DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0191832 (Kinoshita et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Kinoshita et al. discloses a sensor unit comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-30, an inertial measurement device 100 (e.g. sensor unit like an IMU; paragraph [0073]; Figures 5,7) comprising three axes orthogonal to one another being defined as an X axis, a Y axis, and a Z axis (e.g. the x-axis, y-axis z-axis as illustrated and indicated in Figure 4 is being changed by the examiner since one can assign and denote which are the directions for each axis such that the illustrated x-axis is changed to be the z-axis, the illustrated y-axis is maintained as the y-axis, the illustrated z-axis is changed to be the x-axis); a board 15 (e.g. a substrate; paragraph [0080]) that is plate-shaped (e.g. observed in Figure 4) such that the board having top and bottom surfaces (e.g. considering the left-hand side surface with sensor 17x of the substrate as the top surface while the right-hand side surface of the substrate as the bottom surface in Figure 4) outwardly opposite to each other, each of the top and bottom surfaces extending parallel to an X-Y plane where the X-Y plane extending along the X axis and Y axis (e.g. as observed in Figure 4); the board 15 having a Y-Z side surface (e.g. considering the top surface of substrate as the Y-Z side surface in Figure 4) an edge thereof such that the Y-Z side surface extending along a Y-Z plane where the Y-Z plane extending along the Y axis and the Z axis (e.g. as observed in Figure 4); a first inertial sensor 17z,18 (e.g. an angular velocity sensor or acceleration sensor; paragraphs [0088], [0089]) configured to detect a physical quantity (e.g. angular velocity or acceleration; paragraph [0089],[0091]) of a first axis (e.g. z-axis; paragraph [0090]) such that the first inertial sensor having a top edge (e.g. top side edge of either sensor 17z or 18 is considered this top edge in Figure 4) and a bottom edge (e.g. bottom side edge of either sensor 17z or 18 is considered this bottom edge in Figure 4) outwardly opposite to each other along the Z axis (e.g. as observed in Figure 4); the first inertial sensor 17z,18 being mounted on the Y-Z side surface of the board (e.g. as observed in Figure 4), and the top and bottom edges of the first inertial sensor being spaced apart from the top and bottom surfaces of the board along the Z axis in a cross-sectional view when viewed along the Y axis, respectively (e.g. as observed in Figure 4); a rigid case 20 (e.g. an inner case; paragraph [0080]) configured to cover the first inertial sensor (e.g. paragraph [0080]; Figures 3,5); a filling material 50 (e.g. filling member; paragraph [0097]) covering an entirety of an exposed outer surface, including the top and bottom edges, of the first inertial sensor (e.g. recessed 31 is filled with filling 50; paragraph [0109]; observed in Figures 5,7). (See, paragraphs [0072] to [0230]).
With regards to claim 3, Kinoshita et al. further discloses further discloses second inertial sensor 17y (e.g. an angular velocity sensor; paragraph [0090]) configured to detect a physical quantity (e.g. angular velocity; paragraph [0090]) of a second axis (e.g. y-axis; paragraph [0090]); a third inertial sensor 17x (e.g. an angular velocity; paragraph [0089]) configured to detect a physical quantity (e.g. angular velocity; paragraph [0089]) of a third axis (e.g. x-axis; paragraph [0089]); the board 15 has an X-Z side surface (e.g. considering the top side surface with sensor 17y of the substrate as the X-Z side surface in Figure 4) at another edge thereof such that the X-Z side surface extends along an X-Z plane where the X-Z plane extends along the X axis and the Z axis (e.g. as observed in Figure 4); the second inertial sensor 17y is mounted on the X-Z side surface of the board (e.g. as observed in Figure 4); the third inertial sensor 17x is mounted on the top surface of the board (e.g. as observed in Figure 4).
With regards to claim 11, Kinoshita et al. further discloses the first inertial sensor 17z is a vibrating gyro sensor that uses quartz crystal as a vibrator and detects an angular velocity based on a Coriolis force applied to a vibrating object. (See, paragraphs [0089],[0090]).
With regards to claim 13, Kinoshita et al. further discloses the second inertial sensor 17y and the third inertial sensor 17x are vibrating gyro sensors that individually use quartz crystal as a vibrator and detect an angular velocity based on a Coriolis force applied to a vibrating object. (See, paragraphs [0090],[0089]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0191832 (Kinoshita et al.).
With regards to claims 10 and 12, Kinoshita et al. does not disclose the case has a recess formed corresponding to a shape of the first inertial sensor, or at least one of the second inertial sensor and the third inertial sensor.
First, paragraphs [0214] to [0217] along with Figure 23 of Kinoshita et al., disclose the concept that the case 20 can be in different dimensions and shapes, like having shelf part 31f, to form different dimension and shape for the recessed part 31 where the inertial sensors are positioned when the filling material 50 is filled. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the case has a recess formed corresponding to a shape of the first inertial sensor, or at least one of the second inertial sensor and the third inertial sensor is considered to have been a matter of design choice possibilities to have set such structural characteristics based on the teachings in paragraphs [0214] to [0217] of Kinoshita et al. would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ability to enable the amount of filling material provided to be controlled due to the area/region within the recess created by the dimension and shape of the case in the shape of the inertial sensors, and without altering and changing the operation and/or performance of the case, namely to protect the inertial sensors from external interferences, regardless of the shape of the case (e.g. [0037].[0034] of Kinoshita et al.).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,3,10-13 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection and/or because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855