DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed 09/14/2023.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Drawings
2. The drawings filed 09/14/2023 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Specification
3. The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horgan et al. (US 20230350720) in view of Cleaver et al. (US 20220350507).
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, paragraphs, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
As to claim 1:
Horgan teaches a device (Abstract: an accelerator device... an application programming interface (API) call) for generating a modified application programming interface (API) response including a modified pointer associated with an encrypted value, the device comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors (Fig.7: processor 704), communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (Fig.7: memory 716), configured to:
receive an API response associated with an API request, the API response comprising the encrypted value and a pointer associating the encrypted value with an field in a response body of the API response ([0023]: FIG. 2 illustrates a flow diagram 200 for the system 100 to chain multiple operations in the accelerator device 104 using a single request. As shown, at block 202, the application 106 may generate a chaining request to chain two or more services 120 provided by the accelerator device 104. The chaining request may include a session identifier (ID) (e.g., a pointer to the parameters for the session), a pointer to source data 204, and an indication of the services 120 to be chained. In the example depicted in FIG. 2, the services 120 to be chained include compression and encryption. In some embodiments, the chaining request may further include one or more request-specific parameters that are specific to the chaining request (which may not be applied to all requests associated with a session, e.g., not session parameters). Examples of request-specific parameters include a size of one or more packets of source data 204, the location of the source data 204, etc. In some embodiments, the chaining request is issued based on an API call to an API exposed by the accelerator device 104; [0044]: In block 602, logic flow 600 receives, by an accelerator device 104 from an application such the application 106, an application programming interface (API) call to chain an encryption operation for data such as the source data 110 or 204 and a data transformation operation for the data. For example, the data transformation operation may be one or more of a compression operation, a hash operation, or any type of data transformation operation. In block 604, logic flow 600 causes, by the accelerator device 104, two or more hardware accelerators of the accelerator device to execute the encryption operation for the data and the data transformation operation for the data based on the API call);
generate, based on the API response, a modified API response associated with the API request, the modified API response comprising the encrypted value and the pointer, wherein the pointer associates the encrypted value with a field in a response body of the modified API response; and transmit the modified API response ([0023]: FIG. 2 illustrates a flow diagram 200 for the system 100 to chain multiple operations in the accelerator device 104 using a single request. As shown, at block 202, the application 106 may generate a chaining request to chain two or more services 120 provided by the accelerator device 104. The chaining request may include a session identifier (ID) (e.g., a pointer to the parameters for the session), a pointer to source data 204, and an indication of the services 120 to be chained. In the example depicted in FIG. 2, the services 120 to be chained include compression and encryption. In some embodiments, the chaining request may further include one or more request-specific parameters that are specific to the chaining request (which may not be applied to all requests associated with a session, e.g., not session parameters). Examples of request-specific parameters include a size of one or more packets of source data 204, the location of the source data 204, etc. In some embodiments, the chaining request is issued based on an API call to an API exposed by the accelerator device 104; [0044]: In block 604, logic flow 600 causes, by the accelerator device 104, two or more hardware accelerators of the accelerator device to execute the encryption operation for the data and the data transformation operation for the data based on the API call: see also, [0027]).
Horgan, however, does not explicitly teach, Cleaver teaches the pointer is modified ([0019]: automatically modifying pointers)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Horgan with Cleaver because it would have provided the enhanced capability for managing data storage associated with applications based on a classification of the data associated with a computer application.
As to claim 2:
Horgan teaches the API response further comprises a second encrypted value and a second pointer associating the second encrypted value with a second field in the response body of the API response, and the modified API response further comprises the second encrypted value and a second modified pointer, wherein the second pointer associates the second encrypted value with a second field in the response body of the modified API response ([0026-0027] and Fig.6).
Horgan, however, does not explicitly teach, Cleaver teaches a second modified pointer ([0019]: automatically modifying pointers)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Horgan with Cleaver because it would have provided the enhanced capability for managing data storage associated with applications based on a classification of the data associated with a computer application.
As to claim 3:
Horgan teaches the API response further comprises a second encrypted value and a second pointer associating the second encrypted value with a second field in the response body of the API response, and the modified API response does not include the second encrypted value or a pointer associated with the second encrypted value ([0027-0029]).
As to claim 4:
Horgan teaches the one or more processors are further configured to receive a second API response associated with the API request, the second API response comprising a second encrypted value and a second pointer associating the second encrypted value with a field in a response body of the second API response, wherein the modified API response further comprises the second encrypted value and a second pointer that associates the second encrypted value with a second field in the response body of the modified API response ([0026-0027] and Fig.6).
Horgan, however, does not explicitly teach, Cleaver teaches a second modified pointer ([0019]: automatically modifying pointers)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Horgan with Cleaver because it would have provided the enhanced capability for managing data storage associated with applications based on a classification of the data associated with a computer application.
As to claim 5:
Horgan teaches the API response includes field carrying an unencrypted value in the response body of the API response and the modified API response includes a corresponding field carrying the unencrypted value in the response body of the modified API response ([0010-0011] and [0018-0020]).
As to claim 6:
Horgan teaches the API response and the modified API response include a key associated with decryption of the encrypted value ([0017 and [0020]).
As to claim 7:
Horgan teaches the device is a first service application device and the API response is received from a second service application device ([0022-0023]).
As to claim 8:
Horgan teaches he modified API response is transmitted for reception by a client device associated with the API request ([0011-0012] and [0020-0021]).
As to claim 9:
Horgan teaches the modified API response is transmitted for reception by a third service application device ([0044]).
As to claim 10:
Turner teaches the one or more processors are further configured to: receive the API request, and forward the API request to the second service application device ([0023-0024]).
As to claim 11:
Horgan teaches a method for generating a modified application programming interface (API) response, the method comprising:
receiving, by a device, a first API response associated with an API request, the first API response comprising an encrypted value and a first pointer associating the encrypted value with a field in the first API response ([0023]: FIG. 2 illustrates a flow diagram 200 for the system 100 to chain multiple operations in the accelerator device 104 using a single request. As shown, at block 202, the application 106 may generate a chaining request to chain two or more services 120 provided by the accelerator device 104. The chaining request may include a session identifier (ID) (e.g., a pointer to the parameters for the session), a pointer to source data 204, and an indication of the services 120 to be chained. In the example depicted in FIG. 2, the services 120 to be chained include compression and encryption. In some embodiments, the chaining request may further include one or more request-specific parameters that are specific to the chaining request (which may not be applied to all requests associated with a session, e.g., not session parameters). Examples of request-specific parameters include a size of one or more packets of source data 204, the location of the source data 204, etc. In some embodiments, the chaining request is issued based on an API call to an API exposed by the accelerator device 104; [0044]: In block 602, logic flow 600 receives, by an accelerator device 104 from an application such the application 106, an application programming interface (API) call to chain an encryption operation for data such as the source data 110 or 204 and a data transformation operation for the data. For example, the data transformation operation may be one or more of a compression operation, a hash operation, or any type of data transformation operation. In block 604, logic flow 600 causes, by the accelerator device 104, two or more hardware accelerators of the accelerator device to execute the encryption operation for the data and the data transformation operation for the data based on the API call);
generating, based on the first API response, a second API response associated with the API request, the second API response comprising the encrypted value and a second pointer that associates the encrypted value with a field in the second API response and transmitting, by the device, the second API response ([0023]: FIG. 2 illustrates a flow diagram 200 for the system 100 to chain multiple operations in the accelerator device 104 using a single request. As shown, at block 202, the application 106 may generate a chaining request to chain two or more services 120 provided by the accelerator device 104. The chaining request may include a session identifier (ID) (e.g., a pointer to the parameters for the session), a pointer to source data 204, and an indication of the services 120 to be chained. In the example depicted in FIG. 2, the services 120 to be chained include compression and encryption. In some embodiments, the chaining request may further include one or more request-specific parameters that are specific to the chaining request (which may not be applied to all requests associated with a session, e.g., not session parameters). Examples of request-specific parameters include a size of one or more packets of source data 204, the location of the source data 204, etc. In some embodiments, the chaining request is issued based on an API call to an API exposed by the accelerator device 104; [0044]: In block 604, logic flow 600 causes, by the accelerator device 104, two or more hardware accelerators of the accelerator device to execute the encryption operation for the data and the data transformation operation for the data based on the API call: see also, [0023], [0027]).
Horgan, however, does not explicitly teach, Cleaver teaches wherein the second pointer is different from the first pointer ([0019-0020]: pointers).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Horgan with Cleaver because it would have provided the enhanced capability for managing data storage associated with applications based on a classification of the data associated with a computer application.
As to claim 12:
Horgan teaches the first API response further comprises another encrypted value and third pointer associating the other encrypted value with another field in the first API response, and the second API response further comprises the other encrypted value and a fourth pointer, wherein the fourth pointer associates the other encrypted value with anther field in the second API response ([0023] and [0027-0029]).
As to claim 13:
Horgan teaches the first API response further comprises another encrypted value and a third pointer associating the other encrypted value with another field in the first API response, and the second API response does not include the other encrypted value or a pointer associated with the other encrypted value ([0027-0029]).
As to claim 14:
Horgan teaches receiving a third API response associated with the API request, the third API response comprising another encrypted value and a third pointer associating the other encrypted value with a field in the third API response, wherein the second API response further comprises the other encrypted value and a fourth pointer that associates the other encrypted value with another field in the second API response ([0010-0011] and [0018-0020]).
As to claim 15:
Horgan teaches the first API response includes a field carrying an unencrypted value and the second API response includes a corresponding field carrying the unencrypted value ([0018-0020]).
As to claim 16:
Horgan teaches the API response and the modified API response include a key associated with decryption of the encrypted value ([0017 and [0020]).
As to claim 17:
Horgan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig.7: memory 716) storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (Fig.7: processor 704)of a device, cause the device to:
receive an API response associated with an API request, the API response comprising a pointer that associates an encrypted value with a field in a response body of the API response ([0023]: FIG. 2 illustrates a flow diagram 200 for the system 100 to chain multiple operations in the accelerator device 104 using a single request. As shown, at block 202, the application 106 may generate a chaining request to chain two or more services 120 provided by the accelerator device 104. The chaining request may include a session identifier (ID) (e.g., a pointer to the parameters for the session), a pointer to source data 204, and an indication of the services 120 to be chained. In the example depicted in FIG. 2, the services 120 to be chained include compression and encryption. In some embodiments, the chaining request may further include one or more request-specific parameters that are specific to the chaining request (which may not be applied to all requests associated with a session, e.g., not session parameters). Examples of request-specific parameters include a size of one or more packets of source data 204, the location of the source data 204, etc. In some embodiments, the chaining request is issued based on an API call to an API exposed by the accelerator device 104; [0044]: In block 602, logic flow 600 receives, by an accelerator device 104 from an application such the application 106, an application programming interface (API) call to chain an encryption operation for data such as the source data 110 or 204 and a data transformation operation for the data. For example, the data transformation operation may be one or more of a compression operation, a hash operation, or any type of data transformation operation. In block 604, logic flow 600 causes, by the accelerator device 104, two or more hardware accelerators of the accelerator device to execute the encryption operation for the data and the data transformation operation for the data based on the API call); and
transmit a modified API response associated with the API request, wherein the modified API response comprises a pointer that associates the encrypted value with a field in a response body of the modified API response ([0023]: FIG. 2 illustrates a flow diagram 200 for the system 100 to chain multiple operations in the accelerator device 104 using a single request. As shown, at block 202, the application 106 may generate a chaining request to chain two or more services 120 provided by the accelerator device 104. The chaining request may include a session identifier (ID) (e.g., a pointer to the parameters for the session), a pointer to source data 204, and an indication of the services 120 to be chained. In the example depicted in FIG. 2, the services 120 to be chained include compression and encryption. In some embodiments, the chaining request may further include one or more request-specific parameters that are specific to the chaining request (which may not be applied to all requests associated with a session, e.g., not session parameters). Examples of request-specific parameters include a size of one or more packets of source data 204, the location of the source data 204, etc. In some embodiments, the chaining request is issued based on an API call to an API exposed by the accelerator device 104; [0044]: In block 604, logic flow 600 causes, by the accelerator device 104, two or more hardware accelerators of the accelerator device to execute the encryption operation for the data and the data transformation operation for the data based on the API call: see also [0027]).
Horgan, however, does not explicitly teach, Cleaver teaches the pointer is renamed ([0019]: automatically modifying pointers)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Horgan with Cleaver because it would have provided the enhanced capability for managing data storage associated with applications based on a classification of the data associated with a computer application.
As to claim 18:
Horgan teaches the API response further comprises a second pointer associating a second encrypted value with a second field in the response body of the API response, and the modified API response does not include a pointer associated with the second encrypted value ([0026-0027]).
As to claim 19:
Horgan teaches the one or more instructions further cause the one or more processors to receive a second API response associated with the API request, the second API response comprising a second pointer associating a second encrypted value with a field in a response body of the second API response, wherein the modified API response further comprises a second pointer that associates the second encrypted value with a second field in the response body of the modified API response ([0026-0027] and Fig.6).
Horgan, however, does not explicitly teach, Cleaver teaches a second renamed pointer ([0019]: automatically modifying pointers)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Horgan with Cleaver because it would have provided the enhanced capability for managing data storage associated with applications based on a classification of the data associated with a computer application.
As to claim 20:
Horgan teaches the API response includes a field carrying an unencrypted value in the response body of the API response and the modified API response includes a corresponding field carrying an unencrypted value in the response body of the modified API response ([0010-0011] and [0018-0020]).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record, listed on PTO 892 provided to Applicant is considered to have relevancy to the claimed invention. Applicant should review each identified reference carefully before responding to this office action to properly advance the case in light of the prior art.
Contact Information
/VAN H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199