DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2023 have been considered by the examiner and been placed of record in the file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/07/2026, with respect to the office action being incomplete have been fully considered and are persuasive. New non-final rejection is being issued.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to the 103 rejection.
The applicant argues:
Applicant respectfully submits that Gunzelmann does not teach or suggest each and every element of Claim 1 for at least the following two reasons.
Firstly, claim 1 recites, in part, "a passive antenna configured to capture a signal beam". Gunzelmann does not disclose this element of claim 1.
The Office Action maps the claimed "passive antenna" to Gunzelmann's "item 126", which Gunzelmann identifies as "THz lens 126". The THz lens is not an antenna, let alone an antenna that is passive. Gunzelmann is silent with regard to passive antennas. Therefore, Gunzelmann does not disclose "a passive antenna configured to capture a signal beam", as required by claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees:
Gunzelmann discloses: THz lens may be provided in device 10 to help antenna(s) 30 to focus the transmitted, received, and/or reflected THF signals [0094]. The fact that the lens is focusing the transmitted, received or/and reflected signal means it is capturing the signal.
In the description of the claimed invention the passive antenna is described as a lens (The antenna 110 may be any suitable antenna for steering a received signal beam, but is in one example, a flat gradient index (GRIN) lens due to its passive (and therefore energy-efficient) refraction. A size of the antenna 110 (e.g., lens) is based on a desired wavelength-sensitivity, with lower frequencies (e.g., larger wavelengths) requiring larger antennae or lenses [0013]).
The applicant argues:
The Office Action states that Gunzelmann discloses "amplifier circuitry" and "analog-to- digital (ADC) circuitry". Gunzelmann's FIG. 6 shows amplifier circuitry (power amplifier 76) positioned to amplify the output of converter circuitry (DAC 74), rather than to provide an amplified signal to a converter or comparator for threshold comparison. Therefore, Gunzelmann does not disclose "output a binary response based on a comparison of the amplified signal to a threshold value", as required by claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees:
Gunzelmann discloses: An amplifier such as low noise amplifier 82 may be interposed on intermediate frequency signal path 44 [0056]… transceiver circuitry 26 may include an analog-to-digital converter (ADC), intermediate frequency signal path 44 may be coupled to an input of the ADC [0062].
Clearly, Gunzelmann discloses the idea of received signal being amplified them digitized. The disclosed ADC does generate binary signals. Also, digital-to-analog converters do require a reference voltage (i.e. a threshold) in order to function properly.
The applicant argues:
For the reasons described above, the applied reference does not disclose "an amplifier configured to amplify the envelope"; "a comparator configured to generate a binary output based on a comparison of the amplified envelope to a threshold value"; and "a passive antenna ... configured to capture the signal and to direct the signal to the signal receiver without consuming power", as recited by Claim 9. Withdrawal and reconsideration of the rejection under § 103 of claim 9 are respectfully requested.
The examiner respectfully disagrees:
Gunzelmann discloses: An amplifier such as low noise amplifier 82 may be interposed on intermediate frequency signal path 44 [0056]… transceiver circuitry 26 may include an analog-to-digital converter (ADC), intermediate frequency signal path 44 may be coupled to an input of the ADC [0062].
Analog-to-digital converters are used to digitize the amplitude (i.e. the envelop). Also, Analog-to-digital do require a comparator to function properly.
The limitations in questions have all been addressed as stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-11 and 14, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunzelmann et al. (US 2023/0093054 A1).
Claim 1. Gunzelmann et al. disclose A system (FIG. 1 and 10) comprising:
a passive antenna configured to capture a signal beam (FIG. 1 item 126); and
a receiver (FIG. 1 item 88) configured to:
receive the signal from the antenna (read as THz lens may be provided in device 10 to help antenna(s) 30 to focus the transmitted, received, and/or reflected THF signals [0094]. FIG. 1, transceiver 26 receives and transmits signals through lens 126);
amplify the received signal (read as Transceiver circuitry 26 may include…amplifier circuitry [0028]); and
output a binary response based on a comparison of the amplified signal to a threshold value (read as Transceiver circuitry 26 may include…analog-to-digital converter (ADC) circuitry [0028]), wherein the antenna directs the signal beam to the receiver without consuming power (read as A THz lens such as THz lens 126 may be mounted on or over substrate 124 [0095]).
The rejection is based on a combined teaching of different embodiments disclosed by Gunzelmann et al.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to use the teaching of Gunzelmann et al. in order to realize all limitations of the claimed invention namely the idea of providing additional material to help antenna(s) 30 to focus the transmitted, reflected, and/or reflected THz signals. For example, a THz lens may be provided in device 10 to help antenna(s) 30 to focus the transmitted, received, and/or reflected THF signals (Gunzelmann et al. [0094]). This feature is especially useful with millimeter-wave signals where detecting signals in particular direction is very important.
Claim 2. The system of claim 1, Gunzelmann et al. disclose
wherein the receiver comprises a plurality of receivers arranged in an array (FIG. 7, item 88 includes multiple receivers.).
Claim 3. The system of claim 2, Gunzelmann et al. disclose
wherein a position of each of the plurality of receivers is based on the passive antenna, such that the position each of the plurality of receivers corresponds to a different angle of the signal beam (read as shown in FIG. 10, one or more antennas 30 (e.g., phased antenna array 88) may be disposed on or within a substrate 124. A THz lens such as THz lens 126 may be mounted on or over substrate 124. THz lens 126 may overlap at least some (e.g., all) of the antennas 30 on substrate 124. THz lens 126 may serve to focus THz signals 34 onto antennas 30 and/or to focus transmitted THF signals 32 in a particular direction (e.g., within a corresponding signal beam) [0095]) captured by the passive antenna (read as THz lens [0094]).
Claim 4. The system of claim 1, Gunzelmann et al. disclose
wherein the receiver further comprises a non-linear detector (read as antenna 30 includes a photodiode (PD) [0040]).
Claim 5. The system of claim 4, Gunzelmann et al. disclose
wherein the non-linear detector comprises a diode (read as antenna 30 includes a photodiode (PD) [0040]).
Claim 8. The system of claim 1, Gunzelmann et al. disclose
wherein the receiver further comprises a radio-frequency low-noise amplifier (RFNLA) (read as An amplifier such as low noise amplifier 82 [0056]).
Claim 9. Gunzelmann et al. disclose A method (FIG. 1-11) comprising:
providing a signal receiver (read as THz lens may be provided in device 10 to help antenna(s) 30 to focus the transmitted, received, and/or reflected THF signals [0094]. FIG. 1, transceiver 26 receives and transmits signals through lens 126), the signal receiver comprising:
a detector configured to receive (read as antenna 30 includes a photodiode (PD) [0040]), as input (FIG. 1, input/Output Circuitry item 20), a signal and to provide (FIG. 1-10, items 32 and 34), as output (FIG. 1, input/Output Circuitry item 20), an envelope based on the signal (read as THF signals 32 will thereby carry the modulated wireless data for reception and demodulation by external wireless communications equipment [0044]);
an amplifier configured to amplify the envelope (read as Transceiver circuitry 26 may include…amplifier circuitry [0028]); and
a comparator configured to generate a binary output based on a comparison of the amplified envelope to a threshold value (read as Transceiver circuitry 26 may include…analog-to-digital converter (ADC) circuitry [0028]); and
positioning a passive antenna in front of the signal receiver (read as THz lens may overlap a phased antenna array for focusing electromagnetic energy [0010]. FIG. 10, lens item 126), the passive antenna configured to capture the signal and to direct the signal to the signal receiver without consuming power (read as THz lens may overlap a phased antenna array for focusing electromagnetic energy [0010]).
Claim 10. The method of claim 9, Gunzelmann et al. disclose
wherein:
the signal receiver comprises a plurality of signal receivers (FIG. 7, item 88 includes multiple receivers.) each having the detector (read as antenna 30 includes a photodiode (PD) [0040]), the amplifier (read as Transceiver circuitry 26 may include…amplifier circuitry [0028]), and the comparator (read as Transceiver circuitry 26 may include…analog-to-digital converter (ADC) circuitry [0028]. ADC circuits include comparators), and the method further comprises positioning the plurality of signal receivers in an array based on a beam-steering property (read as As shown in FIG. 10, one or more antennas 30 (e.g., phased antenna array 88) may be disposed on or within a substrate 124. A THz lens such as THz lens 126 may be mounted on or over substrate 124. THz lens 126 may overlap at least some (e.g., all) of the antennas 30 on substrate 124. THz lens 126 may serve to focus THz signals 34 onto antennas 30 and/or to focus transmitted THF signals 32 in a particular direction (e.g., within a corresponding signal beam) [0095]) of the passive antenna (read as THz lens [0094]).
Claim 11. The method of claim 9, Gunzelmann et al. disclose
wherein the detector comprises a diode (read as antenna 30 includes a photodiode (PD) [0040]).
Claim 14. The method of claim 9, Gunzelmann et al. disclose
wherein the receiver further comprises a radio-frequency low-noise amplifier (RFNLA) (read as An amplifier such as low noise amplifier 82 [0056]).
Claim 17. The system of claim 1, Gunzelmann et al. disclose
wherein the passive antenna and receiver are configured as part of a fixed wireless access (FWA) system in which a position of the passive antenna relative to a signal generator is fixed (read as wireless local area network (WLAN) protocols (e.g., IEEE 802.11 protocols—sometimes referred to as Wi-Fi®), protocols for other short-range wireless communications links such as the Bluetooth® protocol or other wireless personal area network (WPAN) protocols, IEEE 802.11ad protocols (e.g., ultra-wideband protocols), cellular telephone protocols (e.g., 3G protocols, 4G (LTE) protocols, 3GPP Fifth Generation (5G) New Radio (NR) protocols, Sixth Generation (6G) protocols, sub-THz protocols [0025]. Also, claim 17 describes an intended use of the claimed system.).
Claim 19. The system of claim 1, Gunzelmann et al. disclose
wherein the signal comprises a millimeter-wave signal at a frequency associated with one or more of a 5G or 6G wireless system (read as 3GPP Fifth Generation (5G) New Radio (NR) protocols, Sixth Generation (6G) protocols [0025]).
Claim 20. The system of claim 1, Gunzelmann et al. disclose
wherein positioning the passive antenna provides passive pre- amplification that preserves energy savings of the signal receiver while compensating for a 1/R4 reduction in detected signal strength associated with distance R (read as a THz lens may be provided in device 10 to help antenna(s) 30 to focus the transmitted, received, and/or reflected THF signals. FIG. 10 is a cross-sectional side view showing one example of how device 10 may include a THz lens to help antenna(s) 30 to focus transmitted, received, and/or reflected THF signals [0094]. The steps for pre-amplification are explicitly disclosed in the claimed invention.).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunzelmann et al. (US 2023/0093054 A1) in view of Munday et al. (WO 0055965 A1).
Claim 6. The system of claim 1, Gunzelmann et al. do not explicitly disclose
wherein a gain provided by the receiver for the received signal is greater than 24 dB.
However, in the related field of endeavor Munday et al. disclose: referring to FIG. 1, the measured gain of the LNA is 23 dB +/- 1 d (Column 3 line 51), … The passband insertion loss of this filter is preferably in the region of 2.3dB (Column 5 lines 11-12), … The IF amplifier preferably comprises a single transistor stage. It preferably has a gain of greater than 9dB (Column 5 lines 29-30). So, the total gain of the receiver is greater than 24 dB regardless of the mixer being active or passive.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed; to modify the teaching of Gunzelmann et al. with the teaching of Munday et al. in order to provide small size receiver front ends which are particularly useful for applications where a multiple of receiver front ends are required to be placed close together in a small space (Munday et al.: Column 1 lines 59-61).
Claim 12. The method of claim 9, Gunzelmann et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein a gain provided by the receiver for the received signal is greater than 24 dB.
However, in the related field of endeavor Munday et al. disclose: referring to FIG. 1, the measured gain of the LNA is 23 dB +/- 1 d (Column 3 line 51), … The passband insertion loss of this filter is preferably in the region of 2.3dB (Column 5 lines 11-12), … The IF amplifier preferably comprises a single transistor stage. It preferably has a gain of greater than 9dB (Column 5 lines 29-30). So, the total gain of the receiver is greater than 24 dB regardless of the mixer being active or passive.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed; to modify the teaching of Gunzelmann et al. with the teaching of Munday et al. in order to provide small size receiver front ends which are particularly useful for applications where a multiple of receiver front ends are required to be placed close together in a small space (Munday et al.: Column 1 lines 59-61).
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunzelmann et al. (US 2023/0093054 A1) in view of Dielh et al. (US 2019/0086581 A1).
Claim 7. The system of claim 1, Gunzelmann et al. disclose
wherein the passive antenna comprises a flat gradient index (GRIN) lens.
Gunzelmann et al. disclose using a lens to focus signals toward antennas of a receiver (FIG. 1 item 126). However, Gunzelmann et al. do not explicitly disclose using: “flat gradient index (GRIN) lens”.
In the related field of endeavor Dielh et al. disclose: Alternatively or in addition, the GRIN lens 100 may be configured to focus an EM signal that is received from a transmitter antenna (e.g., via a communication network) and that is to be provided to a receiver antenna. In an illustrative example, a system includes an antenna configured to transmit or to receive an EM signal through the GRIN lens 100 [0017].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed; to modify the teaching of Gunzelmann et al. with the teaching of Dielh et al. in order to reduce costs associated with certain devices. For example, the GRIN lens 100 may be implemented in place of a larger device (e.g., a heavy parabolic dish antenna), which may reduce cost and complexity of a transmitter device, a receiver device, or both. (Dielh et al.: [0032]).
Claim 13. The method of claim 9, Gunzelmann et al. disclose
wherein the passive antenna comprises a flat gradient index (GRIN) lens.
Gunzelmann et al. disclose using a lens to focus signals toward antennas of a receiver (FIG. 1 item 126). However, Gunzelmann et al. do not explicitly disclose using: “flat gradient index (GRIN) lens”.
In the related field of endeavor Dielh et al. disclose: Alternatively or in addition, the GRIN lens 100 may be configured to focus an EM signal that is received from a transmitter antenna (e.g., via a communication network) and that is to be provided to a receiver antenna. In an illustrative example, a system includes an antenna configured to transmit or to receive an EM signal through the GRIN lens 100 [0017].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed; to modify the teaching of Gunzelmann et al. with the teaching of Dielh et al. in order to reduce costs associated with certain devices. For example, the GRIN lens 100 may be implemented in place of a larger device (e.g., a heavy parabolic dish antenna), which may reduce cost and complexity of a transmitter device, a receiver device, or both. (Dielh et al.: [0032]).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Gunzelmann et al. (US 2023/0093054 A1) in view of Bertsche (US 4748642 A).
Claim 15. The system of claim 1, Gunzelmann et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the receiver is configured for on-off-keying (OOK) demodulation, and (the limitations after wherein do not limit the system. They cite non-functional descriptive language) wherein the binary response indicates whether the amplified signal exceeds the threshold value.
However, in the relayed field of endeavor Bertsche discloses: receiver responsive to demodulate a pulsed RF signal or a signal which is indicative of ON-OFF keying (OOK). (Column 3 line 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Gunzelmann et al. with the teaching of Bertsche in order to provide a double detection receiver having an improved response allowing one to implement simple filter designs while circumventing many of the problems (Bertsche: Colum 2 lines 24-26).
Claim 16. The system of claim 1, Gunzelmann et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the receiver comprises a square-law diode detector configured to provide an output envelope directly proportional to received power.
However, in the relayed field of endeavor Bertsche discloses: Such diode devices obey the square law detection characteristics (Column 4 lines 56-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Gunzelmann et al. with the teaching of Bertsche in order to provide a double detection receiver having an improved response allowing one to implement simple filter designs while circumventing many of the problems (Bertsche: Colum 2 lines 24-26).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MOHAMMED . RACHEDINE
Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/MOHAMMED RACHEDINE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646