DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I comprising claims 1 – 11 in the reply filed on 6/5/5026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/5/2026.
Note Regarding Prior Art
Examiner cites particular sections, columns, line numbers, paragraphs and figures, in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5 – 8, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Furtaw et al. (US 2022/0057360 A1; hereinafter “Furtaw”).
Regarding claim 1, Furtaw teaches a microfluidic device (device 100; paragraphs 61 and 87; figure 1), comprising:
a substrate (the substrate is broadly interpreted as any part of the body which holds the components of capillary electrophoresis tube 101 and capillary outlet 103, and including the outer body of the microfluidic pump chamber 109 having a nozzle outlet 114) having an outlet channel (nozzle outlet 114);
a microfluidic channel (capillary electrophoresis tube 101) arranged on the substrate such that an outlet (capillary outlet 103) of the microfluidic channel is positioned above at least a portion of the outlet channel (nozzle outlet 114); and
a set of piezoelectric actuators (impulsive pump element 111; paragraphs 63 and 81) arranged above the outlet channel (nozzle outlet 114) and adjacent to the outlet (capillary outlet 103), the set of piezoelectric actuators configured to eject a portion of a fluid out of the microfluidic channel (capillary electrophoresis tube 101) via the outlet (capillary outlet 103).
Regarding claim 2, Furtaw teaches the microfluidic device of claim 1, wherein the outlet (capillary outlet 103) includes a hole that is formed through a thickness of the set of piezoelectric actuators (impulsive pump element 111 arranged on both sides of the microfluidic pump chamber 109; paragraphs 63 and 81) and enclosed by the set of piezoelectric actuators (impulsive pump element 111 arranged on both sides of the microfluidic pump chamber 109; paragraphs 63 and 81)
Regarding claim 3, Furtaw teaches the microfluidic device of claim 1, wherein the set of piezoelectric actuators (impulsive pump element 111 arranged on both sides of the microfluidic pump chamber 109; paragraphs 63 and 81) are arranged on a membrane (at least a portion of the microfluidic pump chamber comprises a deformable surface, which can be connected to the impulsive pump element 111; paragraph 80; see also paragraphs 135 and 137) above the outlet channel (nozzle outlet 114).
Regarding claim 5, Furtaw teaches the microfluidic device of claim 1, further comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to provide actuation signals to the set of piezoelectric actuators, wherein the set of piezoelectric actuators are positioned between the first electrode and the second electrode (e.g., paragraphs 65 and 134).
Regarding claim 6, Furtaw teaches the microfluidic device of claim 1, further comprising an optical layer, wherein the microfluidic channel is arranged between the optical layer and the substrate (the sidewalls of the capillary electrophoresis tube 101 can be made of fused silica, which is implicitly a transparent material that is interpreted to constitute the recited optical layer; paragraph 74).
Regarding claim 7, Furtaw teaches the microfluidic device of claim 1, further comprising a polymer layer that defines at least a portion of the microfluidic channel (the capillary electrophoresis tube 101 can include a sieving matrix comprising a polymer layer, such as polyacrylamide; paragraph 71).
Regarding claim 8, Furtaw teaches the microfluidic device of claim 1, further comprising one or more electrodes arranged adjacent to the microfluidic channel and configured to apply an electrical field to the fluid (e.g., to induce electrophoresis; paragraphs 61 and 75 – 79).
Regarding claim 10, Furtaw teaches the microfluidic device of claim 1, further comprising a second set of piezoelectric actuators (impulsive pump element 111 arranged on both sides of the microfluidic pump chamber 109; paragraphs 63 and 81) arranged adjacent to an inlet (capillary inlet 102; paragraph 61) of the microfluidic channel (capillary electrophoresis tube 101).
Regarding claim 11, Furtaw teaches the microfluidic device of claim 1, further comprising control circuitry (pump actuator 112; paragraph 63) electrically coupled to the set of piezoelectric actuators (impulsive pump element 111 arranged on both sides of the microfluidic pump chamber 109; paragraphs 63 and 81) and configured to provide actuation signals to the set of piezoelectric actuators.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furtaw et al. (US 2022/0057360 A1; hereinafter “Furtaw”) in view of Govyadinov et al. (US 2015/0273853 A1; hereinafter “Govyadinov”).
Regarding claim 4, Furtaw does not specifically teach the microfluidic device of claim 1, further comprising a passivation layer arranged between the set of piezoelectric actuators and the microfluidic channel.
However, piezoelectric actuators comprising a passivation layer are well known in the art as evidence by Govyadinov (e.g., paragraph 29). Consequently, as evidenced by Govyadinov, the incorporation of a passivation layer with a piezoelectric actuator would have been considered to be suitable and predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a passivation layer arranged between the set of piezoelectric actuators and the microfluidic channel.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furtaw et al. (US 2022/0057360 A1; hereinafter “Furtaw”) in view of Puebla Hellmann et al. (US 2022/0135399 A1; hereinafter “Puebla”).
Regarding claim 9, Furtaw does not specifically teach the microfluidic device of claim 1, wherein the substrate includes a silicon base layer and a buried oxide (BOX) layer, wherein the BOX layer separates the microfluidic channel from the silicon base layer.
However, Puebla teaches microfluidic devices comprising capillary structures and a silicon substrate comprising microchannels with a buried oxide layer that electrically isolates the two opposing sidewalls (e.g., paragraphs 23, 32 and 68). The incorporation of a buried oxide layer enables the fabrication of microfluidic structures to take advantage of electrical isolation properties and afford improved performance and function for the microfluidic device. Consequently, as evidenced by Puebla, the incorporation of a substrate comprising a silicon base layer with a buried oxide layer that separates the microfluidic channel walls from the silicon base layer would have been considered to be suitable and predictable to a person of ordinary skill in the art. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the substrate includes a silicon base layer and a buried oxide (BOX) layer, wherein the BOX layer separates the microfluidic channel from the silicon base layer.
Conclusion
BRIAN J. SINES
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1796
/BRIAN J. SINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796