DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 16 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted were filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the Republic of Korea on 09/21/202. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2022-0119626 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Please see Failure Status Report dated 02/21/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0122071 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Lee teaches a manipulator (manipulator, 1) comprising: a base link (joint, 11a-1) comprising a ring shape (Fig. 2); a first ring-shaped link (base section 10a including links 11a-2 through 11a-6) comprising a ring shape (Fig. 2) and configured to rotate at a predetermined angle at a front end of the base link (11a-1; Fig. 2); a second ring-shaped link (base section 10b including links 11b-1 through 11b-6) comprising a ring shape (Fig. 1) and configured to rotate at a predetermined angle at a front end of the first ring-shaped link (base section 10a); a first Borden cable (driving wires, W1; one of 4; Paragraph [0057]) and a second Borden cable (base section driving wires, W1; two of 4; Paragraph [0057]) connected to the first ring- shaped link and configured to rotate the first ring-shaped link (10a; Paragraph [0054]); a third Borden cable (driving wires, W2; one of 4; Paragraph [0057]) and a fourth Borden cable (driving wires, W2; two of 4; Paragraph [0057]) connected to the second ring- shaped link (10b) and configured to rotate the second ring-shaped link (10b; Paragraph [0081]); and a driving device (drive actuator, 20), comprising a motor and/or drum (Paragraph [0018]), configured to operate the first Borden cable, the second Borden cable, the third Borden cable, and the fourth Borden cable (Paragraphs [0055] and [0068]).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee teaches the manipulator (manipulator, 1) wherein the first ring-shaped link (10a) is rotatably connected to the base link (11a-1) at least by a pair of first hinges (convex and concave sections form hinges to bend joint assembly; Paragraph [0053]), and the second ring-shaped link (10b) is rotatably connected to the first ring-shaped link (link 11-a6 is connected to 11b-1) at least by a pair of second hinges (convex and concave sections form hinges to bend joint assembly; Paragraph [0053]).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee teaches the manipulator (manipulator, 1) wherein a rotation axis of the pair of first hinges (11a-1 and 11a-2; Fig. 3) and a rotation axis of the pair of second hinges are not parallel to each other (link 11-a6 is connected to 11b-1; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee teaches the manipulator (manipulator, 1) further comprising: a first angle sensor (Paragraph [0019]) configured to detect a rotation angle of the first ring- shaped link (10a; Paragraphs [0069] – [0070] and [0074]; further, each driving lever is connected to the Wires, and the wires to the segments, thus an angle of the ring shaped link is detected); and a second angle sensor (Paragraph [0019]) configured to detect a rotation angle of the second ring- shaped link (10b; Paragraphs [0069] – [0070] and [0074]; further, each driving lever is connected to the Wires, and the wires to the segments, thus an angle of the ring shaped link is detected).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee teaches the manipulator (manipulator, 1) wherein each of the first Borden cable (W1), the second Borden cable (W1), the third Borden cable (W2), and the fourth Borden cable (W2) comprises a tension adjuster (driving lever; Paragraph [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0122071 A1) in view of Varghese et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0352811 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee teaches the manipulator (manipulator, 1) wherein the first Borden cable (W1) comprises: a first conduit (through-holes; Paragraph [0055]) having one end connected to the driving device (20) and another end connected to the base link (11a-1; Fig. 6; Paragraph [0055]); and a first wire (wire W1) accommodated at least partially inside the first conduit (Paragraph [0055]) and having one end connected to the driving device (Paragraph [0055]) and another end fixed to the first ring-shaped link (10a), and wherein the second Borden cable (W1) comprises: a second conduit (through-holes; Paragraph [0055]) having one end connected to the driving device (20) and another end connected to the base link (11a-1) opposite to the first conduit based on a rotation axis of the first ring-shaped link (10a ; Paragraph [0055]) and a second wire (W2) accommodated at least partially inside the second conduit (through-holes; Paragraph [0055]) and having one end connected to the driving device (20) and another end fixed to the first ring-shaped link (10a; Paragraph [0055]) opposite to the first wire (W1) based on a rotation axis of the first ring-shaped link (10a).
Lee does not teach the conduits being flexible conduits.
Varghese, however, teaches the conduits being flexible conduits (Paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manipulator of Lee to further include the conduits being flexible conduits, to provide a manipulator where the wires are protected from being pinched and damaged, this preventing damage to the manipulator.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee, as modified, teaches the manipulator (manipulator, 1) wherein the third Borden cable (W2) comprises: a third conduit (through-holes; Paragraph [0055]) having one end connected to the driving device (20; Paragraph [0055]) and another end connected to the first ring-shaped link (10a); and a third wire (W2) accommodated at least partially inside the third conduit (through-holes; Paragraph [0055]) and having one end connected to the driving device (20) and another end fixed to the second ring-shaped link (10b; Paragraph [0055]), and wherein the fourth Borden cable (W2) comprises: a fourth conduit (through-holes; Paragraph [0055]) having one end connected to the driving device (20) and another end connected to the first ring-shaped link (10a) opposite to the third conduit (through-holes; Paragraph [0055]) based on a rotation axis of the second ring-shaped link (10b); and a fourth wire (W2) accommodated at least partially inside the fourth conduit (through-holes; Paragraph [0055]) and having one end connected to the driving device (20) and another end fixed to the second ring-shaped link (10b) opposite to the third wire (W2) based on a rotation axis of the second ring-shaped link (10b).
Lee does not teach the conduits being flexible conduits.
Varghese, however, teaches the conduits being flexible conduits (Paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manipulator of Lee to further include the conduits being flexible conduits, to provide a manipulator where the wires are protected from being pinched and damaged, this preventing damage to the manipulator.
Regarding Claim 4, Lee, as modified, teaches the manipulator (manipulator, 1) wherein the driving device (20) comprises: a first motor (drive motors, 215; Paragraph [0068]) including a first motor shaft (shaft of motor, 215); a first drum (pinions, 216) configured to rotate with the first motor shaft (Paragraph [0068]); a second motor (drive motors, 215; Paragraph [0068]) including a second motor shaft (shaft of motor, 215); and a second drum (pinions, 216) configured to rotate with the second motor shaft (Paragraph [0068]), wherein the one end of the first wire (W1) and the one end of the second wire (W1) are fixed to the first drum (216; (Paragraphs [0068] – [0072]), and wherein the one end of the third wire (W2) and the one end of the fourth wire (W2) are fixed to the second drum (216; Paragraphs [0068] – [0072]).
Claim 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0122071 A1) in view of Varghese et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0352811 A1) and Denniger et al. (U. S. Patent Publication 2019/0128340 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee, as modified, teaches the manipulator (manipulator, 1) wherein the driving device (20) comprises: a motor (drive motors, 215; Paragraph [0068]); a first drum (pinions, 216) to which the one end of the first wire (W1) and the one end of the second wire (W1) are fixed (Paragraph [0055]); a second drum (pinions, 216) to which the one end of the third wire (W2) and the one end of the fourth wire (W2) are fixed.
Lee does not teach a clutch configured to selectively transmit rotational force of the motor to one of the first drum and the second drum.
Denniger, however, teaches am analogous driving device wherein a clutch (10) is configured to selectively transmit rotational force of the motor (Abstract) to one of the first drum and the second drum (radial drums, 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manipulator of Lee to further include the conduits being flexible conduits, to provide a smooth and efficient power transfer; thus resulting in reduced wear and tear on the manipulator.
Claim 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gang (CN 105534408 A) in view of Lee et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0122071 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 10, Gang teaches a robot cleaner (Fig. 1) comprising: a main body (vacuum cleaner body, 1); a manipulator (robotic arm 13) disposed at least partially proximate a front surface of the main body (1; Fig. 1); a suction pipe (suction hose; Paragraph [0025]) disposed inside the manipulator (13; Paragraph [0025]); a suction device (Paragraph [0029]), comprising a motor and/or nozzle (Paragraph [0013]), connected to the suction pipe (suction hose; Paragraph [0025]) and configured to collect dirt by generating a suction force (Paragraph [0028]); and a processor (switch, 8) configured to control the manipulator and the suction device (Paragraph [0028] and [0029]); a base link (4) comprising a ring shape (Fig. 1); a first ring-shaped link (second link, 4; Fig. 1; Paragraph [0025]) comprising a ring shape (Fig. 1) and configured to rotate at a predetermined angle at a front end of the base link (4; Fig. 1); a second ring-shaped link (third link, 4; ; Paragraph [0025]) comprising a ring shape (Fig. 1) and configured to rotate at a predetermined angle at a front end of the first ring-shaped link (Fig. 1; Paragraph [0033]).
Gang does not explicitly teach a first Borden cable and a second Borden cable connected to the first ring- shaped link and configured to rotate the first ring-shaped link; a third Borden cable and a fourth Borden cable connected to the second ring- shaped link and configured to rotate the second ring-shaped link; and a driving device, comprising a motor and/or drum, configured to operate the first Borden cable, the second Borden cable, the third Borden cable, and the fourth Borden cable.
Lee, however, teaches the manipulator (manipulator, 1) comprising: a base link (joint, 11a-1) comprising a ring shape (Fig. 2); a first ring-shaped link (base section 10a including links 11a-2 through 11a-6) comprising a ring shape (Fig. 2) and configured to rotate at a predetermined angle at a front end of the base link (11a-1; Fig. 2); a second ring-shaped link (base section 10b including links 11b-1 through 11b-6) comprising a ring shape (Fig. 1) and configured to rotate at a predetermined angle at a front end of the first ring-shaped link (base section 10a); a first Borden cable (driving wires, W1; one of 4; Paragraph [0057]) and a second Borden cable (base section driving wires, W1; two of 4; Paragraph [0057]) connected to the first ring- shaped link and configured to rotate the first ring-shaped link (10a; Paragraph [0054]); a third Borden cable (driving wires, W2; one of 4; Paragraph [0057]) and a fourth Borden cable (driving wires, W2; two of 4; Paragraph [0057]) connected to the second ring- shaped link (10b) and configured to rotate the second ring-shaped link (10b; Paragraph [0081]); and a driving device (drive actuator, 20), comprising a motor and/or drum (Paragraph [0018]), configured to operate the first Borden cable, the second Borden cable, the third Borden cable, and the fourth Borden cable (Paragraphs [0055] and [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manipulator of Gang to further include a base link comprising a ring shape; a first ring-shaped link comprising a ring shape and configured to rotate at a predetermined angle at a front end of the base link; a second ring-shaped link comprising a ring shape and configured to rotate at a predetermined angle at a front end of the first ring-shaped link; a first Borden cable and a second Borden cable connected to the first ring- shaped link and configured to rotate the first ring-shaped link; a third Borden cable and a fourth Borden cable connected to the second ring- shaped link and configured to rotate the second ring-shaped link; and a driving device, comprising a motor and/or drum, configured to operate the first Borden cable, the second Borden cable, the third Borden cable, and the fourth Borden cable, as taught by Lee, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 15, Gang, as modified, teaches the robot cleaner (Fig. 1) wherein each of the first ring-shaped link (4) and the second ring-shaped link (4) comprises a holder (holder of joints, 4; Fig. 1) disposed at a center of each of the first ring-shaped link (4; Fig. 1) and the second ring-shaped link (4; Fig. 1) and fixing the suction pipe (Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 – 14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Gang in view of Lee teach a robot cleaner comprising a manipulator, the references alone or in combination fail to teach, suggest or make obvious the robot cleaner further comprises: a lifting device configured to lift the manipulator and a tilting device, wherein the lifting device comprises: a lifting guide vertically disposed on a base of the main body behind the manipulator; a lifting block configured to move up and down along the lifting guide; and a lifting driver configured to move the lifting block up and down with respect to the lifting guide. As required by claim 11 and a tilting device configured to rotate the manipulator at a predetermined angle with respect to the main body; a lifting device configured to lift the manipulator and the tilting device; and a moving device configured to move the main body, as required by claim 16.
Claims 12 – 14 are further objected as being dependents of objected claim 11.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723