DETAILED ACTIONThis action is in response to the application filed on 09/14/2023.
Claims 1-10 have been cancelled.
Claims 11-30 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is
directed to a non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 11-17 recite "a computer readable storage medium " In specification of
the instant application applicant recited in para [0069] "described method may be embodied as a program containing lines of code stored on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium that, when compiled, may be executed on a processor or microprocessor", a storage medium be any available media that can be accessed by a
computer. By way of example, and not limitation, such computer-readable media can
comprise memory (ROM); random access memory (RAM); magnetic disk storage
media; optical storage media; a flash memory device, etc that can be used to carry or
store desired program code in the form of instructions or data structures and that can be
accessed by a computer", where medium does not have a specific definition and does
not limit the claimed medium from being a transitory medium such as signal.
Specifically, an ordinary artisan would readably recognize that the broad term "computer
readable storage media" could be interpreted as a wave or a signal, for example.
The Examiner recommends amending the claim(s) to read as a "non-transitory
computer readable storage medium" in order to mitigate the issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 11-13, 18-19, 21-22, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2019/0222356).
As of claim 11, Zhang disclose a computer readable storage medium comprising a set of instructions, wherein the set of instructions when executed by a processor of a user equipment (UE) (para [0027] discloses instructions stored on a computer readable medium for execution on a processor or computer and [Fig.2] shows a transmit processor 264 of a UE115), configured to transmit transport blocks (TBs) via a configured grant in an unlicensed spectrum (para [0036] discloses on the uplink, at the UE 115, a transmit processor 264 receive and process data (=transport blocks) (e.g., for the PUSCH) and para [0041] [0059] discloses Autonomous uplink (AUL) transmissions (=configured grant) is in the unlicensed spectrum) cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
determining a minimum processing time for a network component to process the TBs transmitted in the configured grant (para [0062] discloses the minimum AUL PUSCH (=TBs in the configured grant) processing timeline will to be indicated to the UE so that that UE properly interpret the AUL-DFI bitmap. Within the AUL-DFI transmission, this signaling allows the base station to update its processing timeline based on the AUL transport block size (TBS). para [0064] a UE receives a first minimum processing time signal from a serving base station identifying a minimum processing time for the serving base station (=for a network component) to process AUL transmissions, [FIG. 6A] shows the minimum processing time indicated is 5 slots which corresponds to determine a minimum processing time to process transport blocks (TBs) in the configured grant),
receiving, from the network component, a downlink feedback information (DFI) downlink control information (DCI) format comprising a hybrid automatic repeating request (HARQ) bitmap for the configured grant (para [0060] discloses informing a UE of the minimum base station AUL processing times in order to correctly interpret the AUL-DFI HARQ bitmap. Para [0065] discloses the UE receives a DFI message (=downlink feedback information) from the base station (=network component) including acknowledgment information for a plurality of AUL transmissions, the DFI message includes the bitmap that provides acknowledgement information on the AUL (=configured grant) transmissions from UE 115); and
determining a HARQ operation based on the HARQ bitmap and the minimum processing time (para [0067] [FIG. 6A] shows and discloses UE 115 makes AUL transmissions (=configured grant) H0, H1, H2, and H3, UE receives an AUL-DFI message from base station 105 as feedback to the AUL transmissions. The DFI bitmap within AUL-DFI message identifies [A[CK], A[CK], N[ACK], N[ACK]]. Once the UE receives the minimum processing time information from base station it interprets the DFI bitmap corresponding to the signaled PUSCH-to-AUL-DFI timing relationship, here the minimum processing time indicated is 5 slots, the NACKs associated with AUL transmissions H2 and H3 are considered still pending and AUL transmissions H0 and H1 are acknowledged with ACKs which correspond to UE determining a HARQ operation based on HARQ bitmap and the minimum processing time).
As of claim 18, Zhang disclose a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver (see [Fig.2] UE 115 comprising a receive processor 258, transmit processor 264 (=transceiver)) configured to receive a DFI DCI format comprising a hybrid automatic repeating request (HARQ) bitmap for a configured grant (para [0060] discloses informing a UE of the minimum base station AUL processing times in order to correctly interpret the AUL-DFI HARQ bitmap. Para [0065] discloses the UE receives a DFI message (=downlink feedback information) from the base station (=network component) including acknowledgment information for a plurality of AUL transmissions (=configured grant), the DFI message includes the bitmap that provides acknowledgement information on the AUL transmissions from UE 115); and
a baseband processor ([Fig.2] controller/processor 280 (=baseband processor), configured to determine a minimum processing time for a network component to process transport blocks (TBs) in the configured grant (para [0062] disclose the minimum AUL PUSCH (=TBs in the configured grant) processing timeline will be indicated to the UE so that that UE properly interpret the AUL-DFI bitmap, within the AUL-DFI transmission, this signaling allows the base station to update its processing timeline based on the AUL transport block size (TBS). para [0064] a UE receives a first minimum processing time signal from a serving base station identifying a minimum processing time for the serving base station (=for a network component) to process AUL transmissions (=configured grant), [FIG. 6A] shows the minimum processing time indicated is 5 slots) which corresponds to determine a minimum processing time to process transport blocks (TBs) in the configured grant);
and determine a HARQ operation based on the HARQ bitmap and the minimum processing time (para [0067] FIG. 6A] shows and discloses UE 115 makes AUL transmissions (=configured grant) H0, H1, H2, and H3, UE receives a AUL-DFI message from base station 105 as feedback to the AUL transmissions. The DFI bitmap within AUL-DFI message identifies [A[CK], A[CK], N[ACK], N[ACK]]. Once the UE receives the minimum processing time information from base station it interprets the DFI bitmap corresponding to the signaled PUSCH-to-AUL-DFI timing relationship, here the minimum processing time indicated is 5 slots, the NACKs associated with AUL transmissions H2 and H3 are considered still pending and AUL transmissions H0 and H1 are acknowledged with ACKs which correspond to UE determining a HARQ operation based on HARQ bitmap and the minimum processing time).
As of claim 24, Zhang disclose a processor of a user equipment (UE) configured to transmit transport blocks (TBs) via a configured grant in an unlicensed spectrum (para [0036] disclose on the uplink, at the UE 115, a transmit processor 264 receive and process data (=transport blocks) (e.g., for the PUSCH) and para [0041] [0059] discloses Autonomous uplink (AUL) transmissions (=configured grant) is in the unlicensed spectrum),
the processor configured to: determine a minimum processing time for a network component to process the TBs transmitted in the configured grant (para [0062] discloses the minimum AUL PUSCH (=TBs in the configured grant) processing timeline will to be indicated to the UE so that that UE properly interpret the AUL-DFI bitmap. Within the AUL-DFI transmission, this signaling allows the base station to update its processing timeline based on the AUL transport block size (TBS). para [0064] a UE receives first a minimum processing time signal from a serving base station identifying a minimum processing time for the serving base station (=for a network component) to process AUL transmissions, [FIG. 6A] shows the minimum processing time indicated is 5 slots which corresponds to determine a minimum processing time to process transport blocks (TBs) in the configured grant);
receive, from the network component, a downlink feedback information (DFI) downlink control information (DCI) format comprising a hybrid automatic repeating request (HARQ) bitmap for the configured grant (para [0060] discloses informing a UE of the minimum base station AUL processing times in order to correctly interpret the AUL-DFI HARQ bitmap. Para [0065] discloses the UE receives a DFI message (=downlink feedback information) from the base station (=network component) including acknowledgment information for a plurality of AUL transmissions, the DFI message includes the bitmap that provides acknowledgement information on the AUL (=configured grant) transmissions from UE115); and
determine a HARQ operation based on the HARQ bitmap and the minimum processing time (para [0067] [FIG. 6A] shows and discloses UE 115 makes AUL transmissions (=configured grant) H0, H1, H2, and H3, UE receives an AUL-DFI message from base station 105 as feedback to the AUL transmissions. The DFI bitmap within AUL-DFI message identifies [A[CK], A[CK], N[ACK], N[ACK]]. Once the UE receives the minimum processing time information from base station it interprets the DFI bitmap corresponding to the signaled PUSCH-to-AUL-DFI timing relationship, here the minimum processing time indicated is 5 slots, the NACKs associated with AUL transmissions H2 and H3 are considered still pending and AUL transmissions H0 and H1 are acknowledged with ACKs which correspond to UE determining a HARQ operation based on HARQ bitmap and the minimum processing time).
As of claims 12, 21 and 25, rejection of claims 11, 18 and 24 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Zhang discloses the operations further comprise: determining, for each configured grant, whether the DFI DCI format was received inside the minimum processing time or outside the minimum processing time (para [0065][0066] discloses the UE receives a DFI message (=DFI DCI format) from the serving base station including acknowledgment information for a plurality of AUL transmissions, and identifies one or more acknowledged AUL transmissions having a pending time in excess of the minimum processing time and one or more pending AUL transmissions having the pending time within the minimum processing time (=inside the minimum processing time), the acknowledgement information ( ACK or NACK) associated with the AUL transmissions meeting or exceeding minimum processing time are considered acknowledged (whether ACK or NACK).
As of claims 13, 22 and 26, rejection of claims 12, 21 and 25 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Zhang discloses a type of HARQ operation is performed for the configured grants outside the minimum processing time based on the HARQ bitmap ([FIG. 7A] shows the minimum timing relationship communicated to UE 115 is 3 slots, UE 115 will implement the updated transmission parameters to each of AUL transmissions H0-H3, as H0 occurs at n+3 (=outside the minimum processing time) from the AUL-DFI message (=HARQ bitmap).
As of claim 19, rejection of claim18 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Zhang discloses the DFI DCI format comprises a plurality of blocks, each block comprising a different HARQ bitmap (See [Fig. 6A] [Fig. 6B] UE 115 makes AUL transmissions H0, H1, H2, and H3 (=blocks), UE receives a AUL-DFI message including DFI bitmap within AUL-DFI message identifies [A[CK], A[CK], N[ACK], N[ACK]] (=different HARQ bitmap)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 14,16,17, 23, 27, 29 and 30 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2019/0222356) in view of IYER et al. (US 2022/0116152).
As of claims 14, 23 and 27, rejection of claims 11, 18 and 24 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Zhang discloses the operations further comprise: determining a second minimum processing time for the UE to process the DFI DCI format (Zhang, para [0071] & [Claim 6] discloses the UE receives a second minimum processing time signal that identifies an update time for the UE to apply the updated transmission parameters); and
retransmitting the HARQ processes for configured grants after the second minimum processing time has elapsed after the receipt of the DFI DCI format (Zhang, [0062] discloses the base station transmits a new timeline for the retransmission (=second processing time) the minimum AUL PUSCH processing timeline will to be indicated to the UE (K1′) so that that UE can properly interpret the AUL-DFI bitmap).
Zhang does not explicitly discloses retransmitting the HARQ processes after the second minimum processing time has elapsed after however IYER teaches retransmitting the HARQ processes for configured grants after the second minimum processing time has elapsed after the receipt of the DFI DCI format (IYER, para [0113] discloses retransmission on timer expiry on a different CG (=configured grant), [0403] [0489] disclose retransmission occurs when NACK is received or a timer such as NR-aul-retransmissionTimer expires from the time of initial transmission, aul-retransmission timer be configured for each HARQ process and UE attempt to retransmit of the HARQ process if the nr-aul-retransmission Timer has expired).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the DFI DCI format as taught by Zhang with retransmitting the HARQ processes after the second minimum processing time has elapsed as taught by IYER in order to provide enhanced ACK/NACK feedback and retransmissions that improve resources efficiency as taught by IYER in para [0174].
As of claims 16 and 29, rejection of claims 11 and 24 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Zhang does not explicitly disclose but IYER teaches the DFI DCI format is scrambled with a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) corresponding to the UE (IYER, para [0311] disclose AUL-DFI scrambled with AUL-RNTI, [0477] the UE use a CG-RNTI specific to the CG (=configured grant) to transmit the PUSCH, where the CRC for the PUSCH is scrambled by the CG-RNTI).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the DFI DCI format as taught by Zhang with DFI DCI format is scrambled with a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) as taught by IYER in order to provide enhanced ACK/NACK feedback and retransmissions that improve resources efficiency as taught by IYER in para [0174].
As of claims 17 and 30, rejection of claims 11 and 24 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Zhang does not explicitly disclose but IYER teaches the DFI DCI format further comprises a flag field, wherein the flag field indicates a type of the DFI DCI format (IYER, para [0178] discloses one-bit field (=flag field) dfiType in AUL-DFI indicate if it is carrying TB-based or CBG-based feedback (=type of the DFI format) para [0179] disclose dfiType=0 (=flag field in DFI format) is interpreted as TB-based feedback and dfiType=1 (=flag field in DFI format) .
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the DFI DCI format as taught by Zhang with DFI DCI comprises a flag field that indicates a type of the DFI DCI format as taught by IYER in order to provide enhanced ACK/NACK feedback and retransmissions that improve resources efficiency as taught by IYER in para [0174].
Claims 15 and 28 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2019/0222356) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2020/0260486).
As of claims 15 and 28, rejection of claims 11 and 24 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Zhang does not explicitly disclose but Zhou teaches the DFI DCI format is transmitted on a plurality of component carriers or RB sets within a component carrier, wherein each component carrier corresponds to a serving cell (Zhou, para [0260] discloses different component carriers have different bandwidth and/or subcarrier spacing, Zhou para [0346] discloses Downlink Feedback Information (DFI) be used for transmission of HARQ feedback for configured grant), and
wherein the UE is configured with search space information to search for the DFI DCI format on each of the plurality of component carriers or RB sets within a component carrier (Zhou, para [0588]-[0589] disclose active DL BWP on each activated serving cell configured with PDCCH monitoring according to corresponding search space sets where monitoring implies decoding a PDCCH candidate according to the monitored DCI formats. The wireless device receives a wireless device specific downlink control information in a wireless device specific search space).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the DFI DCI format as taught by Zhang with UE is configured with search space information to search for the DFI DCI format on each of the plurality of component carriers as taught by Zhou in order to improve the efficiency of configured grant (grant free) transmission as taught by Zhou in para [0442].
Claim 20 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2019/0222356) in view of Kumagai et al. (US 2023/0054553).
As of claim 20, rejection of claim 19 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Zhang does not explicitly disclose but Kumagai teaches the UE includes information indicating a starting location of one of the blocks within the plurality of blocks that includes the HARQ bitmap corresponding to the UE (Kumagai, para [0025] [0026] disclose the DFI includes HARQ-ACK bitmap at a transport block (TB) level for all UL HARQ processes, a starting symbol of the DFI including HARQ-ACK for the PUSCH).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhang with the teaching of Kumagai in order to implement appropriate repetition control for ACK/NACK in response to uplink transmission in Kumagai para [0008].
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471