Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, 12, 17-20, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (2025/0142292) hereinafter “Hoang” and Barbu et al. (2024/0397467) hereinafter “Barbu”.
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Hoang discloses A first network device (102) for wireless communications, the first network device comprising:
at least one memory (130/132); and at least one processor (118) coupled to the at least one memory and configured to:
determine, for a positioning session initiated by the first network device, ([0122]: “Fig.2 depicts an example process 200 for a WTRU 202 (e.g., a target WTRU) to determine one or more SL-PRS parameters…”) at least one of position accuracy requirements or range accuracy requirements that define participation criteria for other network devices to participate in the positioning session with the first network device ([0124]: “… The parameters may include one or more of the QoS associated with
the SL-PRS resource, e.g., priority, latency, and/or accuracy requirement of the positioning service…”); and
output, for transmission to one or more second network devices, accuracy requirement information comprising at least one of the position accuracy requirements or the range accuracy requirements ([0125]: “… The first SCI may be transmitted in a PSCCH transmission… to indicate the accuracy requirement… may be indicated in the first SCI”. Note Fig.3, [0207]-[0213] further provides for “determining” and “outputting”.
Hoang is silent to yet in an analogous art Barbu discloses a first network device to receive, from a second network device of the one or more second network devices, a response signal indicating whether the second network device accepts [0077] or declines [0078] participation in the positioning session. See Fig 2. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Hoang to receive as taught by Barbu for the purpose of enabling a robust method with a mix of user devices with various capabilities as suggested in [0070]-[0078].
As to claim 6, The combination of Hoang and Barbu discloses The first network device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to output the accuracy requirement information for transmission via sidelink signaling. See Hoang [0005]: “sidelink positioning”, [0122]: “SL-PRS parameters”, etc.
As to claim 7, The combination of Hoang and Barbu discloses The first network device of claim 1, wherein the positioning session is a sidelink positioning session. See Hoang [0005]: “sidelink positioning”, [0122]: “SL-PRS parameters”, etc.
As to claim 8, The combination of Hoang and Barbu discloses The first network device of claim 1, wherein the first network device is a first user equipment (UE), and wherein each second network device of the one or more second network devices are respective UEs. See Hoang [0027], etc.
As to claim 9, The combination of Hoang and Barbu discloses The first network device of claim 1, wherein the first network device is a first vehicle, and wherein each second network device of the one or more second network devices are respective vehicles. See Hoang [0027], etc.
As to claims 12 and 17-20, it is considered that the device of corresponding claims 1 and 6-9 produces the method comprising the steps as applied above.
As to claim 31, The combination of Hoang and Barbu discloses The first network device of claim 1, and Barbu further discloses wherein the response signal indicates whether the second network device accepts or declines participation in the positioning session based on whether the second network device is configured to satisfy the participation criteria. See [0070]-[0078].
Claim(s) 23-25 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin et al. (2025/0008537) hereinafter “Sahin” and Barbu.
As to claim 23, Sahin discloses A first network device for wireless communications, the first network device comprising:
at least one memory (1206); and at least one processor (1204) coupled to the at least one memory and configured to, See Fig. 2 & Example 7, [0129]:
receive, from a second network device (target node transmits “210”), and for a positioning session initiated by the second network device accuracy requirement information (“… or accuracy of the position estimate of the target… a required QoS or accuracy of the position estimate…”)
comprising at least one of position accuracy (accuracy of the position estimate) requirements or range accuracy requirements that define participation criteria for the first network device to participate in the positioning session with the second network device, also see [0119]; and
output, for transmission to the second network device (target receives “220”), a response signal comprising (“… UE may respond to the request (at operation 220) with its SL positioning capability information… or alternatively, may reply with its SL positioning capability information, e.g. to allow the target UE to adjust or change the required parameters… accuracy”) at least one of a positioning accuracy or a ranging accuracy the first network device is configured to support for the positioning session with the second network device, also see [0120]. Also see [0038].
Sahin fail to explicitly recite yet in an analogous art Barbu discloses output, for transmission to a second network device, a response signal indicating whether the first network device accepts or declines participation in the positioning session (See Fig 2. [0077]-[0078]) Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sahin to output as taught by Barbu for the purpose of enabling a robust method with a mix of user devices with various capabilities as suggested in [0070]-[0078].
As to claim 24, The combination of Sahin and Barbu discloses The first network device of claim 23, wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the accuracy requirement information via sidelink signaling. See Sahin [0119], [0124]
As to claim 25, The combination of Sahin and Barbu discloses The first network device of claim 23, wherein the at least one processor is configured to output the response signal for transmission via sidelink signaling. See Sahin [0120], [0124].
As to claim 29, it is considered that the device of corresponding claim 23 produces the method comprising the steps as applied above.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang and Barbu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Karampatsis et al. (2025/0020757) hereinafter “Karampatsis”.
As to claims 2 and 3, The combination of Hoang and Barbu discloses The first network device of claim 1, is silent to yet in an analogous art Karampatsis discloses wherein the position accuracy requirements specify a positioning accuracy in at least one of latitude, longitude, or altitude and (claim 3) in a unit of measure. See [0057] “In some embodiments, a request may also include… an accuracy threshold… horizontal or a vertical accuracy threshold (e.g., in meters)…”. Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art wherein the position accuracy requirements specify a positioning accuracy in at least one of latitude, longitude, or altitude as taught by Karampatsis for the purpose of ensuring the position integrity.
As to claims 13 and 14, it is considered that the device of corresponding claims 2 and 3 produces the method comprising the steps as applied above.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hoang and Barbu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (2025/0023673) hereinafter “Liu”
As to claim 4, The combination of Hoang and Barbu discloses The first network device of claim 1, is silent to yet in an analogous art Liu discloses wherein the range accuracy requirements specify a ranging accuracy in at least one of lateral, longitudinal, or vertical distance, (see [0045]-[0049] “… In general, accuracy of 2 to 3 m is needed for absolute positioning. However, in V2X, the relative positioning using ranging is required to be 0.2 m (relative vertical accuracy)”. Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hoang wherein the range accuracy requirements specify a ranging accuracy in at least one of lateral, longitudinal, or vertical distance.
As to claim 5, The combination of Hoang, Barbu and Liu discloses The first network device of claim 4, wherein the range accuracy requirements specify the ranging accuracy in at least one of the lateral, longitudinal, or vertical distance in a unit of measurement. Liu uses m.
As to claims 15 and 16, it is considered that the device of corresponding claims 4 and 5 produces the method comprising the steps as applied above.
Claim(s) 10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hoang and Barbu as applied above to claim 9 and Esswie et al. (2024/0244581) hereinafter “Esswie”
As to claim 10, The first network device of claim 9, wherein the positioning session is during a vehicle maneuver. Hoang provides for vehicles as applied above to claim 9 yet fails to explicitly recite wherein the positioning session is during a vehicle maneuver. In an analogous art, Esswie discloses wherein a positioning session is during a vehicle maneuver in order to allow teleoperation, See [0175]-[0176]. Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hoang such that the positioning
session is during a vehicle maneuver in order to enable teleoperated driving during dangerous maneuvers.
As to claim 21, it is considered that the device of corresponding claim 10 produces the method comprising the steps as applied above.
Claim(s) 11, 22-25, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The combination of Hoang and Barbu as applied above to claim 1 and Ramachandran et al. (2025/0168808) hereinafter “Ramachandran”
As to claim 11, The combination of Hoang and Barbu discloses The first network device of claim 1, is silent to yet in an analogous art Ramachandran discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive, from a second network device of the one or more second network devices, a response signal (S912) comprising at least one of a positioning accuracy or a ranging accuracy the second network device can support for the positioning session with the first network device. See Fig. 9. Given that Hoang discloses wherein the discovery signal includes at least one of a positioning accuracy or a ranging accuracy info, Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the at least one processor of Hoang to be configured to receive, from a second network device of the one or more second network devices, a response signal comprising at least one of a positioning accuracy or a ranging accuracy the second network device can support for the positioning session with the first network device for the purpose of configuring a response with the relevant information according to the information in the discovery signal.
As to claim 22, it is considered that the device of corresponding claim 11 produces the method comprising the steps as applied above.
As to claims 23 and 29, the combination of Hoang, Barbu and Ramachandran discloses A first network device (and method claim 29) for wireless communications, as applied above to claim 11.
As to claim 24, the combination of Hoang, Barbu and Ramachandran discloses The first network device of claim 23, wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the accuracy requirement information via sidelink signaling. See Hoang [0067]-[0069].
As to claim 25, the combination of Hoang, Barbu and Ramachandran discloses The first network device of claim 23, wherein the at least one processor is configured to output the response signal for transmission via sidelink signaling. Ramachandran provides for PC5 signaling [0392], etc
and Hoang recites sidelink so it is considered the combination would stick to sidelink signaling.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The combination of Hoang and Barbu and Ramachandran as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of “Liu”.
As to claim 28, The combination of Hoang and Barbu discloses The first network device of claim 23, is silent to yet in an analogous art Liu discloses wherein the range accuracy requirements specify a ranging accuracy in at least one of lateral, longitudinal, or vertical distance, (see [0045]-[0049] “… In general, accuracy of 2 to 3 m is needed for absolute positioning. However, in V2X, the relative positioning using ranging is required to be 0.2 m (relative vertical accuracy)”. Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hoang wherein the range accuracy requirements specify a ranging accuracy in at least one of lateral, longitudinal, or vertical distance.
Claim(s) 26 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The combination of Hoang and Barbu and Ramachandran as applied to claims 23 and 29 above, and further in view of Karampatsis.
As to claims 26 and 27, the combination of The combination of Hoang and Barbu and Ramachandran discloses The first network device of claim 23, are silent to yet in an analogous art Karampatsis discloses wherein the position accuracy requirements specify a positioning accuracy in at least one of latitude, longitude, or altitude and (claim 27) in a unit of measure. See [0057] “In some embodiments, a request may also include… an accuracy threshold… horizontal or a vertical accuracy threshold (e.g., in meters)…”. Before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art wherein the position accuracy requirements specify a positioning accuracy in at least one of latitude, longitude, or altitude as taught by Karampatsis for the purpose of ensuring the position integrity.
Conclusion
LESTER G. KINCAID
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/LESTER G KINCAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649