DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 9, 21-22, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowyer et al. (US 5,982,165).
Regarding claim 9, Bowyer teaches Combiner circuitry (Fig. 1 and column 2, lines 33 – 62), a first input amplifier having a single-ended input coupled to a first antenna (Fig. 1, 2, column 2, lines 22 – 62, and column 5, lines 26 - 59, where teaches a first input amplifier having single ended coupling to a first antenna), and a second input amplifier having a single-ended input coupled to a second antenna (Fig. 1, 2, column 2, lines 22 – 62, abstract, and column 3, lines 20 – column 4, lines 47, where teaches a second input amplifier having single ended coupling to a second antenna), and
a second amplifier stage configured to receive radio-frequency signals from the first amplifier stage (Fig. 2, column 2, lines 22 – 62, abstract, and column 3, lines 20 – column 4, lines 47, where teaches a second amplifier stage for receiving RF signals from a first amplifier stage).
Regarding claim 21, Bowyer teaches all the limitation as discussed in claim 9. Furthermore, Bowyer further teaches that with a first amplifier of the first amplifier stage, receiving radio-frequency signals from a first antenna (Fig. 1, 2, column 2, lines 22 – 62, and column 5, lines 26 - 59, where teaches a first amplifier of first amplifier stage receiving RF signals from a first antenna), with a second amplifier of the first amplifier stage, receiving radio-frequency signals from a second antenna (Fig. 1, 2, column 2, lines 22 – 62, and column 5, lines 26 - 59, where teaches a second amplifier of first amplifier stage receiving RF signals from a second antenna), and with the second amplifier stage, receiving radio-frequency signals from the first amplifier and the second amplifier (Fig. 2, column 2, lines 22 – 62, abstract, and column 3, lines 20 – column 4, lines 47, where teaches a second amplifier stage for receiving RF signals from a first amplifier stage, first and second amplifier).
Regarding claim 22, Bowyer teaches that a mixer, receiving radio-frequency signals from the second amplifier stage (Fig. 2 and column 8, lines 5 – column 10, lines 4).
Regarding claim 26, Bowyer teaches all the limitation as discussed in claims 9 and 21.
Regarding claim 27, Bowyer teaches all the limitation as discussed in claims 9 and 21. Furthermore, Bowyer teaches that first single-ended coupled lines, conveying the radio-frequency signals received from the first antenna to the single-ended input of the first amplifier (Fig. 1, 2, column 2, lines 22 – 62, and column 5, lines 26 – 59), and with a second single-ended coupled lines, conveying the radio-frequency signals received from the second antenna to the single-ended input of the second amplifier (Fig. 1, 2, column 2, lines 22 – 62, and column 5, lines 26 – 59).
Regarding claim 28, Bowyer teaches all the limitation as discussed in claims 9 and 21. Furthermore, Bowyer teaches that third single-ended coupled lines, conveying radio-frequency signals output from the first and second amplifiers to a single-ended input of the second amplifier stage (Fig. 2, column 2, lines 22 – 62, abstract, and column 3, lines 20 – column 4, lines 47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 10, 13, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowyer in view of PERUMANA et al. (US 2017/0346506).
Regarding claim 10, Bowyer teaches all the limitation as discussed in claim 9. Furthermore, Bowyer does not specifically teach the limitation “a third input amplifier having a single-ended input coupled to a third antenna, and a fourth input amplifier having a single-ended input coupled to a fourth antenna”. However, PERUMANA teaches the limitation “a third input amplifier having a single-ended input coupled to a third antenna, and a fourth input amplifier having a single-ended input coupled to a fourth antenna” (Fig. 1 and pages 2, paragraphs 16 – pages 3, paragraphs 22, where teaches a third and fourth (and fifth ..) amplifier having a single ended input coupled to third and fourth antenna). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of the Bowyer’s radio communication architecture as taught by PERUMANA, provide the motivation to increasing throughput of radio frequency in communication device.
Regarding claim 13, Bowyer and PERUMANA teach all the limitation as discussed in claims 9 and 10.
Regarding claim 23, Bowyer and PERUMANA teach all the limitation as discussed in claims 9 and 10. Furthermore, Bowyer teaches that the first amplifier of the first amplifier stage, receiving radio-frequency signals from a third antenna different than the first and second antennas (Fig. 2, column 2, lines 22 – 62, abstract, and column 3, lines 20 – column 4, lines 47). Bowyer does not specifically teach the limitation “with the second amplifier of the first amplifier stage, receiving radio-frequency signals from a fourth antenna different than the first and second antennas”. However, PERUMANA teaches the limitation “with the second amplifier of the first amplifier stage, receiving radio-frequency signals from a fourth antenna different than the first and second antennas” (Fig. 1 and pages 2, paragraphs 16 – pages 3, paragraphs 22, where teaches receiving RF signals from a fourth antenna different than the first and second antennas to second amplifier of the first amplifier stage). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of the Bowyer’s radio communication architecture as taught by PERUMANA, provide the motivation to increasing throughput of radio frequency in communication device.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 17 and 19 are allowed.
7. Claims 12, 14-16, 24-25, and 29-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose the limitation “the first pair of coupled lines comprises a first conductive path having a first distal end coupled to the first amplifier stage and having a second distal end coupled to a bias voltage line, and a second conductive path routed along the first conductive path and having a first distal end coupled to a ground line and having a second distal end coupled to the second amplifier stage, and the second pair of coupled lines comprises a third conductive path having a first distal end coupled to the first amplifier stage and having a second distal end coupled to the bias voltage line, and a fourth conductive path routed along the third conductive path and having a first distal end coupled to the ground line and having a second distal end coupled to the second amplifier stage” as specified the claims.
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
J.L
March 19, 2026
John J Lee
/JOHN J LEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649