DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 12/17/2025, claims 1-30 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-18, and 22-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 2023/0354270 A1) in view of WU et al. (US 2021/0022142 A1), and further in view of (KIILERICH PRATAS et al. US 2025/0185028 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Lee teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to:
identify a first resource for a sidelink feedback channel associated with the UE, wherein the sidelink feedback channel is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) (See Fig. 1: When physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission (i.e., first resource) based on the first RAT overlaps SL transmission based on the second RAT in SL transmission based on the first RAT, which is performed between the first terminal and the second terminal, ¶ [0014]); and
perform a reservation for a second resource that overlaps the first resource (See Fig. 1: The performing of the resource selection/reservation operation based on the first RAT may comprise: when PSFCH transmission based on the first RAT overlaps SL transmission based on the second RAT (i.e., second resource). ¶ [0015]), the reservation indicating a set of physical resource blocks reserved for the sidelink feedback channel. (See Fig. 9 and 10: The PSFCH may be a channel for reporting ACK/NACK information (e.g., HARQ-ACK feedback) to the transmitting terminal. A resource region (e.g., PSFCH resource region) for PSFCH transmission (e.g., transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback) may be preconfigured (i.e., being reserved) within a specific resource pool. ¶ [0130]).
Even though, Lee teaches the method of identifying overlapped SL resources between the First RAT and the Second RAT, Lee doesn’t explicitly provide transmitting data using the second RAT.
However, Wu discloses transmitting using the second RAT (Wu: See Fig. 1, the UE to perform a corresponding sidelink transmission according to the configuration information of the V2X communication in the second RAT system when the sidelink transmission needs to be performed, i.e. ¶ [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide transmitting using the second RAT as taught by Wu to have incorporated in the system of Lee, so that it would not only provide to transmit the reservation or selected signal using the Second RAT but also support an advantage that is more flexible SL resource scheduling. Wu: ¶ [0117].
Neither Lee nor Wu explicitly discusses the method wherein the reservation in accordance with a configuration parameter.
However, Kiilerich Pratas further states wherein the reservation in accordance with a configuration parameter (Kiilerich Pratas: evaluating if a physical sidelink feedback resource is indicated to be reserved in a received sidelink control information…based on measurement of a reference signal received power (i.e., configuration parameter). See Fig. 18 and ¶ [0244]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the reservation in accordance with a configuration parameter as taught by Kiilerich Pratas to have incorporated in the system of Lee, so that it would not only provide to improve sidelink related services and resource allocations in sidelink wireless communications. Kiilerich Pratas: ¶ [0005].
Regarding claim 2; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the first RAT is a 5G or New Radio RAT and the second RAT is a Long Term Evolution or 4G RAT (Lee: wherein the first network is associated with a new radio (NR) network and the second network is associated a long term evolution (LTE) network. See Abstract).
Regarding claim 3; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to identify the first resource, are configured to cause the UE to identify the first resource according to signaling from a first module (Lee: See Fig. 1: The LTE SL communication module may be referred to as an LTE SL module (or LTE module), and the NR SL communication module may be referred to as an NR SL module (or NR module). ¶ [0174]), of the UE, associated with the first RAT (See Fig. 1: In Release-18, an active coexistence function between the LTE SL terminal and the NR SL terminal can be supported by dynamic resource sharing between two RATs. ¶ [0174]).
Regarding claim 4; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the signaling includes at least one of: a periodicity of the sidelink feedback channel (Lee: The PSFCH (e.g., PSFCH resource or PSFH resource region) may be configured periodically. A PSFCH periodicity for the PSFCH resource may be k slots (e.g., logical sidelink (SL) slots). k may be a natural number. For example, k may be 1, 2, or 4. ¶ [0130]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 5; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the reservation, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the reservation in association with a second module, of the UE, associated with the second RAT (See Fig. 1: In Release-18, an active coexistence function between the LTE SL terminal and the NR SL terminal can be supported by dynamic resource sharing between two RATs. ¶ [0174]).
Regarding claim 6; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the reservation comprises a Long Term Evolution sidelink control information message (See Lee’s claim 2 and Fig. 1: wherein when resource sharing between the first RAT and the second RAT is configured, the information on the resources of the second RAT is shared for the resource selection operation based on the first RAT, the first RAT is a new radio (NR) communication technology, and the second RAT is a long term evolution (LTE) communication technology.)
Regarding claim 7; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the reservation for the second resource, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the reservation on a resource that collides with a slot associated with the sidelink feedback channel (Lee: When physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission based on the first RAT overlaps SL transmission based on the second RAT in SL transmission based on the first RAT, which is performed between the first terminal and the second terminal, the PSFCH transmission based on the first RAT may be dropped or disabled. ¶ [0014]).
Regarding claim 8; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the reservation indicates a time gap between an initial transmission associated with the reservation and a retransmission associated with the reservation, wherein the time gap has a length based at least in part on a periodicity of slots associated with the sidelink feedback channel (See Fig. 11: a transmission time of a PSFCH may be the first slot (e.g., PSFCH slot) in which PSFCH transmission is possible after a preset time (e.g., sl-MinTimeGapPSFCH) from a reception time of a corresponding PSSCH. The PSFCH slot may be a slot capable of transmitting a PSFCH and/or a slot in which a PSFCH is configured. ¶ [0136]).
Regarding claim 9; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein a resource reservation field of the reservation uses a value that is based at least in part on a periodicity of slots associated with the sidelink feedback channel (Lee: PSFCH slots (e.g., NR slots in which the PSFCH is transmitted) may be configured to have a periodicity of 1, 2, or 4 slots. When the periodicity of the PSFCH slots is 1 slot, all slots may be configured as NR slots. In this case, LTE SL transmission may not be performed. When the LTE SCS and the NR SCS are different, a situation in which it is difficult to configure LTE subframes may occur. ¶ [0231]).
Regarding claim 10; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the reservation indicates a priority that is configured for sidelink feedback channel indication (Lee: When a priority of an NR communication node (e.g., NR base station or NR terminal) is higher than that of an LTE communication node (e.g., LTE base station or LTE terminal), the NR terminal may select a synchronization source having a higher priority but the LTE terminal may not select the synchronization source having a higher priority. ¶ [0267]).
Regarding claim 11; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the reservation indicates a priority, associated with the second RAT, that is based at least in part on a highest priority indicated by a first module of the UE associated with the first RAT (Lee: the NR terminal may transmit an LTE SL synchronization signal to the LTE terminal. When the priority of the NR communication node (e.g., NR base station or NR terminal) is higher than that of the LTE communication node (e.g., LTE base station or LTE terminal), the NR terminal may acquire synchronization with an NR base station and/or another NR terminal, and may transmit the LTE SL synchronization signal to the LTE terminal based on the acquired synchronization. ¶ [0268]).
Regarding claim 13; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the sidelink feedback channel has a first periodicity that is based at least in part on a selectable periodicity of the reservation (See Fig. 11: PSFCH slots (e.g., NR slots in which the PSFCH is transmitted) may be configured to have a periodicity of 1, 2, or 4 slots. When the periodicity of the PSFCH slots is 1 slot, all slots may be configured as NR slots. ¶ [0231]).
Regarding claim 14; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the first periodicity is equal to 5, 10, or 20 slots.
Regarding claim 15; Lee in view of Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the reservation, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the reservation in accordance with a configuration (Wu: See Fig. 1, the UE to perform a corresponding sidelink transmission according to the configuration information of the V2X communication in the second RAT system when the sidelink transmission needs to be performed, i.e. ¶ [0037]).
Regarding claim 16; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the reservation, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the reservation in accordance with a trigger from an upper layer of the UE (Wu: See Fig. 1, the UE to perform a corresponding sidelink transmission according to the configuration information of the V2X communication in the second RAT system when the sidelink transmission needs to be performed, i.e. ¶ [0037]).
Regarding claim 17; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the reservation, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the reservation in accordance with a trigger from a first module of the UE associated with the first RAT (Lee: The information on the resources of the second RAT may indicate one or more resources reserved by a third terminal supporting the second RAT, and at least one candidate resource overlapping with the one or more reserved resources among the candidate resources may be excluded in the resource selection operation based on the first RAT. ¶ [0018]).
Regarding claim 18; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to cease transmission of the reservation in accordance with a trigger from an upper layer of the UE or a first module of the UE associated with the first RAT (Lee: When physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission based on the first RAT overlaps SL transmission based on the second RAT in SL transmission based on the first RAT, which is performed between the first terminal and the second terminal, the PSFCH transmission based on the first RAT may be dropped or disabled. ¶ [0024]).
Regarding claim 22; Lee teaches a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
identifying a first resource for a sidelink feedback channel associated with the UE, wherein the sidelink feedback channel is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) (See Fig. 1: When physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission (i.e., first resource) based on the first RAT overlaps SL transmission based on the second RAT in SL transmission based on the first RAT, which is performed between the first terminal and the second terminal, ¶ [0014]); and
performing, using a second RAT, a reservation for a second resource that overlaps the first resource (See Fig. 1: The performing of the resource selection/reservation operation based on the first RAT may comprise: when PSFCH transmission based on the first RAT overlaps SL transmission based on the second RAT (i.e., second resource). ¶ [0015]), the reservation indicating a set of physical resource blocks reserved for the sidelink feedback channel. (See Fig. 9 and 10: The PSFCH may be a channel for reporting ACK/NACK information (e.g., HARQ-ACK feedback) to the transmitting terminal. A resource region (e.g., PSFCH resource region) for PSFCH transmission (e.g., transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback) may be preconfigured (i.e., being reserved) within a specific resource pool. ¶ [0130]).
Even though, Lee teaches the method of identifying overlapped SL resources between the First RAT and the Second RAT, Lee doesn’t explicitly provide transmitting data using the second RAT.
However, Wu discloses transmitting using the second RAT (Wu: See Fig. 1, the UE to perform a corresponding sidelink transmission according to the configuration information of the V2X communication in the second RAT system when the sidelink transmission needs to be performed, i.e. ¶ [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide transmitting using the second RAT as taught by Wu to have incorporated in the system of Lee, so that it would not only provide to transmit the reservation or selected signal using the Second RAT but also support an advantage that is more flexible SL resource scheduling. Wu: ¶ [0117].
Neither Lee nor Wu explicitly discusses the method wherein the reservation in accordance with a configuration parameter.
However, Kiilerich Pratas further states the method wherein the reservation in accordance with a configuration parameter (Kiilerich Pratas: evaluating if a physical sidelink feedback resource is indicated to be reserved in a received sidelink control information…based on measurement of a reference signal received power (i.e., configuration parameter). See Fig. 18 and ¶ [0244]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the reservation in accordance with a configuration parameter as taught by Kiilerich Pratas to have incorporated in the system of Lee, so that it would not only provide to improve sidelink related services and resource allocations in sidelink wireless communications. Kiilerich Pratas: ¶ [0005].
Regarding claim 23; Lee teaches the method wherein the first RAT is a 5G or New Radio RAT and the second RAT is a Long Term Evolution or 4G RAT (Lee: wherein the first network is associated with a new radio (NR) network and the second network is associated a long term evolution (LTE) network. See Abstract).
Regarding claim 24; Lee teaches the method wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to identify the first resource, are configured to cause the UE to identify the first resource according to signaling from a first module (Lee: See Fig. 1: The LTE SL communication module may be referred to as an LTE SL module (or LTE module), and the NR SL communication module may be referred to as an NR SL module (or NR module). ¶ [0174]), of the UE, associated with the first RAT (See Fig. 1: In Release-18, an active coexistence function between the LTE SL terminal and the NR SL terminal can be supported by dynamic resource sharing between two RATs. ¶ [0174]).
Regarding claim 25; Lee teaches the method wherein the signaling includes at least one of: a periodicity of the sidelink feedback channel (Lee: The PSFCH (e.g., PSFCH resource or PSFH resource region) may be configured periodically. A PSFCH periodicity for the PSFCH resource may be k slots (e.g., logical sidelink (SL) slots). k may be a natural number. For example, k may be 1, 2, or 4. ¶ [0130]).
[Office’s Note: Because of the alternative claim language such as “at least one of”, only one of the alternative limitations has been analyzed by the examiner].
Regarding claim 26; Lee teaches the method wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the reservation, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the reservation in association with a second module, of the UE, associated with the second RAT (See Fig. 1: In Release-18, an active coexistence function between the LTE SL terminal and the NR SL terminal can be supported by dynamic resource sharing between two RATs. ¶ [0174]).
Regarding claim 27; Lee teaches the method wherein the reservation comprises a Long Term Evolution sidelink control information message (See Lee’s claim 2 and Fig. 1: wherein when resource sharing between the first RAT and the second RAT is configured, the information on the resources of the second RAT is shared for the resource selection operation based on the first RAT, the first RAT is a new radio (NR) communication technology, and the second RAT is a long term evolution (LTE) communication technology.)
Regarding claim 28; Lee teaches the method wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the reservation for the second resource, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the reservation on a resource that collides with a slot associated with the sidelink feedback channel (Lee: When physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission based on the first RAT overlaps SL transmission based on the second RAT in SL transmission based on the first RAT, which is performed between the first terminal and the second terminal, the PSFCH transmission based on the first RAT may be dropped or disabled. ¶ [0014]).
Regarding claim 29; Lee teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: instructions, when executed by one processor for a user equipment (UE), to cause the UE to:
identify a first resource for a sidelink feedback channel associated with the UE, wherein the sidelink feedback channel is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) (See Fig. 1: When physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission (i.e., first resource) based on the first RAT overlaps SL transmission based on the second RAT in SL transmission based on the first RAT, which is performed between the first terminal and the second terminal, ¶ [0014]); and
perform, using a second RAT, a reservation for a second resource that overlaps the first resource (See Fig. 1: The performing of the resource selection/reservation operation based on the first RAT may comprise: when PSFCH transmission based on the first RAT overlaps SL transmission based on the second RAT (i.e., second resource). ¶ [0015]), the reservation indicating a set of physical resource blocks reserved for the sidelink feedback channel. (See Fig. 9 and 10: The PSFCH may be a channel for reporting ACK/NACK information (e.g., HARQ-ACK feedback) to the transmitting terminal. A resource region (e.g., PSFCH resource region) for PSFCH transmission (e.g., transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback) may be preconfigured (i.e., being reserved) within a specific resource pool. ¶ [0130]).
Even though, Lee teaches the method of identifying overlapped SL resources between the First RAT and the Second RAT, Lee doesn’t explicitly provide transmitting data using the second RAT.
However, Wu discloses transmitting using the second RAT (Wu: See Fig. 1, the UE to perform a corresponding sidelink transmission according to the configuration information of the V2X communication in the second RAT system when the sidelink transmission needs to be performed, i.e. ¶ [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide transmitting using the second RAT as taught by Wu to have incorporated in the system of Lee, so that it would not only provide to transmit the reservation or selected signal using the Second RAT but also support an advantage that is more flexible SL resource scheduling. Wu: ¶ [0117].
Neither Lee nor Wu explicitly discusses the method wherein the reservation in accordance with a configuration parameter.
However, Kiilerich Pratas further states wherein the reservation in accordance with a configuration parameter (Kiilerich Pratas: evaluating if a physical sidelink feedback resource is indicated to be reserved in a received sidelink control information…based on measurement of a reference signal received power (i.e., configuration parameter). See Fig. 18 and ¶ [0244]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the reservation in accordance with a configuration parameter as taught by Kiilerich Pratas to have incorporated in the system of Lee, so that it would not only provide to improve sidelink related services and resource allocations in sidelink wireless communications. Kiilerich Pratas: ¶ [0005].
Regarding claim 30; Lee teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
means for identifying a first resource for a sidelink feedback channel associated with the UE, wherein the sidelink feedback channel is associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) (See Fig. 1: When physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission (i.e., first resource) based on the first RAT overlaps SL transmission based on the second RAT in SL transmission based on the first RAT, which is performed between the first terminal and the second terminal, ¶ [0014]); and
means for performing, using a second RAT, a reservation for a second resource that overlaps the first resource (See Fig. 1: The performing of the resource selection/reservation operation based on the first RAT may comprise: when PSFCH transmission based on the first RAT overlaps SL transmission based on the second RAT (i.e., second resource). ¶ [0015]), the reservation indicating a set of physical resource blocks reserved for the sidelink feedback channel. (See Fig. 9 and 10: The PSFCH may be a channel for reporting ACK/NACK information (e.g., HARQ-ACK feedback) to the transmitting terminal. A resource region (e.g., PSFCH resource region) for PSFCH transmission (e.g., transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback) may be preconfigured (i.e., being reserved) within a specific resource pool. ¶ [0130]).
Even though, Lee teaches the method of identifying overlapped SL resources between the First RAT and the Second RAT, Lee doesn’t explicitly provide transmitting data using the second RAT.
However, Wu discloses transmitting using the second RAT (Wu: See Fig. 1, the UE to perform a corresponding sidelink transmission according to the configuration information of the V2X communication in the second RAT system when the sidelink transmission needs to be performed, i.e. ¶ [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide transmitting using the second RAT as taught by Wu to have incorporated in the system of Lee, so that it would not only provide to transmit the reservation or selected signal using the Second RAT but also support an advantage that is more flexible SL resource scheduling. Wu: ¶ [0117].
Neither Lee nor Wu explicitly discusses the method wherein the reservation in accordance with a configuration parameter.
However, Kiilerich Pratas further states wherein the reservation in accordance with a configuration parameter (Kiilerich Pratas: evaluating if a physical sidelink feedback resource is indicated to be reserved in a received sidelink control information…based on measurement of a reference signal received power (i.e., configuration parameter). See Fig. 18 and ¶ [0244]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the reservation in accordance with a configuration parameter as taught by Kiilerich Pratas to have incorporated in the system of Lee, so that it would not only provide to improve sidelink related services and resource allocations in sidelink wireless communications. Kiilerich Pratas: ¶ [0005].
Claims 12 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 2023/0354270 A1) in view of Gordaychik (US 2019/0363843 A1).
Regarding claim 12; Lee teaches the apparatus wherein the reservation indicates a priority that is based at least in part on data associated with the second RAT (Lee: SL transmission operations of the LTE SL module (e.g., second RAT), priority, received signal strength indicator (RSSI), LTE SL reference timing information, or combinations thereof. The priority may refer to a data priority or transmission priority. ¶ [0181]).
Lee doesn’t explicitly describe determining based on traffic.
However, Gordaychik teaches determining based on traffic (Gordaychik: If the scheduling request is for high priority traffic, the scheduling request may be transmitted while the PUCCH or conflicting PUSCH or any other conflicting signal is dropped. Additionally, if the scheduling request is a request for high priority traffic, for example, URLLC traffic of a high priority logical channel or logical channel group…. ¶ [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide determining based on traffic as taught by Gordaychik to have incorporated in the system of Lee, so that it would provide to improve throughput, reliability and latency in a cellular network communication. Gordaychik: ¶ [0124].
Regarding claim 20; Lee in view of Wu and further in view of Gordaychik teaches the apparatus wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to cease transmission of the reservation (Wu: When the DCI indicates deactivation, the UE shall stop transmission on the sidelink resources determined by the indicator fields 1-5. ¶ [0104]) based at least in part on a channel busy ratio (Gordaychik: determining congestion threshold based on a channel busy ratio. ¶ [0197]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide determining based on channel busy ratio as taught by Gordaychik to have incorporated in the system of Lee, so that it would provide to improve throughput, reliability and latency in a cellular network communication. Gordaychik: ¶ [0124].
Regarding claim 21. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to cease transmission of the reservation (Wu: When the DCI indicates deactivation, the UE shall stop transmission on the sidelink resources determined by the indicator fields 1-5. ¶ [0104]) based at least in part on a duty cycle of the UE (Lee: In the Release-14 LTE V2X, the periodicity (e.g., the periodicity of partial sensing operation or duty cycle) may be set to 20 ms or 50 ms. A periodicity of 20 ms or 50 ms may not be supported in a resource pool for a P-UE. In the NR communication system, a shorter periodicity may be supported in addition to {0, 100 ms, 200 ms, . . . , 1000 ms}. ¶ [0158]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
In response to the amendment, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416