CTNF 18/467,219 CTNF 100774 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 02/09/2026 complies with 37 CFR 1.97. Therefore, the information referred therein has been considered. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments, see 17-18, filed 02/09/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 9, 12, 14, 16, 19, 20, 27, and 29 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Baligh et al. (US 2022/0021125) in view of Ye et al. (US 2025/0080254). Baligh teaches sending a configuration (I.e., RIS configuration) to the planar array/linear array (i.e., The RIS). Baligh in view of Ye teaches the configuration including time-varying control related to side-lobe suppression. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 3, 5, 8-9, 12, 14, 16, 19-20, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baligh et al. (US 2022/0021125) in view of Ye et al. (US 2025/0080254) . Regarding claim 1, Baligh discloses a network node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more antennas ([0069], “The ED 110 also includes at least one transceiver 202. The transceiver 202 is configured to modulate data or other content for transmission by at least one antenna or Network Interface Controller (NIC) 204.”) ; and a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories that store code and are coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the network node to ([0072], “In addition, the ED 110 includes at least one memory 208. The memory 208 stores instructions and data used, generated, or collected by the ED 110. For example, the memory 208 could store software instructions or modules configured to implement some or all of the functionality and/or embodiments described above and that are executed by the processing unit(s) 200.”) : transmit, to a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), information identifying a RIS configuration ([0046], “The control circuit that enables control of the planar array or linear array may be connected to a communications network that base stations and UEs communicating with each other are part of. For example, the network that controls the base station may also provide configuration information to the planar array or linear array (e.g., The RIS).”) . Baligh does not explicitly disclose the RIS configuration containing a parameter for time-varying control associated with side-lobe suppression. Ye discloses wherein the RIS configuration includes one or more parameters for a time-varying control configuration ([0129], "performance information of each RIS panel, including a codebook switching time interval, a codebook validity delay, a maximum quantity of stored codebooks, etc.") associated with side-lobe suppression (Interference suppression can also be side-lobe suppression as stated in [0097]. [0102], "S606: performing, by the controller, interference suppression on the interference between the plurality of target network nodes.") ; and communicate, via the RIS and using the RIS configuration, with a user equipment (UE) ([0133], "a UE may perform interference detection and reporting in cooperation with the base station and the RISs, and may feed back to the base station in a manner of separately reporting for each codebook, reporting in batches, or reporting as a whole for all codebooks;") . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye to have the RIS configuration containing a parameter for time-varying control associated with side-lobe suppression. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy rate of interference detection (e.g., Ye [0040]). Regarding claim 3, Baligh does not explicitly disclose the RIS configuration parameter being target direction. Ye discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the RIS configuration is based at least in part on a parameter of the network node, the parameter of the network node including at least one of: a device identity parameter, a target incident signal direction parameter, or a distance parameter ([0097], "Taking RISs (or referred to as RIS panels) being the network nodes as an example, in this mode, a downtilt angle, a horizontal angle, a height, etc. of an interference RIS are changed by means of mechanical adjustment, so that a main lobe reflection signal or a side lobe signal of the interference RIS cannot interfere a target area, thereby realizing interference suppression. This is achieved by the base station issuing a mechanical adjustment instruction to the interference RIS (i.e. adjusting mechanical parameters of the RIS by means of the RIS controller).") . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye to have the RIS configuration parameter being target direction. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy rate of interference detection (e.g., Ye [0040]). Regarding claim 5, Baligh does not disclose the interference level parameter. Ye discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters include at least one of: a side-lobe-level (SLL) suppression parameter, a frequency separation parameter, an interference level parameter, a directional parameter, an angular parameter, or a cardinality parameter ([0036], "S304: an interference measurement instruction is sent to a target terminal, wherein the interference measurement instruction is used for instructing the target terminal to measure the interference of the network nodes currently in the working state on the basis of information included in the interference measurement instruction, so as to obtain a measurement result") . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye to have the interference level parameter. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy rate of interference detection (e.g., Ye [0040]). Regarding claim 8, Baligh does not disclose the codebook attributes. Ye discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the network node to: receive information identifying one or more attributes of a codebook supported by the RIS, wherein the one or more attributes includes at least one of: a main-lobe directional attribute, a beam width attribute, a peak gain attribute, a side-lobe gain attribute, or a side-lobe directional attribute ([0095], "In the described codebook switching mode, with regard to codebook switching of an interference RIS, on the premise that the main lobe direction capability attenuation is less than a certain threshold, the energy of an emergent beam pattern of the RIS at a specific angle is attenuated, thereby reducing the interference to a target area.") ; and wherein the processing system, to transmit information identifying the RIS configuration, is configured to cause the network node to: transmit information identifying a selection of the codebook based at least in part on the one or more attributes ([0095], "In this scheme, a relative angle and a coordinate relationship between various RISs need to be predicted, and a codebook may be calculated and issued by a base station in real time, or may be preset in a codebook storage borne on an RIS panel, loaded by delivering a codebook serial number, and placed in codebook adjustment signaling."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye to have the codebook attributes. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy rate of interference detection (e.g., Ye [0040]). Regarding claim 9, Baligh does not disclose the switching speed. Ye discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the network node to: receive capability information from the RIS, wherein the capability information includes information identifying at least one of: an element grouping, an alphabet, a codebook, a switching speed, a dwell-time, a reflection coefficient, or a dither pattern ([0051], "In the described embodiment, the switching time interval of each of the network nodes controlled by the controller can be determined according to at least one piece of information, such as a physical switch-off and switch-on delay of an RIS panel, and scheduling time sequence: the codebook switching instruction may include a codebook, a codebook identifier or a codebook serial number, etc.") ; and wherein the processing system, to transmit information identifying the RIS configuration, is configured to cause the network node to: transmit information identifying a selection of the codebook based at least in part on the capability information ([0049], "a codebook switching instruction of each of the network nodes controlled by the controller;"). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye to have the switching speed. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy rate of interference detection (e.g., Ye [0040]). Regarding claim 12, Baligh discloses a device for wireless communication, comprising: one or more antennas ([0069], “The ED 110 also includes at least one transceiver 202. The transceiver 202 is configured to modulate data or other content for transmission by at least one antenna or Network Interface Controller (NIC) 204.”) ; and a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories that store code and are coupled with the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the device to ([0072], “In addition, the ED 110 includes at least one memory 208. The memory 208 stores instructions and data used, generated, or collected by the ED 110. For example, the memory 208 could store software instructions or modules configured to implement some or all of the functionality and/or embodiments described above and that are executed by the processing unit(s) 200.”) : receive, from a network node, information identifying a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) configuration ([0046], “The control circuit that enables control of the planar array or linear array may be connected to a communications network that base stations and UEs communicating with each other are part of. For example, the network that controls the base station may also provide configuration information to the planar array or linear array (e.g., The RIS).”) . Baligh does not explicitly disclose the RIS configuration containing a parameter for time-varying control associated with side-lobe suppression. Ye discloses wherein the RIS configuration includes one or more parameters for a time-varying control configuration ([0129], "performance information of each RIS panel, including a codebook switching time interval, a codebook validity delay, a maximum quantity of stored codebooks, etc.") associated with side-lobe suppression (Interference suppression can also be side-lobe suppression as stated in [0097]. [0102], "S606: performing, by the controller, interference suppression on the interference between the plurality of target network nodes.") ; and forward, using the RIS configuration, one or more communications between the network node and a user equipment (UE) ([0133], "a UE may perform interference detection and reporting in cooperation with the base station and the RISs, and may feed back to the base station in a manner of separately reporting for each codebook, reporting in batches, or reporting as a whole for all codebooks;") . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye to have the RIS configuration containing a parameter for time-varying control associated with side-lobe suppression. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy rate of interference detection (e.g., Ye [0040]). Regarding claim 14, Baligh does not explicitly disclose the RIS configuration parameter being target direction. Ye discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the RIS configuration is based at least in part on a parameter of the network node, the parameter of the network node including at least one of: a device identity parameter, a target incident signal direction parameter, or a distance parameter ([0097], "Taking RISs (or referred to as RIS panels) being the network nodes as an example, in this mode, a downtilt angle, a horizontal angle, a height, etc. of an interference RIS are changed by means of mechanical adjustment, so that a main lobe reflection signal or a side lobe signal of the interference RIS cannot interfere a target area, thereby realizing interference suppression. This is achieved by the base station issuing a mechanical adjustment instruction to the interference RIS (i.e. adjusting mechanical parameters of the RIS by means of the RIS controller)."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye to have the RIS configuration parameter being target direction. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy rate of interference detection (e.g., Ye [0040]). Regarding claim 16, Baligh does not disclose the interference level parameter. Ye discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the one or more parameters include at least one of: a side-lobe-level (SLL) suppression parameter, a frequency separation parameter, an interference level parameter, a directional parameter, an angular parameter, or a cardinality parameter ([0036], "S304: an interference measurement instruction is sent to a target terminal, wherein the interference measurement instruction is used for instructing the target terminal to measure the interference of the network nodes currently in the working state on the basis of information included in the interference measurement instruction, so as to obtain a measurement result") . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye to have the interference level parameter. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy rate of interference detection (e.g., Ye [0040]). Regarding claim 19, Baligh does not disclose the codebook attributes. Ye discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the device to: transmit information identifying one or more attributes of a codebook supported by the device ,wherein the one or more attributes includes at least one of: a main-lobe directional attribute, a beam width attribute, a peak gain attribute, a side-lobe gain attribute, or a side-lobe directional attribute ([0095], "In the described codebook switching mode, with regard to codebook switching of an interference RIS, on the premise that the main lobe direction capability attenuation is less than a certain threshold, the energy of an emergent beam pattern of the RIS at a specific angle is attenuated, thereby reducing the interference to a target area.") ; and wherein the processing system, processing system, to cause the apparatus to receive information identifying the RIS configuration, is configured to cause the device to: receive information identifying a selection of the codebook based at least in part on the one or more attributes ([0095], "In this scheme, a relative angle and a coordinate relationship between various RISs need to be predicted, and a codebook may be calculated and issued by a base station in real time, or may be preset in a codebook storage borne on an RIS panel, loaded by delivering a codebook serial number, and placed in codebook adjustment signaling."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye to have the codebook attributes. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy rate of interference detection (e.g., Ye [0040]). Regarding claim 20, Baligh does not disclose the switching speed. Ye discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the device to: transmit capability information, wherein the capability information includes information identifying at least one of: an element grouping, an alphabet, a codebook, a switching speed, a dwell-time, a reflection coefficient, or a dither pattern ([0051], "In the described embodiment, the switching time interval of each of the network nodes controlled by the controller can be determined according to at least one piece of information, such as a physical switch-off and switch-on delay of an RIS panel, and scheduling time sequence: the codebook switching instruction may include a codebook, a codebook identifier or a codebook serial number, etc.") ; and wherein the processing system, to receive information identifying the RIS configuration, is configured to cause the device to: receive information identifying a selection of the codebook based at least in part on the capability information ([0049], "a codebook switching instruction of each of the network nodes controlled by the controller;"). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye to have the switching speed. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy rate of interference detection (e.g., Ye [0040]). Regarding claim 27, Baligh discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising: transmitting, to a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), information identifying a RIS configuration ([0046], “The control circuit that enables control of the planar array or linear array may be connected to a communications network that base stations and UEs communicating with each other are part of. For example, the network that controls the base station may also provide configuration information to the planar array or linear array (e.g., The RIS).”) . Baligh does not explicitly disclose the RIS configuration containing a parameter for time-varying control associated with side-lobe suppression. Ye discloses wherein the RIS configuration includes one or more parameters for a time-varying control configuration ([0129], "performance information of each RIS panel, including a codebook switching time interval, a codebook validity delay, a maximum quantity of stored codebooks, etc.") associated with side-lobe suppression Interference suppression can also be side-lobe suppression as stated in [0097]. [0102], "S606: performing, by the controller, interference suppression on the interference between the plurality of target network nodes.") ; and communicating, via the RIS and using the RIS configuration, with a user equipment ([0133], "a UE may perform interference detection and reporting in cooperation with the base station and the RISs, and may feed back to the base station in a manner of separately reporting for each codebook, reporting in batches, or reporting as a whole for all codebooks;") . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye to have the RIS configuration containing a parameter for time-varying control associated with side-lobe suppression. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy rate of interference detection (e.g., Ye [0040]). Regarding claim 29, Baligh does not explicitly disclose the RIS configuration parameter being target direction. Ye discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the RIS configuration is based at least in part on a parameter of the network node, the parameter of the network node including at least one of: a device identity parameter, a target incident signal direction parameter, or a distance parameter ([0097], "Taking RISs (or referred to as RIS panels) being the network nodes as an example, in this mode, a downtilt angle, a horizontal angle, a height, etc. of an interference RIS are changed by means of mechanical adjustment, so that a main lobe reflection signal or a side lobe signal of the interference RIS cannot interfere a target area, thereby realizing interference suppression. This is achieved by the base station issuing a mechanical adjustment instruction to the interference RIS (i.e. adjusting mechanical parameters of the RIS by means of the RIS controller).") . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye to have the RIS configuration parameter being target direction. The motivation would have been to improve accuracy rate of interference detection (e.g., Ye [0040]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 6-7, 10, 13, 17-18, 21 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baligh et al. (US 2022/0021125) in view of Ye et al. (US 2025/0080254) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2024/0421860) . Regarding claim 2, Baligh does not disclose the codebook. Ye discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the processing system, to transmit the information identifying the RIS configuration, is configured to cause the network node to: transmit information identifying a codebook of a set of codebooks ([0134], “a UE may perform interference detection and reporting in cooperation with the base station and the RISs, and may feed back to the base station in a manner of separately reporting for each codebook, reporting in batches, or reporting as a whole for all codebooks;"). Baligh in view of Ye does not disclose the codebook containing one or more codewords. Wang discloses , and wherein the codebook includes one or more codewords associated with the one or more parameters of the time-varying control configuration ([0061], "According to an example of the present disclosure, the first codeword in the first codebook in step S302 may cause the RIS to form a focused beam focused on the focal plane where the terminal is located under near-field conditions. The focused beam formed according to the first codeword of the first codebook in the embodiment of the present disclosure will be described below with reference to FIG. 6."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye and further in view of Wang to have the codebook containing one or more codewords. The motivation would have been to improve flexibility of the wireless communication system (e.g., Wang [0065]). Regarding claim 6, Baligh in view of Ye does not disclose the information identifying codebooks supported by the RIS. Wang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the network node to: receive information identifying one or more codebooks supported by the RIS ([0052], "The specific implementation of the codebook structure suitable for RIS of the present disclosure will be described below from the perspective of the sending device and the terminal.") ; and transmit information identifying a selection of a codebook, of the one or more codebooks, based at least in part on the information identifying the one or more codebooks supported by the RIS ([0056], "Then, in step S302, a first codeword in a first codebook and offset information are determined according to the position information, where the first codeword indicates initial phases of at least some array elements in the RIS, and the offset information indicates an offset relative to at least one of the at least some array elements, the initial phases, and a reference position of the RIS.") . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye and further in view of Wang to have the information identifying codebooks supported by the RIS. The motivation would have been to improve flexibility of the wireless communication system (e.g., Wang [0065]). Regarding claim 7, Baligh in view of Ye does not disclose the update information for the codebooks supported by the RIS. Wang discloses the network node of claim 6, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the network node to: transmit first update information based at least in part on the information identifying the one or more codebooks supported by the RIS ([0065], "In this example, the plane where at least some array elements of the RIS are located can be offset according to the position information of the terminal, so that the first codeword of the first codebook of the plane where at least some array elements of the RIS is located can form a focused beam focused on the terminal, as shown in FIG. 7d.") ; receive second update information identifying another one or more codebooks supported by the RIS in connection with the first update information ([0065], "Then, the phase information of corresponding array elements in at least some array elements of the RIS can be determined from the first codeword of the first codebook as the second codeword of the second codebook, thereby forming a transmission beam focused on the terminal.") ; and wherein the processing system, to transmit the information identifying the selection, is configured to cause the network node to: transmit information identifying the selection from the other one or more codebooks ([0065], "For example, as shown in FIG. 7d, the phase information of the RIS 61 can be determined from the first codeword of the first codebook as the second codeword of the second codebook."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye and further in view of Wang to have the update information for the codebooks supported by the RIS. The motivation would have been to improve flexibility of the wireless communication system (e.g., Wang [0065]). Regarding claim 10, Baligh in view of Ye does not disclose the codeword. Wang discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the network node to: communicate with the RIS to determine at least one of: a codeword, a periodicity, a group configuration, a per-group parameter, a time duration, or a time offset ([0056], "Then, in step S302, a first codeword in a first codebook and offset information are determined according to the position information, where the first codeword indicates initial phases of at least some array elements in the RIS, and the offset information indicates an offset relative to at least one of the at least some array elements, the initial phases, and a reference position of the RIS.") ; and wherein the processing system, to transmit information identifying the RIS configuration, is configured to cause the network node to: transmit information identifying a selection of a codebook based at least in part on a communication with the RIS ([0059], "In this example, the initial phases of the corresponding radiation array element in the used RIS can be configured per sub wave band, thereby obtaining the first codeword of the first codebook of the used RIS."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye and further in view of Wang to have the codeword. The motivation would have been to improve flexibility of the wireless communication system (e.g., Wang [0065]). Regarding claim 13, Baligh does not disclose the codebook. Ye discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the processing system, to receive the information identifying the RIS configuration, is configured to cause the device to: receive information identifying a codebook of a set of codebooks ([0134], “a UE may perform interference detection and reporting in cooperation with the base station and the RISs, and may feed back to the base station in a manner of separately reporting for each codebook, reporting in batches, or reporting as a whole for all codebooks;"). Baligh in view of Ye does not disclose the codebook containing one or more codewords. Wang discloses and wherein the codebook includes one or more codewords associated with the one or more parameters of the time- varying control configuration ([0061], "According to an example of the present disclosure, the first codeword in the first codebook in step S302 may cause the RIS to form a focused beam focused on the focal plane where the terminal is located under near-field conditions. The focused beam formed according to the first codeword of the first codebook in the embodiment of the present disclosure will be described below with reference to FIG. 6."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye and further in view of Wang to have the codebook containing one or more codewords. The motivation would have been to improve flexibility of the wireless communication system (e.g., Wang [0065]). Regarding claim 17, Baligh in view of Ye does not disclose the information identifying codebooks supported by the RIS. Wang discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the device to: transmit information identifying one or more codebooks supported by the device ([0052], "The specific implementation of the codebook structure suitable for RIS of the present disclosure will be described below from the perspective of the sending device and the terminal."); ; and receive information identifying a selection of a codebook, of the one or more codebooks, based at least in part on the information identifying the one or more codebooks supported by the device ([0056], "Then, in step S302, a first codeword in a first codebook and offset information are determined according to the position information, where the first codeword indicates initial phases of at least some array elements in the RIS, and the offset information indicates an offset relative to at least one of the at least some array elements, the initial phases, and a reference position of the RIS."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye and further in view of Wang to have the information identifying codebooks supported by the RIS. The motivation would have been to improve flexibility of the wireless communication system (e.g., Wang [0065]). Regarding claim 18, Baligh in view of Ye does not disclose the update information for the codebooks supported by the RIS. Wang discloses the device of claim 17, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the device to: receive first update information based at least in part on the information identifying the one or more codebooks supported by the device ([0065], "In this example, the plane where at least some array elements of the RIS are located can be offset according to the position information of the terminal, so that the first codeword of the first codebook of the plane where at least some array elements of the RIS is located can form a focused beam focused on the terminal, as shown in FIG. 7d.") ; transmit second update information identifying another one or more codebooks supported by the device in connection with the first update information ([0065], "Then, the phase information of corresponding array elements in at least some array elements of the RIS can be determined from the first codeword of the first codebook as the second codeword of the second codebook, thereby forming a transmission beam focused on the terminal.") ; and wherein the processing system, processing system, to cause the apparatus to receive the information identifying the selection, is configured to cause the device to: receive information identifying the selection from the other one or more codebooks ([0065], "For example, as shown in FIG. 7d, the phase information of the RIS 61 can be determined from the first codeword of the first codebook as the second codeword of the second codebook."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye and further in view of Wang to have the update information for the codebooks supported by the RIS. The motivation would have been to improve flexibility of the wireless communication system (e.g., Wang [0065]). Regarding claim 21, Baligh in view of Ye does not disclose the codeword. Wang discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the device to: communicate with the network node to determine at least one of: a codeword, a periodicity, a group configuration, a per-group parameter, a time duration, or a time offset ([0056], “Then in step S302, a first codeword in a first codebook and offset information are determined according to the position information, where the first codeword indicates initial phases of at least some array elements in the RIS, and the offset information indicates an offset relative to at least one of the at least some array elements, the initial phases, and a reference position of the RIS.") ; and wherein the processing system, receive information identifying the RIS configuration, is configured to cause the device to: receive information identifying a selection of a codebook based at least in part on a communication with the network node ([0059], "In this example, the initial phases of the corresponding radiation array element in the used RIS can be configured per sub wave band, thereby obtaining the first codeword of the first codebook of the used RIS."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye and further in view of Wang to have the codeword. The motivation would have been to improve flexibility of the wireless communication system (e.g., Wang [0065]). Regarding claim 28, Baligh does not disclose the codebooks. Ye discloses the method of claim 27, wherein transmitting the information identifying the RIS configuration comprises: transmitting information identifying a codebook of a set of codebooks ([0134], "a UE may perform interference detection and reporting in cooperation with the base station and the RISs, and may feed back to the base station in a manner of separately reporting for each codebook, reporting in batches, or reporting as a whole for all codebooks;"). Baligh in view of Ye does not disclose the codebook containing one or more codewords. Wang discloses and wherein the codebook includes one or more codewords associated with the one or more parameters of the time-varying control configuration ([0061], "According to an example of the present disclosure, the first codeword in the first codebook in step S302 may cause the RIS to form a focused beam focused on the focal plane where the terminal is located under near-field conditions. The focused beam formed according to the first codeword of the first codebook in the embodiment of the present disclosure will be described below with reference to FIG. 6."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye and further in view of Wang to have the codebook containing one or more codewords. The motivation would have been to improve flexibility of the wireless communication system (e.g., Wang [0065]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4, 15, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baligh et al. (US 2022/0021125) in view of Ye et al. (US 2025/0080254) in view of Pan et al. (US 2025/0337459) . Regarding claim 4, Baligh in view of Ye does not disclose the quasi-colocation parameter. Pan discloses the network node of claim 1, wherein the processing system, to transmit the information identifying the RIS configuration, is configured to cause the network node to: transmit using a spatial quasi-colocation parameter, wherein the RIS configuration is based at least in part on the spatial quasi-colocation parameter ([0098], “Control information (e.g., including side control information), beamforming related signaling, TCI indications, control information for beamforming and beam management, configurations, quasi-colocation (QCL), etc., may be based on the assumptions of a transmitter (Tx) and receiver (Rx) beam pair without the presence of one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (RIS) nodes. Communication-related procedures may be impacted in an RIS-integrated system. Side control information may enable (e.g., integrated) RISs to operate efficiently and/or effectively.”) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye and further in view of Pan to have the quasi-colocation parameter. The motivation would have been to enhance coverage and spectral efficiency (e.g., Pan [0097]). Regarding claim 15, Baligh in view of Ye does not disclose the quasi-colocation parameter. Pan discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the processing system, to receive the information identifying the RIS configuration, is configured to cause the device to: receive using a spatial quasi-colocation parameter, wherein the RIS configuration is based at least in part on the spatial quasi-colocation parameter ([0098], “Control information (e.g., including side control information), beamforming related signaling, TCI indications, control information for beamforming and beam management, configurations, quasi-colocation (QCL), etc., may be based on the assumptions of a transmitter (Tx) and receiver (Rx) beam pair without the presence of one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (RIS) nodes. Communication-related procedures may be impacted in an RIS-integrated system. Side control information may enable (e.g., integrated) RISs to operate efficiently and/or effectively.”) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye and further in view of Pan to have the quasi-colocation parameter. The motivation would have been to enhance coverage and spectral efficiency (e.g., Pan [0097]). Regarding claim 30, Baligh in view of Ye does not disclose the quasi-colocation parameter. Pan discloses the method of claim 27, wherein transmitting the information identifying the RIS configuration comprises: transmitting using a spatial quasi-colocation parameter, wherein the RIS configuration is based at least in part on the spatial quasi-colocation parameter ([0098], “Control information (e.g., including side control information), beamforming related signaling, TCI indications, control information for beamforming and beam management, configurations, quasi-colocation (QCL), etc., may be based on the assumptions of a transmitter (Tx) and receiver (Rx) beam pair without the presence of one or more reconfigurable intelligent surfaces (RIS) nodes. Communication-related procedures may be impacted in an RIS-integrated system. Side control information may enable (e.g., integrated) RISs to operate efficiently and/or effectively.”) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baligh in view of Ye and further in view of Pan to have the quasi-colocation parameter. The motivation would have been to enhance coverage and spectral efficiency (e.g., Pan [0097]) . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 23-26 are allowed. In consideration of the arguments filed 02/09/2026, and upon further search, no prior art reference or a combination of references disclose or suggest the combination of limitations presented in independent claim 23. Dependent claims 24-26 are allowable for incorporating the features recited in the independent claim. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 11 and 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Nick A Sundara whose telephone number is (571)272-6749. The examiner can normally be reached M-TH 7:30-5:30 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jae Y. Lee can be reached at (571) 270-3936. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NICK ANON SUNDARA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 2 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 3 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 4 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 5 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 6 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 7 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 8 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 9 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 10 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 11 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 12 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 13 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 14 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 15 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 16 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 17 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 18 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 19 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 20 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/467,219 Page 21 Art Unit: 2479