DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claims 7, 16 and 17 all depend on claim 1 and reference organic linker groups L1 and L2. In claim 1, organic linker group L1 is present in component (A1) only if n is greater than 1 and organic linker L2 is present only if Y is chosen to comprise L2. Since the variables n and Y render the organic linker groups optional for component (A1) of claim 1 and the cited claims do not impose conditions that would render them non-optional, the cited claims are interpreted as inheriting the optionality for L1-- and L2 found in claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: the repetition of listed organic linker groups (shown below).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the multifunctional (meth)acryloyl compound (A4)" in the first three lines of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "more preferably selected from" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are necessary or optional limitation(s) of the claimed invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "(meth)acryloyl compound (A4)" in the last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are necessary or optional limitation(s) of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 16, where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The terms “left-hand” and “right-hand” in claim 16 are used by the claim to mean the left or right “dashed line” of the organic linker groups, while the accepted meaning is “referring to bond stereochemistry as either right-handed or left-handed.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 9-14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abuelyaman (WO 20190175716 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 2, 5 and 9-14, Abuelyaman teaches a free-radical-polymerizable composition for 3-D printed dental applications (page 2, line 15 – page 3, line 14; figure 2) comprising:
A1) 50 wt.% a polymerizable (meth)acryloyl compound which contains a urethane group of the following formula (Formula (VII); Example 1; Table 4, E12):
Which, with reference to the claimed formula I,
comprises:
Y = H2C=(R1)-C(=O)-X-L2-
R1 = CH3
X = O
L2 = a divalent organic linker group
Z = Y
n = 0
w = 70 (page 11, line 12)
n*v+w = 70
A2) tetrahydrofurfuryl methacrylate, a monofunctional (meth)acryloyl compound (page 21, lines 19-35);
A3) Tetra ethylene glycol dimethacrylate (TEGDMA), a difunctional (meth)acryloyl compound (Table 4, E12);
B) 1 wt.% 2,4,6- trimethylbenzoyldiphenyl phosphine oxide (TPO) (Table 4, E12); and
A4) pentaerythritol tetramethacrylate, a multifunctional (meth)acryloyl compound (page 20, line 5).
Regarding claims 7, 16 and 17, Abuelyaman applies as referenced above and further teaches the following polymerizable (meth)acryloyl compound (annotated by the examiner):
Component (a) is the polypropylene oxide monomer, (b) is the organic linker, and component (c) is a dimethacrylate. Component (b) is a claimed organic linker. Abuelyaman also teaches that a suitable monofunctional methacrylate for component (c) is methacrylic acid (page 14, line 9), and that a suitable polypropylene oxide for component (a) can have an average molecular weight of 4,000 g/mol (page 9, lines 25-35). A person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the instant application would have found it obvious to substitute component (a) for a polypropylene oxide having an average molecular weight of 4,000 g/mol, retain component (b), and substitute component (c) for methacrylic acid with the expected result of arriving at the claimed composition.
Claims 3, 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abuelyaman (WO 20190175716 A1) in view of Jia (US 20030207960 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 4 and 18, Abuelyaman teaches as explained above for components (A1) and (B), but fails to teach the claimed ranges for components (A2), (A3) and (A4).
Jia teaches a polymerizable dental adhesive composition (abstract) which comprises:
A2) 35.2 wt.% hydroxyethyl methacrylate (HEMA), a monofunctional (meth)acryloyl compound;
A3) 9.1 wt.% Bisphenol A-glycidyl methacrylate (Bis-GMA), a difunctional (meth)acryloyl compound; and
A4) 2.1 wt.% trimethylolpropane tri(meth)acrylate (TMPTMA), a multifunctional (meth)acryloyl compound (Table 2, Example 17).
As of the effective filing date of the instant application, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to take the teaching from Jia regarding the amounts of components HEMA, Bis-GMA, and TMPTMA useful in polymerizable dental applications and apply them to the composition of Abuelyaman to arrive at the expected result of the claimed composition.
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abuelyaman (WO 20190175716 A1) in view of Zhipeng (CN 112812265 A).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Abuelyaman applies as described above with respect to component (A1) having formula I, and further teaches that the average molecular weight of polypropylene oxide (glycol) is a result-effective variable on viscosity (page 9, lines 25-35), but fails to teach a component of formula I having a molecular weight of greater than 5,000 g/mol.
Zhipeng teaches polypropylene glycol acrylate copolymers used in radically polymerized compositions comprising polypropylene glycol 6000 (meaning having an average molecular weight of 6,000 g/mol) which is reacted with an acrylate and an isocyanate to form a polyurethane acrylate copolymer similar to formula I of the instant application (synthesis example 6).
A person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the instant application would have found it obvious to use the polypropylene glycol of Zhipeng with the goal of increasing the viscosity of the composition of Abuelyaman to arrive at the expected result of the claimed (meth)acryloyl compound of formula I. Additionally, the resulting compound produced would have the following structure as applied to formula (VII) of Abuelyaman:
Wherein (the polypropylene glycol monomer which is highlighted in green to illustrate how it reads onto formula I of the instant application):
Where:
Y = H2C=(R1)-C(=O)-X-L2-
R1 = CH3
X = O
Z = Y
L1-- = propylene glycol (a divalent organic linker group)
L2 = a divalent organic linker group
n = 1
v = 36
w = 66
n*v+w = 102
v + w = 102
The examiner notes that the numerical values for v and w above were obtained by dividing the average molecular weight of the polypropylene glycol 6000 of Zhipeng (6,000 g/mol) by the molecular mass of the glycol subunit (58 g/mol) to arrive at v + w = 103. Value v must be at least 36, and L1 is 1 unit of glycol, leaving w to equal 66.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Amiel-Levy (US 20200231803 A1) describes PPG-PEG-PPG block copolymers that are acrylated for use in 3-D printing applications.
/KOLTON JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 1763 /JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763