Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 4/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶ 22, lines 2, 4, 6, 8; ¶ 44, line 4; ¶ 45, line 7; “applied on” should read “applied to"
In ¶ 31, line 2, a period should be added to complete the sentence
In ¶ 42, line 8, “from directly attracted on” is improper. Examiner suggests replacing the quoted portion which “from being directly attracted to
In ¶ 50, line 5 “this embodiments” should read “this embodiment”
In ¶ 58, line 3, “may electrically connected" should read “may be electrically connected"
In ¶ 60, line 1, “plurality of opening” should read “plurality of openings”
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
portion (of the movable portion) (line 2 of claim 10)
first/second/third/fourth magnetic forces (lines 2, 4, 6, 8 of claim 18)
first/second/third/fourth magnetic torques (lines 2-5 of claim 20)
all must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 4, both instances of “numbers” should read “number”.
In claim 18, lines 3, 5, 7, and 9, “applied on” should read “applied to”
Claims not specifically addressed in the objections above inherit the objections of the claims from which they depend. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 20130258506 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses (see FIG. 2, ¶s 34-36) an optical element driving mechanism, comprising:
a movable portion (driven object, or lens module, 13) used for connecting an optical element (“driven object 13 can be a lens module”);
a fixed portion (comprising casing 11 and base 12), wherein the movable portion (lens module 13) is movable relative to the fixed portion (casing+base 11+12); and
a driving assembly (electromagnetic driving module 15) used for driving the movable portion (lens module 13) to move relative to the fixed portion (casing+base 11+12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 1.
Lee also discloses (see FIGs. 2, 7; ¶s 34-45) the further comprising a guiding assembly (guide mechanism/pin 17) and another assembly (anti-tilt mechanism 14); wherein:
the driving assembly (electromagnetic driving module 15) comprises a plurality of magnetic elements (magnetic members 151) and a plurality of driving coils (coils 152);
the guiding assembly (guide pin 17) comprises at least one guiding element (guide pin 17);
the guiding assembly (guide pin 17) is magnetically permeable (¶ 42: “magnetic-conductive”);
Lee, in the first embodiment (FIGs. 2-7) cited above, does not immediately disclose that the other assembly is a magnetically permeable assembly; wherein:
the magnetically permeable assembly comprises at least one magnetically permeable element;
the magnetically permeable assembly is magnetically permeable.
However, regarding a third embodiment (FIGs. 14-19), Lee discloses that the other assembly (anti-tilt mechanism 14) is a magnetically permeable assembly; wherein:
the magnetically permeable assembly (anti-tilt mechanism 14) comprises at least one magnetically permeable element;
the magnetically permeable assembly (anti-tilt mechanism 14) is magnetically permeable.
(See ¶ 54, describing how friction guide pin 18 replaces rolling member 143 of the anti-tilt mechanism, and how – similarly to guide pin 17 cited above – it includes magnetic(ally permeable/conductive) materials. Note: for simplicity, Lee’s magnetically permeable element shall be mapped to the rolling member 143 for the remainder of this action.)
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings and embodiments of Lee by providing the rolling members with magnetically permeable materials, in order to tailor/improve the guiding, magnetic anti-tilting, and frictional aspects of the driving mechanism (Lee ¶s 42-43, 54).
Regarding claim 3, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 2.
Lee, in the first embodiment cited above, further discloses (see FIGs. 2,7) wherein:
a sum of a number of the guiding elements (i.e. one guide pin 17) and a number of the magnetically permeable elements (i.e. one rolling member 143) is identical to a number of the magnetic elements (i.e. two magnetic members 151);
the sum of the numbers of the guiding elements (i.e. one guide pin 17) and the numbers of the magnetically permeable elements (i.e. one rolling member 143) is equal to a number of the driving coils (i.e. two coils 152).
(Note also that, in ¶ 40, Lee discusses increasing the number of magnets 151 and coils 152; naturally the number of guiding elements may scale commensurately to accommodate such design variants, as Lee explicitly touts the benefits of the arrangement’s symmetry.)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Hu (US 20130064535 A1, hereinafter Hu1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 3.
Lee, in the first embodiment cited above, further discloses (see FIGs. 2,7) wherein:
the at least one guiding element (guide pin 17) comprises a first guiding element (guide pin 17);
the at least one magnetically permeable element (rolling member 143) comprises a first magnetically permeable element (rolling member 143);
the fixed portion (casing+base 11+12) comprises a bottom (base 12);
the bottom (base 12) is polygonal (i.e. square-shaped);
the bottom comprises (base 12) a first corner, a second corner, a third corner, and a fourth corner;
the first corner and the third corner are opposite;
the second corner and the fourth corner are opposite;
the first guiding element (guide pin 17) is disposed on the first corner;
[AltContent: textbox (FIGs. 7 and 13 of Lee, corresponding to Lee’s first and second embodiments, are annotated to highlight various features. First through fourth corners are numerically labeled for each figure. )]
(Regarding items D-G above, see annotated FIGs. 7+13’s left panel below.)
Modified Lee does not disclose wherein:
the at least one guiding element also comprises a second guiding element;
the at least one magnetically permeable element also comprises a second magnetically permeable element;
the first magnetically permeable element is disposed on the second corner;
the second guiding element is disposed on the third corner;
the second magnetically permeable element is disposed on the fourth corner.
Lee, in a second embodiment (FIGs. 8-13), discloses wherein:
the at least one magnetically permeable element comprises a first magnetically permeable element (rolling member 143) and a second magnetically permeable element (rolling member 143);
the first magnetically permeable element (rolling member 143) is disposed on the second corner;
the second magnetically permeable element (rolling member 143) is disposed on the fourth corner.
(See annotated FIG. 7+13’s right panel above)
Lee and Hu1 are related as being directed towards electromagnetic driving devices with anti-tilt features.
Hu1 discloses wherein (see FIGs. 2 and 5A, FIG. 5A annotated below, and ¶s 26-35):
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 5A of Hu1 is annotated to highlight the two guiding rods 141 and 141’. First and third corners are numerically labeled)]the at least one guiding element comprises a first guiding element (guiding rod 141) and a second guiding element (guiding rod 141’);
the second guiding element (guiding rod 141’) is disposed on the third corner (i.e. of lens support 121);
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further combine design aspects of Lee’s embodiments, in order to reduce motional tilt (Lee ¶ 50) – or more generally, to provide a more symmetric design and distribution of constraining/driving forces that would accommodate a greater number of magnets/coils (as Lee briefly mentions in ¶ 40).
It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee with the teachings of Hu1, again to support a symmetric device design and facilitate effective driving and anti-tilt features.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Hu1, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Hong (CN 104079138 A).
Regarding claim 5, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 4.
Lee, in the first embodiment cited above, further discloses (see above annotated FIG. 7+13’s left panel) wherein:
the first guiding element (guide pin 17) and the second guiding element (guide pin 17) are columnar (as all pins generally are);
the first guiding element (guide pin 17) and the second guiding element (guide pin 17) extend in a first direction (i.e. along the optical axis, and out of the page in annotated FIGs. 7+13 above);
a normal vector of the first magnetically permeable element (rolling member 143) is perpendicular to the first direction (perpendicular to the optical axis);
a normal vector of the second magnetically permeable element (rolling member 143) is perpendicular to the first direction (perpendicular to the optical axis).
Modified Lee does not disclose that the first magnetically permeable element and the second magnetically permeable element are plate-shaped.
Lee and Hong are related as being directed towards electromagnetic driving devices.
Hong discloses (see FIGs. 5-6, ¶s 53-55) that the first magnetically permeable element (magnetic conductive baffle 112) and the second magnetically permeable element (magnetic conductive baffle 112) are plate-shaped.
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Lee with Hong’s plate-shaped structures, in order to accommodate the geometries of the device’s interior structure and fields, and enhance magnetic field efficiency, structural strength, and stability (Hong ¶s 54-55).
Regarding claim 6, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 5.
Lee, in the first embodiment cited above, further discloses (see above annotated FIG. 7+13’s left panel) wherein: the first guiding element (guide pin 17) and the second guiding element (guide pin 17) are in direct contact with the movable portion (lens module 13).
Hong further discloses (see FIGs. 4-6, ¶s 54) wherein: the first magnetically permeable element (magnetic baffle 12) and the second magnetically permeable element (magnetic baffle 12) are separated from the movable portion (movable component 2).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Hu1 and Hong, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Guo and Lai (TW M406878 U, hereinafter “Guo”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 6.
Lee in the first embodiment cited above, further discloses (see newly annotated FIG. 7 below) wherein:
the magnetic elements (magnetic members 151) comprise a first magnetic element (magnetic member 151);
the driving coils (coils 152) comprise a first driving coil (coil 152);
the first magnetic element (magnetic member 151) corresponds to the first driving coil (coil 152);
the first magnetic element (magnetic member 151) comprises a first surface and a second surface;
the first surface faces the first magnetically permeable element (rolling member 143);
the second surface faces the first driving coil (coil 152);
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 7 of Lee is again annotated to identify the surfaces of Lee’s magnetic member 151 First-fourth surfaces are labeled in the inset while fifth and sixth surfaces face in and out of the page)]
Modified Lee does not disclose:
the optical element driving mechanism further comprises a third magnetically permeable element disposed on the first magnetic element;
the first surface is exposed from the third magnetically permeable element;
the second surface is exposed from the third magnetically permeable element.
Lee and Guo are related as being directed towards electromagnetic driving devices.
Guo discloses (see annotated FIG. 2A below, and pgs. 1-2 of the translated Description):
the optical element driving mechanism further (voice coil motor 3) comprises a third magnetically permeable element (magnetic conductive member 22) disposed on the first magnetic element (magnetic column 20);
the first surface is exposed (first end 210) from the third magnetically permeable element (magnetic conductive member 22);
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 2A of Guo is annotated to highlight various features)]
the second surface (second side 208) is exposed from the third magnetically permeable element (magnetic conductive member 22).
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Lee with Guo’s magnetic conductive member as a third magnetically permeable element, in order to reduce the generation of ineffective magnetic lines (Guo Description pg. 1) for improved stability and electromagnetic thrust.
Regarding claim 8, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 7.
Guo further discloses (see annotated FIG. 2A above) wherein the first magnetic element (first end 210) and the first magnetically permeable element (magnetic conductive member 22) at least partially overlap each other when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the second surface (second side 208).
Regarding claim 9, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 8.
Guo further discloses (see annotated FIG. 2A above) wherein:
the first magnetic element (magnetic column 20) further comprises a third surface (second end 212), a fourth surface (first side 206), a fifth surface (top 202), and a sixth surface (bottom 204);
the third surface (second end 212) is opposite to the first surface (first end 210);
the fourth surface (first side 206) is opposite to the second surface (second side 208);
the fifth surface (top 202) is adjacent to the first surface (first end 210), the second surface (second side 208), the third surface (second end 212), and the fourth surface (first side 206);
the sixth surface (bottom 204) is adjacent to the first surface (first end 210), the second surface (second side 208), the third surface (second end 212), and the fourth surface (first side 206);
the fifth surface (top 202) is opposite to the sixth surface (bottom 204);
the third magnetically permeable element (magnetic conductive member 22) is disposed on the fourth surface (first side 206);
the third magnetically permeable element (magnetic conductive member 22) is disposed on the fifth surface (top 202);
the third magnetically permeable element (magnetic conductive member 22) is disposed on the sixth surface (bottom 204).
Modified Lee does not disclose that the third magnetically permeable element is disposed on the third surface. However, Examiner finds that this lone discrepancy between the prior art and the claimed invention may only amount to a mere change in shape – i.e. of the third magnetically permeable element disclosed by Guo, so that it covers the third surface.
It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Lee incorporating Guo’s third magnetically permeable element, in order to further reshape/reduce undesirable magnetic field lines – since it has been held that changes in shape are generally within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 10, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 9.
Lee, in the in the first embodiment cited above, further discloses (see annotated FIG. 7 above) wherein at least a portion of the movable portion (driven object, or lens module, 13) has the first magnetic element (magnetic member 151) mounted into it. (See also ¶ 39: “…magnetic member 151 which is exteriorly mounted to the lens module 13”)
Guo further discloses wherein the third magnetically permeable element (magnetic conductive member 22) partially encloses the first magnetic element (magnetic column 20).
Modified Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein at least a portion of the movable portion is disposed between the third magnetically permeable element and the first magnetic element. However, Examiner finds that any possible discrepancy between the claimed invention and the above-cited prior art may only amount to a mere rearrangement of parts, as the combined art essentially suggests there simply being two main design options – i.e. where the mounting portion of the movable portion is disposed around the third magnetically permeable element and the first magnetic element, or between them as claimed.
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Lee incorporating Guo by arranging the portion of the movable portion between the third magnetically permeable element and the first magnetic element to maintain engagement between the magnetic element and movable portion – since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Hu1, Hong, and Guo, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Hu and Chen (US 20200075211 A1, hereinafter “Hu2”).
Regarding claim 11, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 10.
Modified Lee does not directly disclose the further comprising a circuit element, a first bonding element, and a second bonding element; wherein:
the driving coils are disposed on the circuit element through the first bonding element;
the driving coils are disposed on the circuit element through the second bonding element;
the first bonding element is in direct contact with the second bonding element;
the first bonding element and the second bonding element comprise different materials.
Lee and Hu2 are related as being directed towards electromagnetic driving devices.
Hu2 discloses (FIG. 1A and ¶s 5-7 regarding a conventional driving device) the further comprising a circuit element (flexible circuit board 12), a first bonding element (conductive connecting component 17), and a second bonding element (welding pad 152); wherein:
the driving coils (flexible coil plate 15) are disposed on the circuit element (flexible circuit board 12) through the first bonding element (conductive connecting component 17);
the driving coils (flexible coil plate 15) are disposed on the circuit element (flexible circuit board 12) through the second bonding element (welding pad 152);
the first bonding element (conductive connecting component 17) is in direct contact with the second bonding element (welding pad 152);
the first bonding element (conductive connecting component 17)and the second bonding element (conductive connecting component 17) comprise different materials.
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further combine Lee with the conventional designs disclosed by Hu2, in order to realize magnetic driving configurations that are already known to operate reliably and effectively (Hu2 ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 12, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 11.
Hu2 further discloses (see FIG. 1A) wherein:
the circuit element (flexible circuit board 12) comprises an opening;
the first bonding element (conductive connecting component 17) is not disposed on the opening;
the second bonding element (welding pad 152) is not disposed on the opening.
Regarding claim 13, Modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 12.
Hu2 further discloses (see annotated FIG. 1A below) wherein:
the first driving coil (flexible coil plate 15) comprises a first coil surface, a second coil surface, a third coil surface, and a fourth coil surface;
the first coil surface faces the circuit element (flexible circuit board 12);
the second coil surface is adjacent to the first coil surface;
the first bonding element (conductive connecting component 17) covers at least a portion of the first coil surface;
the second bonding element (welding pad 152) covers at least a portion of the second coil surface;
the third coil surface is opposite to the first coil surface;
the second coil surface is opposite to the fourth coil surface.
[AltContent: textbox (FIG. 1A of Hu2 is annotated to highlight various features)]
Regarding claim 14, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 13.
Hu2 further discloses wherein:
the first bonding element (conductive connecting component 17) and the second bonding element (welding pad 152) are not disposed on the third coil surface;
the first bonding element (conductive connecting component 17) and the second bonding element (welding pad 152) are not disposed on the fourth coil surface.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Hu1, Hong, Guo, and Hu2, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Fang et al (TW 201826488 A, hereinafter “Fang”).
Regarding claim 15, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 14.
Modified Lee does not disclose wherein:
the first driving coil comprises a leading wire;
the circuit element comprises a conductive pad;
the leading wire connects to the conductive pad;
the second bonding element covers at least a portion of the leading wire;
the second bonding element covers at least a portion of the conductive pad.
Lee and Fang are related as being directed towards magnetic circuits.
Fang discloses (see FIGs. 2(E,F), ¶s 77-81) wherein:
the first driving coil (electronic component 25) comprises a leading wire (bonding/solder wire 26);
the circuit element (first circuit layer 21) comprises a conductive pad (first conductive trace 211);
the leading wire (solder wire 26) connects to the conductive pad (first conductive trace 211);
the second bonding element (packaging/encapsulation layer 27) covers at least a portion of the leading wire (solder wire 26);
the second bonding element (packaging layer 27) covers at least a portion of the conductive pad (first conductive trace 211).
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further combine Lee with designs aspects of Fang, in order to provide electrical connections between the coil and the circuit components (Fang ¶ 78) and packaging that facilitates device minimization (Fang ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 16, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 15.
Fang further discloses (see FIG. 2E) wherein:
the first bonding element (adhesive layer 250) does not cover the leading wire (solder wire 26);
the first bonding element (adhesive layer 250) does not cover the conductive pad (first conductive trace 211).
Regarding claim 17, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 16.
Lee, in the first embodiment cited above, further discloses (see FIGs. 2-7, ¶s 39-40) wherein:
the magnetic elements (magnetic members 151) further comprise a second magnetic element (magnetic member 151), a third magnetic element (magnetic member 151), and a fourth magnetic element (magnetic member 151) disposed on the movable portion (lens module 13);
the driving coils (coils 152) further comprise a second driving coil (coil 152), a third driving coil (coil 152) and a fourth driving coil (coil 152) disposed on the fixed portion (casing+base 11+12);
the second magnetic element (magnetic member 151) corresponds to the second driving coil (coil 152);
the third magnetic element (magnetic member 151) corresponds to the third driving coil (coil 152);
the fourth magnetic element (magnetic member 151) corresponds to the fourth driving coil (coil 152).
(Note, in ¶ 40, Lee both enables an extension of the number of magnetic members/coils 151/152 to four or more, while also extolling the benefits of their symmetrical arrangement)
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Hu1, Hong, Guo, Hu2, and Fang, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Park (US 20240205544 Al).
Regarding claim 18, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 17.
Lee, in the first embodiment cited above, further discloses (see FIGs. 2-7, ¶s 39-40) wherein:
a first magnetic force is generated between the first magnetic element (magnetic member 151) and the first magnetically permeable element (rolling member 143) and applied on the movable portion (lens module 13);
a second magnetic force is generated between the second magnetic element (magnetic member 151) and the first guiding element (guide pin 17) and applied on the movable portion (lens module 13).
(Examiner notes that two magnetic dipoles anywhere in the universe will always experience some mutual magnetic force)
Lee, in the second embodiment cited above, further discloses wherein: a third magnetic force is generated between the third magnetic element (magnetic member 151) and the second magnetically permeable element (rolling member 143) and applied on the movable portion (lens module 13). (As established in annotated FIG. 7+13 and in regards to claim 4 above, Lee’s second embodiment enables the second magnetically permeable element. Examiner notes again that any two dipoles will always experience some mutual magnetic force.)
Hu1 further discloses wherein: a fourth magnetic force is generated between the fourth magnetic element and the second guiding element (guiding rod 141’) and applied on the movable portion (lens support 121). (As established in annotated FIG. 5A and in regards to claim 4 above, Lee’s second embodiment enables the second guiding element. Examiner notes again that any two dipoles will always experience some mutual magnetic force)
Modified Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein:
the first magnetic force, the second magnetic force, the third magnetic force, and the fourth magnetic force have different directions.
Lee and Park are related as being directed towards electromagnetic driving devices.
Park discloses (see FIG. 17E, ¶s 302-304) wherein: the first magnetic force (FR1), the second magnetic force (FR2), the third magnetic force (FR3), and the fourth magnetic force (FR4) have different directions (i.e. +Y, -X, -Y, +X, respectively).
It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further combine the teachings of Lee and Park, in order to simplify control algorithms during image stabilization and facilitate reduction in size of the camera device (Park ¶ 22).
Regarding claim 19, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 18.
Park further discloses (see FIG. 17E) wherein:
directions of the first magnetic force (FR1) and the third magnetic force (FR3) are opposite (i.e. ± Y);
directions of the second magnetic force (FR2) and the fourth magnetic force (FR4) are opposite (i.e. ± X).
Regarding claim 20, modified Lee discloses the optical element driving mechanism as claimed in claim 19.
Park further discloses (see FIG. 17E) wherein:
the first magnetic force (FR1) generates a first torque to the movable portion (lens support 121);
the second magnetic force (FR2) generates a second torque to the movable portion (lens support 121);
the third magnetic force (FR3) generates a third torque to the movable portion (lens support 121);
the fourth magnetic force (FR4) generates a fourth torque to the movable portion (lens support 121);
directions of the first torque, the second torque, the third torque, and the fourth torque are identical (i.e. all torques point into the page, in the -Z direction).
Conclusion
/W.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872