DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to line 1 of claim 6, the phrase “a substrate” is unclear. Is there an additional “substrate”, or is the “substrate” the same as recited in line 4 of claim 1? The limitation will be read as “the substrate” upon further examination.
In regards to line 1 of claim 6, the phrase “a sensing element” is unclear. Is there an additional “sensing element”, or is the “sensing element” the same as recited in line 5 of claim 1? The limitation will be read as “the sensing element” upon further examination.
In regards to line 2 of claim 6, the phrase “a sensing element” is unclear. Is there an additional “sensing element”, or is the “sensing element” the same as recited in line 5 of claim 1? The limitation will be read as “the sensing element” upon further examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brandl et al (US 9035731 B2) “hereinafter Brandl”.
In regards to claim 10, Brandl teaches a force sensor including a flexible piece (3, i.e. spring) holding a target piece (9, i.e. magnet), the flexible piece (3) having an attachment surface (i.e. mounting area) distal from the target piece (9) (Column 4, lines 6-20; Figure 1), and a semiconductor package (4) including a sensing element (4, i.e. sensing means), for sensing the magnetic field generated by the target piece (9) (Column 4, line 63 – Column 5, line 3), and a receiving surface, the flexible piece (3) being attached to the semiconductor package (4) (See Figure 1), wherein the attachment surface is contained in and attached to the receiving surface (See Figure 1), wherein the flexible piece (3) comprises a cavity positioned between the target piece (9) and the semiconductor package (4) (See Figure 1 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandl et al (US 9035731 B2) “hereinafter Brandl” in view of Xue et al (US 20070209437 A1) “hereinafter Xue” as cited in IDS filed on 09/14/2023.
In regards to claim 13, Brandl teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the flexible piece further comprises a vent for providing fluidic contact to the cavity with the exterior of the force sensor.
Xue teaches a force sensor further comprising a vent (410, i.e. cavity) for providing fluidic contact to the cavity with the exterior of the force sensor (Paragraph 0081; Figure 11). It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to provide a vent within the force sensor as taught by Xue into the force sensor of Brandl for the purpose of allowing fluid to enter the cavity and being easy to manufacture.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11 & 12 are allowed.
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In the Examiner’s opinion in regards to claim 1, Brandl teaches a force sensor including a flexible piece (3, i.e. spring) holding a target piece (9, i.e. magnet), the flexible piece (3) having an attachment surface (i.e. mounting area) distal from the target piece (9) (Column 4, lines 6-20; Figure 1), and a semiconductor package (4) including a sensing element (4, i.e. sensing means), for sensing the magnetic field generated by the target piece (9) (Column 4, line 63 – Column 5, line 3), and a receiving surface, the flexible piece (3) being attached to the semiconductor package (4) (See Figure 1), wherein the attachment surface is contained in and attached to the receiving surface (See Figure 1), wherein the flexible piece (3) comprises a cavity positioned between the target piece (9) and the semiconductor package (4) (See Figure 1 below).
However, Brandl does not teach the method of manufacturing the force sensor further comprising the method steps of attaching the attachment surface of the flexible piece to the receiving surface by providing surface activation on the attachment surface of the flexible piece and providing an adhesive layer in contact with at least the attachment surface by sandwiching the adhesive layer between both the receiving surface and the attachment surface where the stated limitations are not suggested in addition to not being anticipated or taught in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claim 1. The remaining claims are allowed due to their dependency.
In the Examiner’s opinion in regards to claim 11, Brandl teaches a force sensor including a flexible piece (3, i.e. spring) holding a target piece (9, i.e. magnet), the flexible piece (3) having an attachment surface (i.e. mounting area) distal from the target piece (9) (Column 4, lines 6-20; Figure 1), and a semiconductor package (4) including a sensing element (4, i.e. sensing means), for sensing the magnetic field generated by the target piece (9) (Column 4, line 63 – Column 5, line 3), and a receiving surface, the flexible piece (3) being attached to the semiconductor package (4) (See Figure 1), wherein the attachment surface is contained in and attached to the receiving surface (See Figure 1), wherein the flexible piece (3) comprises a cavity positioned between the target piece (9) and the semiconductor package (4) (See Figure 1 below).
However, Brandl does not teach the structural limitations of the force sensor further comprising the flexible piece being attached to the substrate by an adhesive layer in contact with the attachment surface and having chemical bonds therewith by activation of the attachment surface to improve adherence of the flexible piece with the adhesive layer where the stated limitations are not suggested in addition to not being anticipated or taught in combination with the remaining limitations of independent claim 11. The remaining claims are allowed due to their dependency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dupre et al (US 12339159 B2) – The present invention relates to a force sensor has a sensing system including a target piece and a sensing element, configured to provide changes of a magnetic field, being generated by motion of the target piece. The sensing element senses these changes and provides a signal representative of the position of the target piece. An integrated circuit with processing means can process signals from the sensing element. A semiconductor package includes at least the integrated circuit. A flexible piece includes the target, and it is attached to the semiconductor package. The attachment area between the flexible piece and the semiconductor package does not extend beyond the top projection, or outline, of the semiconductor package. The flexible piece receives a force stimulus, so that upon exerting a force on the flexible piece, the displacement of the target piece with respect to the surface of the semiconductor package can be sensed by the sensing element.
Berkcan et al (US 7453256 B2) – The present invention relates to a micro-electromechanical system (MEMS) current and magnetic field sensor for sensing a magnetic field produced by a conductor includes a magneto-MEMS component for sensing the magnetic field and an interference-MEMS component for sensing an interference, wherein the magneto-MEMS component and the interference MEMS component are used to provide an indication of the current in the conductor.
/J.L.J/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855