Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Specie shown in fig. 4 in the reply filed on January 15, 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant withdraws claim 7 as it claims a non-elected specie. Examiner notices that claim 12 claims a non-elected specie shown in fig. 5. Thus, claim 12 is also withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-11, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonkohara (PG Pub 2011/0122303 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Bonkohara teaches an integrated assembly for an imaging device comprising: a pixel array (23, fig. 1); a transparent substrate (SOG 50) affixed to the pixel array; a non-flat film (60) disposed on the transparent substrate; and a light shield (63, abstract) configured to block light at a periphery of the pixel array, wherein the light shield is disposed on the transparent substrate.
Regarding claim 10, Bonkohara teaches the integrated assembly of claim 9, wherein the transparent substrate comprises a glass substrate (spin on glass, SOG, 50, paragraph [0158]) that is bonded to the pixel array and wherein the light shield is formed on a periphery of the glass substrate.
Regarding claim 11, Bonkohara teaches the integrated assembly of claim 10, wherein the pixel array and glass substrate are part of a chip size package (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Bonkohara teaches an imaging device, comprising a lens group (22, fig. 1) and an integrated assembly according to claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, Bonkohara teaches a camera module including an imaging apparatus, the imaging apparatus comprising: integrated assembly according to claim 9; and a plurality of lenses (22, fig. 1) mounted apart from the pixel array.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonkohara (PG Pub 2011/0122303 A1) and Shibazaki et al (PG Pub 2012/0140100 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bonkohara teaches an electronic apparatus comprising: a solid state image sensor comprising: an integrated assembly comprising: a pixel array (23, fig. 1); an optical assembly comprising one or more transparent materials (60) mounted with the pixel array in the integrated assembly; and a light shield (63, abstract) arranged to block light at a periphery of the integrated assembly, wherein a part of the light shield is disposed on at least one of the one or more transparent materials and wherein a width of a substrate (50 or 11) including the pixel array is the same as a width of the optical assembly; a plurality of lenses (22) mounted apart from the pixel array.
Bonkohara does not teach a signal processing circuit arranged to receive signals from sensors in the pixel array; a memory arranged to store image data; a monitor arranged to display image data; and a control circuit configured to control transfer of signal electric charges in the solid state image sensor.
In the same field of endeavor, Shibazaki teaches a signal processing circuit (202, fig. 1, paragraph [0060]) arranged to receive signals from sensors in the pixel array; a memory (207/203) arranged to store image data; a monitor (209) arranged to display image data; and a control circuit (201) configured to control transfer of signal electric charges in the solid state image sensor, for the benefits of processing light into images for display.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a signal processing circuit arranged to receive signals from sensors in the pixel array; a memory arranged to store image data; a monitor arranged to display image data; and a control circuit configured to control transfer of signal electric charges in the solid state image sensor, for the benefits of processing light into images for display.
Claim(s) 2-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arayama et al (PG Pub 2016/0091643 A1) and Hamada et al (PG Pub 2017/0283587 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Arayama teaches an integrated assembly for an imaging device comprising: a pixel array (100, figs. 1 and 2); an optical assembly comprising one or more transparent materials (30/42, paragraph [0400]) mounted with the pixel array in the integrated assembly; wherein a width of a substrate including the pixel array is the same as a width of the optical assembly (fig. 2), wherein the optical assembly comprises a glass substrate (30, paragraph [0400]) and an infrared filter (42, paragraph [0400]), the integrated assembly further comprising a non-flat film (40) disposed on the infrared filter.
Arayama does not teach a light shield arranged to block light at a periphery of the integrated assembly, wherein a part of the light shield is disposed on at least one of the one or more transparent materials.
In the same field of endeavor, Hamada teaches a light shield (11, fig. 4) arranged to block light at a periphery of the integrated assembly (3 and 6), wherein a part of the light shield is disposed on at least one of the one or more transparent materials (IR filter 6), for the benefit of reducing reflection (paragraphs [0005][0006]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange a light shield to block light at a periphery of the integrated assembly, wherein a part of the light shield was disposed on at least one of the one or more transparent materials for the benefit of reducing reflection.
Regarding claim 3, Arayama teaches the integrated assembly of claim 2, wherein the glass substrate is bonded directly to the pixel array with an adhesive layer (20, paragraph [0492]).
Regarding claim 4, Arayama teaches an integrated assembly for an imaging device comprising: a pixel array (in 100, figs. 1 and 2); a glass substrate (30, paragraph [0400]) affixed to the pixel array with an adhesive layer (20, paragraph [0492]); an infrared filter (42, paragraph [0400]) affixed to the glass substrate; a non-flat film (40) affixed to the infrared filter.
Arayama does not teach a light shield configured to block light at a periphery of the pixel array, wherein the light shield is disposed on the glass substrate or on the infrared filter.
In the same field of endeavor, Hamada teaches a light shield (11, fig. 4) configured to block light at a periphery of the pixel array (3), wherein the light shield is disposed on the glass substrate or on the infrared filter (6), for the benefit of reducing reflection (paragraphs [0005][0006]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure a light shield to block light at a periphery of the pixel array, wherein the light shield was disposed on the glass substrate or on the infrared filter.
Regarding claim 5, Arayama teaches the integrated assembly of claim 4, wherein the glass substrate and the adhesive layer are in direct contact with each other and wherein the pixel array and the adhesive layer are in direct contact with each other (figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 6, Arayama teaches the integrated assembly of claim 4, wherein the glass substrate is affixed to the pixel array with no cavity between the glass substrate and the pixel array (figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 8, Arayama teaches the integrated assembly of claim 4, wherein a width of a substrate (10, figs. 1 and 2) including the pixel array is the same as a width of the glass substrate.
Conclusion
/FEIFEI YEUNG LOPEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899