CTNF 18/466,993 CTNF 83747 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-07 AIA The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAZZELL (US 2019/0252734 A1, hereinafter RAZZELL) in view of YEOM (US 2021/0143648 A1, hereinafter YEOM) . PNG media_image1.png 746 632 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 1, RAZZELL discloses a battery system comprising: a plurality of storage battery modules (See Fig.1, Items#108 and Par.19, discloses a plurality of battery modules), each comprising an assembled battery including a plurality of battery cells (See Fig.1, Ittem#108 and Par.19, disclose each battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells), a first wireless communication module configured to transmit and receive radio waves based on a BLE standard (See Fig.1, Item#116, disclose an antenna for each battery module 108. Par.36 discloses wireless communication may be performed using Bluetooth standard), and a battery monitoring unit configured to control operation of the first wireless communication module (See Fig.7 and Par.34 disclose that each node 112 comprising a sensor 706 to monitor a corresponding battery module and to send data to processor circuit 704. Par.35 discloses “node processor circuit 704 controls node sensor 706 to the generate sensor circuit output, and node processor circuit 704 controls node transceiver circuit 702 to transmit the sensor circuit output to antenna 116); and a battery management unit comprising a plurality of second wireless communication modules configured to transmit and receive radio waves based on the BLE standard (See Fig.1, Item#110 discloses a distributed antenna comprising a plurality of communication points) and an arithmetic processing device configured to control operation of the plurality of second wireless communication modules (See Fig.1, Item#106 discloses a controller connected to the plurality of communication points in the distributed antenna 110). However, RAZZELL does not disclose wherein a first identifier is preset in the first wireless communication module, and when a connection is started between the second wireless communication module and the first wireless communication module, the first wireless communication module in which a value of a second identifier included in an advertising packet transmitted from the second wireless communication module is a value of the first identifier becomes a broadcaster and transmits the advertising packet. YEOM discloses a battery system comprising a battery management unit (See Figs.2-3, Item#110 disclose a system controller) and a plurality of storage battery modules (See Figs.2-3, Items#310_1-310_n disclose a plurality of battery controllers each connected to a battery), Communication between the battery management unit and the plurality of battery storages modules is performed as follows: wherein a first identifier is preset in the first wireless communication module (See Fig.5, Step#S107, discloses setting a first identified 0x0K as the identifier of a battery controller. The communication step#S105 and Par.60 can also be interpreted as transmitting a preset ID 0x00), and when a connection is started between the second wireless communication module and the first wireless communication module (See Fig.5, Step#S105/S108, discloses beginning communication between the system controller “battery management unit” and the battery controller), the first wireless communication module in which a value of a second identifier included in an advertising packet transmitted from the second wireless communication module is a value of the first identifier (See Par.68 and Fig.5, Step#S108, discloses the master transmits the changed ID to the battery controller to initiate communication with the specific battery controller) becomes a broadcaster and transmits the advertising packet (See Fig.5, Step#S307 and Pars.91-93, disclose that a signal is sent back from the battery controller to the system controller when the changed ID is received). RAZZELL and YEOM are analogous art since they both deal with communication systems between battery management and a plurality of battery modules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by RAZZELL with the teachings of YEOM by using the disclosed communication protocol for the benefit of providing a communication system which prevents data collision (See YEOM, Par.69) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RAZZELL in view of YEOM and in further view of YAMAZOE et al. (US 2016/0137091 A1, hereinafter YAMAZOE) . Regarding claim 2, RAZZELL and YEOM disclose the battery system according to claim 1, wherein the first wireless communication module is configured to become a broadcaster (See Fig.5, Step#S307, discloses performing communication between the battery controller and system controller which includes the battery controller sending data packets to the system controller), and the second wireless communication module is configured to specify the first wireless communication module that is a communication partner by an advertising packet received after transmitting the advertising packet including the second identifier of the predetermined value (See YEOM, Fig.5, Step#S108, discloses specifying first wireless communication module using the change ID), and transmit a signal requesting a change of the first identifier to the specified first wireless communication module (See YEOM, Step#S107, discloses charging the first identifier from 0x00 to 0x0k). RAZZELL and YEOM further disclose the first communication system becoming a broadcaster in response to transmitting a preset ID 0x00/0x0k but does not disclose that the first wireless communication module becomes a broadcaster regardless of a value of the first identifier when an advertising packet including the second identifier having a predetermined value is received. YAMAZOE discloses a battery system comprising a battery management unit and a plurality of storage battery units, wherein a storage battery unit wireless communication becomes a broadcaster of a value of the first identifier when an advertising packet including the second identifier having a predetermined value is received (See Pars.23 and 37 disclose the battery management unit “battery controller” 200 initiates communication with the plurality of cell controllers 100 by broadcasting its own ID). RAZZELL, YEOM and YAMAZOE are analogous art since they all deal with communication systems between battery management and a plurality of battery modules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by RAZZELL and YEOM with the teachings of YAMAZOE such that first wireless communication becomes a broadcaster of a value of the first identifier when an advertising packet including the second identifier having a predetermined value is received for the benefit of speeding up the initial step of activating the plurality of storage battery units to assign them the new IDs by broadcasting the battery management unit second identifier. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AHMED H OMAR whose telephone number is (571)270-7165. The examiner can normally be reached 10:00 am -7:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AHMED H OMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/466,993 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/466,993 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/466,993 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/466,993 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/466,993 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/466,993 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859