DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and accompanying remarks filed March 25, 2026 are acknowledged.
Examiner acknowledges amended claims 1, 6, 8, 10-11, 13-16, 18 and 20.
Examiner acknowledges withdrawn claims 1-2, 4-10.
Examiner acknowledges cancelled claims 3 and 12.
The rejection of claims 15 and 18-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is overcome by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallum et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2015/0239560.
Regarding claim 11, Dallum discloses a roller cylindrical in shape wherein the roller includes cavities on the surface of the roller [abstract and Figure 4a]. Figure 4a shows that the roller has a first end and a second end.
Paragraph 0012 and Figure 4a disclose that the roller has a central aperture. Paragraph 0013 discloses that the apertures are referred to lightening elements. Paragraph 0014 discloses that the lightening elements are covered or to plug the cavities to prevent debris from entering the cavity. Dallum is silent to injecting rubber into an inside of the plurality of cavities Additionally, Dallum discloses in paragraph 0014 that rubber may be used to plug the cavities. Examiner is corresponding Dallum's roller to Applicant's mandrel. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to inject the rubber into the cavities located on the roller of Dallum to ensure effective covering so as to prevent debris from entering the roller. Regarding the limitation “forming a mandrel having a circumference, Applicant’s claims do not provide any steps in forming a mandrel. Dallum discloses a formed mandrel having a circumference [see Figure 4a]. Regarding the limitation “injecting a rubber injection molding compounds into an inside of the plurality of cavities of the mandrel via openings in the first end or the second end of the mandrel”, Dallum discloses in paragraph 0014 that the lightening elements [cavities] are located and/or extended through to the end portion of the roller [mandrel], the lightening member may be covered or plugged wherein the covering material can be a rubber. Dallum discloses that the rubber extends through the end portion.
Regarding claim 20, Dallum discloses in paragraph 0041 a bearing at the ends of the roller [mandrel].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallum et al., U.S. Patent Number 2015/0239560 in view of Nakamura et al., U.S. Patent Number 5,725,922
Dallum, above, remains relied upon for claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Dallum is silent to coating the plurality of cavities with a primer and then with an adhesive. Dallum discloses a roller having rubber thereon. Nakamura teaches a roller [see Figure 1] including a rubber composition around a mandrel [column 6, lines 107]. Nakamura also discloses in column 6, lines 10-12 that an adhesive or primer may be applied for improving the adhesion between the mandrel and the rubber. Dallum and Nakamura are analogous art in that both references discloses a roller [mandrel] having a rubber material thereon. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would apply a primer and then an adhesive to the roller [mandrel] of Dallum prior to injecting rubber into the mandrel for the benefit of obtaining enhanced adhesion between the roller [mandrel] and the rubber.
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallum et al., U.S. Patent Number 2015/0239560 in view of Rueckert et al., DE 19918228.
Dallum, above, remains relied upon for claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, Dallum is silent to wherein, prior to injecting the rubber injection molding compound into the plurality of cavities of the mandrel via the at least one cavity, roughening an inner surface each of the plurality of cavities of the mandrel as recited in claim 14. Rueckert discloses a cylinder blank having first and second ends [see Figures 5 and 6]. Paragraph 0005 discloses that the outer tube is mechanically roughened and then passivated with a metallic protective coating [texturized surface] [see also paragraph 0039]. Paragraph 0037 discloses that the texturized surface provides good adhesion. Dallum and Rueckert are analogous art in that both references are directed to a cylindrical component. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would roughen and then passivate the surface of the cylindrical component to provide enhanced adhesion between the outer surface of the cylinder of Dallum with the rubber covering.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallum et al., U.S. Patent Number 2015/0239560 in view of Dolog et al., U.S. Patent Application Number 2018/0086901.
Dallum, above, remains relied upon for claim 11.
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Dallum is silent to the rubber compound composition as recited in the claims. Dallum discloses in paragraph 0014 a rubber used to cover or plug the cavities of the roller for the prevention of debris entering into the cavity. Dolong discloses an elastomeric composition for dynamic sealing applications such as tube seals and plugs [0037- 0038]. Dolog discloses in paragraph 0003 that the elastomeric composition can include a hydrogenated nitrile butadiene rubber as recited in claim 18 Paragraph 0014 discloses that the elastomer can include carboxylated hydrogenated nitrile butadiene rubber as recited in claim 16. Paragraph 0021 of Dolog discloses fillers with the elastomer wherein the filler can include graphene. Paragraph 0033 of Dolog discloses an antioxidant or plasticizer as an additive Dallum and Dolog are analogous art in that both references disclose a tubular element having a seal or plug formed from a rubber compound. Dolog discloses in paragraphs 0036-0037 that the elastomeric composite has good tensile properties at elevated temperature, improved mechanical properties, thermal stability and chemical resistance. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would utilize the elastomeric composite of Dolog as the rubber seal for Dallum for the benefit of obtaining a roller [tube having a seal or plug - Dallum 0014] having good tensile properties at elevated temperature, improved mechanical properties, thermal stability and chemical resistance.
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Dolog is silent to the particle size of the graphene filler ranging between 4 micrometers and 16 micrometers. Dolog does disclose graphene utilized as a filler to cross-link with the elastomer [abstract, 0021 and 0026]. Paragraph 0026 discloses that the particle size of the filler ranges up to 1 micrometer. However, this is an optimizable feature. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would modify the range of the particle size of the graphene filler to 4 micrometers to 16 micrometers for the benefit of ensuring complete crosslinking of the elastomer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 11. Applicant argues that Dallum does not disclose or contemplate forming a mandrel having a circumference, a first end, a second end and a plurality of cavities disposed between the first end and the second end. Applicant’s claim does not provide any steps in forming the mandrel. Examiner is interpreting Dallum’s roller as Applicant’s mandrel. Dallum shows a roller [mandrel] having the same structural limitations as claimed in Figure 4a.
Dallum shows a roller [mandrel] having a circumference, a first end, a second end and a plurality of cavities between the first end and the second end. Applicant’s claim is not specific to forming the mandrel. Applicant’s claim does not provide any specific steps in foaming the mandrel. The roller [mandrel] of Dallum is formed having the same structural limitations as required by Applicant’s mandrel. Applicant argues that the guide roller in the instant claims is formed as a whole. Applicant does not claim this feature. Applicant’s claims do not provide any guidance to the manufacture of the mandrel. Additionally, Applicant argues that a rubber is injected into an inside of the plurality of cavities of the mandrel via openings in the first end or the second end of the mandrel in the present claims. Dallum provides for this limitation in paragraph 0014 disclosing that the lightening elements [cavities] are located and/or extended through to the end portion of the roller [mandrel], the lightening member may be covered or plugged wherein the covering material can be a rubber. Dallum discloses that the rubber extends through the end portion.
Applicant argues that Nakamura does not cure the deficiencies of Dallum. Nakamura discloses a roller having a pluralities of cavities wherein the roller includes a rubber composition and that an adhesive or primer are applied to improve the adhesion between the mandrel and the rubber. Nakamura teaches a roller [mandrel] as does Dallum having cavities and coated with a rubber composition. Nakamura discloses that adhesion is improved with a primer and adhesive. The combination of Dallum and Nakamura is not without motivation.
Additionally, Applicant argues that Rueckert does not cure the deficiencies of Dallum. In regards to Applicant’s claim 14, Rueckert was brought in to show that a cylinder [roller/mandrel] having a circumference and first and seconds as the roller/mandrel of Dallum is mechanically roughened and passivated with a metallic coating. Rueckert provides motivation in disclosing a cylinder having a first end and a second end has a texturized surface from mechanical roughening and passivation to provide improved surface adhesion. The combination is not without motivation.
Lastly, Applicant argues that Dolong does not cure the deficiencies of Dallum. Applicant’s claims 16-19 are directed to the rubber composition. Dallum discloses a rubber composition used for covering or plugging the cavities. Dolong was brought into to show that a plug comprising a rubber composition as claimed has good tensile properties at elevated temperatures, improved mechanical properties, thermal stability and chemical resistance. Dolong was brought in to show that the rubber composition as claimed can be used as a plug for the benefit of good tensile properties at elevated temperatures, improved mechanical properties, thermal stability and chemical resistance. Dallum discloses a plug formed of a rubber composition. The combination is not without motivation.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786