured to have different stiffnesses (Gao; col. 4:15-28 stepped stiffness arrangement provides “progressive deformation”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the relative stiffnesses as taught by Modified Cooper to have different stiffnesses as taught by Gao for the purpose of providing “progressive deformation” (Gao; col. 4:15-28 stepped stiffness arrangement provides “progressive deformation”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 3/30/26