DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 13, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7-12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamilton (US Patent 4,192,171).
With regards to claim 1, Hamilton discloses a bump-crimping device comprising:
a body (12) comprised of an opening (74) and a receiving area (surface of element 34); and
a punch (70) positioned within the body via the opening, wherein the opening aligns with the receiving area, as seen in Figures 1 and 6.
With regards to claim 4, Hamilton discloses wherein the body (12) is comprised of a rectangular shape, as seen in at least Figure 1.
With regards to claim 7, Hamilton discloses a bump-crimping device comprising:
a body (12) comprised of a first opening (74), a receiving area (surface of element 34), and a handle (22); and
a punch (38, 26, 70, and 72) positioned within the body via the first opening, wherein the first opening aligns with the receiving area, as seen in Figures 1 and 6.
With regards to claim 8, Hamilton discloses wherein the body is comprised of a support member (26).
With regards to claim 9, Hamilton discloses wherein the support member is comprised of a second opening (76).
With regards to claim 10, Hamilton discloses wherein the second opening aligns with the first opening, as seen in Figure 6.
With regards to claim 11, Hamilton discloses wherein the second opening aligns with the receiving area, as seen in Figure 6
With regards to claim 12, Hamilton discloses wherein the handle is comprised of a grip area [Column 3, lines 38-42].
With regards to claim 16, Hamilton discloses wherein the handle removably attaches to the body [Column 3, lines 38-42].
With regards to claim 17, Hamilton discloses wherein the receiving area is comprised of a first edge and a second edge, as seen in at least Figure 1
With regards to claim 18, Hamilton discloses wherein the first edge and the second edge form an angle less than 180 degrees, as seen in at least Figure 1.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cochran et al. (hereafter “Cochran”)(US Patent 4,459,839).
With regards to claim 1, Cochran discloses a bump-crimping device comprising:
a body (3) comprised of an opening (not labeled, as seen in at least Figure 7) and a receiving area (31); and
a punch (13) positioned within the body via the opening, wherein the opening aligns with the receiving area, as seen in at least Figure 7.
With regards to claim 2, Cochran discloses wherein the receiving area forms an acute angle, as seen in at least Figures 1 and 5.
With regards to claim 3, Cochran discloses wherein a second end of the punch is comprised of a rounded tip, as seen in at least Figures 5 and 7.
With regards to claim 4, Cochran discloses wherein the body is comprised of a rectangular shape, as seen in at least Figures 5 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton and Cochran.
Both Hamilton and Cochran disclose the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the body is comprised of a metal or plastic. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the particularly claimed material composition of the structure since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of mechanically efficiency. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton in view of Bachki et al. (hereafter “Bachki”) (US Patent 2,489,360).
Hamilton discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the grip area is comprised of a raised texture and wherein the grip area is comprised of a recessed texture. Bachki is relied upon to teach a hand tool having a handle with a knurled portion (28, knurled portion; that is, recesses and raised textures) in order to providing a gripping surface [Column 2, lines 30-35]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Hamilton’s handle/grip area with a knurled texture because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamilton.
Hamilton discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the grip area is comprised of a rubber material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the particularly claimed material composition of the structure since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of mechanically efficiency. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725