DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Invention A (Claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 11/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/03/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/14/2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “all-electric vehicle” (Claim 9) and “off-highway vehicle” (Claim 10) must all be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Versini et al. (US 11,655,863 also published as US PG PUB 20230151856 A1).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Versini discloses: An electric drive system (See, e.g. Fig.1-4, 100+102+300+302), comprising:
a gearbox (See, e.g. Fig.1-4, 136+304) including: a first shaft (See, e.g. Fig.1-4) rotationally coupled to a higher voltage electric motor (See, e.g. Fig.1-4, 341+306+308); and a second shaft (See, e.g. Fig.1-4) rotationally coupled to a lower voltage electric generator and motor assembly (See, e.g. Fig.1-4, 343+308+310); and
an inverter (See, e.g. Fig.1-4, 341) electrically coupled to the higher voltage electric motor (See, e.g. Fig.1-40) and an energy storage device (See, e.g. Fig.1-4, 330); and wherein the lower voltage electric generator and motor assembly is configured to rotationally couple to an auxiliary device (See, e.g. Fig.1-4, 344+342+319).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 2, Versini discloses: wherein the lower voltage electric generator and motor assembly includes: a lower voltage generator that is rotationally coupled to the second shaft (See, e.g. Fig.1-4, 343); and a lower voltage electric motor electrically coupled to the lower voltage generator and rotationally coupled to the auxiliary device (See, e.g. Fig.1-4, 343).
[Claim 3] Regarding Claim 3, Versini discloses: wherein the first shaft is an input shaft (See, e.g. Fig.1-4).
[Claim 4] Regarding Claim 4, Versini discloses: wherein the second shaft is an intermediate shaft (See, e.g. Fig.1-4).
[Claim 5] Regarding Claim 5, Versini discloses: further comprising an output shaft and a gear train which includes gears on the input shaft, the intermediate shaft, and the output shaft that mesh with one another (See, e.g. Fig.1-4).
[Claim 6] Regarding Claim 6, Versini discloses: further comprising a disconnect clutch configured to selectively disconnect the lower voltage electric generator and motor assembly from the second shaft (See, e.g. Fig.1-4, 345+346+141+etc.).
[Claim 7] Regarding Claim 7, Versini discloses: further comprising a controller (See, e.g. Fig.1-4, 193+332+334) including instructions that when executed, when a power demand from the auxiliary device is less than a threshold value, cause the controller to: disengage the disconnect clutch (See, e.g. Fig.1-4).
[Claim 8] Regarding Claim 8, Versini discloses: wherein the higher voltage electric motor is a higher voltage traction motor (See, e.g. Fig.1-4, 341).
[Claim 9] Regarding Claim 9, Versini discloses: wherein the electric drive system is included in an all-electric vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-4).
[Claim 10] Regarding Claim 10, Versini discloses: wherein the all-electric vehicle is an off-highway vehicle (See, e.g. Fig.1-4).
[Claim 11] Regarding Claim 11, Versini discloses: wherein the gearbox is a single speed gearbox (See, e.g. Fig.1-4).
[Claim 12] Regarding Claim 12, Versini discloses: wherein the auxiliary device is an electric pump, an electric actuator, an electric steering device, or an electric parking brake (See, e.g. Fig.1-4, 344+342+319).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613