Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, in the reply filed on 12/15/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS59225704 (hereinafter JP ‘704) in view of Ichikawa et al (US 20080105613; hereinafter Ichikawa).
As regarding claim 1, JP ‘704 discloses the claimed invention for a gas separation membrane comprising: a porous layer; a first resin layer provided at a surface on one side of the porous layer, the first resin layer including an organopolysiloxane; and a second resin layer provided at a surface of the first resin layer on a side opposite to that of the porous layer ([0001] – ‘…three-layer or four-layer structure in which…is laminated on a porous support, on which a plasma-polymerized membrane of an organosilane compound is deposited…a siloxane elastic layer…’), the second resin layer including an organopolysiloxane (organosilane, silicone rubber (elastic resin), siloxane), and the second resin layer is chemically bonded (crosslinked) to the first resin layer.
JP ‘704 does not disclose wherein the first resin layer has a porosity greater than that of the second resin layer. Ichikawa teaches wherein the first resin layer has a porosity greater than that of the second resin layer ([0026]). Both JP ‘704 and Ichikawa directed to gas separation membrane. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the first resin layer has a porosity greater than that of the second resin layer as taught by Ichikawa in order to reduce flow resistance, provide mechanical support, and enhance adhesion while allowing the dense second layer to maintain high selectivity.
As regarding claim 2, JP ‘704 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘704 as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein a sum of an average thickness of the first resin layer and an average thickness of the second resin layer is from 50 nm to 500 nm (0.3 mm; 500 nm = 0.5 mm).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein a sum of an average thickness of the first resin layer and an average thickness of the second resin layer is from 50 nm to 500 nm in order to maximize permeability while maintaining selectivity, minimizing material use, and ensuring mechanical stability, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS59225704 (hereinafter JP ‘704) in view of Ichikawa et al (US 20080105613; hereinafter Ichikawa), as applied supra, and further in view of Raveendran-Nair et al (US 20160280563; hereinafter Raveendran-Nair).
As regarding claim 3, JP ‘704 as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘704 as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a constituent material of the porous layer is a ceramic material. Raveendran-Nair teaches wherein a constituent material of the porous layer is a ceramic material ([0062]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the first resin layer has a porosity greater than that of the second resin layer as taught by Raveendran-Nair in order to provide mechanical strength, thermal and chemical stability, dimensional stability, and a well-defined porous scaffold for thin selective layers.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773