DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 10, 13-17, 21, 23, 29, 34, 39, 45-47 and 49-51, submitted on 11 October 2023, are pending in the application. Claims 2, 6, 10, 13, 15, 34 and 50-51 have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 4, 7, 14, 16-17, 21, 23, 29, 39, 45-47 and 49 are under examination in the instant Office Action.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2, 6, 10, 13, 15, 34 and 50-51 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 20 January 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and the species election of the compound I-17,
, in the reply filed on 20 January 2026 is acknowledged.
The Examiner did not find prior art on the elected species. In the search of the
claimed species, prior art which reads on the genus and subsequent compounds of the
claimed invention was found. Thus, the species election was expanded to include
species identified in the below prior art rejection. As detailed in the following art rejection, the generic claim encompassing the elected species was not found patentable.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 14, 16-17, 21, 23, 29, 39, 45-47, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Bearss et al. (US Patent No. 11,161,852).
The applied reference has a common Assignee and Inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Bearss discloses a genus, shown below, similar to that of the Applicant, which reads on the compounds of the instantly claimed invention. This reference teaches compounds which read on the limitations of the genus when A = C10 aryl or 9-10 membered heterocyclyl; X = CH or N; Y = NH; R1 = H; R2 = C1-C6 alkyl, C2-C6 alkenyl, C2-C6 alkynyl; R3 = H (Col. 13, Lines 11-61); R4 =
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
, or
(Col. 16-17, Lines 60-67 and 1-33, respectively); R5 = H (Col 13, Line 62).
Genus taught by Bearss
(Col 13, Lines 13-26)
Genus taught by Applicant
With respect to claim 14, Bearss teaches wherein the A ring can be a C10 aryl (Col. 13, Line 30) which reads on the limitations of the instant claim when
is
.
With respect to claim 16, Bearss teaches wherein X is nitrogen (Col. 13, Line 33) which reads on the limitations of the instant claim which recites that the equivalent moiety of the Applicant’s structure, Z, is nitrogen.
Regarding claim 17, the genus taught by Bearss, as shown above, does not have an equivalent moiety to the X moiety taught by the Applicant. However, the atom in place of the Applicant’s moiety is a carbon atom with an R3 moiety which reads on the limitations of the instant claim when R3 = H (Col. 13, Lines 33 and 43).
Regarding claim 21, Bearss teaches wherein R2 is C1-C6 alkyl, C2-C6 alkenyl, and C2-C6 alkynyl each of which is optionally substituted (Col. 13, Lines 36-40).
With respect to claim 23, Bearss teaches wherein R2 is cyclopropyl or cyclobutyl (Col. 14, Line 27)
With respect to claim 29, Bearss teaches wherein R2 is
(Col. 14, Lines 46-54).
Regarding claim 39, Bearss teaches wherein R4 is isoxazolyl (Col. 13, Line 49)
Regarding claim 45, Bearss teaches wherein R4 can be
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
,
, or
(Col. 16-17, Lines 60-67 and 1-33, respectively); R5 = H (Col 13, Line 62).
Regarding claim 46, while Bearss does not exemplify a compound of the instantly claimed invention, the contents of the prior art teach the limitations of a compound of the instant claim (e.g., Compound I-1).
With respect to claim 47, Bearss teaches wherein the compound of the disclosure is capable of inhibiting NEK7 and/or modulating the activity of NLRP3 inflammasome (Col. 11, Lines 47-50).
With respect to claim 49, Bearss teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable diluents, excipients, and carriers (Col. 79, Lines 23-26).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art, Bearss, teaches wherein A can be C10 aryl or 9-10 membered heterocyclyl, which reads, in part, on the limitations of independent claim 1. However, Bearss does not teach wherein A is a bicyclic heteroaryl and instead teaches a 5-6 membered monocyclic heteroaryl (Col. 13, Line 30-31).
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As shown above, the A ring as taught by Bearss is not explicitly drawn to a 6-membered heteroaryl containing a moiety at an equivalent point similar to that of the Applicant’s genus. Instead, Bearss exemplification of the A ring monocyclic heteroaryl has the nitrogen atom in a different location as shown,
(Col. 28, Lines 17-20).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
JUSTIN CHRISTOPHER SANCHEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 1622
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622