DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 47 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant added claimed feature, such as " wherein a further SIB indicates an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from the set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations. ", similar to the limitation as recited in the dependent claim 46 <parent to claim 47>, for example, " wherein the SIB further indicates an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from the set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations”. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Double Patenting
Claims 36-40 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/260,356. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 36-40 of the instant application is “anticipated by” claim 1-5 of conpending application 18/260,356 .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Application No 18/467,192 (Instant)
Co-pending Application No. 18/260,356
36. A processor of a network cell configured to: operate in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state with a user equipment (UE); configure transceiver circuitry to transmit an RRC message to release or suspend the RRC connected state, the RRC message including an indication for a tracking reference signal (TRS) or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration to use during an RRC inactive or idle state, wherein the TRS or CSI-RS configuration is used by the UE for performing timing and frequency error estimation for decoding downlink control information; enter the RRC inactive or idle state with the UE.
37. The processor of claim 36, wherein the indication comprises an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from a set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations assigned during the RRC connected state.
38. The processor of claim 36, wherein the processor is further configured to: after entering the RRC inactive or idle state, configure transceiver circuitry to transmit a system information block (SIB) comprising a set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations for use during the RRC inactive or idle state, wherein the indication comprises an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from the set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations received in the SIB.
39. The processor of claim 38, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, from the UE, a message comprising a request that the SIB be transmitted as on demand system information.
40. The processor of claim 38, wherein the set comprises a maximum number of TRS or CSI-RS configurations to be shared with user equipment (UEs) currently in the RRC connected state.
1. A processor of a user equipment (UE) configured to perform operations comprising: operating in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state with a network cell; receiving an RRC message to release or suspend the RRC connected state, the RRC message including an indication for a tracking reference signal (TRS) or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration to use during an RRC inactive or idle state; entering the RRC inactive or idle state; and applying the TRS or CSI-RS configuration for performing timing and frequency error estimation for decoding downlink control information.
2. The processor of claim 1, wherein the indication comprises an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from a set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations assigned during the RRC connected state.
3. The processor of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: after entering the RRC inactive or idle state, receiving a system information block (SIB) comprising a set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations for use during the RRC inactive or idle state, wherein the indication comprises an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from the set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations received in the SIB.
4. The processor of claim 3, wherein the operations further comprise: requesting the SIB as on demand system information.
5. The processor of claim 4, wherein the set comprises a maximum number of TRS or CSI-RS configurations to be shared with user equipment (UEs) currently in the RRC connected state.
Claims 41-43 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6-8 of copending Application No. 18/260,356. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 41-43 of the instant application is “anticipated by” claim 6-8 of conpending application 18/260,356 .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Application No 18/467,192 (Instant)
Co-pending Application No. 18/260,356
41. A processor of a network cell configured to: enter a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle state with a user equipment (UE); and configure transceiver circuitry to transmit a paging message for receiving downlink control information (DCI) to the UE, the paging message further including an indication for a tracking reference signal (TRS) or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration to use during the RRC inactive or idle state, wherein the UE performs timing and frequency error estimation for the TRS or CSI-RS for decoding the DCI.
42. The processor of claim 41, wherein the paging message is a paging early indication (PEI) or a wakeup signal (WUS).
43. The processor of claim 41, wherein a synchronization signal block (SSB) is not used for timing and frequency error estimation for decoding the DCI.
6. A processor of a user equipment (UE) configured to perform operations comprising: entering a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle state with a network cell; receiving a paging message for receiving downlink control information (DCI), the paging message further including an indication for a tracking reference signal (TRS) or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration to use during the RRC inactive or idle state; applying the TRS or CSI-RS configuration; and performing timing and frequency error estimation for the TRS or CSI-RS for decoding the DCI.
7. The processor of claim 6, wherein the paging message is a paging early indication (PEI) or a wakeup signal (WUS).
8. The processor of claim 6, wherein a synchronization signal block (SSB) is not used for timing and frequency error estimation for decoding the DCI.
Claims 44-54 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9-18 of copending Application No. 18/260,356. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 44-54 of the instant application is “anticipated by” claim 9-18 of conpending application 18/260,356 .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Application No 18/467,192 (Instant)
Co-pending Application No. 18/260,356
44. A processor of a network cell configured to: enter a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle state with a user equipment (UE); receive, from the UE, a request for on demand system information (ODSI) for a tracking reference signal (TRS) or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration to use during the RRC inactive or idle state; configure transceiver circuitry to transmit a system information block (SIB) comprising an indication for the TRS or CSI-RS configuration, wherein the UE applies the TRS or CSI-RS configuration for performing timing and frequency error estimation for decoding downlink control information.
45. The processor of claim 44, wherein the SIB comprises a set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations to be used in the RRC inactive or idle state.
46. The processor of claim 45, wherein the SIB further indicates an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from the set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations.
47. The processor of claim 46, wherein a further SIB indicates an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from the set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations.
48. The processor of claim 44, wherein the processor is further configured to: configure transceiver circuitry to transmit a system information modification message indicating a forthcoming change to the TRS or CSI-RS configuration.
49. The processor of claim 48, wherein the processor is further configured to: configure transceiver circuitry to transmit a further SIB comprising an indication for the TRS or CSI-RS configuration change.
50. The processor of claim 49, wherein the TRS or CSI-RS configuration change includes a new set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations to be used in the RRC inactive or idle state.
51. The processor of claim 49, wherein the TRS or CSI-RS configuration change indicates a TRS or CSI-RS configuration deactivation.
52. The processor of claim 51, wherein the processor is further configured to: configure transceiver circuitry to transmit a further system information modification message indicating a forthcoming change to the TRS or CSI-RS configuration; configure transceiver circuitry to transmit a further SIB comprising an indication for a TRS or CSI-RS configuration reactivation.
53. The processor of claim 44, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, from the UE, a UE capability for support of enhanced UE power saving.
54. The processor of claim 44, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, from the UE, a UE capability for support of using TRS or CSI-RS configuration information in the RRC inactive or idle state.
9. A processor of a user equipment (UE) configured to perform operations comprising: entering a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle state with a network cell; requesting on demand system information (ODSI) for a tracking reference signal (TRS) or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration to use during the RRC inactive or idle state; receiving a system information block (SIB) comprising an indication for the TRS or CSI-RS configuration; and applying the TRS or CSI-RS configuration for performing timing and frequency error estimation for decoding downlink control information.
10. The processor of claim 9, wherein the SIB comprises a set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations to be used in the RRC inactive or idle state.
11. The processor of claim 10, wherein the SIB further indicates an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from the set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations.
12. The processor of claim 10, wherein a further SIB indicates an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from the set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations.
13. The processor of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a system information modification message indicating a forthcoming change to the TRS or CSI-RS configuration.
14. The processor of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a further SIB comprising an indication for the TRS or CSI-RS configuration change.
15. The processor of claim 14, wherein the TRS or CSI-RS configuration change includes a new set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations to be used in the RRC inactive or idle state.
16. The processor of claim 14, wherein the TRS or CSI-RS configuration change indicates a TRS or CSI-RS configuration deactivation.
17. The processor of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise: receiving a further system information modification message indicating a forthcoming change to the TRS or CSI-RS configuration; receiving a further SIB comprising an indication for a TRS or CSI-RS configuration reactivation.
18. The processor of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise: indicating to the network a UE capability for support of enhanced UE power saving or a UE capability for support of using TRS or CSI-RS configuration information in the RRC inactive or idle state.
Similarly, all other independent/dependent claims of the instant application (Application No. 18/467,192) are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over combinations of independent/dependent claims of Co-pending Application No 18/260,356. Although those claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because combination of those independent/dependent claims are “anticipated by” the combination of independent/dependent claims of Co-pending Application No 18/260,356.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LASELVA et al. (2023/0246764), LASELVA hereinafter. LASELVA teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning that follows.
Re. claim 36, LASELVA teaches a processor (Fig. 1, 152) of a network cell (Fig.1/Fig.3/3A, RAN node 170 (e.g., serving gNB/Cell)) configured to: operate in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0063 - While the UE is in RRC Connected state 210, the following steps are performed. In FIG. 3, reference 310 indicates that the UE is in RRC Connected state 210.) with a user equipment (UE) (Fig.1/Fig.3/3A, UE 110); configure transceiver circuitry (Fig. 1, 162/163) to transmit an RRC message to release or suspend the RRC connected state, the RRC message including an indication for a tracking reference signal (TRS) or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration to use during an RRC inactive or idle state (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0066 - In step 1, the UE 110 receives the RRC Release with Suspend Indication that moves the UE to the RRC Inactive state 220. The RRC Release with Suspend Indication message includes in this example TRS/CSI-RS configuration for use in RRC Inactive and optionally an additional RSs presence indication….. the additional RSs may be configured/transmitted only for UEs in an RRC Inactive Idle state that have low SINR (e.g., or other radio quality deemed to be low), because these UEs can benefit more from the additional RS), wherein the TRS or CSI-RS configuration is used by the UE for performing timing and frequency error estimation for decoding downlink control information (Fig.2-3 & ¶0068 - In step 2, the serving cell 170 transmits TRS/CSI-RS for the UE e.g., periodically and according to the UE's Paging Occasion (PO). Thus, it is noted that the serving cell 170 sends the TRS/CSI-RS also in step 5. Fig.2-3 & ¶0069 - Option 1: the network indicates the exact timing of the RSs before the PO (e.g., the exact slots/OFDM symbols where the RSs will (may) be transmitted are configured/indicated). The exact timing could be provided, in one example, as a delta versus the timing of the first PO (paging occasion) in a PF (paging frame…the exact timing could be provided as delta to the SSBs before the PO. Fig.2-3 & ¶0073 - In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication and uses them at least for synchronization purposes. These additional RSs correspond to the TRS/CSI-RS that the network transmits to aid the UE in its synchronization effort. Fig.2-3 & ¶0075 - the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS for use in the RRC Inactive or Idle state may have a different purpose. This purpose is to help the UE to acquire and/or maintain synchronization with the network for the UE to be ready, e.g., to monitor a paging DCI on PDCCH and a paging message in the PDSCH in a paging occasion. Therefore, these TRS/CSI-RSs may be sent “just before” (e.g., with a known/indicated time period from) the paging occasion of the UE. Fig.2-4 & ¶0097 - The user equipment, in block 440, performs receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state. In block 450, the user equipment 110 performs monitoring by the user equipment for additional reference signals according to the additional reference signal configuration and using the additional reference signals at least for synchronization purposes to synchronize with the one or more cells. Fig.2-4 & ¶0109 - wherein using the additional reference signals at least for synchronization comprises using the additional reference signals for time and/or frequency error offset estimation and/or for tracking for demodulation and/or for reference signal received power measurements for mobility); enter the RRC inactive or idle state with the UE (Fig.2-3 & ¶0067 - While the UE is in RRC Inactive state 220, the following steps are performed. Note that reference 320 indicates the UE 110 is in the RRC Inactive state 220.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 37-38 and 41-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LASELVA, in view of KOSKELA et al. (2024/0039669), KOSKELA hereinafter.
Re. Claim 37, LASELVA teaches claim 36.
Yet, LASELVA does not expressly teach wherein the indication comprises an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from a set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations assigned during the RRC connected state.
However, in the analogous art, KOSKELA explicitly discloses wherein the indication comprises an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from a set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations assigned during the RRC connected state. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0074 - the presence indicator is transmitted by UE 120 in a system information broadcast message (SIB). In one further example the presence information may be provided in a SIB in group specific manner i.e. network may indicate that TRS/CSI-RS are present for specific group or groups or all the groups. The indication may be in a form of bitmap. The bitmap may have a bit field for each of the SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS or the groups of SSB and/or TRS/CSI-RS. A bit in the bitmap indicates whether the TRS/CSI-RS or group of TRS/CSI-RS are present/transmitted by network 110. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0075 - the presence indicator may be provided (UE 120 may receive it) to UE 120 or UEs in RRC CONNECTED mode. … the presence indicator may be provided in an RRC message such as RRC Release message or any message that is provided to UE 120 prior to entering IDLE/INACTIVE mode.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system to include KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network, because it enables means in specifying an efficient mechanism for indicating TRS/CSI-RS (tracking reference signal/channel state information reference signal ) occasion(s) available for connected mode UEs to IDLE/Inactive mode UEs, while at the same time minimizing system overhead impact in the communication network. (¶0002, KOSKELA)
Re. Claim 38, LASELVA teaches claim 36.
Yet, LASELVA does not expressly teach wherein the processor is further configured to: after entering the RRC inactive or idle state, configure transceiver circuitry to transmit a system information block (SIB) comprising a set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations for use during the RRC inactive or idle state, wherein the indication comprises an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from the set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations received in the SIB.
However, in the analogous art, KOSKELA explicitly discloses wherein the processor (¶0111) is further configured to: after entering the RRC inactive or idle state, configure transceiver circuitry to transmit a system information block (SIB) comprising a set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations for use during the RRC inactive or idle state, wherein the indication comprises an index value corresponding to one TRS or CSI-RS configuration from the set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations received in the SIB. (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0083 - The defining of the subsets may be conveyed to the UE 120 in the presence indicator configuration of step 200. …. Other types of subset definitions are possible as well, such as that each bit in the PI corresponds to certain RS (e.g., TRS/CSI-RS) configuration index. … the defining of the subset for the UE is based on a control message. The PI configuration may be provided to UE in a system broadcast message e.g. in a SIB……The PI configuration may be provided to UE in RRC connected or in RRC idle/inactive mode. In one example the PI configuration or the PI (presence indication information) may be provided in a system information block (in same or different SIB)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system to include KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network, because it enables means in specifying an efficient mechanism for indicating TRS/CSI-RS (tracking reference signal/channel state information reference signal ) occasion(s) available for connected mode UEs to IDLE/Inactive mode UEs, while at the same time minimizing system overhead impact in the communication network. (¶0002, KOSKELA)
Re. claim 41, LASELVA teaches a processor (Fig. 1, 152) of a network cell (Fig.1/Fig.3/3A, RAN node 170 (e.g., serving gNB/Cell) configured to: enter a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle state with a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0066 - In step 1, the UE 110 receives the RRC Release with Suspend Indication that moves the UE to the RRC Inactive state 220. Fig.2-3 & ¶0067 - While the UE is in RRC Inactive state 220, the following steps are performed. Note that reference 320 indicates the UE 110 is in the RRC Inactive state 220.); wherein the UE performs timing and frequency error estimation for the TRS or CSI-RS for decoding the DCI (Fig.2-3 & ¶0068 - In step 2, the serving cell 170 transmits TRS/CSI-RS for the UE e.g., periodically and according to the UE's Paging Occasion (PO). Thus, it is noted that the serving cell 170 sends the TRS/CSI-RS also in step 5. Fig.2-3 & ¶0069 - Option 1: the network indicates the exact timing of the RSs before the PO (e.g., the exact slots/OFDM symbols where the RSs will (may) be transmitted are configured/indicated). The exact timing could be provided, in one example, as a delta versus the timing of the first PO (paging occasion) in a PF (paging frame…the exact timing could be provided as delta to the SSBs before the PO. Fig.2-3 & ¶0073 - In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication and uses them at least for synchronization purposes. These additional RSs correspond to the TRS/CSI-RS that the network transmits to aid the UE in its synchronization effort. Fig.2-3 & ¶0075 - the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS for use in the RRC Inactive or Idle state may have a different purpose. This purpose is to help the UE to acquire and/or maintain synchronization with the network for the UE to be ready, e.g., to monitor a paging DCI on PDCCH and a paging message in the PDSCH in a paging occasion. Therefore, these TRS/CSI-RSs may be sent “just before” (e.g., with a known/indicated time period from) the paging occasion of the UE. Fig.2-4 & ¶0097 - The user equipment, in block 440, performs receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state. In block 450, the user equipment 110 performs monitoring by the user equipment for additional reference signals according to the additional reference signal configuration and using the additional reference signals at least for synchronization purposes to synchronize with the one or more cells. Fig.2-4 & ¶0109 - wherein using the additional reference signals at least for synchronization comprises using the additional reference signals for time and/or frequency error offset estimation and/or for tracking for demodulation and/or for reference signal received power measurements for mobility).
Yet, LASELVA does not expressly teach configure transceiver circuitry to transmit a paging message for receiving downlink control information (DCI) to the UE, the paging message further including an indication for a tracking reference signal (TRS) or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration to use during the RRC inactive or idle state,
However, in the analogous art, KOSKELA explicitly discloses configure transceiver circuitry to transmit a paging message for receiving downlink control information (DCI) to the UE, the paging message further including an indication for a tracking reference signal (TRS) or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration to use during the RRC inactive or idle state,(Fig. 1-10 & ¶0071 - the presence indicator is received in an early paging indicator message (EPI/PEI). For NR idle/inactive-mode paging enhancement, paging early indication before paging occasion (PO) may be supported. Paging early indication before a target PO, may also be referred as wake up signalling (WUS) or DCP (DCI with CRC scrambled by PS-RNTI), and may be used for indicating to the UE whether the UE needs to wake up to monitor physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled with paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) at the PO. In other words, the EPI/PEI may indicate to a UE whether it will be or may be paged on a PO associated with the EPI/PEI. Potential candidate indication methods include e.g. downlink control information (DCI)-based indication, e.g., based on extending existing DCI format 1_0 or 2_6, or a new DCI format, or a RS-based or sequence-based indication, e.g., based on TRS/CSI-RS. Fig. 1-10 & ¶0094 - each presence indicator is associated with a timer defining a validity period for the received presence indicator. . When the UE detects the presence indication (e.g. in EPI/PEI), the UE can assume that the TRS/CSI-RS associated with the indication are present for the duration of the timer, e.g. N milliseconds, N second or N paging cycles….. the UE may assume the presence of the TRS/CSI-RSs after indicated by the network with the PI… Upon expiry of the timer, the UE cannot assume the presence of the TRS/CSI-RSs in the provided occasion(s));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system to include KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network, because it enables means in specifying an efficient mechanism for indicating TRS/CSI-RS (tracking reference signal/channel state information reference signal ) occasion(s) available for connected mode UEs to IDLE/Inactive mode UEs, while at the same time minimizing system overhead impact in the communication network. (¶0002, KOSKELA)
Re. Claim 42, LASELVA and KOSKELA teach claim 41.
Yet, LASELVA does not expressly teach wherein the paging message is a paging early indication (PEI) or a wakeup signal (WUS).
However, in the analogous art, KOSKELA explicitly discloses wherein the paging message is a paging early indication (PEI) or a wakeup signal (WUS). (Fig. 1-10 & ¶0071 - the presence indicator is received in an early paging indicator message (EPI/PEI). For NR idle/inactive-mode paging enhancement, paging early indication before paging occasion (PO) may be supported. Paging early indication before a target PO, may also be referred as wake up signalling (WUS) or DCP (DCI with CRC scrambled by PS-RNTI), and may be used for indicating to the UE whether the UE needs to wake up to monitor physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) scrambled with paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) at the PO.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system to include KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network, because it enables means in specifying an efficient mechanism for indicating TRS/CSI-RS (tracking reference signal/channel state information reference signal ) occasion(s) available for connected mode UEs to IDLE/Inactive mode UEs, while at the same time minimizing system overhead impact in the communication network. (¶0002, KOSKELA)
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LASELVA, in view of KOSKELA, further in view of Lee et al. (2022/0132518), Lee hereinafter.
Re. Claim 39, LASELVA and KOSKELA teach claim 38.
Yet, LASELVA and KOSKELA do not expressly teach wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, from the UE, a message comprising a request that the SIB be transmitted as on demand system information.
However, in the analogous art, Lee explicitly discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, from the UE, a message comprising a request that the SIB be transmitted as on demand system information. (Fig. 6-17 & ¶0145 - SIB1 may indicate whether SIBx is broadcast periodically or provided by an UE request in an on-demand manner. When SIBx is provided in the on-demand manner, SIB1 may include information required for the UE to transmit an SI request.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system and KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network to include Lee’s invention of a system and a method for transmitting/receiving a wireless signal in next-generation wireless communication system, it provides an efficient mechanism for supporting high data transfer rates in the next-generation wireless communication system. (Abstract, Lee)
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LASELVA, in view of KOSKELA, further in view of Ben Hadj Fredj et al. (2024/0014870), Ben Hadj Fredj hereinafter.
Re. Claim 43, LASELVA and KOSKELA teach claim 41.
Yet, LASELVA and KOSKELA do not expressly teach wherein a synchronization signal block (SSB) is not used for timing and frequency error estimation for decoding the DCI.
However, in the analogous art, Ben Hadj Fredj explicitly discloses wherein a synchronization signal block (SSB) is not used for timing and frequency error estimation for decoding the DCI. (Fig. 11 & ¶0078 - FIG. 11 is an example illustration 1100 of CSI-RS transmission along with WUS and PO for idle mode WUS reception. Generally, the time taken for achieving synchronization from the SSB before decoding PDCCH and/or PDSCH in one of the paging occasions depends on the quality of the chipset. Hence, the low-quality chipset can take 2 or 3 SSB bursts to achieve synchronization before decoding paging related PDCCH and/or PDSCH, which makes the UE to be in the active reception mode for a longer time as shown in the illustration 1100. In this embodiment, UE can be configured with a block of SSB, CSI-RS/TRS, WUS, and PO. Additional RS such as CSI-RS/TRS can be configured between the SSB and WUS to improve the synchronization accuracy of reduced capability UEs for the successful reception of WUS. In a first implementation, the gNB can explicitly indicate the presence/absence of transmission of CSI-RS/TRS in the candidate location for the idle/inactive mode UEs using a field in DCI transmitted using CORESET 0. In this method, presence/absence of transmission of the CSI-RS/TRS in the candidate location can be dynamically indicated to UEs monitoring each block of SSB, CSI-RS/TRS, WUS, and PO using CORESET 0. In a second implementation, the gNB can explicitly indicate the transmission of CSI-RS/TRS in the candidate location using PBCH payload. In another implementation, the gNB can implicitly indicate the transmission of CSI-RS/TRS in the candidate location using PBCH DMRS such that DMRS time/frequency offset can indicate the transmission of CSI-RS/TRS.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system and KOSKELA’s invention of a system and a method for transmission of reference signals for idle/inactive UEs (User Equipments) in a communication network to include Ben Hadj Fredj’s invention of a system and a method for transmitting a CSI report on a transmission occasion in a wireless communication system, it provides an efficient mechanism for improving power consumption of a user device in the wireless communication system. (¶0026, Ben Hadj Fredj)
Claims 44-45 and 53-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LASELVA, in view of Li et al. (2023/0143590), Li hereinafter.
Re. claim 44, LASELVA teaches a processor (Fig. 1, 152) of a network cell (Fig.1/Fig.3/3A, RAN node 170 (e.g., serving gNB/Cell)) configured to: enter a radio resource control (RRC) inactive or idle state with a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2-3 & ¶0066 - In step 1, the UE 110 receives the RRC Release with Suspend Indication that moves the UE to the RRC Inactive state 220. Fig.2-3 & ¶0067 - While the UE is in RRC Inactive state 220, the following steps are performed. Note that reference 320 indicates the UE 110 is in the RRC Inactive state 220.); wherein the UE applies the TRS or CSI-RS configuration for performing timing and frequency error estimation for decoding downlink control information (Fig.2-3 & ¶0068 - In step 2, the serving cell 170 transmits TRS/CSI-RS for the UE e.g., periodically and according to the UE's Paging Occasion (PO). Thus, it is noted that the serving cell 170 sends the TRS/CSI-RS also in step 5. Fig.2-3 & ¶0069 - Option 1: the network indicates the exact timing of the RSs before the PO (e.g., the exact slots/OFDM symbols where the RSs will (may) be transmitted are configured/indicated). The exact timing could be provided, in one example, as a delta versus the timing of the first PO (paging occasion) in a PF (paging frame…the exact timing could be provided as delta to the SSBs before the PO. Fig.2-3 & ¶0073 - In step 3, the UE in the RRC Inactive state 220 monitors for additional RSs, e.g., based on the received additional RSs configuration and (possible) presence indication and uses them at least for synchronization purposes. These additional RSs correspond to the TRS/CSI-RS that the network transmits to aid the UE in its synchronization effort. Fig.2-3 & ¶0075 - the configuration of TRS/CSI-RS for use in the RRC Inactive or Idle state may have a different purpose. This purpose is to help the UE to acquire and/or maintain synchronization with the network for the UE to be ready, e.g., to monitor a paging DCI on PDCCH and a paging message in the PDSCH in a paging occasion. Therefore, these TRS/CSI-RSs may be sent “just before” (e.g., with a known/indicated time period from) the paging occasion of the UE. Fig.2-4 & ¶0097 - The user equipment, in block 440, performs receiving, in response to the sending, information of additional reference signal configuration to be used in the idle state or inactive state. In block 450, the user equipment 110 performs monitoring by the user equipment for additional reference signals according to the additional reference signal configuration and using the additional reference signals at least for synchronization purposes to synchronize with the one or more cells. Fig.2-4 & ¶0109 - wherein using the additional reference signals at least for synchronization comprises using the additional reference signals for time and/or frequency error offset estimation and/or for tracking for demodulation and/or for reference signal received power measurements for mobility).
Yet, LASELVA does not expressly teach receive, from the UE, a request for on demand system information (ODSI) for a tracking reference signal (TRS) or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration to use during the RRC inactive or idle state; configure transceiver circuitry to transmit a system information block (SIB) comprising an indication for the TRS or CSI-RS configuration,
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly discloses receive, from the UE, a request for on demand system information (ODSI) for a tracking reference signal (TRS) or channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration to use during the RRC inactive or idle state (Fig. 1-14 & ¶0107 - In some wireless communication systems, including NR or NR-like systems such as NR Release 15/16, a resource or resources, e.g., in time and frequency domain, for Tracking Reference Signals (TRS) and/or CSI-RS (Channel State Information Reference Signals), may be configured per UE with RRC parameters for sequence generation, resource mapping, and/or transmission timing (possibly including locations and/or a density in time domain). With such RRC configuration per UE, the RS can be transmitted to a configured UE (or a group of configured UEs) on demand, which is different from systems including some LTE systems where the CSI-RS are transmitted according to fixed parameters, independent of a current demand of UEs. Fig. 1-14 & ¶0110 - power saving considerations for NR and similar systems (e.g., NR Release 17), may address power saving for UEs in idle and inactive mode (RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE. Fig. 1-14 & ¶0119 - The techniques provided by the present disclosure include a modified configuration of TRS/CSI-RS, which may facilitate time/frequency domain tracking as well as reducing power consumption for time/frequency domain tracking and/or paging monitoring.), wherein system performance is considered.); configure transceiver circuitry to transmit a system information block (SIB) comprising an indication for the TRS or CSI-RS configuration (Fig. 1-14 & ¶0131 - the system information, which includes or indicates the RS configuration, is a system information block (SIB) or a master information block (MIB). Fig. 1-14 & ¶0132 - the reference signals, which are configured by the RS configuration, include at least one of tracking reference signals (TRS) and channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system to include Li’s invention of a system and a method for transmission and reception of signals in a communication system, because it facilitates efficient handling of reference signals in the communication system. (¶0002-¶0004, Li)
Re. Claim 45, LASELVA and Li teach claim 44.
Yet, LASELVA does not expressly teach wherein the SIB comprises a set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations to be used in the RRC inactive or idle state.
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly discloses wherein the SIB comprises a set of TRS or CSI-RS configurations to be used in the RRC inactive or idle state. (Fig. 1-14 & ¶0110 - power saving considerations for NR and similar systems (e.g., NR Release 17), may address power saving for UEs in idle and inactive mode (RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE. Fig. 1-14 & ¶0119 - The techniques provided by the present disclosure include a modified configuration of TRS/CSI-RS, which may facilitate time/frequency domain tracking as well as reducing power consumption for time/frequency domain tracking and/or paging monitoring. Fig. 1-14 & ¶0131 - the system information, which includes or indicates the RS configuration, is a system information block (SIB) or a master information block (MIB). Fig. 1-14 & ¶0132 - the reference signals, which are configured by the RS configuration, include at least one of tracking reference signals (TRS) and channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LASELVA’s invention of a system and a method for determining presence of UEs (User Equipment) having low radio quality and adjusting reference signals for use by these UEs in a wireless communication system to include Li’s invention of a system and a method for transmission and reception of signals in a communication system, because it facilitates efficient handling of reference signals in the communication system. (¶0002-¶0004, Li)
Re. Claim 53, LASELVA and Li teach claim 44.
LASELVA further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, from the UE, a UE capability for support of enhanced UE power saving. (Fig.2-4 & ¶0172 - allow acquiring, e.g., by the UE and exchange in the network, knowledge related to the actual need/benefit of a UE in RRC Idle or Inactive state of receiving additional RSs as well as, … knowledge related to the time/frequency density of the RSs. This allows providing, e.g., TRS/CSI-RS used for RRC Idle or Inactive state UEs efficiently, such as only whenever a UE in RRC Inactive or Idle state requires them (e.g., has a low SINR or indicates the need based, e.g., o