DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment received on 07/15/2026. Amended claims 1, 6 and 9-10are acknowledged. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yeon et al. (US 2023/0302873, herein “Yeon”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses:
a thermal management system (figs. 1-12) [par. 0002] comprising:
a thermal management circuit (25 plus 35 plus 45) in which a heat medium flows [par. 0040], the thermal management circuit (25 plus 35 plus 45) having a first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) including a reservoir (94) and a second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) not including the reservoir (94) (figs. 4-12);
a switching valve (2 plus 3 plus 4 plus 5 plus 6) including a plurality of ports (seen in fig. 1) each connected to the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) or the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) (seen in fig. 1); and
a controller that controls the switching valve (2-6) to switch a plurality of modes (figs. 4-12) with regard to a flow path for the heat medium in the thermal management circuit [par. 0062],
(it is noted, although Kim does not specifically discloses a controller that controls the switching valve, Kim discloses numerous modes of operation that requires controlling the switching valve and that suggests the necessary presence of a controller capable of connecting the different ports of the switching valve according to the user’s needs. Further, the use of controllers that controls switching valves in thermal management systems of vehicles is old and known in the art, as taught by Yeon, par. 0016. Furthermore, Yeon discloses a modular switching valve apparatus (60) incorporated into a thermal management system of a vehicle as an improvement of a thermal management system incorporating several smaller switching valves (seen in fig. 7, for instance) which is applicable to the several switching valves (2-6) of Kim for the purpose of ease of manufacturing and improving in utilization of space [par. 0024])
wherein the plurality of modes (figs. 4-12) includes a first mode (fig. 10) and a second mode (fig. 4),
the first mode (fig. 10) is a mode in which the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) are connected together in series (fig. 10) [par. 0080], and
the second mode (fig. 4) is a mode in which the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) are connected together in parallel and less than all of the heat medium flowing in the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) flows to the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) via the switching valve (2-6) (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, below) [par. 0063-0065].
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses:
the plurality of modes further including a third mode (fig. 6), and
the third mode being a mode in which the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) are connected together in parallel so as to avoid mixing of the heat medium flowing in the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and the heat medium flowing in the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) (fig. 6) [par. 0070-0071].
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses:
the plurality of ports being at least four ports, and the at least four ports include two ports (at 2 and 3) each connected to the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and two other ports (at 5 and 6) each connected to the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) (figs. 4-12).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses:
the thermal management system being mounted on a vehicle [par. 0002] including a driving device (91) and a battery (92),
the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) being a circuit in which the heat medium flows to exchange heat with the driving device (91) (figs. 4-12) [par. 0043], and
the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) being a circuit in which the heat medium flows to exchange heat with the battery (92) (figs. 4-2) [par. 0044].
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses:
the thermal management circuit further including a third circuit in which the heat medium flows to bypass the battery (92), the third circuit not including the reservoir (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 3),
the plurality of modes further including a fourth mode (fig. 5), and
the fourth mode being a mode in which the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and the third circuit are connected together in series (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 3, as it applies to fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses:
a switching valve (2 plus 3 plus 4 plus 5 plus 6) connected to a thermal management circuit including a first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and a second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) (figs. 1-12) [par. 0002],
the switching valve (2-6) comprising:
a case (the case of valve 2-6) provided with a plurality of ports each connected to the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) or the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) (figs. 1-2); and
a valve body (the body of valve 2-6) that is accommodated in the case (the case of valve 2-6) and that controls flow of a heat medium (known in the art),
(it is noted, although Kim does not specifically discloses a controller that controls the switching valve, Kim discloses numerous modes of operation that requires controlling the switching valve and that suggests the necessary presence of a controller capable of connecting the different ports of the switching valve according to the user’s needs. Further, the use of controllers that controls switching valves in thermal management systems of vehicles is old and known in the art, as taught by Yeon, par. 0016. Furthermore, Yeon discloses a modular switching valve apparatus (60) incorporated into a thermal management system of a vehicle as an improvement of a thermal management system incorporating several smaller switching valves (seen in fig. 7, for instance) which is applicable to the several switching valves (2-6) of Kim for the purpose of ease of manufacturing and improving in utilization of space [par. 0024])
wherein the valve body (the body of valve 2-6) is provided with a communication portion (the portion of the valve that switches the flow of coolant between the different ports; see, for instance, paragraphs 0063-0085, where switching valve 2-6 provide multiple interfaces between ports and the quantity of interfaces may be determined based on a use requirement of the thermal management system) that is able to switch a plurality of patterns with regard to a manner of communication of the heat medium between the plurality of ports (seen in figs. 4-12) [par. 0062],
the plurality of patterns includes a first pattern (fig. 10) and a second pattern (fig. 4),
the first pattern (fig. 10) is a pattern in which the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) are connected together in series (fig. 10) [par. 0080], and
the second pattern (fig. 4) is a pattern in which the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) are connected together in parallel and less than all of the heat medium flowing in the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) flows to the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) via the valve body (the body of valve 2-6) (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 3) [par. 0063-0065].
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses:
the plurality of ports being at least four ports, and the at least four ports include two ports (at 2 and 3) each connected to the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and two other ports (at 5 and 6) each connected to the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) (figs. 4-12).
Regarding claim 8, Kim does not disclose:
the case including a first space to which at least three ports of the at least four ports are connected, and a second space to which at least one port of the at least four ports is connected,
the first space and the second space being portioned by the valve body,
the first space being divided into a plurality of spaces by a plurality of partition walls, and
the communication portion including
a first communication portion that communicates two spaces of the plurality of spaces with each other, and
a second communication portion that communicates the first space and the second space with each other.
As it applies to claims 6-7, above, Yeon discloses a modular switching valve apparatus (60) incorporated into a thermal management system of a vehicle as an improvement of a thermal management system incorporating several smaller switching valves (seen in fig. 7, for instance) which is applicable to the several switching valves (2-6) of Kim for the purpose of ease of manufacturing and improving in utilization of space [par. 0024],
the switching valve (60) including a case (100) including a plurality of ports (110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160) including at least four ports (110, 120, 130, 140) (figs. 1-5),
the case (100) including a first space (S1) to which at least three ports (110, 120, 130) of the at least four ports (110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160) are connected, and a second space (S2) to which at least one port (140) of the at least four ports (110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160) is connected (figs. 1-5) [par. 0053],
the first space (S1) and the second space (S2) being partitioned by a valve body (see annotated fig. 2-YEON, below),
the first space (S1) being divided into a plurality of spaces (210) [par. 0048] by a plurality of partition walls (see annotated fig. 2-YEON, page 6), and
a communication portion (230) including
a first communication portion that communicates two spaces (210) of the plurality of spaces (210) with each other, and a second communication portion that communicates the first space (S1) and the second space (S2) with each other [par. 0048 and 0060].
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses:
a method of controlling a thermal management system [par. 0002] including a thermal management circuit (25 plus 35 plus 45) and a switching valve (2 plus 3 plus 4 plus 5 plus 6) (figs. 4-12),
wherein the thermal management circuit (25 plus 35 plus 45) has a first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) including a reservoir (94) and a second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) not including the reservoir (94) (figs. 4-12), and
the switching valve (2-6) including a plurality of ports (seen in fig. 1) each connected to the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) or the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) (seen in fig. 1),
the method comprising controlling the switching valve (2-6) to switch a plurality of modes (fig. 4-12) with regard to a flow path for a heat medium in the thermal management circuit (25 plus 35 plus 45) [par. 0062],
(it is noted, although Kim does not specifically discloses a controller that controls the switching valve, Kim discloses numerous modes of operation that requires controlling the switching valve and that suggests the necessary presence of a controller capable of connecting the different ports of the switching valve according to the user’s needs. Further, the use of controllers that controls switching valves in thermal management systems of vehicles is old and known in the art, as taught by Yeon, par. 0016. Furthermore, Yeon discloses a modular switching valve apparatus (60) incorporated into a thermal management system of a vehicle as an improvement of a thermal management system incorporating several smaller switching valves (seen in fig. 7, for instance) which is applicable to the several switching valves (2-6) of Kim for the purpose of ease of manufacturing and improving in utilization of space [par. 0024])
wherein the plurality of modes (figs. 4-12) includes a first mode (fig. 10) and a second mode (fig. 4),
the first mode (fig. 10) is a mode in which the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) are connected together in series (fig. 10) [par. 0080], and
the second mode (fig. 4) is a mode in which the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) are connected together in parallel and less than all of the heat medium flowing in the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) flows to the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) via the switching valve (2-6) (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 3) [par. 0063-0065].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kim and Yeon discloses:
the first circuit (Kim, from tank 94 to valve 3) including a reservoir (Kim, 94) and the second circuit (Kim, from valve 6 to valve 5) not including the reservoir (Kim, 94) (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 3);
the switching valve (Kim, 2-6) being configured, under control of a controller (Yeon), to switch a plurality of modes (Kim, figs. 4-12) with regard to a flow path for the heat medium in the thermal management circuit [Kim, par. 0062],
the plurality of modes (Kim, figs. 4-12) including a first mode (Kim, fig. 10) and a second mode (Kim, fig. 4),
in the first mode (Kim, fig. 10), the switching valve (Kim, 2-6) is configured to connect the first circuit (Kim, from tank 94 to valve 3) and the second circuit (Kim, from valve 6 to valve 5) together in series (fig. 10) [par. 0080], and
in the second mode (Kim, fig. 4), the switching valve (Kim, 2-6) is configured to connect the first circuit (Kim, from tank 94 to valve 3) and the second circuit (Kim, from valve 6 to valve 5) together in parallel, to flow less than all of the heat medium flowing in the second circuit (Kim, from valve 6 to valve 5) to the first circuit (Kim, from tank 94 to valve 3) via the switching valve (Kim, 2-6) (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 3) [Kim, par. 0063-0065].
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses:
the plurality of modes further including a third mode (fig. 6), and
in the third mode, the switching valve (2-6) is configured to connect the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) together in parallel, to avoid mixing of the heat medium flowing in the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and the heat medium flowing in the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) (fig. 6) [par. 0070-0071].
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses:
the plurality of ports including:
two ports (at 2 and 3) each connected to the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3), and
two other ports (at 5 and 6) each connected to the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) (figs. 4-12).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses:
a thermal management system including the switching valve (2-6) and the thermal management circuit being mounted on a vehicle [par. 0002] including a driving device (91) and a battery (92) (figs. 1-2),
the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) being a circuit in which the heat medium flows to exchange heat with the driving device (91) (figs. 4-12) [par. 0043], and
the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) being a circuit in which the heat medium flows to exchange heat with the battery (92) (figs. 4-12) [par. 0044].
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses:
the thermal management circuit further including a third circuit in which the heat medium flows to bypass the battery (92), the third circuit including no reservoir (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 3),
the plurality of modes further including a fourth mode (fig. 5), and
the fourth mode being a mode in which the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) and the third circuit are connected together in series (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 3).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses:
the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) including no reservoir (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 3).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses:
each of the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) and the third circuit includes no reservoir (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 3).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses:
in the second mode (fig. 4), less than all of the heat medium flowing in the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) flows to the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) via the switching valve (2-6), without any part of the heat medium flowing in the first circuit (from tank 94 to valve 3) flowing to the second circuit (from valve 6 to valve 5) (seen in annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/15/2026 have been fully considered but they do not apply to the new grounds of rejection. In this case, the overly broad language of the amended independent claims allows a broad interpretation of the claims which the combination of Kim and Yeon reads on. Please refer to the rejection above.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A HINCAPIE SERNA/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763