DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ reply to the April 21, 2026 Office Action, filed July 21, 2026, is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 remain withdrawn from further consideration, as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Applicants cancel claims 3 and 6-7, and amend claims 1, 8, and 10. Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 are under examination.
Any objection or rejection of record in the previous Office Action, mailed April 21, 2026, which is not addressed in this action has been withdrawn in light of Applicants’ amendments and/or arguments. This action is FINAL.
Drawings
Applicants filed a Petition to Accept Color Drawings, paid the associated Petition fee, and amended the specification to recite the statement regarding color drawings. This Petition has not yet been decided. However, Applicants are not required to make any additional amendments or file any Petitions at this time.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - The incorporation by reference paragraph required by 37 CFR 1.834(c)(1), 1.835(a)(2), or 1.835(b)(2) is missing, defective or incomplete.
Required response - Applicant must:
• Provide a substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
It is noted that the Sequence Listing Incorporation by Reference paragraph lists the size of the XML file as “about” 72,807 bytes. However, the size of the XML file should be specific. Thus, “about” should be deleted from the Sequence Listing Incorporation by Reference paragraph.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 1, lines 2-3, “configured to ligate” should be changed to “capable of ligating.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This rejection is modified as necessitated by Applicants’ amendments.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed by him. The courts have stated:
To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Gostelli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("[T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious" and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966; Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
Further, for a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim. In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., the court stated:
A written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, "requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name," of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials. Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d at 1171,25 USPQA2d, 1601; In re Smyth, 480 F.2d 1376,1383, 178 USPQ 279,284 (CCPA 1973) ("In other cases, particularly but not necessarily, chemical cases, where there is an unpredictability in performance of certain species or subcombinations other than those specifically enumerated, one skilled in the art may be found not to have been placed in possession of a genus...") Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398.
The MPEP further states that if a biomolecule is described only by a functional characteristic, without any disclosed correlation between function and structure of the sequence, it is "not a sufficient characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed sequence." MPEP § 2163. The MPEP does state that, for a generic claim, the genus can be adequately described in the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. MPEP § 2163. If the genus has a substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. See MPEP § 2163. Although the MPEP does not define what constitutes a sufficient number of representative species, the courts have indicated what does not constitute a representative number of species to adequately describe a broad genus. In Gostelli, the courts determined that the disclosure of two chemical compounds within a subgenus did not describe that subgenus. In re Gostelli, 872 F.2d at 1012, 10 USPQ2d at 1618. The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include: (1) Actual reduction to practice, (2) Disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas, (3) Sufficient relevant identifying characteristics (such as: i. Complete structure, ii. Partial Structure, iii. Physical and/or chemical properties, iv. Functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed structure, and v. Correlation between function and structure), (4) Method of making the claimed invention, (5) Level of skill and knowledge in the art, and (6) Predictability in the art.
A "representative number of species" means that the species, which are adequately described, are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. This disclosure of only one or a few species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us]." See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 115; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d, 1343, 1350, 69 USPO2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated."). In addition, it has been well known that minor structural differences even among structurally related compounds can result in substantially different biology, expression, and activities. The instant claims require an antibody-DNA conjugate comprising a first antibody-DNA conjugate, which can bind to a target protein and a second antibody-DNA conjugate, which can also bind to the target protein, with a first oligo linked to a first antibody and a second oligo linked to a second antibody. The rejected claims thus comprise a genus of antibody-DNA conjugates that are each capable of binding to a target protein, which may be any protein. The specification and claims further recite that the target protein can be any marker proteins of pathogens, marker proteins of infectious diseases, marker proteins of genetic diseases, and marker proteins of acquired diseases. Claim 10 further recites that the target protein can be a cancer biomarker.
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of a claimed genus, the specification must provide sufficient distinguishing identifying characteristics of the genus. The factors to be considered include disclosure of a complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, and any combination thereof. The specification provides data regarding the detection of only a few proteins/biomarkers. Specifically, Applicants provide data for several proteins, including SARS-Cov2, troponin I (TnI), troponin T (TnT), Tau, Tau 181, CEA (carcinoembryonic antigen), CA199, PSA, and CA153 (see Tables 4 and 6).
However, it is impossible for one to extrapolate from the limited specific proteins and/or the generic recitation of broad classes of biomarkers that would be detectable using the claimed antibody-DNA conjugate. The prior art does not appear to offset the deficiencies of the instant specification. The prior art teaches that, while biomarkers give a “dynamic and incredible way to deal with understanding the range of neurological illness” (Priyanaka et al. 10(4) World Journal of Pharmaceutical Research 408-417 (2021)) (abstract). Priyanaka further discloses types of biomarkers being biomarkers of exposure (used in risk prediction) and biomarkers of disease, which are used in screening, diagnosis and monitoring disease progression (paragraph bridging pages 409 and 410). Priyanaka provides a discussion of a wide variety of biomarkers, from environmental exposure effect modifies, genetic susceptibility, intermediate biomarkers, and biomarkers of disease (pages 411-413). Priyanaka, however, also discloses that inconstancy and changeability can be significant concerns (paragraph bridging pages 413 and 414). Priyanaka further discloses that the assessment of biomarker legitimacy is unpredictable (page 414, first full paragraph).
In addition, the prior art discloses that prognostication tools have limited accuracy and variable levels of validation (Hui, 22(4) Cancer Control 489-497 (2015)) (abstract). Hui further discloses prognostic factors differ in early stage and advanced stage cancer (Table 1). And, while Hui nots that prognostic tools (i.e., biomarkers) can facilitate clinical decision-making, there is uncertainty in survival prediction (abstract).
Chen et al. (2(2) International Journal of Pathology and Clinical Research 1-6 (2016)) disclose that pathway-based analyses show promise for fining true tumor biomarkers, but fail to explain why the onset of cancer can still be partially due to “bad luck” (abstract). Chen further discloses that determination of molecular explanations for apparently random epigenomic occurrences will assists researchers in finding biomarkers (page 4, column 2, final paragraph).
Thus, the variation in the diseases, their etiologies, and biomarkers associated with the diseases, are complex and are not extrapolatable to all pathogenic, infectious, genetic, and acquired diseases, including Alzheimer’s and cancer.
Therefore, the description of the limited sources of target proteins/biomarkers is not sufficient to support the genus of such target proteins or biomarkers. Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111, clearly states "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is now is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116). As discussed above, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed antibody-DNA conjugates that can bind to any target protein, which may be a myriad of pathogen marker proteins, infectious disease marker proteins, genetic disease marker proteins, acquired disease marker proteins (claim 8) or Alzheimer’s marker proteins or cancer marker proteins (claim 10). Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential antibody-DNA conjugate. The compound itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18USPQ2d 1016. Therefore, the skilled artisan would have reasonably concluded applicants were not in possession of the claimed invention for claims 1-8 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 8- 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ebai in view of Liu et al. (12 Chemical Science 9022-9030 (2021)). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicants’ amendments.
Regarding claim 1, Ebai discloses oligonucleotide-conjugated antibodies (page 1497, column 1, second paragraph). Ebai discloses pairs of antibody-oligo conjugates, each of the antibodies capable of binding to a target protein (Figure 1). Ebai discloses that proximity ligation assays (PLAs) use pairs of antibody-conjugated DNA oligonucleotides (page 1498, column 1, third paragraph).
Regarding claim 2, Ebai discloses that the PLA probes were prepared by covalently conjugating oligonucleotides to antibodies (paragraph bridging pages 1498 and 1499).
Regarding claim 5, Ebai discloses that the antibody-DNA conjugates bind to different sites on the target protein (Figure 1A).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Ebai discloses that the antibody-DNA oligo conjugates can be used to detect proteins from tumors (i.e., biomarkers of acquired diseases, cancer) (page 1498, column 2, Patient Samples).
Ebai fails to explicitly discloses the formation of a closed loop by ligating the free 3’ and 5’ end of the DNA oligos. Ebai fails to disclose or suggest the conjugates can be used to detect SARS-Cov2 virus nucleocapsid protein.
Regarding claims 1 and 8-9, Liu discloses a system that employs a pair of antibody-DNA conjugates that can be used to detect the N protein (i.e., nucleocapsid protein) of SARS-Cov2 (Figure 4). Liu discloses that the antibody conjugates bind to different portions of the N protein (Figure 4). Liu discloses a connector nucleotide that, when bound to the N protein, provides attachment between the 3’ and 5’ portions of the oligonucleotide of the conjugate (paragraph bridging pages 9026 and 9027 and Figure 4). Liu discloses that, if no binding occurs (i.e., no N protein present), the oligonucleotide portions do not bind with the connector (Figure 4). Liu discloses that the connector provide for joining of the 3’ and 5’ ends of the oligonucleotide portion of the antibody-DNA oligo conjugate (paragraph bridging pages 9026 and 9027, page 9028, column 1, first and second full paragraphs and Figure 4). Liu discloses that, upon binding the connector binds to the 3’ and 5’ ends of the DNA oligo portion of the conjugate, forming a closed circle (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses methods of improving diagnostic technologies of SARS-Cov2 (abstract). Liu discloses the use of an antibody-DNA oligo conjugate set for the detection of the N protein of SARS-CoV2 (paragraph bridging pages 9026 and 9027, page 9028, column 1, first and second full paragraphs and Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ebai’s antibody-DNA oligo conjugates using the connector of Liu to form a closed loop by attaching the connector via 3’ and 5’ ends to the oligo portion of the antibody-DNA oligo conjugates because this provides a method where the antibodies bind to separate portions of the target protein, such as the SARS-Cov2 N protein, which can then be detected using amplification methods. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Ebai’s antibody-DNA oligo conjugates with those of Liu in order to detect the nucleocapsid protein of SARS-Cov2, enabling a sensitive detection method of SARS-Cov2. One of ordinary skill in the art would also have had a predictable and reasonable expectation of success in combining Ebai’s and Liu’s antibody-DNA oligo conjugates because each of the conjugates comprise the same or equivalent (i.e., use of the connector) structures.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebai in view of Liu, as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 8-10 above, and in view of Wiener et al. (10 Scientific Reports 1457, 1-11 (2020)). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicants’ amendments.
Ebai discloses antibody-DNA oligo conjugate sets, as discussed above.
Ebai fails to disclose or suggest the length of the DNA oligo.
Regarding claim 4, Wiener discloses single- and double-oligonucleotide antibody conjugates for protein analysis (abstract) Wiener discloses evaluation of a variety of conjugate characteristics, including oligonucleotide length (abstract). Wiener discloses that the length of the antibody-DNA oligo conjugates can vary (page 7, final two paragraphs). Wiener discloses that the length of the oligonucleotides can range from 32 nucleotides to 64 nucleotides (page 7, final two paragraphs). Wiener discloses that unstructured oligonucleotides with a length of 32 nucleotides showed a higher conjugation level (page 10, second full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the length of Wiener’s 32 nucleotide oligo in the antibody-DNA oligo conjugates of Ebai because using such a length will provide for a higher level of conjugate yield, which can then be used in protein analysis as disclosed by both Ebai and Wiener. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to create the antibody-DNA oligo conjugates of Ebai using the oligonucleotide length in order to increase the yield of conjugates.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 9-14 of copending Application No. 18/915,618 (reference application). This rejection is modified as necessitated by Applicants’ amendments and maintained.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the ‘618 application and the instant application claim an antibody-DNA conjugate for detection of target proteins.
Regarding claim 1, the ‘618 application claims an antibody-antigen capture set that comprises a first antibody-DNA conjugate configured to bind to a target protein, with a first DNA oligo linked to the first antibody and a second antibody-DNA conjugate configured to bind to the target protein and a second DNA oligo linked to the second antibody (claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, the ‘618 application claims that the first DNA oligo is covalently linked to the first antibody and the second DNA oligo is covalently linked to the second antibody (claim 9).
Regarding claim 3, the ‘618 application claims that the first DNA oligo is covalently linked to the first antibody on its 3’ end and the second DNA oligo is covalently linked to the second antibody on its 5’ end (claim 10).
Regarding claim 4, the ‘618 application claims that the first and second DNA oligos have a length between 20 and 300 nucleotide bases (claim 11).
Regarding claim 5, the ‘618 application claims that the first antibody binds to a first binding site of the target protein and the second antibody binds to a second binding site of the target protein (claim 2).
Regarding claim 6, the ‘618 application claims that the first antibody and second antibody each binds to the target protein, the 5’ end of the first DNA oligo and the 3’ end of the second DNA oligo attaches to each other (claim 12).
Regarding claim 7, the ‘618 application claims that the first antibody and second antibody, the first DNA oligo and second DNA oligo, and the target protein form a closed loop structure (claim 13).
Regarding claim 8, the ‘618 application claims that the target protein is selected from the group consisting of marker proteins of pathogens, marker proteins of infectious diseases; marker proteins of genetic diseases, marker proteins of acquired diseases (claim 14).
While the ‘618 application does not specifically claim that the target protein is a nucleocapsid protein of SARS-Cov2 virus, Troponin I, Alzheimer’s biomarkers or cancer biomarkers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the ‘618 antibody-DNA conjugate could be used to detect SARS-Cov2 virus, Troponin I, Alzheimer’s biomarkers or cancer biomarkers because these conditions are a known subset of pathogen markers, infectious disease markers, genetic disease markers, or acquired disease markers. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a predictable and reasonable expectation of success in detecting any of SARS-Cov2 virus, Troponin I, Alzheimer’s biomarkers or cancer biomarkers because these conditions are a known subset of pathogen markers, infectious disease markers, genetic disease markers, or acquired disease markers. Therefore the claims are not deemed to be patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered, but are not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicants assert that the specification contains adequate written description because the claimed invention is a platform, rather than a genus of biomolecules, which can accommodate a range of known molecular inputs. Applicants point to
While the specification does disclose conjugation chemistry, ligation mechanisms, and PCR detection schemes, it is not deemed to provide written description of any antibody pair for any validated biomarker target. Applicants do provide working examples of several antibody pairs for validated biomarker targets. However, the reliance upon nine potential target proteins does not provide adequate written description for any target protein, and in particular the wide variety of viral and cancer target proteins. Because each of the exemplified targets (viral pathogens, cardiovascular disease, neurodegeneration, and cancer), each of the targets lists only few of known target proteins. Being able to detect SARS-CoV2 nucleocapsid proteins does not necessarily mean that other viral pathogens can be targeted, given the vast number of potential virally-caused diseases, including influenza, HIV, and/or hepatitis. Similarly, four cancer biomarkers does not provide enough description for any other cancer biomarkers, including such biomarkers for breast cancer. Two variations of troponin, likewise, do not provide written description for any cardiovascular disease or condition. Nor does disclosure of two variations of Tau provide description for any neurodegenerative disease. For example, amyloid plaques can be targeted in Alzheimer’s disease. Because each of the categories of exemplified targets all contain a wide variety of antigens and potential target proteins, the exemplification of the four disclosed target categories is not deemed to provide sufficient written description over all of the potential target proteins over all potential target categories.
Regarding Applicants’ assertion that the cited references to not establishing unpredictability, each of the cited references does indeed discuss unpredictability with regard to the use of antibodies and accuracy of biomarkers. Just because the platform does require antibodies capable of binding a target protein and that the antibody be able to be conjugated to a DNA oligo, it does not mean that any antibody can be conjugated to any DNA oligo and/or that any target protein can be detected using paired antibodies. While the platform may be usable for known paired antibodies, there is no guarantee that any potential antibody or antibody pair can be used within the claimed platform.
For all these reasons, and those listed above, this rejection is maintained.
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1), Applicants’ amendments and arguments have been fully considered and are deemed to be persuasive. Therefore, this rejection is withdrawn.
However, Liu clearly discloses the formation of a closed loop by connecting (i.e., ligating) the 3’ and 5’ free ends of the oligos, forming a closed loop. Thus, the combination of Ebai and Liu is deemed to render the claimed invention obvious. While Ebai does not explicitly disclose the formation of the closed circle, the combination of Ebai and Liu clearly would have led one of ordinary skill in the art directly to the claimed invention. It is noted that Weiner is cited for the length of the oligo molecule.
Regarding the non-statutory double patenting rejection over U.S. Patent Application No. 18/915,618, Applicants are correct in noting the later effective filing date of the ‘618 application compared to the instant application. However, there are still remaining rejections. Upon indication that the claims are otherwise allowable, this rejection will be withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang et al. (910 Analytica Chimica Acta 12-24 (2016) disclose immunoassay for the detection of biomolecules (abstract). Chang et al. disclose that this assay employs the use of antibody-DNA oligo conjugates (abstract). Although Chang et al. do disclose antibody-DNA oligo conjugates, Chang et al. do not disclose the use of conjugate sets that bind to separate portions of the same biomolecule.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NANCY J. LEITH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1636
/NANCY J LEITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636