Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Independent claims 1 and 10 require the second ends of the hair strands be located in a third horizontal plane and are parallel to the third horizontal plane, where the original disclosure does not provide support for both of these conditions being met with respect to a third horizontal plane (the same horizontal plane).
Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10 require the second ends of the hair strands be located in a third horizontal plane and be parallel to the third horizontal plane; however, in order to be parallel to the horizontal plane the hairs cannot be located in the horizontal plane as the term parallel means “extending in the same direction, everywhere equidistant, and not meeting”. Therefore, the ends cannot exist the third horizontal plane and also be parallel to the third horizontal plane. For purposes of examination the claimed phrase will be interpreted as requiring the second ends be located in or extend through the third horizontal plane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zreik et al. (US 20230276886).
Regarding claim 1, Zreik et al. disclose a hair extension (Refer to Figures 1-13B and annotated Figure below) comprising: a plurality of hair strands (26,28); and an angled flexible hair extension strip (20) that holds the plurality of hair strands, the angled flexible hair extension strip having a first side end (Refer to annotated Figure below) and an opposing second side end (Refer to annotated Figure below), where the first side end and the second side end are located in different horizontal planes (Refer to annotated Figure below where horizonal planes illustrated as dashed lines extend through the first and second side ends); and wherein each of the hair strands comprises a first end (26a, 28a) that is held, by the angled flexible hair extension strip, and a second end (26b, 28b) that is unattached, wherein the first ends of the hair strands are arranged in a layer; wherein the second ends of the hair strands are parallel to a horizontal plane (Refer to annotated Figure below); and wherein the first ends of the hair strands are located in a plurality of horizontal planes that are different from each of the first, second and third horizontal planes (Refer to annotated Figure below), wherein the hair strands are vertically attached to the angled flexible hair extension strip and hang naturally without buckling to the third horizontal plane and the angles flexible hair extension strip is flexible so as to form to the head of the user (Refer to Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 9, Zreik et al. discloses the angled flexible hair extension strip has a flat, elongated configuration (Refer to annotated Figure above).
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richwine (US 20210204628).
Regarding claim 1, Richwine discloses a hair extension (Refer to Figure 4) comprising: a plurality of hair strands (408,410); and an angled flexible hair extension strip (402, 404, 406) that holds the plurality of hair strands, the angled flexible hair extension strip having a first side end (end at fold of 402) and an opposing second side end (end created by overlapping ends of 404,406 opposite 402), where the first side end defines a first horizontal plane and the second side end defines a second horizontal plane, the first horizontal plane being different from the second horizontal plane; and wherein each of the hair strands comprises a first end (ends of 408,410 attached to 404,402,406) that is held, by the angled flexible hair extension strip, and a second end that is unattached, wherein the first ends of the hair strands are arranged in a layer; wherein the second ends of the hair strands are located in and parallel to a third horizontal plane, where the third horizontal plane is different form the first and second horizontal planes; and wherein the first ends of the hair strands are located in a plurality of horizontal planes that are different from each of the first, second and third horizontal planes (Refer to Figure 4), wherein the hair strands are vertically attached to the angled flexible hair extension strip and hang naturally without buckling to the third horizontal plane and the angles flexible hair extension strip is flexible so as to form to the head of the user (Refer to Figures 4, 2a and 2b).
Regarding claim 9, Richwine discloses the angled flexible hair extension strip has a flat, elongated configuration (the strip is folded such that 402 is at one end and 404 and 406 are joined together, whereby the strip provides an elongated and flat configuration).
Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kenna (US 20150296912).
Regarding claim 1, Kenna discloses a hair extension (Refer to Figures 1-29) comprising: a plurality of hair strands (18); and an angled flexible hair extension strip (20,22,55) that holds the plurality of hair strands, the angled flexible hair extension strip having a first side end (Refer to annotated Figure below) and an opposing second side end (Refer to annotated Figure below), where the first side end defines a first horizontal plane and the second side end defines a second horizontal plane, the first horizontal plane being different from the second horizontal plane (Refer to annotated Figure below); wherein each of the hair strands comprises a first end (end embedded/attached to 20,22) that is held, by the angled flexible hair extension strip, and a second end (free ends of 18) that is unattached, wherein the first ends of the hair strands are arranged in a layer; wherein the second ends of the hair strands are located in a third horizontal plane and are parallel to the third horizontal plane, the third horizontal plane being different from each of the first and second horizontal planes (Refer to annotated Figure below. Additionally, Kenna states the second/free ends of the strand 18 hang freely at a desired length or are cut to a desired length, Refer to paragraph 0046 where a conventional configuration is to provide aligned ends so that the ends form a straight (0 degree) line when installed/attached.); and wherein the first ends of the hair strands are located in a plurality of horizontal planes that are different from the first, second and third horizontal planes (Refer to annotated Figure below), wherein the hair strands are vertically attached to the angled flexible hair extension strip and hand naturally without buckling to the third horizontal plane and wherein the angled flexible hair extension strip is flexible so as to form to the surface of the scalp or head of the user.
Regarding claim 2, Kenna discloses the angled flexible hair extension strip comprises a strip glue layer (the inner adhesive layer on 20 or 22 in contact with the hair 18 Refer to paragraph 0050 or adhesive of 20 attached to 55 which also supports the hair) on one side of the angled flexible hair extension strip, wherein the strip glue layer holds the layer of hair strands.
Regarding claim 9, Kenna discloses the angled flexible hair extension strip has a flat, elongated configuration (Refer to Figures 1, 7, 16 and 18).
Regarding claim 10, Kenna discloses a method for attaching hair extensions to natural hair of a user, the method comprising:
parting natural hair of the user to form a part (the user makes a part line in the natural hair 13 and secures the natural hair 13 with a clip 11, Refer to Figures 1, 21 and 22, Abstract and paragraphs 0056 and 0104);
attaching a first angled hair extension to natural hair of the user below the part (Refer to Figure 1 and paragraph 0104, the angled hair extension is secured to the user’s hair adjacent the part), wherein the first angled hair extension comprises: a plurality of hair strands (strands 18); and an angled flexible hair extension strip (22, or 55) that holds the plurality of hair strands, the angled flexible hair extension strip having a first side end (Refer to annotated Figure above) and an opposing second side end (Refer to annotated Figure above), where the first side end defines a first horizontal plane (Refer to annotated Figure above) and the second side end defines a second horizontal plane, the first horizontal plane being different from the second horizontal plane (Refer to annotated Figure above); and wherein each of the hair strands comprises a first end that is held, by the angled hair extension strip and a second end that is free, wherein the first ends of the hair strands are arranged in a layer; wherein the second end of the hair strands are located in a third horizontal plane and are parallel to the third horizontal plane, (Refer to annotated Figure above. Additionally, Kenna teaches the second/free ends of the strand 18 hand freely at a desired length or are cut to a desired length, Refer to paragraph 0046 where a conventional configuration is to provide aligned ends so that the ends form a straight (0 degree) line when installed/attached.), the third horizontal plane being different from each of the first and second horizontal planes (Refer to annotated Figure above); wherein the first ends of the hair strands are located in a plurality of horizontal planes that are different from each of the first, second and third horizontal planes (Refer to annotated Figure above);
wherein the hair strands are vertically attached to the angled flexible hair extension strip and hang naturally without buckling to the third horizontal plane;
wherein the angled flexible hair extension strip is flexible so as to form to the surface of the scalp or head of the user;
a first adhesive tape (20 per figures 3-5, 10, 11, 17, and 23; 40 and/or 20 per Figure 8) having a first side (side of 20 contacting 22; side of 40 contacting 20) attached to the angled flexible hair extension strip (22) and a second side (side of 20,40 opposite first side and contacting hair) for attaching the first angled hair extension to natural hair of the user;
lifting the first hair extension after attachment of the first hair extension to natural hair of the user (Refer to paragraph 0079 and 0082, and Figures 21 and 22); and
attaching a second hair extension to natural hair of the user (Refer to paragraphs 0079 and 0082 and Figures 22, 23, 28A-28C).
Regarding claim 11, Kenna discloses the angled flexible hair extension strip comprises a strip glue layer (adhesive layer of 20 and/or 22) on one side of the angled flexible hair extension strip, wherein the strip glue layer holds the layer of hair strands.
Regarding claim 18, Kenna discloses the angled flexible hair extension strip has a flat, elongated configuration (Refer to Figures 1, 7, 16 and 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable by Kenna.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Kenna discloses the hair extension of claims 1 and 10 above; however, Kenna does not explicitly disclose the angled flexible hair extension strip has an angle of 45 degrees relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hair strands. Kenna depicts the strip disposed at an angle (Refer to Figure 1) and teaches the hair is parted at an angle relative to the horizontal as desired by the user or installer (Refer to paragraph 0104), where the hair extension follows the angle of the part. Kenna also explains that the second ends of the hair “can be cut or styled if a shorter length is desired” (Refer to paragraph 0046), where the length can be “cut depending upon the user’s preference” (Refer to paragraph 0048) but is silent regarding the angle of the strip being relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hairs. It is conventional for hair extensions to provide a straight (0 degree) edge (horizontal plane) along the second ends of the hair to mimic a one-length hair cut (hair style where the free ends of hairs align).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hair extension of Kenna such that the angle of the strip be 45 degrees relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hair strands, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values/ranges involves only routine skill in the art, where Kenna provides the general conditions of an angled strip and cutting the second ends as desired, where it is conventional for hair extensions to be configured such that the second ends of hair strands be at the same horizontal plane to result in a straight edge of aligned hairs when installed as this is a typical hairstyle; additionally, Kenna provides motivation for providing various angles as desired, as Kenna teaches the hair is parted at a desired angle and the extension follows the part, thereby providing the strip at the desired angle.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Kenna discloses the hair extension of claims 1 and 10 above; however, Kenna does not explicitly disclose the angled flexible hair extension strip has an angle between 10 and 45 degrees relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hair strands. Kenna depicts the strip disposed at an angle (Refer to Figure 1) and teaches the hair is parted at an angle relative to the horizontal as desired by the user or installer (Refer to paragraph 0104), where the hair extension follows the angle of the part. Kenna also explains that the second ends of the hair “can be cut or styled if a shorter length is desired” (Refer to paragraph 0046), where the length can be “cut depending upon the user’s preference” (Refer to paragraph 0048) but is silent regarding the angle of the strip being relative to a horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hairs. It is conventional for hair extensions to provide a straight (0 degree) edge (horizontal plane) along the second ends of the hair to mimic a one-length hair cut (hair style where the free ends of hairs align).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hair extension of Kenna such that the angle be between 10 and 45 degrees relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hair strands, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values/ranges involves only routine skill in the art, where Kenna provides the general conditions of an angled strip and cutting the second ends as desired, where it is conventional for hair extensions to be configured such that the second ends of hair strands be at the same horizontal plane to result in a straight edge of aligned hairs when installed as this is a typical hairstyle; additionally, Kenna provides motivation for providing various angles as desired, as Kenna teaches the hair is parted at a desired angle and the extension follows the part, thereby providing the strip at the desired angle.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Kenna discloses the hair extension of claims 1 and 10 above; however, Kenna does not explicitly disclose the angled flexible hair extension strip has an angle between 10 and 70 degrees relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hair strands. Kenna discloses the general conditions of the claim, as the strip is disposed at an angle. Kenna also explains that the second ends of the hair “can be cut or styled if a shorter length is desired” (Refer to paragraph 0046), where the length can be “cut depending upon the user’s preference” (Refer to paragraph 0048) but is silent regarding the angle of the strip being relative to a horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hairs. It is conventional for hair extensions to provide a straight () degree) edge (horizontal plane) along the second ends of the hair to mimic a one-length hair cut (hair style where the free ends of hairs align).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hair extension of Kenna such that the angle be between 10 and 70 degrees relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hair strands, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values/ranges involves only routine skill in the art where Kenna provides the general conditions of an angled strip and cutting the second ends as desired, where it is conventional for hair extensions to be configured such that the second ends of hair strands be at the same horizontal plane to result in a straight edge of aligned hairs when installed as this is a typical hairstyle; additionally, Kenna provides motivation for providing various angles as desired, as Kenna teaches the hair is parted at a desired angle and the extension follows the part, thereby providing the strip at the desired angle.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Kenna discloses the hair extension of claims 1 and 10 above; however, Kenna does not explicitly disclose the angled flexible hair extension strip has an angle between 20 and 45 degrees relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hair strands. Kenna depicts the strip disposed at an angle (Refer to Figure 1) and teaches the hair is parted at an angle relative to the horizontal as desired by the user or installer (Refer to paragraph 0104), where the hair extension follows the angle of the part. Kenna also explains that the second ends of the hair “can be cut or styled if a shorter length is desired” (Refer to paragraph 0046), where the length can be “cut depending upon the user’s preference” (Refer to paragraph 0048) but is silent regarding the angle of the strip being relative to a horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hairs. It is conventional for hair extensions to provide a straight (0 degree) edge (horizontal plane) along the second ends of the hair to mimic a one-length hair cut (hair style where the free ends of hairs align).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hair extension of Kenna such that the angle be between 20 and 45 degrees relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hair strands, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values/ranges involves only routine skill in the art; additionally, Kenna provides motivation for providing various angles as desired as Kenna teaches the hair is parted at a desired angle and the extension follows the part, thereby providing the strip at the desired angle.
Regarding claims 7-8 and 16-17, Kenna discloses the hair extension of claims 1 and 10 above; however, Kenna does not explicitly disclose the angled flexible hair extension strip has an angle between 45 and 70 degrees relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hair strands. Kenna depicts the strip disposed at an angle (Refer to Figure 1) and teaches the hair is parted at an angle relative to the horizontal as desired by the user or installer (Refer to paragraph 0104), where the hair extension follows the angle of the part. Kenna also explains that the second ends of the hair “can be cut or styled if a shorter length is desired” (Refer to paragraph 0046), where the length can be “cut depending upon the user’s preference” (Refer to paragraph 0048) but is silent regarding the angle of the strip being relative to a horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hairs. It is conventional for hair extensions to provide a straight (0 degree) edge (horizontal plane) along the second ends of the hair to mimic a one-length hair cut (hair style where the free ends of hairs align).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hair extension of Kenna such that the angle be between 45 and 70 degrees relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hair strands, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values/ranges involves only routine skill in the art where Kenna provides the general conditions of an angled strip and cutting the second ends as desired, where it is conventional for hair extensions to be configured such that the second ends of hair strands be at the same horizontal plane to result in a straight edge of aligned hairs when installed as this is a typical hairstyle; additionally, Kenna provides motivation for providing various angles as desired, as Kenna teaches the hair is parted at a desired angle and the extension follows the part, thereby providing the strip at the desired angle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-8 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenna and Takechi et al. (US 20210227907).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Kenna discloses the hair extension of claims 1 and 10 above; however, Kenna does not explicitly disclose the angled flexible hair extension strip has an angle of 45 degrees relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hair strands. Kenna depicts the strip disposed at an angle (Refer to Figure 1) and teaches the hair is parted at an angle relative to the horizontal as desired by the user or installer (Refer to paragraph 0104), where the hair extension follows the angle of the part. Kenna also explains that the second ends of the hair “can be cut or styled if a shorter length is desired” (Refer to paragraph 0046), where the length can be “cut depending upon the user’s preference” (Refer to paragraph 0048) but is silent regarding the angle of the strip being relative to a horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hairs. It is conventional for hair extensions to provide a straight edge (horizontal plane) along the second ends of the hair to mimic a one-length hair cut (hair style where the free ends of hairs align). Takechi et al. demonstrates the claimed angles are well-known and conventional. Takechi et al. discloses a similar hair extension having an angled hair extension strip (11) with hair strands (10a, 10b, 10c) extending from the strip (11), where the strips have an inclination angle of 5 degrees or more and 60 degrees or less (Refer to paragraph 0011 and 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hair extension of Kenna such that the angle of the strip be 45 degrees relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hair strands, as Kenna discloses the general conditions of a claim (angled strip and cutting the second ends as desired, where it is conventional for hair extensions to be configured such that the second ends of hair strands be at the same horizontal plane to result in a straight edge of aligned hairs when installed as this is a typical hairstyle) and Takechi et al. demonstrates the claimed value is well-known and conventional. Additionally, Kenna provides motivation for providing various angles as desired, as Kenna teaches the hair is parted at a desired angle and the extension follows the part, thereby providing the strip at the desired angle.
Regarding claims 4-7 and 13-16, Kenna discloses the hair extension of claims 1 and 10 above; however, Kenna does not explicitly disclose the angled flexible hair extension strip has an angle of 10-45 degrees, 10-70 degrees, 20-45 degrees or 45-70 degrees relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hair strands. Kenna depicts the strip disposed at an angle (Refer to Figure 1) and teaches the hair is parted at an angle relative to the horizontal as desired by the user or installer (Refer to paragraph 0104), where the hair extension follows the angle of the part. Kenna also explains that the second ends of the hair “can be cut or styled if a shorter length is desired” (Refer to paragraph 0046), where the length can be “cut depending upon the user’s preference” (Refer to paragraph 0048) but is silent regarding the angle of the strip being relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hairs. It is conventional for hair extensions to provide a straight edge (horizontal plane) along the second ends of the hair to mimic a one-length hair cut (hair style where the free ends of hairs align). Takechi et al. demonstrates the claimed angles are well-known and conventional. Takechi et al. discloses a similar hair extension having an angled hair extension strip (11) with hair strands (10a, 10b, 10c) extending from the strip (11), where the strips have an inclination angle of 5 degrees or more and 60 degrees or less (Refer to paragraph 0011 and 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hair extension of Kenna such that the angle of the strip be within the claimed ranges relative to the third horizontal plane defined by the second ends of the hair strands, as Kenna discloses the general conditions of a claim (angled strip and cutting the second ends as desired, where it is conventional for hair extensions to be configured such that the second ends of hair strands be at the same horizontal plane to result in a straight edge of aligned hairs when installed as this is a typical hairstyle) and Takechi et al. demonstrates the values within the claimed ranges are well-known and conventional. Additionally, Kenna provides motivation for providing various angles as desired, as Kenna teaches the hair is parted at a desired angle and the extension follows the part, thereby providing the strip at the desired angle.
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zreik.
Regarding claim 3, Zreik discloses the hair extension of claim 1 above, wherein the angled flexible hair extension strip has an angle relative to the third horizontal plane (Refer to annotated Figure below). However, Zreik is silent regarding the exact angle and therefore, does not disclose the angle being 45 degrees. The Figures show the angle as being acute (less than 90 degrees). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hair extension of Zreik such that the angle be 45 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Zreik discloses the hair extension of claim 1 above, wherein the angled flexible hair extension strip has an angle relative to the third horizontal plane (Refer to annotated Figure below). However, Zreik is silent regarding the exact angle and therefore, does not disclose the angle being 10 to 45 degrees. The Figures show the angle as being acute (less than 90 degrees). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hair extension of Zreik such that the angle be 10 to 45 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Zreik discloses the hair extension of claim 1 above, wherein the angled flexible hair extension strip has an angle relative to the third horizontal plane (Refer to annotated Figure below). However, Zreik is silent regarding the exact angle and therefore, does not disclose the angle being 10 to 70 degrees. The Figures show the angle as being acute (less than 90 degrees). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hair extension of Zreik such that the angle be 10 to 70 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6, Zreik discloses the hair extension of claim 1 above, wherein the angled flexible hair extension strip has an angle relative to the third horizontal plane (Refer to annotated Figure below). However, Zreik is silent regarding the exact angle and therefore, does not disclose the angle being 20 to 45 degrees. The Figures show the angle as being acute (less than 90 degrees). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hair extension of Zreik such that the angle be 20 to 45 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Zreik discloses the hair extension of claim 1 above, wherein the angled flexible hair extension strip has an angle relative to the third horizontal plane (Refer to annotated Figure below). However, Zreik is silent regarding the exact angle and therefore, does not disclose the angle being 45 to 70 degrees. The Figures show the angle as being acute (less than 90 degrees). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hair extension of Zreik such that the angle be 45 to 70 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument: Zreik does not disclose a hair extension in which the unattached second ends are located together in and parallel to a third horizontal plane.
Response: The newly added claim language contains indefiniteness issues as identified in the rejection above. The ends cannot be in the plane while also being parallel to the plane as in order to be parallel it must be spaced apart from and not intersect. However, the second ends of the hairs are located together in the third horizontal plane as shown in the annotated Figure provided with the rejection above.
Argument: Applicant alleges the new limitations requiring the second ends of the hair strands being in the third horizontal plane overcomes the rejection of Richwine.
Response: A plane can be drawn through the second ends of the hair strands and this plane is different from the planes extending through the first and second side ends. Richwine still applies to amended claim 1.
Argument: Kenna does not disclose three different horizontal planes as currently claimed.
Response: Figure 1 of Kenna has been annotated and provided in the rejection above to demonstrate that Kenna does provide the three different horizontal planes as claimed.
Argument: Applicant alleges if Kenna’s hair extension is angled the hairs buckle and Applicant provides a self-made Figure depicting such buckling.
Response: Figure 1 of Kenna shows the strip at an angle and the hairs falling without buckling.
Argument: With regard to the combination of Kenna and Takechi, Applicant argues Takechi does not cure the deficiencies of Kenna regarding the three planes being different and Takechi teaches against the claimed configuration because Takechi teaches the fibers “do not hang down under their own weight and easily rise up”, exhibiting “extra volume at the root”.
Response: As explained previously, Kenna provides all of the limitations of claim ; Takechi is not relied upon to teach any of the limitations in claim 1. Instead, Takechi is relied upon for the teaching of the claimed angle between the third horizontal plane in which the second ends of the hairs extend and the strip. With regard to the portion of the disclosure of Takechi referenced by Applicant, this disclosure does not mean the hairs do not fall freely. The Figures depict the hair falling freely. The arrangement simply ensures the root portion (first ends) provide volume but the hairs still flow and fall naturally down.
Conclusion
/TATIANA L NOBREGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799