CTFR 18/466,823 CTFR 91111 DETAILED ACTION This action is in response to applicant’s amendment received on 03/03/2026. Claims 1-16 are pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2024/0140172, herein “Kim”) . Regarding claim 6 , Kim discloses: a switching valve (2 plus 3 plus 4 plus 5 plus 6) connected to a thermal management circuit including a first circuit (25) and a second circuit (where battery 92 is) (figs. 1-12) [par. 0002], the switching valve (2-6) comprising: a case (the case of valve 2-6) provided with a plurality of ports each connected to the first circuit (25) or the second circuit (where battery 92 is) (figs. 1-2); and a valve body (the body of valve 2-6) that is accommodated in the case (the case of valve 2-6) and that controls flow of a heat medium (known in the art), wherein the valve body (the body of valve 2-6) is provided with a communication portion (the portion of the valve that switches the flow of coolant between the different ports; see, for instance, paragraphs 0063-0085, where switching valve 2-6 provide multiple interfaces between ports and the quantity of interfaces may be determined based on a use requirement of the thermal management system) that is able to switch a plurality of patterns with regard to a manner of communication of the heat medium between the plurality of ports (seen in figs. 4-12) [par. 0062], the plurality of patterns includes a first pattern (fig. 10) and a second pattern (fig. 4), the first pattern (fig. 10) is a pattern in which the first circuit (25) and the second circuit (where battery 92 is) are connected together in series (fig. 10) [par. 0080], and the second pattern (fig. 4) is a pattern in which the first circuit (25) and the second circuit (where battery 92 is) are connected together in parallel and part of the heat medium flowing in the second circuit (where battery 92 is) flows to the first circuit (25) via the valve body (the body of valve 2-6) (fig. 4) [par. 0065-0066]. Regarding claim 7 , Kim discloses: the plurality of ports being at least four ports, and the at least four ports include two ports (at 2) each connected to the first circuit (25) and two other ports (at 5) each connected to the second circuit (where battery 92 is) (figs. 4-12). Regarding claim 9 , Kim discloses: a method of controlling a thermal management system [par. 0002] including a thermal management circuit (25 plus 35 plus 45) and a switching valve (2 plus 3 plus 4 plus 5 plus 6) (figs. 1-12), wherein the thermal management circuit (25 plus 35 plus 45) has a reservoir (94) and a second circuit (where battery 92 is) not including the reservoir (94) (fig. 1), and the switching valve (2-6) including a plurality of ports (seen in fig. 1) each connected to the first circuit (25) or the second circuit (where battery 92 is) (seen in fig. 1), the method comprising controlling the switching valve (2-6) to switch a plurality of modes (fig. 4-12) with regard to a flow path for a heat medium in the thermal management circuit (25 plus 35 plus 45) [par. 0062], wherein the plurality of modes (figs. 4-12) includes a first mode (fig. 10) and a second mode (fig. 4), the first mode (fig. 10) is a mode in which the first circuit (25) and the second circuit (where battery 92 is) are connected together in series (fig. 10) [par. 0080], and the second mode (fig. 4) is a mode in which the first circuit (25) and the second circuit (where battery 92 is) are connected together in parallel and part of the heat medium flowing in the second circuit (where battery 92 is) flows to the first circuit (25) via the switching valve (2-6) (fig. 4) [par. 0064-0065] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5, 8 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yeon et al. (US 2023/0302873, herein “Yeon”) . Regarding claim 1 , Kim discloses: a thermal management system (figs. 1-12) [par. 0002] comprising: a thermal management circuit (25 plus 35 plus 45) in which a heat medium flows [par. 0040], the thermal management circuit (25 plus 35 plus 45) having a first circuit (25) including a reservoir (94) and a second circuit (where battery 92 is, between valve 5 and valve 6) not including the reservoir (94) (fig. 1); a switching valve (2 plus 3 plus 4 plus 5 plus 6) including a plurality of ports (seen in fig. 1) each connected to the first circuit (25) or the second circuit (where battery 92 is) (seen in fig. 1); and a controller that controls the switching valve (2-6) to switch a plurality of modes (figs. 4-12) with regard to a flow path for the heat medium in the thermal management circuit [par. 0062], (it is noted, although Kim does not specifically discloses a controller that controls the switching valve, Kim discloses numerous mode of operations that requires controlling the switching valve and that suggests the necessary presence of a controller capable of connecting the different ports of the switching valve according to the user’s needs. Further, the use of controllers that controls switching valve in thermal management systems of vehicles is old and known in the art, as taught by Yeon, par. 0016). wherein the plurality of modes (figs. 4-12) includes a first mode (fig. 10) and a second mode (fig. 4), the first mode (fig. 10) is a mode in which the first circuit (25) and the second circuit (where battery 92 is) are connected together in series (fig. 10) [par. 0080], and the second mode (fig. 4) is a mode in which the first circuit (25) and the second circuit (where battery 92 is) are connected together in parallel and part of the heat medium flowing in the second circuit (where battery 92 is) flows to the first circuit (25) via the switching valve (2-6) (fig. 4) [par. 0064-0065]. Regarding claim 2 , Kim discloses: the plurality of modes further including a third mode (fig. 5), and the third mode being a mode in which the first circuit (25) and the second circuit (where battery 92 is) are connected together in parallel so as to avoid mixing of the heat medium flowing in the first circuit (25) and the heat medium flowing in the second circuit (where battery 92 is) (fig. 5) [par. 0065-0067]. Regarding claim 3 , Kim discloses: the plurality of ports being at least four ports, and the at least four ports include two ports (at 2) each connected to the first circuit (25) and two other ports (at 5) each connected to the second circuit (where battery 92 is) (figs. 4-12). Regarding claim 4 , Kim discloses: the thermal management system being mounted on a vehicle [par. 0002] including a driving device (91) and a battery (92), the first circuit (25) being a circuit in which the heat medium flows to exchange heat with the driving device (91) (figs. 1-12) [par. 0043], and the second circuit (where battery 92 is) being a circuit in which the heat medium flows to exchange heat with the battery (92) (figs. 1-2) [par. 0044]. Regarding claim 5 , Kim discloses: the thermal management circuit further including a third circuit in which the heat medium flows to bypass the battery (92), the third circuit not including the reservoir (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, below), PNG media_image1.png 426 614 media_image1.png Greyscale the plurality of modes further including a fourth mode, and the fourth mode being a mode in which the first circuit (25) and the third circuit are connected together in series (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 5). Regarding claim 8 , Kim does not include: the case including a first space to which at least three ports of the at least four ports are connected, and a second space to which at least one port of the at least four ports is connected, the first space and the second space being portioned by the valve body, the first space being divided into a plurality of spaces by a plurality of partition walls, and the communication portion including a first communication portion that communicates two spaces of the plurality of spaces with each other, and a second communication portion that communicates the first space and the second space with each other. Yeon discloses a modular switching valve apparatus (60) incorporated into a thermal management system of a vehicle as an improvement of a thermal management system incorporating several smaller switching valves (seen in fig. 7, for instance) which is applicable to Kim for the purpose of ease of manufacturing and improving in utilization of space [par. 0024], the switching valve (60) including a case (100) including a plurality of ports (110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160) including at least four ports (110, 120, 130, 140) (figs. 1-5), the case (100) including a first space (S1) to which at least three ports (110, 120, 130) of the at least four ports (110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160) are connected, and a second space (S2) to which at least one port (140) of the at least four ports (110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160) is connected (figs. 1-5) [par. 0053], the first space (S1) and the second space (S2) being partitioned by a valve body (see annotated fig. 2-YEON, page 7), the first space (S1) being divided into a plurality of spaces (210) [par. 0048] by a plurality of partition walls (see annotated fig. 2-YEON, page 7), and a communication portion (230) including a first communication portion that communicates two spaces (210) of the plurality of spaces (210) with each other, and a second communication portion that communicates the first space (S1) and the second space (S2) with each other [par. 0048 and 0060]. PNG media_image2.png 411 492 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 10 , Kim discloses: the first circuit (25) including a reservoir (94) and a second circuit (where battery 92 is) not including the reservoir (94) (fig. 1); the switching valve (2-6) being configured, under control of a controller, to switch a plurality of modes (figs. 4-12) with regard to a flow path for the heat medium in the thermal management circuit [par. 0062], (it is noted, although Kim does not specifically discloses a controller that controls the switching valve, Kim discloses numerous mode of operations that requires controlling the switching valve and that suggests the necessary presence of a controller capable of connecting the different ports of the switching valve according to the user’s needs. Further, the use of controllers that controls switching valves in thermal management systems of vehicles is old and known in the art, as taught by Yeon, par. 0016). the plurality of modes (figs. 4-12) includes a first mode (fig. 10) and a second mode (fig. 4), in the first mode (fig. 10), the switching valve (2-6) is configured to connect the first circuit (25) and the second circuit (where battery 92 is) together in series (fig. 10) [par. 0080], and in the second mode (fig. 4), the switching valve (2-6) is configured to connect the first circuit (25) and the second circuit (where battery 92 is) together in parallel, to flow part of the heat medium flowing in the second circuit (where battery 92 is) to the first circuit (25) via the switching valve (2-6) (fig. 4) [par. 0064-0065]. Regarding claim 11 , Kim discloses: the plurality of modes further including a third mode (fig. 5), and in the third mode, the switching valve (2-6) is configured to connect the first circuit (25) and the second circuit (where battery 92 is) together in parallel, to avoid mixing of the heat medium flowing in the first circuit (25) and the heat medium flowing in the second circuit (where battery 92 is) (fig. 5) [par. 0065-0067]. Regarding claim 12 , Kim discloses: the plurality of ports including: two ports (at 2) each connected to the first circuit (25), and two other ports (at 5) each connected to the second circuit (where battery 92 is) (figs. 4-12). Regarding claim 13 , Kim discloses: a thermal management system including the switching valve (2-6) and the thermal management circuit being mounted on a vehicle [par. 0002] including a driving device (91) and a battery (92) (figs. 1-2), the first circuit (25) being a circuit in which the heat medium flows to exchange heat with the driving device (91) (figs. 1-12) [par. 0043], and the second circuit (where battery 92 is) being a circuit in which the heat medium flows to exchange heat with the battery (92) (figs. 1-2) [par. 0044]. Regarding claim 14 , Kim discloses: the thermal management circuit further including a third circuit in which the heat medium flows to bypass the battery (92), the third circuit including no reservoir (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 5), the plurality of modes further including a fourth mode, and the fourth mode being a mode in which the first circuit (25) and the third circuit are connected together in series (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 5). Regarding claim 15 , Kim discloses: the second circuit (where battery 92 is) including no reservoir (see fig. 1, where the second circuit, from valve 5 to valve 6, only includes a coolant heater 93, the battery 92, and a pump 58). Regarding claim 16 , Kim discloses: each of the second circuit (where battery 92 is) and the third circuit includes no reservoir (see annotated fig. 4-KIM, page 5). Response to Arguments Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 filed on 03/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In pages 7-8, Applicant argues that “ all passages of Kim which pass through battery 92 include a reservoir, be it tank 94, mixing tank 7, or both. There is no passage that does not a reservoir or tank with a coolant storage function .” Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in the rejection above, the Examiner has interpreted the second circuit as being the passage where battery 92 is arranged, between valve 5 and valve 6, seen in figure 1, which only includes a coolant heater 93, the battery 92, and a pump 58. In this case, the overly broad language of claim 1 allows a broad interpretation of the claim which the combination of Kim and Yeon reads on. Please refer to the rejection above. For clarity, the Office Action mailed 12/31/2025 includes an inadvertent oversight. The heading introducing the rejection to all claims (1-9) inadvertently referred to Section 103 when the arguments rejecting claims 6-7 and 9 clearly correspond to Section 102. This oversight has been clarified in the instant Office Action, which maintains the same grounds of rejection for claims 1-5 and 8 under Section 103 and for claims 6-7 and 9 under Section 102. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GUSTAVO A HINCAPIE SERNA whose telephone number is (571)272-6018. The examiner can normally be reached 9am-5:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached at 571-272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GUSTAVO A HINCAPIE SERNA/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/466,823 Page 2 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/466,823 Page 3 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/466,823 Page 4 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/466,823 Page 5 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/466,823 Page 6 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/466,823 Page 7 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/466,823 Page 8 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/466,823 Page 9 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/466,823 Page 10 Art Unit: 3763