DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ assertion-The combination of Maattanen and Cheng does not disclose or suggest at least the features of "determining one or more alignment opportunities associated with one or more satellites, wherein each alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities is a time period during which a main lobe of at least one antenna of one or more antennas of the wireless communication device is predicted to be aligned with a line-of-sight (LOS) direction to at least one of the one or more satellites," and "refraining from communicating with the one or more satellites until at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities," as recited in independent claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reasons detailed in the Office Action dated March 20, 2026. The UE is Maattanen (Section 0053) is able to determine and/or predict where satellite will be based on ephemeris and point antenna and the energy of said antenna in direction of said satellite, said energy can be pointed or directed at the satellite for a finite amount of time. Maattanen therefore teaches the limitations in question. Section 0466 of Cheng teaches a scenario wherein there is no satellite in view based on the ephemeris. If there is no candidate satellite then there is no opportunity to point an antenna on the ground in the direction of said satellite in order to communicate with said satellite. Cheng therefore teaches the limitations in question.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 8, 14, 16, 18, 21, 22, 24 – 26, 31, 37, 39, 41, 44, 45, 47, 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maattanen et al. (US 2023/0262590) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2022/0232503).
Regarding Claim 1, Maattanen teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a wireless communication device, comprising: detecting a trigger to communicate via satellite connectivity (Section 0053, redirection to a NTN is a trigger); determining one or more alignment opportunities associated with one or more satellites, wherein each alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities is a time period during which a main lobe of at least one antenna of one or more antennas of the wireless communication device is predicted to be aligned with a line-of-sight (LOS) direction to at least one of the one or more satellites (Section 0053, can predict where satellite will be based on ephemeris and point antenna and the energy of said antenna in direction of said satellite, said energy can be pointed or directed at the satellite for a finite amount of time); and communicating with at least one satellite of the one or more satellites during the at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities (Section 0053, UE can communicate when its energy and antenna are pointed at said satellite).
Maattanen does not teach refraining from communicating with the one or more satellites until at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities.
Cheng, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches refraining from communicating with the one or more satellites until at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities (Section 0466, no satellite candidate means no opportunity to communicate with a satellite).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen with the above feature to Cheng for the purpose of providing power saving as taught by Cheng.
Regarding Claim 24, Maattanen teaches a wireless communication device, comprising: one or more memories; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: detect a trigger to communicate via satellite connectivity (Figure 2, Sections 0089, 0090, wireless device with transmitters and receivers, processing circuitry, and device readable mediums, Section 0053, redirection to a NTN is a trigger); determine one or more alignment opportunities associated with one or more satellites, wherein each alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities is a time period during which a main lobe of at least one antenna of one or more antennas of the wireless communication device is predicted to be aligned with a line-of-sight (LOS) direction to at least one of the one or more satellites (Section 0053, can predict where satellite will be based on ephemeris and point antenna and the energy of said antenna in direction of said satellite, said energy can be pointed or directed at the satellite for a finite amount of time); and communicate, via the one or more transceivers, with at least one satellite of the one or more satellites during the at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities (Section 0053, UE can communicate when its energy and antenna are pointed at said satellite).
Maattanen does not teach refrain from communicating with the one or more satellites until at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities.
Cheng, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches refraining from communicating with the one or more satellites until at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities (Section 0466, no satellite candidate means no opportunity to communicate with a satellite).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen with the above feature to Cheng for the purpose of providing power saving as taught by Cheng.
Regarding Claim 47, Maattanen teaches a wireless communication device, comprising: means for detecting a trigger to communicate via satellite connectivity (Section 0053, redirection to a NTN is a trigger); means for determining one or more alignment opportunities associated with one or more satellites, wherein each alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities is a time period during which a main lobe of at least one antenna of one or more antennas of the wireless communication device is predicted to be aligned with a line-of-sight (LOS) direction to at least one of the one or more satellites (Section 0053, can predict where satellite will be based on ephemeris and point antenna and the energy of said antenna in direction of said satellite, said energy can be pointed or directed at the satellite for a finite amount of time); and means for communicating with at least one satellite of the one or more satellites during the at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities (Section 0053, UE can communicate when its energy and antenna are pointed at said satellite).
Maattanen does not teach means for refraining from communicating with the one or more satellites until at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities.
Cheng, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches means for refraining from communicating with the one or more satellites until at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities (Section 0466, no satellite candidate means no opportunity to communicate with a satellite).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen with the above feature to Cheng for the purpose of providing power saving as taught by Cheng.
Regarding Claim 48, Maattanen teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a wireless communication device, cause the wireless communication device to: detect a trigger to communicate via satellite connectivity (Figure 2, Sections 0089, 0090, wireless device with transmitters and receivers, processing circuitry, and device readable mediums Section 0053, redirection to a NTN is a trigger); determine one or more alignment opportunities associated with one or more satellites, wherein each alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities is a time period during which a main lobe of at least one antenna of one or more antennas of the wireless communication device is predicted to be aligned with a line-of-sight (LOS) direction to at least one of the one or more satellites (Section 0053, can predict where satellite will be based on ephemeris and point antenna and the energy of said antenna in direction of said satellite, said energy can be pointed or directed at the satellite for a finite amount of time); and communicate with at least one satellite of the one or more satellites during the at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities (Section 0053, UE can communicate when its energy and antenna are pointed at said satellite).
Maattanen does not teach refrain from communicating with the one or more satellites until at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities.
Cheng, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches means for refraining from communicating with the one or more satellites until at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities (Section 0466, no satellite candidate means no opportunity to communicate with a satellite).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen with the above feature to Cheng for the purpose of providing power saving as taught by Cheng.
Regarding Claims 2, 25, Maattanen in view of Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 24. Maattanen further teaches wherein the one or more alignment opportunities are determined based on: a characterization of an orientation and shape of each main lobe of each of the one or more antennas relative to the wireless communication device, an estimate of an orientation of the wireless communication device relative to the Earth, an estimate of an uncertainty of the orientation of the wireless communication device, an estimate of trajectories of the one or more satellites, signal strength measurements of the one or more satellites, one or more preferences related to selecting the one or more satellites, or any combination thereof (Section 0053, ephemeris provides the trajectory).
Regarding Claims 3, 26, Maattanen in view of Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 2, 25. Maattanen further teaches wherein the orientation of the wireless communication device relative to the Earth comprises a gravity direction only (Figure 1, user equipment is on earth in the spot beam of the satellite, user equipment will have the earth’s gravitational pull acting on it).
Regarding Claim 8, 31, Maattanen in view of Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 24. Maattanen does not teach transitioning to a sleep state until the at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities.
Cheng, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches transitioning to a sleep state until the at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities (Section 0466, stopping the monitoring is effectively sleeping).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen with the above feature to Cheng for the purpose of providing power saving as taught by Cheng.
Regarding Claims 14, 37, Maattanen in view of Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 24. Maattanen further teaches prompting a user of the wireless communication device to place the wireless communication device on a stable surface such that a main lobe of at least one of the one or more antennas faces upward (Section 0053, wireless device can direct its energy at a satellite based on ephemeris, mobile device can be in a variety of locations such as a table).
Regarding Claims 16, 39, Maattanen in view of Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 24. Maattanen further teaches notifying a user of the wireless communication device of a time of a next alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities (Section 0053, redirection to NTN is notification of opportunity to communicate with satellite).
Regarding Claim 18, 41, Maattanen in view of Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 24. Maattanen further teaches wherein detecting the trigger comprises: receiving a request from a user of the wireless communication device to communicate via satellite connectivity; detecting an emergency event at the wireless communication device; determining that the user is incapable of performing an interactive pointing procedure with the wireless communication device; or any combination thereof (Figure 1 of Maattanen, typical UEs that communicate with satellites receive requests to communicate with said satellites).
Regarding Claims 21, 44, Maattanen in view of Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 24. Maattanen further teaches communicating with the at least one satellite comprises transmitting at least one first message to the at least one satellite, communicating with the at least one satellite comprises receiving at least one second message from the at least one satellite, or any combination thereof (Figure 1, wireless device can communicate with the satellite thus rendering a scenario wherein said wireless device transmits messages to said satellite).
Regarding Claims 22, 45, Maattanen in view of Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 24. Maattanen further teaches wherein the wireless communication device is: an Internet of Things (IoT) device, or a wireless communications device (Section 0087, NB-IoT standard).
Claim(s) 4 – 6, 9, 27 – 29, 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maattanen et al. (US 2023/0262590) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2022/0232503) and in further view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0289583)
Regarding Claims 4, 27, Maattanen in view of Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 24. Maattanen in view of Cheng does not teach determining whether an orientation of the wireless communication device is stable.
Zhang, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches determining whether an orientation of the wireless communication device is stable (Section 0125).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen in view of Cheng with the above features of Zhang for the purpose of performing communication with increased reliability and power efficiency as taught by Zhang.
Regarding Claims 5, 28, Maattanen, Cheng in view of Zhang teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 4, 27. Maattanen, Cheng in view of Zhang does not teach initiating an orientation change detector based on the orientation of the wireless communication device being stable; or prompting a user of the wireless communication device to place the wireless communication device on a stable surface based on the orientation of the wireless communication device not being stable.
Zhang, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches initiating an orientation change detector based on the orientation of the wireless communication device being stable; or prompting a user of the wireless communication device to place the wireless communication device on a stable surface based on the orientation of the wireless communication device not being stable (Section 0125, measuring or detecting motion/rotation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen, Cheng with the above features of Zhang for the purpose of performing communication with increased reliability and power efficiency as taught by Zhang.
Regarding Claims 6, 29, Maattanen, Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 5, 28. Maattanen further teaches wherein the wireless communication device communicates with the at least one satellite during the at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities (Section 0053, UE can communicate when its energy and antenna are pointed at said satellite).
Maattanen, Cheng does not teach wherein the wireless communication device communicates with the at least one satellite during the at least one alignment opportunity of the one or more alignment opportunities based on the orientation change detector not detecting a change in the orientation of the wireless communication device.
Zhang, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches orientation change detector not detecting a change in the orientation of the wireless communication device (Section 0125).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen, Cheng with the above features of Zhang for the purpose of performing communication with increased reliability and power efficiency as taught by Zhang.
Regarding Claim 9, 32, Maattanen, Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 24. Maattanen further teaches determining one or more first alignment opportunities associated with the one or more satellites (Section 0053, ephemeris provides the plurality of alignment opportunities); movement of the wireless communication device before the one or more first alignment opportunities (Section 0053, the UE is a mobile device thus it can move); and determining one or more second alignment opportunities associated with the one or more satellites based on the movement of the wireless communication device (Section 0053, ephemeris provides the plurality of alignment opportunities).
Maattanen, Cheng does not teach detecting movement of the wireless communication device before the one or more first alignment opportunities.
Zhang, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches detecting movement of the wireless communication device before the one or more first alignment opportunities (Section 0125, detecting motion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen, Cheng with the above features of Zhang for the purpose of performing communication with increased reliability and power efficiency as taught by Zhang.
Claim(s) 7, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maattanen et al. (US 2023/0262590) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2022/0232503) and in further view of Li et al. (US 10,484,033)
Regarding Claims 7, 30, Maattanen, Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 24. Maattanen does not teach determining that the one or more alignment opportunities will not occur within a threshold period of time of a current time; and prompting a user of the wireless communication device to reposition the wireless communication device.
Cheng, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches determining that the one or more alignment opportunities will not occur within a threshold period of time of a current time (Section 0466, no satellite candidate for a while).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen with the above feature to Cheng for the purpose of providing power saving as taught by Cheng.
Maattanen, Cheng does not teach prompting a user of the wireless communication device to reposition the wireless communication device.
Li, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches prompting a user of the wireless communication device to reposition the wireless communication device (Col. 13 lines 43 – 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen, Cheng with the above features of Li for the purpose of avoiding antenna signal blockage and thus improve signal quality as taught by Li.
Claim(s) 10 – 13, 33 – 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maattanen et al. (US 2023/0262590) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2022/0232503) and in further view of Sharma et al. (US 2024/0314664)
Regarding Claims 10, 33, Maattanen, Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 24. Maattanen, Cheng does not teach determining whether or not communication with the at least one satellite was successful.
Sharma, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches determining whether or not communication with the at least one satellite was successful (Section 0099, return of ACK indicates success).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Maattanen, Cheng with the above features of Sharma for the purpose of handling transmission of uplink data more efficiently as taught by Sharma.
Regarding Claims 11, 34, Maattanen, Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 10, 33. Maattanen, Cheng does not teach wherein: communicating with the at least one satellite comprises transmitting a message to the at least one satellite, and the message is determined to have been transmitted successfully based on reception of an acknowledgment from the at least one satellite.
Sharma, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches wherein: communicating with the at least one satellite comprises transmitting a message to the at least one satellite (Section 0099), and the message is determined to have been transmitted successfully based on reception of an acknowledgment from the at least one satellite (Section 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Maattanen, Cheng with the above features of Sharma for the purpose of handling transmission of uplink data more efficiently as taught by Sharma.
Regarding Claims 12, 35, Maattanen, Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 10, 33. Maattanen, Cheng does not teach notifying a user of the wireless communication device whether or not communication with the at least one satellite was successful.
Sharma, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches notifying a user of the wireless communication device whether or not communication with the at least one satellite was successful (Section 0099, an ACK indicates that the communication is successful).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Maattanen, Cheng with the above features of Sharma for the purpose of handling transmission of uplink data more efficiently as taught by Sharma.
Regarding Claim 13, 36, Maattanen, Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 10, 33. Maattanen, Cheng does not teach re-attempting to communicate with the at least one satellite based on communication with the at least one satellite being unsuccessful.
Sharma, which also teaches the use of satellites, teaches re-attempting to communicate with the at least one satellite based on communication with the at least one satellite being unsuccessful (Section 0099, re-establishment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Maattanen, Cheng with the above features of Sharma for the purpose of handling transmission of uplink data more efficiently as taught by Sharma.
Claim(s) 15, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maattanen et al. (US 2023/0262590) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2022/0232503) and in further view of Eom (US 2007/0159405)
Regarding Claims 15, 38, Maattanen, Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 24. Maattanen, Cheng does not teach determining that the wireless communication device is not stationary; determining a pattern of movement of the wireless communication device; and increasing a margin of error of the one or more alignment opportunities based on the pattern of movement.
Eom, which also teaches satellite communications, teaches determining that the wireless communication device is not stationary (Section 0020, takes into account sudden movement of device); determining a pattern of movement of the wireless communication device (Section 0020, takes into account sudden movement of device); and increasing a margin of error of the one or more alignment opportunities based on the pattern of movement (Section 0020, azimuth or elevation error).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Maattanen, Cheng with the above features of Eom for the purpose of minimizing satellite tracking error according to the movements of a mobile as taught by Eom.
Claim(s) 17, 40, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maattanen et al. (US 2023/0262590) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2022/0232503) and in further view of Merrell (US 2018/0076517)
Regarding Claim 17, 40, Maattanen, Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 1, 24. Maattanen, Cheng does not teach monitoring a signal strength of the at least one satellite before communication with the at least one satellite, wherein communication with the at least one satellite is based on the signal strength of the at least one satellite being above a threshold.
Merrell, which also teaches satellite communications, teaches monitoring a signal strength of the at least one satellite before communication with the at least one satellite (Sections 0052, 0053), wherein communication with the at least one satellite is based on the signal strength of the at least one satellite being above a threshold (Sections 0052, 0053, maximizing signal strength).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Maattanen, Cheng with above features of Merrell for the purpose of improving resource efficiency as taught by Merrell.
Claim(s) 19, 20, 42, 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maattanen et al. (US 2023/0262590) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2022/0232503) and in further view of Herz (US 2017/0150060)
Regarding Claims 19, 42, Maattanen, Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 18, 41. Maattanen, Cheng does not teach displaying a prompt to the user to choose to perform the interactive pointing procedure or the method of wireless communication, wherein the user is determined to be incapable of performing the interactive pointing procedure based on reception of user input to perform the method of wireless communication.
Herz, which also teaches mobile devices, teaches displaying a prompt to the user to choose to perform the interactive pointing procedure or the method of wireless communication (Section 0080, display indicates when user is pointing the device accurately), wherein the user is determined to be incapable of performing the interactive pointing procedure based on reception of user input to perform the method of wireless communication (Section 0027, smartphones enable public land mobile network (PLMN) communications, when user engages in said communications said user is incapable of engaging in pointing the device for satellites).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Maattanen, Cheng with the above features of Herz for the purpose of providing advanced imaging satellite information on a mobile device as taught by Herz.
Regarding Claims 20, 43, Maattanen, Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 18, 41. Maattanen, Cheng does not teach detecting a plurality of failed attempts to perform the interactive pointing procedure, wherein the user is determined to be incapable of performing the interactive pointing procedure based on the plurality of failed attempts being detected.
Herz, which also teaches mobile devices, teaches detecting a plurality of failed attempts to perform the interactive pointing procedure, wherein the user is determined to be incapable of performing the interactive pointing procedure based on the plurality of failed attempts being detected (Section 0027, smartphones enable public land mobile network (PLMN) communications, when user engages in said communications said user is incapable of engaging in pointing the device for satellites, when user is engaging in said communications then there will be failed attempts for pointing the device for satellites)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Maattanen, Cheng with the above features of Herz for the purpose of providing advanced imaging satellite information on a mobile device as taught by Herz.
Claim(s) 23, 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maattanen et al. (US 2023/0262590) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2022/0232503) and in further view of Capella et al. (US 9,781,581)
Regarding Claim 23, 46, Maattanen, Cheng teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 18, 24. Maattanen, Cheng does not teach wherein the trigger to communicate via satellite connectivity is based on the wireless communication device not having cellular connectivity.
Capella, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches wherein the trigger to communicate via satellite connectivity is based on the wireless communication device not having cellular connectivity (Col. 31 lines 42 – 44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Maattanen, Cheng with the above features of Capella for the purpose of uniquely identifying a sender of a message in a cost-efficient manner as taught by Capella.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND S DEAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
July 16, 2026