DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In response to the Office Action mailed on 9/04/2025, Applicant elect group 1 which includes claims 1-16 without traverse.
Claims 17-30 are canceled.
Applicant added new set of claims 31-34 on 10/29/2025.
Double Patenting
1. Patent No. US 12309644 B2
Claim 1-16, 31-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-30 of Patent No. US 12309644 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in pending application are transparently found in Patent No. US 12309644 B2 with obvious wording variation. For example, compare Claim 1 of pending application with claim 17 and 22 of Patent No. US 12309644 B2, they both recite:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising (An apparatus configured for wireless communication, the apparatus comprising):
one or more processors (one or more processors);
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors, the one or more memories storing one or more processor-readable instructions and executable by the one or more processors individually or collectively to cause the apparatus to (a memory coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to):
receive, from a terrestrial network entity (receive, by the UE from the network entity), a handover request comprising information that indicates a non-terrestrial network entity and a time duration during which the non-terrestrial network entity is available for communications with the UE (a handover command, the handover command comprising a handover time indicator associated with a target handover time for the UE to perform a handover operation from a first beam to a second beam); and
establish a communication link with the non-terrestrial network entity based at least in part on the handover request (claim 22, perform, by the UE, the handover operation with the network entity).
Further, analyzing and comparing dependent claims 2-8 of the pending application with claims 18-29 of Patent No. US 12309644 B2 it was found that they recite the same limitation with wording changes.
Similarly, analyzing and comparing independent claims 9 and 31 of the pending application including its dependent claims with claims 1 and 30 including its dependent claims of Patent No. US 12309644 B2 it was found that they recite the same limitation with wording changes.
2. Patent No. US 11696189 B2
Claim 1-16, 31-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-30 of Patent No. US 11696189 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in pending application are transparently found in Patent No. US 11696189 B2 with obvious wording variation. For example, compare Claim 1 of pending application with claim 26+38+42 of Patent No. US 11696189 B2, they both recite:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising (An apparatus configured for wireless communication, the apparatus comprising):
one or more processors (at least one processor);
one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors, the one or more memories storing one or more processor-readable instructions and executable by the one or more processors individually or collectively to cause the apparatus to (and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to):
receive, from a terrestrial network entity, a handover request (receive, by the UE from the network entity, a handover command) comprising information that indicates a non-terrestrial network entity and a time duration during which the non-terrestrial network entity is available for communications with the UE (claim 38, wherein the handover command comprising a handover time indicator associated with a target handover time for the UE to perform a handover operation from a first beam to a second beam); and
establish a communication link with the non-terrestrial network entity based at least in part on the handover request (claim 42, the handover operation comprises an intra-satellite handover or an inter-satellite handover).
Further, analyzing and comparing dependent claims 2-8 of the pending application with claims 27-49 of Patent No. US 11696189 B2 it was found that they recite the same limitation with wording changes.
Similarly, analyzing and comparing independent claims 9 and 31 of the pending application including its dependent claims with claims 1 and 50 including its dependent claims of Patent No. US 11696189 B2 it was found that they recite the same limitation with wording changes.
Note the issued claims of Patent No. US 12309644 B2 and Patent No. US 11696189 B2 are narrower in scope such that the claimed limitations as recited in pending application are encompassed by Patent No. US 12309644 B2 and Patent No. US 11696189 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-16, 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without “significantly more”. Claim(s) 1-16, 31-34 is/are directed to Abstract Idea such as an idea standing alone such as an instantiated concept, pan or scheme, as well as a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper for example using measurement received from a mobile device, transmitting from the source relay node to a donor access node.
The apparatus and the method claim 1, 9 and 17 recites limitation, “receive, from a terrestrial network entity, a handover request comprising information that indicates a non-terrestrial network entity and a time duration during which the non-terrestrial network entity is available for communications with the UE; and establish a communication link with the non-terrestrial network entity based at least in part on the handover request”. Since the claim is directed to a process and a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of the invention (Step 1: YES).
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The claim recites receive, from a terrestrial network entity, a handover request; and establish a communication link with the non-terrestrial network entity. The receiving and establishing step recited in the claim is no more than an abstract idea i.e., mental process of receiving data, etc. (Step 2A: Prong One Abstract Idea=Yes).
The claim is then analyzed if it requires an additional elements or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception – i.e., limitation that are indicative of integration into a practical application: improving to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field. In the current claims, there is no additional elements that would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A: Prong Two Abstract Idea=Yes).
Next the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine if there are additional limitation recited in the claim such that the claim amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. The claim requires the additional limitation of a computer with the central processing unit, memory, a printer, an input and output terminal and a program. These generic computer components are claimed to perform the basic functions of storing, retrieving and processing data through the program that enables. In the current scenario, there are no additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (Step 2B: No). Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Further, dependent claims do not add any positive limitation or step that recite within the scope of the claim and does not carry patentable weight they are also rejected for the same reasons as independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16, 31-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsudu et al. Pub. No. US 20220232465 A1 in view of Zhang et al. Pub. No. US 20250039755 A1
Regarding Claim 1, Tsudu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (fig. 9 and Para 184, the non-terrestrial radio communication device 211 performs the NTN selection process and the radio wave measurement of the neighboring cell as the network selection process), comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 1, control Unit 36 and Para 74, the control unit 36 includes a processor and performs various types of processes and control by executing a program stored in the storage unit 35 by the processor);
one or more memories (Fig. 1 Unit 35, storage unit) coupled with the one or more processors, the one or more memories storing one or more processor-readable instructions and executable by the one or more processors (Fig. 1 and Para 74, control unit 36 includes a processor and performs various types of processes and control by executing a program stored in the storage unit 35 by the processor i.e., one or more processors, the one or more memories storing one or more processor-readable instructions and executable by the one or more processors) individually or collectively to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a terrestrial network entity (Fig. 9, Step T56 and Para 189, the terrestrial base station device 121 transfers the RRC connection reconfiguration to the non-terrestrial radio communication device 211 (process T56) i.e., receive, from a terrestrial network entity), a handover request (Para 187, the terrestrial base station device 121 issues a handover request to the non-terrestrial base station device 161 as a target of handover specified based on the measurement report (process T54) i.e., handover request where at T55 the non-terrestrial base station device 161 responds to the terrestrial base station device 121 with an RRC connection reconfiguration and at T56 the terrestrial base station device 121 transfers the RRC connection reconfiguration to the non-terrestrial radio communication device 211) comprising information that indicates a non-terrestrial network entity (Fig. 9 and Para 189-190, the non-terrestrial radio communication device 211 executes a random access process on the non-terrestrial base station device 161 i.e., information indicates a non-terrestrial network entity); and
establish a communication link with the non-terrestrial network entity based at least in part on the handover request (Fig. 9 Step T60 and Para 193, non-terrestrial radio communication device 211 then continuously performs transmission and reception of the user plane data with the PDN server or the DN via the non-terrestrial base station device 161 i.e., establish a communication link with the non-terrestrial network entity based at least in part on the handover request).
Tsudu does not specifically teach receiving a time duration information during which the non-terrestrial network entity is available for communications with the UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches the electronic apparatus 100 may further include a communication unit 103 configured to receive a radio resource control reconfiguration (RRC Reconfiguration) message from the base station, where the RRC Reconfiguration message includes the information of the timing duration of the timer. The base station here is a base station corresponding to a serving cell where the UE is located before handing over to the first cell i.e., a time duration information during which the non-terrestrial network entity is available for communications with the UE (Para 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Tsudu with the method of Zhang so that the frequent cell handover of the UE can be reduced thus energy consumption of the UE is also reduced and thus having a better communication quality (See Zhang Para 50 and 53).
Regarding Claim 2, Tsudu does not specifically teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors individually or collectively to cause the apparatus to: communicate with the non-terrestrial network entity over the communication link during the time duration.
However, in the same field endeavor, Zhang teaches from Fig. 11 Step S12 setting a timer (S12), which is used for timing a time period since UE accesses into a first cell of an NTN, and a timing duration of which is set based on a pre-estimated service time duration of the first cell for the UE i.e., communicate with the non-terrestrial network entity over the communication link during the time duration (Para 72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Tsudu with the method of Zhang so that the frequent cell handover of the UE can be reduced thus energy consumption of the UE is also reduced and thus having a better communication quality (See Zhang Para 50 and 53).
Regarding Claim 3, Tsudu does not specifically teach wherein the time duration is based at least in part on a service availability duration associated with the non-terrestrial network entity, a network energy saving duration associated with the terrestrial network entity, or both the service availability duration and the network energy saving duration.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches the base station of the first cell determines a pre-estimated service time duration of respective candidate cells based on at least the location information of the UE, satellite ephemeris information, a satellite movement direction and speed, a beam elevation, and a cell coverage area. Furthermore, the base station of the first cell determines a target cell based on the beam measurement results of the UE and the determined pre-estimated service time duration of respective candidate cells i.e., a service availability duration associated with the non-terrestrial network entity (Para 75).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Tsudu with the method of Zhang so that the frequent cell handover of the UE can be reduced thus energy consumption of the UE is also reduced and thus having a better communication quality (See Zhang Para 50 and 53).
Regarding Claim 4, Tsudu does not specifically teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors individually or collectively to cause the apparatus to: transmit second information that indicates a set of communication services used for communications by the UE, wherein receiving the handover request comprises receiving the handover request based at least in part on the set of communication services.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches that during the period when the timer does not elapse, the control unit 102 interrupts timing of the timer and triggers a cell handover process in a case that the measured beam quality of the first cell is lower than a predetermined threshold, for example, the beam quality cannot meet a requirement of the UE. For example, the UE measures all the beams and reports the beam measurement results to the base station, and the base station performs cell handover based on the beam measurement results i.e., serving base station would not select target cell that does not support the required communication services for the UE, as this would lead to an unsuccessful HO process i.e., transmit second information that indicates a set of communication services used for communications by the UE, wherein receiving the handover request comprises receiving the handover request based at least in part on the set of communication services (Para 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Tsudu with the method of Zhang so that the frequent cell handover of the UE can be reduced thus energy consumption of the UE is also reduced and thus having a better communication quality (See Zhang Para 50 and 53).
Regarding Claim 5, Tsudu teaches wherein the information indicates that the handover request is configured to offload one or more UEs comprising the UE to the non- terrestrial network entity (Para 191).
Regarding Claim 6, Tsudu does not specifically teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors individually or collectively to cause the apparatus to: receive a request to measure one or more signals transmitted by the non-terrestrial network entity; and transmit a measurement report that indicates a result of measurements of the one or more signals transmitted by the non-terrestrial network entity, wherein receiving the handover request comprises receiving the handover request based at least in part on the measurement report.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches that during the period when the timer does not elapse, the control unit 102 interrupts timing of the timer and triggers a cell handover process in a case that the measured beam quality of the first cell is lower than a predetermined threshold, for example, the beam quality cannot meet a requirement of the UE. For example, the UE measures all the beams and reports the beam measurement results to the base station, and the base station performs cell handover based on the beam measurement results i.e., receive a request to measure one or more signals transmitted by the non-terrestrial network entity; and transmit a measurement report that indicates a result of measurements of the one or more signals transmitted by the non-terrestrial network entity, wherein receiving the handover request comprises receiving the handover request based at least in part on the measurement report (Para 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Tsudu with the method of Zhang so that the frequent cell handover of the UE can be reduced thus energy consumption of the UE is also reduced and thus having a better communication quality (See Zhang Para 50 and 53).
Regarding Claim 7, Tsudu does not specifically teach wherein a duration of a discontinuous reception cycle, a discontinuous transmission cycle, or both, for the terrestrial network entity, is based at least in part on a service duration associated with the non-terrestrial network entity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches from Fig. 11 setting a timer (S12), which is used for timing a time period since UE accesses into a first cell of an NTN, and a timing duration of which is set based on a pre-estimated service time duration of the first cell for the UE and then in Step S13, the number of times of the beam measurements may be reduced during a period when the timer does not elapse, compared with the beam measurements performed after the timer elapses which can be refer to as duration of a discontinuous reception cycle, a discontinuous transmission cycle, or both, for the terrestrial network entity, is based at least in part on a service duration associated with the non-terrestrial network entity (Para 72 and 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Tsudu with the method of Zhang so that the frequent cell handover of the UE can be reduced thus energy consumption of the UE is also reduced and thus having a better communication quality (See Zhang Para 50 and 53).
Regarding Claim 8, Tsudu does not specifically teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors individually or collectively to cause the apparatus to: receive, during a communication duration of a network energy saving mode for the terrestrial network entity, an instruction to reset the time duration.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches that from Fig. 8 that the UE is in cell 5 corresponding to the beam in the scenario as shown in FIG. 2. As time goes by, the timer elapses and a measurement event for a cell handover operation is triggered. After measuring all beams or specific beams (for example, excluding beam(s) corresponding to a cell which is passed through), the UE transmits a measurement report to a source gNB (which is a current serving cell, that is, a base station corresponding to cell 5). The measurement report may include location information of the UE. The source gNB makes a decision based on the received measurement report and a pre-estimated service time duration of respective cells to determine a target cell that the UE is to hand over to. Here, the source gNB may determine a pre-estimated service time duration of a cell based on the location information of the UE, satellite ephemeris information, a satellite movement direction and speed, a beam elevation, a cell coverage area, and the like. In addition, the source gNB may determine, from among candidate cells which are measured, a cell which enables the UE to operate normally and provides the longest pre-estimated service time duration as the target cell. Then, the source gNB transmits a handover request to a gNB of the determined target cell (target gNB). The target gNB performs admission control and transmits a handover request confirmation to the source gNB. The source gNB transmits an RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE, which includes information of the timing duration of the timer. For example, the timing duration of the timer may be a pre-estimated service time duration of the target cell. Next, the UE performs a random-access process to the target gNB. Specifically, the UE transmits a pilot to the target gNB, receives a random-access response from the target gNB, and transmits an RRC ReconfigurationComplete message to the gNB. In addition, the UE starts a timer for timing a time period since the UE accesses into the target cell i.e., receive, during a communication duration of a network energy saving mode for the terrestrial network entity, an instruction to reset the time duration (Para 58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Tsudu with the method of Zhang so that the frequent cell handover of the UE can be reduced thus energy consumption of the UE is also reduced and thus having a better communication quality (See Zhang Para 50 and 53).
Regarding Claim 9, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 11, Tsudu does not specifically teach wherein the instructions to communicate the first information are further executable by the one or more processors individually or collectively to cause the apparatus to: receive the first information that indicates a service availability duration for communications between the first UE and the non-terrestrial network entity, wherein the time duration is based at least in part on the service availability duration.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches a timing duration of the timer may be set based on a pre-estimated service time duration of the first cell for the UE. The pre-estimated service time duration may be determined by the base station based on location information of the UE, satellite ephemeris information, a satellite movement direction and speed, a beam elevation, and a cell coverage area i.e., receive the first information that indicates a service availability duration for communications between the first UE and the non-terrestrial network entity, wherein the time duration is based at least in part on the service availability duration (Para 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Tsudu with the method of Zhang so that the frequent cell handover of the UE can be reduced thus energy consumption of the UE is also reduced and thus having a better communication quality (See Zhang Para 50 and 53).
Regarding Claim 12, Tsudu does not specifically teach wherein the time duration is further based at least in part on a propagation delay of communications between the non-terrestrial network entity and the first UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches a timing duration of the timer may be set based on a pre-estimated service time duration of the first cell for the UE i.e., the time duration is further based at least in part on a propagation delay of communications between the non-terrestrial network entity and the first UE (Para 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Tsudu with the method of Zhang so that the frequent cell handover of the UE can be reduced thus energy consumption of the UE is also reduced and thus having a better communication quality (See Zhang Para 50 and 53).
Regarding Claim 13, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 8.
Regarding Claim 14, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Regarding Claim 15, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Regarding Claim 16, Tsudu does not specifically teach wherein the instructions to communicate the first information are further executable by the one or more processors individually or collectively to cause the apparatus to: communicate the first information that indicates attributes associated with the non-terrestrial network entity, one or more communication service parameters for UEs serviced by the terrestrial network entity, a traffic load for the terrestrial network entity, one or more cell energy saving mode configurations, or a combination thereof, wherein transmitting the handover request comprises transmitting the handover request based at least in part on the first information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches the UE determines its own location after the timer elapses, and the communication unit 103 may further include the location information of the UE in a beam measurement report to provide to the base station. Correspondingly, the base station may estimate, based on the location information of the UE, satellite ephemeris information, a satellite movement direction and speed, a beam elevation, and a cell coverage area, a pre-estimated service time duration in which a corresponding cell serve the UE. For example, in a case of determining a target cell that the UE is to hand over to, the base station may select, from among candidate cells for which the UE performs the beam measurements, a cell which enables the UE to work normally and provides a longest pre-estimated service time duration. Then, the base station instructs the selected target cell to the UE i.e., communicate the first information that indicates attributes associated with the non-terrestrial network entity, one or more communication service parameters for UEs serviced by the terrestrial network entity, a traffic load for the terrestrial network entity, one or more cell energy saving mode configurations, or a combination thereof, wherein transmitting the handover request comprises transmitting the handover request based at least in part on the first information (Para 51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Tsudu with the method of Zhang so that the frequent cell handover of the UE can be reduced thus energy consumption of the UE is also reduced and thus having a better communication quality (See Zhang Para 50 and 53).
Regarding Claim 31, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 32, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 33, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
Regarding Claim 34, it has been rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tseng et al. Patent No. US 12368499 B2 - Method of non-terrestrial network assistance information update procedure and related device
Han et al. Pub. No. US 20250159576 A1 - APPARATUS AND METHOD FOR PROVIDING ACCESS IN NON-TERRESTRIAL NETWORK
Li et al. Pub. No. US 20250047373 A1 - METHOD AND DEVICE FOR SATELLITE SWITCHING IN NON-TERRESTRIAL NETWORK
Lee Pub. No. US 20240098597 A1 - HANDOVER BETWEEN TERRESTRIAL NETWORK AND NON-TERRESTRIAL NETWORK
Xu et al. Pub. No. US 20230135073 A1 - SIGNALING EFFICIENCY IMPROVEMENTS IN NON-TERRESTRIAL NETWORKS
Lee Pub. No. US 20220167221 A1 - METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR CONDITIONAL HANDOVER BASED ON THE SERVICE TIME OF CANDIDATE CELLS IN A WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM
WO 2024035926 A1 - MANAGING COMMUNICATIONS AND OUT-OF-COVERAGE SCENARIOS IN A NON-TERRESTRIAL NETWORK
NIZAR N. SIVJI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/NIZAR N SIVJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647