DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending U.S. Application No. 18/467,306 (Matsuura). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the claimed limitations and elements (e.g. a case, a board, an inertial sensor, a filling material) in the Instant application are claimed in the ‘306 Matsuura copending Application where claim 1 of the Instant application is broadly claimed than claim 1 of ‘306 Matsuura copending Application. Hence, the claims in the Instant application are not patentably distinct from the copending Application of ‘306 Matsuura.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending U.S. Application No. 18/819,205 (Matsuura et al.). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the claimed limitations and elements (e.g. a case, a board, an inertial sensor, a filling material) in the Instant application are claimed in the ‘205 Matsuura et al. copending Application where claim 1 of the Instant application is broadly claimed than claim 1 of ‘205 Matsuura copending Application. Hence, the claims in the Instant application are not patentably distinct from the copending Application of ‘205 Matsuura et al..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending U.S. Application No. 18/296,428 (Saito et al.). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the claimed limitations and elements (e.g. a case, a board, an inertial sensor, a filling material) in the Instant application are claimed in the Saito et al. copending Application where claim 1 of the Instant application is broadly claimed than claim 1 of Saito copending Application. Hence, the claims in the Instant application are not patentably distinct from the copending Application of Saito et al..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0191832 (Kinoshita et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Kinoshita et al. discloses a sensor unit comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-30, an inertial measurement device 100 (e.g. sensor unit like an IMU; paragraph [0073]; Figures 5,7) comprising a board 15 (e.g. a substrate; paragraph [0080]); a first inertial sensor 17z,18 (e.g. an angular velocity sensor or acceleration sensor; paragraphs [0088], [0089]) configured to detect a physical quantity of a first axis (e.g. z-axis; paragraph [0090]) such that the first inertial sensor being mounted on a first side surface (e.g. top surface as observed in Figure 4) of the board; a rigid case 20 (e.g. an inner case; paragraph [0080]) configured to cover the first inertial sensor (e.g. paragraph [0080]; Figures 3,5); a filling 50 (e.g. filling member; paragraph [0097]) covering an entirety of an exposed outer surface of the first inertial sensor (e.g. recessed 31 is filled with filling 50; paragraph [0109]; observed in Figures 5,7). (See, paragraphs [0072] to [0230]).
With regards to claim 3, Kinoshita et al. further discloses a second inertial sensor 17y (e.g. an angular velocity sensor; paragraph [0090]) configured to detect a physical quantity (e.g. angular velocity; paragraph [0090]) of a second axis (e.g. y-axis; paragraph [0090]) and a third inertial sensor 17x (e.g. an angular velocity; paragraph [0089]) configured to detect a physical quantity (e.g. angular velocity; paragraph [0089]) of a third axis (e.g. x-axis; paragraph [0089]); the second inertial sensor 17y is mounted on a second side surface (e.g. top right-side edge surface as observed in Figure 4) different from the first side surface of the board (e.g. observed in Figure 4); the third inertial sensor 17x is mounted on a first surface (e.g. top left-side edge surface as observed in Figure 4) of the board in parallel (e.g. observed in Figure 4).
With regards to claim 11, Kinoshita et al. further discloses the first inertial sensor 17z is a vibrating gyro sensor that uses quartz crystal as a vibrator and detects an angular velocity based on a Coriolis force applied to a vibrating object. (See, paragraphs [0089],[0090]).
With regards to claim 13, Kinoshita et al. further discloses the second inertial sensor 17y and the third inertial sensor 17x are vibrating gyro sensors that individually use quartz crystal as a vibrator and detect an angular velocity based on a Coriolis force applied to a vibrating object. (See, paragraphs [0090],[0089]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0191832 (Kinoshita et al.).
With regards to claims 10 and 12, Kinoshita et al. does not disclose the case has a recess formed corresponding to a shape of the first inertial sensor, or at least one of the second inertial sensor and the third inertial sensor.
First, paragraphs [0214] to [0217] along with Figure 23 of Kinoshita et al., disclose the concept that the case 20 can be in different dimensions and shapes, like having shelf part 31f, to form different dimension and shape for the recessed part 31 where the inertial sensors are positioned when the filling material 50 is filled. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the case has a recess formed corresponding to a shape of the first inertial sensor, or at least one of the second inertial sensor and the third inertial sensor is considered to have been a matter of design choice possibilities to have set such structural characteristics based on the teachings in paragraphs [0214] to [0217] of Kinoshita et al. would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the ability to enable the amount of filling material provided to be controlled due to the area/region within the recess created by the dimension and shape of the case in the shape of the inertial sensors, and without altering and changing the operation and/or performance of the case, namely to protect the inertial sensors from external interferences, regardless of the shape of the case (e.g. [0037].[0034] of Kinoshita et al.).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1,3,10-13 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection and/or because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855