DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response and amendments received September 14, 2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 2, 15, and 18 have been canceled.
Claims 1, 3-14, 16, and 17 have been amended.
Claims 1, 3-14, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 19 and 20 stand withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a nonelected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03, for reasons of record set forth in the Office Action mailed February 26, 2026.
Claims 1, 3-14, 16, and 17 are under examination in this office action.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 1 for the recitation of an abbreviation of a term not defined in the claim has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments received September 14, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 4-6, 8, 9, 11, 12, and 14-18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments received September 14, 2026 which reasonably address the issues raised in the prior office action.
The rejection of claims 1-18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments received September 14, 2026.
The rejection of claims 1-18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments received September 14, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 1-3, 7-12, 15-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Epstein et al. (WO 2019/067425) has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments received September 14, 2026.
The rejection of claims 1-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by June et al. (US 9,365,641) has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments received September 14, 2026.
The following are new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s claim amendments received September 14, 2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over June et al. (US 9,365,641, of record) in view of Gill et al. (WO 2017/019848).
June et al. disclose chimeric antigen receptors that bind fibroblast activation protein (FAP) as well as cells expression such constructs (see entire document, particularly the abstract and claims). Notably such constructs are disclosed as comprising a scFv that binds FAP, a CD8 Hinge, a CD8 transmembrane, intracellular CD28 and intracellular CD3zeta domains (see particularly Figure 11D as well as lines 27-32 of column 4 and example 3). June et al. disclose anti-FAP CAR which comprise the VH of instant SEQ ID NO:10 and the VL of instant SEQ ID NO:11 (see sequence alignments previously provided and note that the ‘641 patent originally published as US 2014/0099340). CAR constructs are disclosed as being lentivirally transduced into the cells of June et al. (see particularly columns 38-40 and examples 1 and 3). These teachings differ from what is presently claimed in that the cells expressing the FAP binding CAR of June et al. are not disclosed as being macrophages, monocytes or dendritic cells.
Gill et al. disclose that by expressing a chimeric antigen receptor in a monocyte, macrophage or dendritic cell, the modified cell is recruited to the tumor microenvironment where it acts as a potent immune effector by infiltrating the tumor and killing the target cells (see entire document, particularly the abstract, claims and page 2). Notably, FAP is disclosed as a target of the CAR expressed on the cells of Gil et al. (see most particularly page 34). The cells of Gill et al. are disclosed as offering the advantageous properties of phagocytosis, targeted cellular toxicity, antigen presentation, and cytokine secretion (see particularly page 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to transduce macrophages with the anti-FAP CAR constructs of June et al. Artisans would have been motivated to do so in order to gain the advantages of phagocytosis, targeted cellular toxicity, antigen presentation, and cytokine secretion as compared to T cells as was taught by Gill et al.
Claims 1, 3-14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over June et al. (US 9,365,641, of record) in view of O’Neill et al. (WO 2017/025944).
June et al. disclose chimeric antigen receptors that bind fibroblast activation protein (FAP) as well as cells expression such constructs (see entire document, particularly the abstract and claims). Notably such constructs are disclosed as comprising a scFv that binds FAP, a CD8 Hinge, a CD8 transmembrane, intracellular CD28 and intracellular CD3zeta domains (see particularly Figure 11D as well as lines 27-32 of column 4 and example 3). June et al. disclose anti-FAP CAR which comprise the VH of instant SEQ ID NO:10 and the VL of instant SEQ ID NO:11 (see sequence alignments previously provided and note that the ‘641 patent originally published as US 2014/0099340). CAR constructs are disclosed as being lentivirally transduced into the cells of June et al. (see particularly columns 38-40 and examples 1 and 3). These teachings differ from what is presently claimed in that the cells expressing the FAP binding CAR of June et al. are not disclosed as being macrophages, monocytes or dendritic cells.
O’Neill et al. disclose the generation of macrophages that express chimeric antigen receptors, and their administration to treat cancer (see entire document, particularly the abstract, claims and page 22). They disclose that macrophages expressing CARs are advantageous as compared to T cells expressing CARs as they lack persistence which reduced chronic activation the in the presence of low concentration of the antigenic target and since macrophages do not participate in cytokine storms they do not have that serious side effect seen in CAR-T therapies (see page 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to transduce macrophages with the anti-FAP CAR constructs of June et al. Artisans would have been motivated to do so in order to gain the advantages of reduced cytokine storm side effects when used for therapy as compared to CAR T cells as was taught by O’Neill et al.
Claims 1, 3, 7-14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Epstein et al. (WO 2019/067425, of record) in view of Gill et al. (WO 2017/019848).
Epstein et al. disclose chimeric antigen receptors that bind fibroblast activation protein (FAP) as well as cells expression such constructs (see entire document, particularly the abstract and claims). The FAP binding domain is disclosed as being a scFv that binds FAP (see for example page 22). Further, such constructs are disclosed as comprising CD8 transmembrane domains as well as CD28 and CD3zeta cytoplasmic domains (see for example pages 23-26 and the paragraph spanning pages 35 and 36 in working example 1). Such FAP constructs are disclosed as being delivered by lentiviruses (see for example pages 13 and 36). These teachings differ from what is presently claimed in that the cells expressing the FAP binding CAR of Epstein et al. are not disclosed as being macrophages, monocytes or dendritic cells.
Gill et al. disclose that by expressing a chimeric antigen receptor in a monocyte, macrophage or dendritic cell, the modified cell is recruited to the tumor microenvironment where it acts as a potent immune effector by infiltrating the tumor and killing the target cells (see entire document, particularly the abstract, claims and page 2). Notably, FAP is disclosed as a target of the CAR expressed on the cells of Gil et al. (see most particularly page 34). The cells of Gill et al. are disclosed as offering the advantageous properties of phagocytosis, targeted cellular toxicity, antigen presentation, and cytokine secretion (see particularly page 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to transduce macrophages with the anti-FAP CAR constructs of Epstein et al. Artisans would have been motivated to do so in order to gain the advantages of phagocytosis, targeted cellular toxicity, antigen presentation, and cytokine secretion as compared to T cells as was taught by Gill et al.
Claims 1, 3, 7-14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Epstein et al. (WO 2019/067425, of record) in view of O’Neill et al. (WO 2017/025944).
Epstein et al. disclose chimeric antigen receptors that bind fibroblast activation protein (FAP) as well as cells expression such constructs (see entire document, particularly the abstract and claims). The FAP binding domain is disclosed as being a scFv that binds FAP (see for example page 22). Further, such constructs are disclosed as comprising CD8 transmembrane domains as well as CD28 and CD3zeta cytoplasmic domains (see for example pages 23-26 and the paragraph spanning pages 35 and 36 in working example 1). Such FAP constructs are disclosed as being delivered by lentiviruses (see for example pages 13 and 36). These teachings differ from what is presently claimed in that the cells expressing the FAP binding CAR of Epstein et al. are not disclosed as being macrophages, monocytes or dendritic cells.
O’Neill et al. disclose the generation of macrophages that express chimeric antigen receptors, and their administration to treat cancer (see entire document, particularly the abstract, claims and page 22). They disclose that macrophages expressing CARs are advantageous as compared to T cells expressing CARs as they lack persistence which reduced chronic activation the in the presence of low concentration of the antigenic target and since macrophages do not participate in cytokine storms they do not have that serious side effect seen in CAR-T therapies (see page 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to transduce macrophages with the anti-FAP CAR constructs of Epstein et al. Artisans would have been motivated to do so in order to gain the advantages of reduced cytokine storm side effects when used for therapy as compared to CAR T cells as was taught by O’Neill et al.
Claims 9, 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Dependent claims 9, 11, 12, and 14 all ultimately refer back to independent claim 1, which recites a cell expressing a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) and thus the claims read upon cells that express a non-naturally occurring polypeptide fusion protein. Claim 9 recites that the CAR comprises a CD28 intracellular domain that has the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:14 or the CD28 intracellular domain has a nucleic acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO:15. Thus, what is applicant claiming via the recitation of a polynucleotide sequence as part of receptor that very clearly is a fusion protein? Is applicant claiming a protein-nucleic acid hybrid molecule or is applicant simply trying to say that the polypeptide sequence present in the claimed protein is encoded by the recited polynucleotide sequence? Claims 11, 12, and 14 are directed to different subsequences but present the same issue of a fusion construct having both an attached polypeptide sequence and an attached polynucleotide sequence. Given that instant claim 6 was amended to recite “encoded by” language, it appears that such an interpretation is also applicable to the instant recited nucleic acid SEQ ID numbers, but applicant is reminded that the claims are limited by what they actually recite, not what artisans might guess they mean. Appropriate amendments to clarify what is being claimed, perhaps similar to the language presented in instant claim 6, are likely to be beneficial in removing this rejection.
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Michael Szperka
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1641
/MICHAEL SZPERKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641