DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/467,573 filed on 09/14/2023.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 01/30/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1, 4, 11, 15, 18, 25, 29, 30 are amended.
-Claims 1-30 are pending.
-Claims 1-30 are rejected.
Response to Remarks/Amendments
4. Applicant's remarks and arguments, see page 10-11, filed on 01/30/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. §112(f) have been noted in light of the requirements set forth in the 112 (f) interpretation provided in the previous office action. Regarding additional paragraphs cited by applicant, a review indicates correspondence in these applicant cited paragraphs, to the structures identified in the figures and paragraphs previously cited by the office in the previous office action.
5. Applicant's remarks and arguments, see page 11, filed on 01/30/2026, with respect to Objections to the Claims have been considered in light of applicant’s remarks and amendments. The Claim Objections pertaining to Claims 11, 5, 15, 19, 29, 30 as applicable to the previous office action have been withdrawn.
6. Applicant's remarks and arguments, see page 11, filed on 01/30/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. § 112 (b) have been considered in light of applicant’s remarks and amendments. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (b) pertaining to Claims 11 and 25 as applicable to the previous office action are not withdrawn at least for reasons noted below under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (b).
7. Applicant's remarks and arguments, see page 12-16, filed on 01/30/2026, with respect to Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are not persuasive because the arguments do not apply to the grounds of rejection being used in the current rejection.
Furthermore, remarks with respect to Rejections of Dependent Claims, have been considered, and are not persuasive at least (i) via dependency to the independent claims, (ii) via individual rejections addressing the specific dependent claims, and (iii) via response to applicant’s remarks pertaining to dependent claim 11-13 and 25-28 as referenced and detailed below.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
A. Regarding applicant’s remarks pertaining to independent claims 1, 15, 29, and 30, and to the extent this office action continues to rely upon ABREU et al. (US 20250056570 A1) i.e. “ABREU”, in view of WANG et al. (US 20220167310 A1) i.e. “WANG” to reject Claim 1 (i.e. used as an example also representing parallel features in claim 15, 29, 30), the office action respectfully contends applicant’s remarks and arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant in applicant’s remarks (See page 12 (ln 13-16)), indicates:
“the cited references do not teach or suggest at least "wherein a format of the sidelink feedback message is associated with an uplink control channel format 0" as recited in independent claim 1, or "wherein the format is associated with an uplink control channel format 2," as is also recited in independent claim 1”
and furthermore asserting (See page 13 (ln 1-2, 11-16) that
“the cited features of Wang are not the same as those recited in independent claim 1”,
and
“Wang's teaching of transmission of sidelink feedback "using a waveform similar to PUCCH format O" does not necessarily teach that "a format of the sidelink feedback message is associated with an uplink control channel format O," as recited in independent claim 1. Wang is also silent regarding the alternative recitation in claim 1: "wherein the format is associated with an uplink control channel format 2."”
B. In response to item A, the office action references rejection of claim 1 (i.e. used as an example also representing parallel features in claim 15, 29, 30) presented as being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, as being unpatentable over ABREU in view of WANG (See office action), where ABREU and WANG as relied upon for teaching claim 1 limitations of applicant’s contention, presents the following:
ABREU which in addition other limitations presented for claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1) also teaches:
wherein a format of the sidelink feedback message is associated with an uplink control channel format 0 ( ABREU & FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0060 […] a frame structure 400 of a sidelink slot with PSFCH. The PSFCH transmits a sequence in one PRB repeated over two OFDM symbols, the first of which can be used for AGC, near the end of the sidelink resource in a slot. An example of slot format of PSCCH, PSSCH, and PSFCH is provided in the following figure. The sequence as base sequence is (pre-) configured per sidelink resource pool.; ¶0069 […] The scenario where a RX UE needs to transmit PSFCHs (using existing R16/17 PSFCH format 0) across multiple unlicensed channels within a SL BWP in a same slot has been discussed );
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses & teaches: per FIG. 4 & ¶0060 i.e. The PSFCH transmits a sequence in one PRB repeated over two OFDM symbols reads on: wherein a format of the sidelink feedback message where per ¶0069 i.e. UE needs to transmit PSFCHs (using existing R16/17 PSFCH format 0) where feedback message PSFCH are in an uplink direction in association with corresponding downlink direction PSSCH reads on: is associated with an uplink control channel format 0.
and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over a plurality of resource blocks of the sidelink slot structure (ABREU & FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0060 See above; ¶0061 […] The time resources for PSFCH are (pre-) configured to occur once in every 1, 2, or 4 slots […] The HARQ feedback resource (PSFCH) is derived from the resource location of PSCCH/PSSCH ; ¶0062 […] The time occasion for PSFCH is determined from K. For a PSSCH transmission with its last symbol in slot n, HARQ feedback is in slot n+a where a is the smallest integer larger than or equal to K with the condition that slot n+a contains PSFCH resources. As an example illustrated in FIG. 5 (which illustrates a mapping 500 between PSSCHs and PSFCHs), the period of PSFCH resources is configured as 2, and K is configured as 2);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses & teaches: FIG. 5 utilizing FIG. 4 structure depicts PFSCH 0 and PSFCH 1 reads on: and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over a plurality of resource blocks of the sidelink slot structure associated with PSSCH in slot 1 and slot 2 .
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
wherein the format is associated with an uplink control channel format 2 and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over more than two symbols of the sidelink slot structure (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
Which the office action respectfully contends and conveys that the limitations “wherein the format is associated with an uplink control channel format 2 and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over more than two symbols of the sidelink slot structure” separated by and subsequent to a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight for Claim 1 as recited.
The office action furthermore notes that:
While ABREU teaches an uplink control channel format as referenced and interpreted above, assuming arguendo that ABREU implies uplink, and that:
ABREU does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (note see italicized portions): an uplink control channel format;
WANG teaches: wherein a format of the sidelink feedback message is associated with an uplink control channel format 0 and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over a plurality of resource blocks of the sidelink slot structure (WANG FIG. 9, FIG. 15 & FIG. 16 & ¶0089 […]in one of PUCCH formats (e.g., Format 0), there may be one resource block (RB) carrying HARQ-ACK information for a single PSSCH transmission, where the PSFCH format 0 sequence may be repeated on 2 PSFCH symbols. For example, referring back to FIG. 9, for the PSFCH 904 with two OFDM symbols, one symbol (e.g., a symbol 908) may be used for providing the HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK or NACK), and another symbol (e.g., a symbol 906) may be a duplication of the HARQ feedback (e.g., duplication of the symbol 908); ¶0109 […] when a short PSFCH 1504 is configured for a sidelink device, the sidelink may transmit the HARQ feedback using a waveform similar to PUCCH format 0. For example, as shown at 1508, the transmitting device may use one (1) RB and two (2) symbols for transmitting the HARQ feedback, where one symbol and one RB may include the HARQ feedback and another symbol and RB may include the repetition/duplication of the HARQ feedback […] at 1510, the transmitting device may use multiple RBs and one/two symbols for transmitting the HARQ feedback […] the transmitting device may use five (5) RBs and two symbols per RB for transmitting the HARQ feedback, where one or more RBs of a symbol may include the HARQ feedback and one or more RBs of another symbol may include the repetition/duplication of the HARQ feedback. By using more RBs for transmitting the HARQ feedback, the reliability for sidelink HARQ reporting may be improved; ¶0118 […] The repeated transmission of short format HARQ using all symbols of the long PSFCH 1602 may be good for automatic gain control (AGC) calibration, and it may also improve the reception quality);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses & teaches: per FIG. 15 & ¶0109 i.e. the sidelink may transmit the HARQ feedback using a waveform similar to PUCCH format 0 and furthermore i.e. per ¶0089 i.e. in one of PUCCH formats (e.g., Format 0), there may be one resource block (RB) carrying HARQ-ACK information for a single PSSCH transmission, where i.e. the PSFCH format 0 sequence may be repeated on 2 PSFCH symbols reads on: wherein a format of the sidelink feedback message is associated with an uplink control channel format 0 , i.e. specifically in both instances of teachings from ¶0109 i.e. sidelink HARQ feedback and ¶0089 i.e. sidelink feedback such as a format of PFSCH, is explicitly taught as being associated with PUCCH formats (e.g., Format 0) or uplink control channel format 0, where furthermore per ¶0089 i.e. the PSFCH format 0 sequence is i.e. repeated on 2 PSFCH symbols associated with PUCCH format 0,as depicted in FIG. 9.
Furthermore, per FIG. 15 & ¶109 i.e. at 1510, the transmitting device may use multiple RBs and one/two symbols for transmitting the HARQ feedback and likewise per ¶0089 i.e. in one of PUCCH formats (e.g., Format 0), there may be one resource block (RB) carrying HARQ-ACK information for a single PSSCH transmission, where i.e. the PSFCH format 0 sequence may be repeated on 2 PSFCH symbols reads on: and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over a plurality of resource blocks where slot structure depicted or FIG. 9, FIG. 15 & FIG. 16 reads on: of the sidelink slot structure.
Furthermore regarding applicant’s remarks “Wang is also silent regarding the alternative recitation in claim 1: "wherein the format is associated with an uplink control channel format 2." The office action reiterates as acknowledged by applicant that the limitations “wherein the format is associated with an uplink control channel format 2 and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over more than two symbols of the sidelink slot structure” separated by and subsequent to a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight for Claim 1 as recited.
C. As such, the office action respectfully contends that applicant’s remarks and arguments as cited are not persuasive since ABREU in view of WANG as relied upon in combination discloses, teaches and reads upon each and every claim 1 limitation presented.
The office action notes that applicant does not specifically address any of the teachings of ABREU as noted herein, where In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, the office action notes that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Furthermore where specific remarks are directed towards WANG as noted in item A above, WANG is clearly shown to disclose, teach and read upon claim 1 limitations of applicant’s contention as referenced herein above. Applicant’s remarks as presented do not address why WANG’s teachings as presented in this office action (i.e. including the previous most recent office action) do not disclose, teach and read upon claim 1 limitations as recited for which WANG is relied upon as presented above.
Furthermore, in response to applicant's argument that WANG fails to show certain features of the invention, this office action notes that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., see applicant’s remarks page 13 (ln 5-9) “a number of different PUCCH formats that are differentiated by, for example, the number of symbols occupied by the message of a given format and the number of bits carried by the message for the given format. These aspects of "format" are different from the "waveform" on which a message ( of a given format) may be carried.”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant is respectfully directed to the grounds of rejection of claim 1 (i.e. used as an example also representing parallel features in claim 15, 29, 30) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABREU in view of WANG (See office action).
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
D. Regarding applicant’s remarks pertaining to Dependent Claims 11-13 and 25-28, the office action respectfully contends applicant’s remarks and arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant in applicant’s remarks (see page 15 (ln 11-14)) indicates “not only has the Office Action not provided a sufficiently articulate and informative rejection, the Office Action has not provided any rejection of claims 11-13 and 25-28. A rejection of claims 11-13 and 25-28 will necessarily require a showing of the second alternative of claim 1, in addition to a showing of the teachings of claims 11-13 and 25-28. "
E. In response to item D the office action respectfully disagrees. The rejection of independent claim 1 in this office action and the previous most recent office action clearly notes and communicates to applicant as presented and as referenced above, that limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight.
Furthermore in the rejection of claim 1 in this office action as well as the previous most recent office action clearly notes and conveys to applicant that limitations from the claim 1 below (referenced herein after as “alternative limitation 2”) i.e.
“wherein the format is associated with an uplink control channel format 2 and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over more than two symbols of the sidelink slot structure” ,
are identified as limitations separated by a recitation “or” and are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight in examining and rejecting claim 1.
Furthermore consistent with interpretation presented and conveyed for the rejection of claim 1 by the office, the preceding is also acknowledged by applicant (see page 14 (ln 6-13)) where applicant indicates “This assertion is not contested”, and therefore applicant acknowledges that the office provides a sufficiently articulate and informative rejection communicating to applicant based upon consideration and interpretation of independent claim 1 (i.e. used as an example also representing parallel features in claim 15, 29, 30) that the alternative limitation 2” is explicitly presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight, and therefore for the alternative limitation 2 to be given appropriate patentable weight and consideration in the rejection of claim 1, the claim 1 limitations would have to present via amendment the alternative limitation 2 in a manner that explicitly does not present the alternative limitation 2 in the alternative, and explicitly recites and requires the alternative limitation 2 as part of the claim 1 limitations defining applicant’s invention.
As noted in the rejection of claim 1 in this office action and the previous most recent office action, the alternative limitation 2 is treated appropriately and rejected without any prior art applied including consistent with MPEP 2131 “When a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art.” Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001)”. In this case another alternative limitation in claim 1 recited prior to the recitation “or” is clearly addressed and rejected by the rejection of claim 1 (See office action).
Therefore, at least based upon the reasons presented, this office action respectfully contends that the rejection of claim 1 in this office action and the previous most recent office action is sufficiently articulate and informative to allow applicant to counter the grounds of rejection in the previous most recent office action by at least presenting the alternative limitation 2 in a manner that explicitly does not present the alternative limitation 2 in the alternative, and but explicitly recites and requires the alternative limitation 2 as part of the claim 1 limitations defining applicant’s invention to effect appropriate consideration.
Regarding the rejections presented for dependent Claims 11-13, where claims 11-13 are recited as depending from claim 1, and per requirements for a dependent claim are interpreted to further define the alternative limitation 2 subject matter defined in the claim 1 limitations presented, the rejections presented for claim 11-13 clearly conveys both in this office action and the previous most recent office action, as also acknowledged by applicant (see page 14 ln (19-27)) that "the limitations of claim 11 [and 12 and 13] are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required” as especially pertaining to the limitation “the sidelink feedback message over the more than two symbols”.
As such this office action respectfully contends that the rejections presented for dependent Claims 11-13 clearly conveys that limitations presented in dependent Claims 11-13 further define the alternative limitation 2 subject matter defined in the claim 1 and therefore the dependent Claims 11-13 are an extension of the alternative limitation 2 in the claim 1 which are treated appropriately and rejected without any prior art applied consistent the same treatment of the alternative limitation 2 in the claim 1. Therefore, applicant’s remarks in items D “A rejection of claims 11-13 and 25-28 will necessarily require a showing of the second alternative of claim 1, in addition to a showing of the teachings of claims 11-13 and 25-28, continue not to apply.
Therefore, at least based upon the reasons presented, this office action respectfully furthermore contends that the rejections presented for dependent Claims 11-13 in this office action and the previous most recent office action are sufficiently articulate and informative to allow applicant to counter the grounds of rejection in the previous most recent office action by at least presenting the alternative limitation 2 in the claim 1 in a manner that explicitly does not present the alternative limitation 2 in the alternative, and but rather explicitly recites and requires the alternative limitation 2 as part of the claim 1 limitations defining applicant’s invention for appropriate consideration. The foregoing therefore would also apply via dependency to limitations presented in the alternative for the dependent claims 11-13.
The above rationale and reasons apply in parallel to independent Claim 15 and dependent claims 25-28 which recite parallel features, and are subject to the same remarks presented for claim 1 and claim 11-13.
Therefore, at least for the reasons noted above, applicants remarks (See item D above) regarding dependent Claims 11-13 and 25-28 are not persuasive since rejections of dependent Claims 11-13 and 25-28 are clearly presented and convey the sufficiently articulate and informative rejections noted above, and as a result allowing applicant to appropriately counter the grounds of rejection presented.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claim 11, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A. Regarding Claim 11, Claim 25 - Claim 11 (i.e. Claim 11 used as an example representing Claim 25) is amended to now recite “a mapping of the more than two symbols to the plurality Furthermore as noted above (see response to arguments) and in the rejection presented for Claim 11, Claim 11 depends from claim 1, and the claim 11 limitations associate with and recite “sidelink feedback message over the more than two symbols” which is presented in the alternative in claim 1, and therefore the limitations in claim 11 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required.
Furthermore claim 1 recites
(i) “wherein a format of the sidelink feedback message is associated with an uplink control channel format 0 and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over a plurality of resource blocks of the sidelink slot structure”
“or”
(ii) “wherein the format is associated with an uplink control channel format 2 and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over more than two symbols of the sidelink slot structure”,
where as noted in the rejection of claim 1, limitations in item (i) and item (ii) are limitations separated by a recitation “or” and are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 11, the office action notes that significant questions about lack of clear antecedent basis are raised pertaining to recitation “the plurality specifically in a case when limitations in the item (ii) referenced above are applied in the alternative pertaining to Claim 11, and limitations in the item (i) introducing “a plurality of resource blocks” as referenced above, are not applied and not required. In the case above, the office action respectfully contends that there is a lack of clarity as to how or where “the plurality finds antecedent basis since “the plurality conflictingly points to limitations in item (i) which is not required and is presented in the alternative.
Claim 25 which similarly depends from claim 15 and recites parallel features to claim 11 and claim 1, is subject to the same issues identified for claim 11.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable to reflect applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
set forth in this Office action:
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
11. Claims 1, 2, 11-15, 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABREU et al. (US 20250056570 A1) i.e. “ABREU”, in view of WANG et al. (US 20220167310 A1) i.e. “WANG”.
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended) ABREU teaches: A user equipment (UE) (ABREU FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0059 […] PSFCH for sidelink communication was specified to carry Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) feedback over the sidelink (at physical layer) from a UE which is an intended recipient of a PSSCH transmission (henceforth an Rx UE) to the UE which performed the transmission (henceforth a Tx UE) […] A UE may be indicated by a sidelink control information (SCI) format scheduling a PSSCH reception to transmit a PSFCH with HARQ-ACK information in response to the PSSCH reception; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0059 i.e. a UE which is an intended recipient of a PSSCH transmission (henceforth an Rx UE) reads on: A user equipment (UE) ),
comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE (ABREU – FIG. 10 & ¶0191 […] a device 1000 that is suitable for implementing example embodiments ;¶0195 […] A computer program 1030 includes computer executable instructions that are executed by the associated processor 1010. The instructions of the program 1030 may include instructions for performing operations/acts of some example embodiments of the present disclosure. The program 1030 may be stored in the memory, e.g., the ROM 1024.[…] ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 10 & ¶0195 i.e. stored in the memory, e.g., the ROM 1024 reads on: comprising: one or more memories i.e. program 1030 may be stored reads on: storing processor-executable code; per ¶0195 i.e. program 1030 includes computer executable instructions that are executed by the associated processor 1010 reads on: and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code , and per ¶0185 i.e. program 1030 may include instructions for performing operations/acts of some example embodiments applied to per ¶0191 i.e. a device 1000 that is suitable for implementing example embodiments reads on: to cause the UE )
to: participate in sidelink communication (ABREU FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0059 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. to carry Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) feedback over the sidelink (at physical layer) from a UE which is an intended recipient of a PSSCH transmission (henceforth an Rx UE) to the UE which performed the transmission (henceforth a Tx UE) reads on: to: participate in sidelink communication )
in accordance with a sidelink slot structure used in a wireless network (ABREU FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0060 […] a frame structure 400 of a sidelink slot with PSFCH. The PSFCH transmits a sequence in one PRB repeated over two OFDM symbols, the first of which can be used for AGC, near the end of the sidelink resource in a slot. An example of slot format of PSCCH, PSSCH, and PSFCH is provided in the following figure. The sequence as base sequence is (pre-) configured per sidelink resource pool.; ¶0062 […] The time occasion for PSFCH is determined from K. For a PSSCH transmission with its last symbol in slot n, HARQ feedback is in slot n+a where a is the smallest integer larger than or equal to K with the condition that slot n+a contains PSFCH resources. As an example illustrated in FIG. 5 (which illustrates a mapping 500 between PSSCHs and PSFCHs), the period of PSFCH resources is configured as 2, and K is configured as 2 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 4 & ¶0060 i.e. a frame structure 400 of a sidelink slot and i.e. slot format of PSCCH, PSSCH, and PSFCH is provided where per FIG. 5 & ¶0062 i.e. a mapping 500 between PSSCHs and PSFCHs), the period of PSFCH resources is configured as 2 reads on: in accordance with a sidelink slot structure, where per i.e. slot format of PSCCH, PSSCH, and PSFCH is provided in the following figure. The sequence as base sequence is (pre-) configured per sidelink resource pool reads on: used in a wireless network in conjunction with sidelink for per ¶0059 i.e. a UE which is an intended recipient of a PSSCH transmission (henceforth an Rx UE) to the UE which performed the transmission (henceforth a Tx UE) ),
wherein the sidelink slot structure includes a set of periodic automatic gain control candidate transmission time intervals that are common across the wireless network (ABREU & FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 ¶0060 See above; ¶0061 […] The time resources for PSFCH are (pre-) configured to occur once in every 1, 2, or 4 slots […] The HARQ feedback resource (PSFCH) is derived from the resource location of PSCCH/PSSCH; ¶0062 See above ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0061 PSFCH are (pre-) configured to occur once in every 1, 2, or 4 slots and using per ¶0060 & FIG. 4 i.e. structure 400 of a sidelink slot with PSFCH and per ¶0062 i.e. a mapping 500 between PSSCHs and PSFCHs), the period of PSFCH resources is configured as 2 reads on: wherein the sidelink slot structure , where per ¶0061 PSFCH are (pre-) configured to occur once in every 1, 2, or 4 slots and per ¶0062 the period of PSFCH resources is configured as 2 and per ¶0060 i.e. The PSFCH transmits a sequence in one PRB repeated over two OFDM symbols, the first of which can be used for AGC therefore also (pre-) configured to occur once in every 1, 2, or 4 slots reads on: a set of periodic automatic gain control candidate transmission time intervals comprising i.e. The PSFCH transmits a sequence in one PRB repeated over two OFDM symbols, the first of which can be used for AGC, occurring at a slot interval of 2 with the PSFCH. Per ¶0061 i.e. time resources for PSFCH are (pre-) configured […] and therefore AGC in the first PFSCH symbol reads on: that are common across the wireless network i.e. to occur once in every 1, 2, or 4 slots);
monitor for a sidelink message during a monitoring interval associated with the set of (ABREU & FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0061 see above; ¶0062 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0061 i.e. The HARQ feedback resource (PSFCH) is derived from the resource location of PSCCH/PSSCH where per ¶0059 i.e. carry Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) feedback over the sidelink (at physical layer) from a UE which is an intended recipient of a PSSCH transmission (henceforth an Rx UE) i.e. per 0061 i.e. the resource location of PSCCH/PSSCH where per ¶0059 a UE which is an intended recipient of a PSSCH transmission reads on: monitor for a sidelink message during a monitoring interval where per ¶0061 i.e. The HARQ feedback resource (PSFCH) is derived from the resource location of PSCCH/PSSCH and per FIG. 5 & ¶0062 i.e. a mapping 500 between PSSCHs and PSFCHs), the period of PSFCH resources is configured as 2, and K is configured as 2 reads on: associated with , where per ¶0061 PSFCH are (pre-) configured to occur once in every 1, 2, or 4 slots and per ¶0062 the period of PSFCH resources is configured as 2 and per ¶0060 i.e. The PSFCH transmits a sequence in one PRB repeated over two OFDM symbols, the first of which can be used for AGC reads on: the set of common and periodic automatic gain control candidate transmission time intervals);
and transmit a sidelink feedback message in accordance with the monitoring (ABREU & FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0061 see above; ¶0062 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0061 i.e. The HARQ feedback resource (PSFCH) is derived and per FIG. 5 & ¶0062 i.e. a mapping 500 between PSSCHs and PSFCHs reads on: and transmit a sidelink feedback message per ¶0061 i.e. from the resource location of PSCCH/PSSCH reads on: in accordance with the monitoring ), wherein a format of the sidelink feedback message is associated with an uplink control channel format 0 ( ABREU & FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0060 See above; ¶0061 see above; ¶0062 See above; ¶0069 […] The scenario where a RX UE needs to transmit PSFCHs (using existing R16/17 PSFCH format 0) across multiple unlicensed channels within a SL BWP in a same slot has been discussed ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 4 & ¶0060 i.e. The PSFCH transmits a sequence in one PRB repeated over two OFDM symbols reads on: wherein a format of the sidelink feedback message where per ¶0069 i.e. UE needs to transmit PSFCHs (using existing R16/17 PSFCH format 0) where feedback message PSFCH are in an uplink direction in association with corresponding downlink direction PSSCH reads on: is associated with an uplink control channel format 0)
and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over a plurality of resource blocks of the sidelink slot structure (ABREU & FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0060 See above; ¶0061 see above; ¶0062 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 5 utilizing FIG. 4 structure depicts PFSCH 0 and PSFCH 1 reads on: and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over a plurality of resource blocks of the sidelink slot structure associated with PSSCH in slot 1 and slot 2 ),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
wherein the format is associated with an uplink control channel format 2 and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over more than two symbols of the sidelink slot structure (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
While ABREU teaches an uplink control channel format as referenced and interpreted above,
ABREU does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (note see italicized portions): an uplink control channel format;
WANG teaches: wherein a format of the sidelink feedback message is associated with an uplink control channel format 0 and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over a plurality of resource blocks of the sidelink slot structure (WANG FIG. 9, FIG. 15 & FIG. 16 & ¶0089 […]in one of PUCCH formats (e.g., Format 0), there may be one resource block (RB) carrying HARQ-ACK information for a single PSSCH transmission, where the PSFCH format 0 sequence may be repeated on 2 PSFCH symbols. For example, referring back to FIG. 9, for the PSFCH 904 with two OFDM symbols, one symbol (e.g., a symbol 908) may be used for providing the HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK or NACK), and another symbol (e.g., a symbol 906) may be a duplication of the HARQ feedback (e.g., duplication of the symbol 908); ¶0109 […] when a short PSFCH 1504 is configured for a sidelink device, the sidelink may transmit the HARQ feedback using a waveform similar to PUCCH format 0. For example, as shown at 1508, the transmitting device may use one (1) RB and two (2) symbols for transmitting the HARQ feedback, where one symbol and one RB may include the HARQ feedback and another symbol and RB may include the repetition/duplication of the HARQ feedback […] at 1510, the transmitting device may use multiple RBs and one/two symbols for transmitting the HARQ feedback […] the transmitting device may use five (5) RBs and two symbols per RB for transmitting the HARQ feedback, where one or more RBs of a symbol may include the HARQ feedback and one or more RBs of another symbol may include the repetition/duplication of the HARQ feedback. By using more RBs for transmitting the HARQ feedback, the reliability for sidelink HARQ reporting may be improved; ¶0118 […] The repeated transmission of short format HARQ using all symbols of the long PSFCH 1602 may be good for automatic gain control (AGC) calibration, and it may also improve the reception quality;
NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 15 & ¶0109 i.e. the sidelink may transmit the HARQ feedback using a waveform similar to PUCCH format 0 and furthermore i.e. per ¶0089 i.e. in one of PUCCH formats (e.g., Format 0), there may be one resource block (RB) carrying HARQ-ACK information for a single PSSCH transmission, where i.e. the PSFCH format 0 sequence may be repeated on 2 PSFCH symbols reads on: wherein a format of the sidelink feedback message is associated with an uplink control channel format 0 , i.e. in both instances both sidelink feedback such as a format of PFSCH is associated explicitly with PUCCH formats (e.g., Format 0) where the PSFCH format 0 sequence is i.e. repeated on 2 PSFCH symbols associated with PUUCH format 0 as depicted in FIG. 9.
Furthermore, per FIG. 15 & ¶109 i.e. at 1510, the transmitting device may use multiple RBs and one/two symbols for transmitting the HARQ feedback and likewise per ¶0089 i.e. in one of PUCCH formats (e.g., Format 0), there may be one resource block (RB) carrying HARQ-ACK information for a single PSSCH transmission, where i.e. the PSFCH format 0 sequence may be repeated on 2 PSFCH symbols reads on: and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over a plurality of resource blocks where slot structure depicted or FIG. 9, FIG. 15 & FIG. 16 reads on: of the sidelink slot structure );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ABREU with teachings of WANG, since WANG enables using more RBs for transmitting the HARQ feedback, the reliability for sidelink HARQ reporting may be improved and also enables repeated transmission of short format HARQ using all symbols of the long PSFCH which may be good for automatic gain control (AGC) calibration, and it may also improve the reception quality(Wang - ¶0109; ¶0118).
Regarding Claim 2. (Original) ABREU in view of Wang teaches: The UE of claim 1,
furthermore ABREU teaches: wherein, to transmit the sidelink feedback message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks (ABREU FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 ¶0060 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0060 i.e. The PSFCH transmits reads on: wherein, to transmit the sidelink feedback message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the sidelink feedback message , a sequence in one PRB repeated over two OFDM symbols where , the first of which can be used for AGC where FIG. 5 shows two resource blocks as depicted (0 & 1) reads on: over the plurality of resource blocks) through transmission of a plurality of repetitions of the sidelink feedback message (ABREU FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 ¶0060 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0060 The PSFCH transmits a sequence in one PRB repeated over two OFDM symbols reads on: through transmission of a plurality of repetitions i.e. The PSFCH transmits reads on: of the sidelink feedback message).
furthermore WANG also teaches: wherein, to transmit the sidelink feedback message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks (WANG FIG. 9, FIG. 15 & FIG. 16 & ¶0109 see above ;NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: ¶109 i.e. at 1510, the transmitting device may use multiple RBs and one/two symbols for transmitting the HARQ feedback reads on: wherein, to transmit the sidelink feedback message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the sidelink feedback message, per FIG. 15 as depicted 1510 & ¶109 i.e. at 1510, the transmitting device may use multiple RBs and one/two symbols for transmitting the HARQ feedback reads on: over the plurality of resource blocks)
through transmission of a plurality of repetitions of the sidelink feedback message (WANG FIG. 9, FIG. 15 & FIG. 16 & ¶0089 […]in one of PUCCH formats (e.g., Format 0), there may be one resource block (RB) carrying HARQ-ACK information for a single PSSCH transmission, where the PSFCH format 0 sequence may be repeated on 2 PSFCH symbols. For example, referring back to FIG. 9, for the PSFCH 904 with two OFDM symbols, one symbol (e.g., a symbol 908) may be used for providing the HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK or NACK), and another symbol (e.g., a symbol 906) may be a duplication of the HARQ feedback (e.g., duplication of the symbol 908) ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per FIG. 15 & ¶0109 i.e. the sidelink may transmit the HARQ feedback using a waveform similar to PUCCH format 0 and per ¶0089 i.e. one of PUCCH formats (e.g., Format 0), there may be one resource block (RB) carrying HARQ-ACK information for a single PSSCH transmission, where i.e. the PSFCH format 0 sequence may be repeated on 2 PSFCH symbols reads on: through transmission of a plurality of repetitions per FIG. 15 & ¶109 i.e. at 1510, the transmitting device may use multiple RBs and one/two symbols for transmitting the HARQ feedback and per ¶0089 i.e. HARQ-ACK information reads on: the sidelink feedback message for a single PSSCH transmission)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ABREU in view of WANG, further with teachings of WANG, since WANG enables repeated transmission of short format HARQ using all symbols of the long PSFCH 1602 which may be good for automatic gain control (AGC) calibration, and it may also improve the reception quality (Wang - ¶0118).
Regarding Claim 11. (Currently Amended) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The UE of claim 1,
(NOTE: Claim 11 depends from claim 1, and the claim 11 limitations associate with and recite “sidelink feedback message over the more than two symbols” which is presented in the alternative in claim 1, and therefore the limitations in claim 11 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required)
wherein, to transmit the sidelink feedback message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the sidelink feedback message over the more than two symbols through application of a mapping of the more than two symbols to the plurality (NOTE: Claim 11 depends from claim 1, and the claim 11 limitations associate with and recite “sidelink feedback message over the more than two symbols” which is presented in the alternative in claim 1, and therefore the limitations in claim 11 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 12. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The UE of claim 1,
(NOTE: Claim 12 depends from claim 1, and the Claim 12 limitations associate with and recite “sidelink feedback message over the more than two symbols” which is presented in the alternative in claim 1, and therefore the limitations in Claim 12 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required)
wherein, to transmit the sidelink feedback message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the sidelink feedback message over the more than two symbols through repetition of the sidelink feedback message on a per quantity of symbol basis; and apply a time-domain orthogonal cover code to the repetition of the sidelink feedback message(NOTE: Claim 12 depends from claim 1, and the Claim 12 limitations associate with and recite “sidelink feedback message over the more than two symbols” which is presented in the alternative in claim 1, and therefore the limitations in Claim 12 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 13. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The UE of claim 12,
(NOTE: Claim 13 depends from Claim 12, and claim 12 depends from claim 1, and the Claim 12 limitations associate with and recite “sidelink feedback message over the more than two symbols” which is presented in the alternative in claim 1, and therefore the limitations in Claim 12 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and furthermore therefore claim 13 is also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required)
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: multiplex the repetition of the sidelink feedback message in accordance with code division multiplexing, wherein the code division multiplexing is associated with an order of a frequency-domain orthogonal cover code applied to the repetition of the sidelink feedback message and an order of the time-domain orthogonal cover code applied to the repetition of the sidelink feedback message (NOTE: Claim 13 depends from Claim 12, and claim 12 depends from claim 1, and the Claim 12 limitations associate with and recite “sidelink feedback message over the more than two symbols” which is presented in the alternative in claim 1, and therefore the limitations in Claim 12 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and furthermore therefore claim 13 is also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 14. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The UE of claim 1,
furthermore ABREU teaches: wherein the plurality of resource blocks (ABREU & FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0060 See above; ¶0061 see above; ¶0062 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 5 utilizing FIG. 4 structure depicts PFSCH 0 and PSFCH 1 reads on: wherein the plurality of resource blocks) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the more than two symbols (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
occur after an automatic gain control candidate transmission time interval of the set of periodic automatic gain control candidate transmission time intervals in the sidelink slot structure (ABREU & FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 ¶0060 See above; ¶0061 […] The time resources for PSFCH are (pre-) configured to occur once in every 1, 2, or 4 slots […] The HARQ feedback resource (PSFCH) is derived from the resource location of PSCCH/PSSCH; ¶0062 See above ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0061 PSFCH are (pre-) configured to occur once in every 1, 2, or 4 slots and using per ¶0060 & FIG. 4 i.e. structure 400 of a sidelink slot with PSFCH and per ¶0062 i.e. a mapping 500 between PSSCHs and PSFCHs), the period of PSFCH resources is configured as 2 reads on: wherein the sidelink slot structure , where per ¶0061 PSFCH are (pre-) configured to occur once in every 1, 2, or 4 slots and per ¶0062 the period of PSFCH resources is configured as 2 and per ¶0060 i.e. The PSFCH transmits a sequence in one PRB repeated over two OFDM symbols, the first of which can be used for AGC reads on: occur after an automatic gain control candidate transmission time interval, therefore also (pre-) configured to occur once in every 1, 2, or 4 slots reads on: of the set of periodic automatic gain control candidate transmission time intervals comprising i.e. The PSFCH transmits a sequence in one PRB repeated over two OFDM symbols, the first of which can be used for AGC, occurring at a slot interval of 2 with the PSFCH. Per ¶0061 i.e. time resources for PSFCH are (pre-) configured […] and therefore AGC in the first PFSCH symbol reads on: that are common across the wireless network i.e. to occur once in every 1, 2, or 4 slots, where per ¶0061 PSFCH are (pre-) configured to occur once in every 1, 2, or 4 slots and using per ¶0060 & FIG. 4 i.e. structure 400 of a sidelink slot with PSFCH and per ¶0062 i.e. a mapping 500 between PSSCHs and PSFCHs) reads on: in the sidelink slot structure ).
Regarding Claim 15. (Currently Amended) ABREU teaches: A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (ABREU FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0059 […] PSFCH for sidelink communication was specified to carry Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) feedback over the sidelink (at physical layer) from a UE which is an intended recipient of a PSSCH transmission (henceforth an Rx UE) to the UE which performed the transmission (henceforth a Tx UE) […] A UE may be indicated by a sidelink control information (SCI) format scheduling a PSSCH reception to transmit a PSFCH with HARQ-ACK information in response to the PSSCH reception; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0059 i.e. a to carry Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) feedback over the sidelink (at physical layer) from a UE which is an intended recipient of a PSSCH transmission reads on: A method for wireless communications per ¶0059 i.e.an Rx UE reads on: at a user equipment (UE) ),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 15. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) comprising: participating in sidelink communication in accordance with a sidelink slot structure used in a wireless network, wherein the sidelink slot structure includes a set of periodic automatic gain control candidate transmission time intervals that are common across the wireless network; monitoring for a sidelink message during a monitoring interval associated with the set of plurality of resource blocks of the sidelink slot structure, or wherein the format is associated with an uplink control channel format 2 and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over more than two symbols of the sidelink slot structure(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 15. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 16. (Original) ABREU in view of Wang teaches: The method of claim 15,
(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 16 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 16. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein transmitting the sidelink feedback message comprises: transmitting the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks through transmission of a plurality of repetitions of the sidelink feedback message(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 16 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 16. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 25. (Currently Amended) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The method of claim 15,
(See the rejection of Claim 11, Claim 25 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 11, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 11 applies similarly to Claim 25. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein transmitting the sidelink feedback message comprises: transmitting the sidelink feedback message over the more than two symbols through application of a mapping of the more than two symbols to the plurality applying a frequency-domain orthogonal cover code to transmission of the sidelink feedback message over the more than two symbols of the sidelink slot structure(See the rejection of Claim 11, Claim 25 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 11, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 11 applies similarly to Claim 25. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 26. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The method of claim 15,
(See the rejection of Claim 12, Claim 26 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 12, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 12 applies similarly to Claim 26. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein transmitting the sidelink feedback message comprises: transmitting the sidelink feedback message over the more than two symbols through repetition of the sidelink feedback message on a per quantity of symbol basis; and applying a time-domain orthogonal cover code to the repetition of the sidelink feedback message(See the rejection of Claim 12, Claim 26 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 12, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 12 applies similarly to Claim 26. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 27. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The method of claim 26,
(See the rejection of Claim 13, Claim 27 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 13, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 13 applies similarly to Claim 27. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
further comprising: multiplexing the repetition of the sidelink feedback message in accordance with code division multiplexing, wherein the code division multiplexing is associated with an order of a frequency-domain orthogonal cover code applied to the repetition of the sidelink feedback message and an order of the time-domain orthogonal cover code applied to the repetition of the sidelink feedback message(See the rejection of Claim 13, Claim 27 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 13, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 13 applies similarly to Claim 27. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 28. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The method of claim 15,
(See the rejection of Claim 14, Claim 28 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 14, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 14 applies similarly to Claim 28. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the plurality of resource blocks or the more than two symbols occur after an automatic gain control candidate transmission time interval of the set of periodic automatic gain control candidate transmission time intervals in the sidelink slot structure(See the rejection of Claim 14, Claim 28 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 14, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 14 applies similarly to Claim 28. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 29. (Currently Amended) ABREU teaches: A user equipment (UE) for wireless communications (ABREU FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0059 […] PSFCH for sidelink communication was specified to carry Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) feedback over the sidelink (at physical layer) from a UE which is an intended recipient of a PSSCH transmission (henceforth an Rx UE) to the UE which performed the transmission (henceforth a Tx UE) […] A UE may be indicated by a sidelink control information (SCI) format scheduling a PSSCH reception to transmit a PSFCH with HARQ-ACK information in response to the PSSCH reception; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0059 i.e. a UE which is an intended recipient of a PSSCH transmission (henceforth an Rx UE) reads on: A user equipment (UE) for wireless communications ),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 29 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 29. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) comprising: means for participating (ABREU – FIG. 10 & ¶0191 See claim 1 ;¶0195 See claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 10 & per ¶0195 i.e. program 1030 includes computer executable instructions that are executed by i.e. the associated processor 1010 and per ¶0191 i.e. one or more communication modules 1040 coupled to the processor 1010 reads on: means for participating) in sidelink communication in accordance with a sidelink slot structure used in a wireless network, wherein the sidelink slot structure includes a set of periodic automatic gain control candidate transmission time intervals that are common across the wireless network; means for monitoring (ABREU ¶0191 See claim 1 ; ¶0192 […] communication module 1040 is for bidirectional communications […] NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0192 i.e. communication module 1040 is for bidirectional communications reads on: means for monitoring ) for a sidelink message during a monitoring interval associated with the set of (ABREU ¶0191 See claim 1 ; ¶0192 […] communication module 1040 is for bidirectional communications […] NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0192 i.e. communication module 1040 is for bidirectional communications reads on: means for transmitting) a sidelink feedback message that includes feedback associated with the sidelink message, wherein a format of the sidelink feedback message is associated with an uplink control channel format 0 and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over a plurality of resource blocks of the sidelink slot structure, or wherein the format is associated with an uplink control channel format 2 and the sidelink feedback message is transmitted over more than two symbols of the sidelink slot structure (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 29 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 29. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 30. (Currently Amended) ABREU teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors (ABREU – FIG. 10 & ¶0191 See claim 1 ;¶0195 See claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 10 & ¶0195 i.e. stored in the memory, e.g., the ROM 1024 reads on: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications i.e. program 1030 may be stored reads on: the code comprising instructions; per ¶0195 i.e. program 1030 includes computer executable instructions that are executed by the associated processor 1010 reads on: executable by one or more processors ) to:
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 30 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 30. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
participate in sidelink communication in accordance with a sidelink slot structure used in a wireless network, wherein the sidelink slot structure includes a set of periodic automatic gain control candidate transmission time intervals that are common across the wireless network; monitor for a sidelink message during a monitoring interval associated with the set of (See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 30 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 30. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
11. Claims 3, 8, 17, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABREU in view of WANG, further view of MIAO et al. (US 20250220690 A1), i.e. “MIAO”.
Regarding Claim 3. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The UE of claim 2,
furthermore Wang teaches: wherein, to transmit the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: apply a cyclic shift offset for each respective resource block of the plurality of resource blocks (WANG FIG. 9, FIG. 15 & FIG. 16 & ¶0090 […] PSFCH may use PUCCH format 0 waveform for transmission, which may be a sequence-based waveform without a modulation and/or a coding layer. […] the waveform for the PSFCH may be associated with one or more multiplexing cyclic shifts (CSs); ¶0092 […] the PSFCH may be based on Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence, where the ZC sequence may be generated according to group and sequence number ; ¶0109 see above ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 15 & ¶0109 i.e. the sidelink may transmit the HARQ feedback using a waveform similar to PUCCH format 0 reads on: wherein, to transmit the sidelink feedback message associated with an uplink control channel format 0 and per FIG. 15 & ¶109 i.e. at 1510, the transmitting device may use multiple RBs and one/two symbols for transmitting the HARQ feedback reads on: over the plurality of resource blocks where per ¶0090 i.e. the waveform for the PSFCH may be associated with one or more multiplexing cyclic shifts (CSs) reads on: the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: apply a cyclic shift offset for each respective resource block of the plurality of resource blocks as applied to 1510 carried with the PSFCH).
ABREU in view of WANG (i.e. assuming arguendo Wang implies) does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (note see italicized portions): cyclic shift offset for each respective resource block of the plurality of resource blocks;
MIAO teaches: apply a cyclic shift offset for each respective resource block of the plurality of resource blocks (MIAO ¶0082 […] the UE determines R.sub.PRB,CS.sup.PSFCH PSFCH resources corresponding to the PSSCH, wherein the R.sub.PRB,CS.sup.PSFCH PSFCH resources are sequentially numbered (namely, to obtain PSFCH resource indexes) firstly according to physical resource block indexes and then according to cyclic shift pair indexes; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0082 the UE determines R.sub.PRB,CS.sup.PSFCH PSFCH resources corresponding to the PSSCH, wherein the R.sub.PRB,CS.sup.PSFCH PSFCH resources are sequentially numbered (namely, to obtain PSFCH resource indexes) firstly according to physical resource block indexes i.e. and then according to cyclic shift pair indexes reads on: apply a cyclic shift offset , where i.e. the R.sub.PRB,CS.sup.PSFCH PSFCH resources are sequentially numbered (namely, to obtain PSFCH resource indexes) firstly according i.e. to physical resource block indexes reads on: for each respective resource block of the plurality of resource blocks ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ABREU in view of WANG, with teachings of MIAO, since MIAO enables to provide an information transmission method, which may at least solve the problem in the related art that beam feedback cannot be performed in a sidelink communication (MIAO - ¶0006).
Regarding Claim 8. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The UE of claim 1,
furthermore ABREU teaches: wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a control message in advance of transmission of the sidelink feedback message (ABREU FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 &¶0059 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. A UE may be indicated by a sidelink control information (SCI) format reads on: wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a control message i.e. scheduling a PSSCH reception to transmit a PSFCH with HARQ-ACK information reads on: in advance of transmission of the sidelink feedback message in response to the PSSCH reception ),
over the plurality of resource blocks (ABREU & FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 & ¶0060 See above; ¶0061 see above; ¶0062 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: FIG. 5 utilizing FIG. 4 structure depicts PFSCH 0 and PSFCH 1 reads on: over the plurality of resource blocks)
ABREU in view of WANG does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (note see italicized portions): wherein the control message indicates, on a per resource pool basis, a quantity of the plurality of resource blocks and a starting resource block of the plurality of resource blocks over which the transmission of the sidelink feedback message is to start.
MIAO teaches: receive a control message in advance of transmission of the sidelink feedback message, wherein the control message indicates, on a per resource pool basis, a quantity of the plurality of resource blocks and a starting resource block of the plurality of resource blocks over which the transmission of the sidelink feedback message is to start (MIAO - ¶0092 […] the UE determines, according to provided PSFCH resource configuration information used for beam feedback, R.sub.PRB,CS.sup.PSFCH PSFCH resources corresponding to the PSSCH […] provided by SCI corresponding to the PSSCH […] The PSFCH resource configuration information used for beam feedback includes at least one of: a PSFCH configuration period, a frequency domain position of each PSFCH resource, and a time domain symbol of the PSFCH resource. For example, the frequency domain position of the PSFCH resource includes a starting physical resource block index of the PSFCH resource and the number of occupied physical resource blocks, and the time domain symbol of each PSFCH resource is fixed to the second to last and third to last symbols of each slot in a resource pool; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. according to provided PSFCH resource configuration i.e. provided by SCI reads on: receive a control message in advance of transmission of the sidelink feedback message, where per ¶0092 i.e. PSFCH resource configuration information used for beam feedback includes […] the frequency domain position of the PSFCH resource includes a starting physical resource block index of the PSFCH resource and the number of occupied physical resource blocks, and the time domain symbol of each PSFCH resource is fixed to the second to last and third to last symbols of each slot in a resource pool reads on: wherein the control message indicates, on a per resource pool basis , i.e. a starting physical resource block index of the PSFCH resource and the number of occupied physical resource blocks reads on: a quantity of the plurality of resource blocks and a starting resource block of the plurality of resource blocks over which the transmission of the sidelink feedback message is to start);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ABREU in view of WANG, with teachings of MIAO, since MIAO enables to provide an information transmission method, which may at least solve the problem in the related art that beam feedback cannot be performed in a sidelink communication (MIAO - ¶0006).
Regarding Claim 17. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The method of claim 16,
(See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein transmitting the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks comprises: applying a cyclic shift offset for each respective resource block of the plurality of resource blocks(See the rejection of Claim 3, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 22. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The method of claim 15,
(See the rejection of Claim 8, Claim 22 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 8, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 8 applies similarly to Claim 22. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
further comprising: receiving a control message in advance of transmission of the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks, wherein the control message indicates, on a per resource pool basis, a quantity of the plurality of resource blocks and a starting resource block of the plurality of resource blocks over which the transmission of the sidelink feedback message is to start(See the rejection of Claim 8, Claim 22 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 8, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 8 applies similarly to Claim 22. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
12. Claims 4, 5, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABREU in view of WANG, further view of PARK (US 20230239900 A1), i.e. PARK
Regarding Claim 4. (Currently Amended) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The UE of claim 1,
furthermore ABREU teaches: wherein, to transmit the sidelink feedback message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks through transmission of a sequence (ABREU FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 ¶0060 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0060 i.e. The PSFCH transmits reads on: wherein, to transmit the sidelink feedback message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the sidelink feedback message , where FIG. 5 depicts PSFCH over two resource blocks reads on: over the plurality of resource blocks and per ¶0060 i.e. The PSFCH transmits a sequence reads on: through transmission of a sequence in one PRB repeated over two OFDM symbols);
furthermore WANG also teaches: transmit the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks (WANG FIG. 9, FIG. 15 & FIG. 16 & ¶0090 See claim 3; ¶0092 […] the PSFCH may be based on Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence, where the ZC sequence may be generated according to group and sequence number ; ¶0109 see above ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 15 & ¶0109 i.e. the sidelink may transmit the HARQ feedback using a waveform similar to PUCCH format 0 reads on: transmit the sidelink feedback message associated with an uplink control channel format 0 and per FIG. 15 & ¶109 i.e. at 1510, the transmitting device may use multiple RBs and one/two symbols for transmitting the HARQ feedback reads on: over the plurality of resource blocks where per ¶0090 i.e. PSFCH may use PUCCH format 0 waveform for transmission, which may be a sequence-based and per ¶0092 i.e. the PSFCH may be based on Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence reads on: through transmission of a sequence);
ABREU in view of WANG does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (note see italicized portions): sequence, wherein a of the sequence is associated with a quantity of the plurality of resource blocks.
Park teaches: transmit the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks through transmission of a sequence, wherein a of the sequence is associated with a quantity of the plurality of resource blocks (PARK ¶0101 […] the V2X UE may transmit feedback information based on PSFCH format 0. Here, PSFCH format 0 sequence may be generated based on Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence and sequence x(n) is generated based on the following Equation 3. The ZC sequence is generated through a that is a cyclic sequence, based on r.sub.u,v(n) that is a base sequence. Here, the ZC sequence refers to a sequence that has the same size and is generated based on a cyclic sequence and is generated based on the following Equation 4. In Equation 4, M.sub.ZC=m.sub.sc.sup.RB/2.sup.δ denotes a length of a sequence, m denotes a value corresponding to the number of RBs to which the sequence is allocated, and δ=0 for PSFCH format NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0101 i.e. V2X UE may transmit feedback information based on PSFCH format 0 reads on: transmit the sidelink feedback message , where per ¶0101 i.e. PSFCH format 0 sequence may be generated based on Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence and sequence x(n) is generated based on the following Equation […] M.sub.ZC=m.sub.sc.sup.RB/2.sup.δ denotes a length of a sequence, m denotes a value corresponding to i.e. the number of RBs to which the sequence is allocated reads on: over the plurality of resource blocks through transmission of a sequence, where i.e. denotes a length of a sequence, m denotes a value corresponding to i.e. the number of RBs to which the sequence is allocated reads on: wherein a length of the sequence is associated with a quantity of the plurality of resource blocks);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ABREU in view of WANG with teachings of PARK, since PARK enables Tx UE TO perform a resource reselection procedure based on coordination message received from the C-UE and, through this, low latency requirements may be satisfied by preventing the above resource collision issue (PARK - ¶0138).
Regarding Claim 5. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG and PARK teaches: The UE of claim 4,
furthermore Park teaches: wherein a length of a type of the sequence is associated with the length of the sequence (PARK ¶0101 see Claim 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0101 i.e. the ZC sequence refers to a sequence that has the same size and is generated based on a cyclic sequence and is generated based on the following Equation 4. In Equation 4, M.sub.ZC=m.sub.sc.sup.RB/2.sup.δ denotes a length of a sequence i.e. ZC sequence reads on: wherein a length of a type of the sequence per ¶0101 i.e. the ZC sequence refers to a sequence that has the same size reads on: is associated with the length of the sequence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ABREU in view of WANG and PARK, further with the teachings of PARK, since PARK enables Tx UE TO perform a resource reselection procedure based on coordination message received from the C-UE and, through this, low latency requirements may be satisfied by preventing the above resource collision issue (PARK - ¶0138).
Regarding Claim 18. (Currently Amended) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The method of claim 15, (See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein transmitting the sidelink feedback message comprises: transmitting the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks through transmission of a sequence, wherein a of the sequence is associated with a quantity of the plurality of resource blocks(See the rejection of Claim 4, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 19. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG and PARK teaches: The method of claim 18,
(See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein a length of a type of the sequence is associated with the length of the sequence(See the rejection of Claim 5, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
13. Claim 6, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABREU in view of WANG, further view of Wang et al. (US 20220225278 A1), i.e. Wang2
Regarding Claim 6. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The UE of claim 1,
furthermore ABREU teaches: wherein, to transmit the sidelink feedback message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks through transmission of one or more repetitions of the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks and over multiple symbols (ABREU FIG. 4 & FIG. 5 ¶0060 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0060 i.e. The PSFCH transmits reads on: wherein, to transmit the sidelink feedback message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the sidelink feedback message , where FIG. 5 depicts PSFCH over two resource blocks reads on: over the plurality of resource blocks and per ¶0060 i.e. The PSFCH transmits a sequence in one PRB repeated over two OFDM symbols reads on: through transmission of one or more repetitions of the sidelink feedback message);
furthermore WANG also teaches: wherein, to transmit the sidelink feedback message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks (WANG FIG. 9, FIG. 15 & FIG. 16 & ¶0090 […] PSFCH may use PUCCH format 0 waveform for transmission, which may be a sequence-based waveform without a modulation and/or a coding layer. […] the waveform for the PSFCH may be associated with one or more multiplexing cyclic shifts (CSs); ¶0092 […] the PSFCH may be based on Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence, where the ZC sequence may be generated according to group and sequence number ; ¶0109 see Claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 15 & ¶0109 i.e. the sidelink may transmit the HARQ feedback using a waveform similar to PUCCH format 0 reads on: wherein, to transmit the sidelink feedback message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the sidelink feedback message associated with an uplink control channel format 0, and per FIG. 15 as depicted 1510 & ¶109 i.e. at 1510, the transmitting device may use multiple RBs and one/two symbols for transmitting the HARQ feedback reads on: over the plurality of resource blocks where per ¶0109 i.e. the transmitting device may use five (5) RBs and two symbols per RB for transmitting the HARQ feedback, where one or more RBs of a symbol may include the HARQ feedback and one or more RBs of another symbol may include the repetition/duplication of the HARQ feedback reads on: through transmission of one or more repetitions of the sidelink feedback message, where per ¶0109 i.e. the transmitting device may use five (5) RBs and two symbols per RB for transmitting the HARQ feedback reads on: over the plurality of resource blocks and over multiple symbols );
and apply a time-domain orthogonal cover code to the transmission of the one or more repetitions of the sidelink feedback message (WANG FIG. 9, FIG. 10, FIG. 15 & FIG. 16 & ¶0094 […] the communication (e.g., PSSCH and/or PSCCH transmission/reception) between the transmitting device and the receiving device may have a tight latency specification of 1 to 2 ms and an ultra-reliability specification of 10.sup.−6 error rate, the PSFCH (e.g., the HARQ feedback) from the receiving device may have the same or more stringent specification, such that the transmitting device may reliably determine whether to retransmit data based on the received PSFCH (e.g., if a NACK is received or if an ACK is not received for the data). Thus, sidelink communications may be improved when the reliability of the PSFCH is enhanced. Table 1 below shows an example SNR specification for NACK-to-ACK failure rate of 0.001 with PUCCH format 1 (e.g., 1-RB with up to 14 symbols, 7 orthogonal cover code (OCC)) NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to per ¶0094 the reliability of the PSFCH where per ¶0109 i.e. the transmitting device may use five (5) RBs and two symbols per RB for transmitting the HARQ feedback, per ¶0094 i.e. 1-RB with up to 14 symbols, 7 orthogonal cover code (OCC) applied reads on: and apply a time-domain orthogonal cover code to the transmission of the one or more repetitions of the sidelink feedback message );
ABREU in view of WANG does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (note see italicized portions): the one or more repetitions of the sidelink feedback message in accordance with a quantity of the plurality of resource blocks exceeding a threshold;
WANG2 teaches: transmit the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks and over multiple symbols; and apply a time-domain orthogonal cover code to the transmission of the sidelink feedback message in accordance with a quantity of the plurality of resource blocks exceeding a threshold (Wang2 - ¶0110 […] a signal-to-noise (SNR) ratio for a NACK-to-ACK failure rate may be 0.001 with PUCCH format 1 (e.g., one resource block with up to 14 symbols, seven orthogonal cover codes (OCCs), etc.) […] the resources typically allocated to PSFCH (e.g., the first resource configuration) may not provide sufficient resources to satisfy the corresponding reliability requirements (e.g., may fail to satisfy a resource threshold). Therefore, current PSFCH resource design does not provide a sufficiently reliable resource allocation to support certain traffic types (e.g., IIoT, which is E2E 10.sup.−6). Because of such shortcomings, utilization of PSFCH configured resources is low (e.g., as little as 1%); ¶0112 […] That is, the transmitting device and the receiving device may both identify or otherwise determine that the first resource configuration (e.g., the PSFCH resources typically configured for the last two symbols of a slot) fails to satisfy a resource threshold. Broadly, the resource threshold may refer to the amount of time, frequency, spatial, and/or code resources, allocated in the last two symbols of the slot carrying the sidelink transmission; ¶0113 […] the transmitting device may dynamically select a second resource configuration (e.g., having additional time, frequency, spatial, and/or code resources) to use for feedback message signaling from the receiving device. The transmitting device may select the second resource configuration (e.g., the additional resources) autonomously and/or based on resources allocated from a base station managing aspects of the sidelink communications.; ¶0114 […] the second resource configuration may satisfy the resource threshold for feedback message signaling from the receiving device in response to the sidelink transmission. Accordingly, […], and the receiving device may respond by transmitting a feedback message to the transmitting device using the resources associated with the second resource configuration NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶114 i.e. the second resource configuration may satisfy the resource threshold for feedback message signaling reads on: transmit the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks from the receiving device in response to the sidelink transmission, where per ¶0112 i.e. the PSFCH resources typically configured for the last two symbols of a slot reads on: and over multiple symbols , and where per ¶0110 i.e. PUCCH format 1 (e.g., one resource block with up to 14 symbols, seven orthogonal cover codes (OCCs), etc.) reads on: and apply a time-domain orthogonal cover code to the transmission of the sidelink feedback message where per ¶0110 i.e. the resources typically allocated to PSFCH (e.g., the first resource configuration) may not provide sufficient resources to satisfy the corresponding reliability requirements (e.g., may fail to satisfy a resource threshold), but however per ¶0114 i.e. the second resource configuration may satisfy the resource threshold for feedback message signaling from the receiving device and per ¶0113 i.e. transmitting device may select the second resource configuration (e.g., the additional resources) reads on: in accordance with a quantity of the plurality of resource blocks exceeding a threshold as it pertains to ¶0110 i.e. the resources typically allocated to PSFCH (e.g., the first resource configuration) may not provide sufficient resources to satisfy the corresponding reliability requirements (e.g., may fail to satisfy a resource threshold);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ABREU in view of WANG, with teachings of Wang2, since Wang2 enables procedures that may improve the reliability and/or payload size for the feedback message signaling and/or other sidelink control signaling or short data transmission from the receiving device (Wang2 - ¶0115).
Regarding Claim 20. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG teaches: The method of claim 15,
(See the rejection of Claim 6, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)wherein transmitting the sidelink feedback message comprises: transmitting the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks through transmission of one or more repetitions of the sidelink feedback message over the plurality of resource blocks and over multiple symbols; and applying a time-domain orthogonal cover code to the transmission of the one or more repetitions of the sidelink feedback message in accordance with a quantity of the plurality of resource blocks exceeding a threshold(See the rejection of Claim 6, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 6, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 6 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
14. Claims 7, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABREU in view of WANG and WANG2, further view of Wu et al. (US 20210099269 A1), i.e. “Wu”.
Regarding Claim 7. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG and WANG2 teaches: The UE of claim 6,
ABREU in view of WANG does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (note see italicized portions): multiplex the sidelink feedback message with additional sidelink feedback messages
Wu teaches: wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: multiplex the sidelink feedback message with additional sidelink feedback messages in accordance with application of the time-domain orthogonal cover code (Wu - ¶0117 […] one or more of the feedback mode or the feedback type corresponds to a sequence with different cover codes. In some cases, the one or more HARQ feedback resources or the one or more HARQ feedback resource sets in the slot are frequency division multiplexed. In some cases, the one or more HARQ feedback resources or the one or more HARQ feedback resource sets in the slot are time division multiplexed. In some cases, the one or more HARQ feedback resources or the one or more HARQ feedback resource sets includes one or more orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing symbols in a time domain and one or more resource blocks in a frequency domain; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0117 i.e. the one or more HARQ feedback resources or the one or more HARQ feedback resource sets in the slot are frequency division multiplexed. In some cases, the one or more HARQ feedback resources or the one or more HARQ feedback resource sets in the slot are time division multiplexed reads on: wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: multiplex the sidelink feedback message with additional sidelink feedback messages , where per ¶0117 i.e. one or more of the feedback mode or the feedback type corresponds to a sequence with different cover codes and i.e. the one or more HARQ feedback resource sets in the slot are time division multiplexed reads on: in accordance with application of the time-domain orthogonal cover code ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ABREU in view of WANG and WANG2, with teachings of Wu, since Wu enables operations performed by the UEs providing improvements to wireless operations where in some examples, the UEs may support high reliability and low latency sidelink communications, and among other examples, in accordance with sidelink feedback transmission and feedback resource determination (Wu ¶0017 ).
Regarding Claim 21. (Original) ABREU in view of WANG and WANG2 teaches: The method of claim 20,
(See the rejection of Claim 7, Claim 21 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 7, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 7 applies similarly to Claim 21. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
further comprising: multiplexing the sidelink feedback message with additional sidelink feedback messages in accordance with application of the time-domain orthogonal cover code(See the rejection of Claim 7, Claim 21 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 7, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 7 applies similarly to Claim 21. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
16. Claims 9, 10, 23, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ABREU in view of WANG and MIAO, further view of Baek et al. (US 20220416976 A1), i.e. “Baek”.
Regarding Claim 9. (Original) ABREU in view of Wang and MIAO teaches: The UE of claim 8,
ABREU in view of WANG does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (note see italicized portions): the control message indicates a frequency grid corresponding to the plurality of resource blocks
Baek teaches: wherein the control message indicates a frequency grid corresponding to the plurality of resource blocks (Baek ¶0177 […] a PSFCH-PRS resource configuration and operation method and PRS-related information that may be transmitted in […] the 1st-stage SCI, and/or the 2nd-stage SCI may be provided […] ¶0185 […] Specifically, for signaling frequency resources of actual PSFCH-PRS transmission, one of RBs indicated by a bitmap in a resource pool may be selected (or, for signaling frequency resources of actual PSFCH-PRS transmission, down-select one of the following: Bitmap indicates RBs in a resource pool); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. transmitted in […] the 1st-stage SCI, and/or the 2nd-stage SCI reads on: wherein the control message indicates , where i.e. for signaling frequency resources of actual PSFCH-PRS transmission, one of RBs indicated by a bitmap reads on: a frequency grid corresponding to the plurality of resource blocks in a resource pool ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ABREU in view of WANG, with teachings of Baek, since Baek enables a size of a frequency resource region for the PRS and a multiplexing type to be determined in consideration of the relationship with the feedback signal transmitted through a PSFCH, so that the PSFCH resource is efficiently used (Baek ¶0034 ).
Regarding Claim 10. (Original) ABREU in view of Wang and MIAO teaches: The UE of claim 8,
ABREU in view of WANG does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (note see italicized portions): wherein, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a bitmap that indicates the plurality of resource blocks, wherein each bit of the bitmap indicates a corresponding resource block of the plurality of resource blocks;
Baek teaches: wherein, to receive the control message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a bitmap that indicates the plurality of resource blocks, wherein each bit of the bitmap indicates a corresponding resource block of the plurality of resource blocks (Baek ¶0177 […] a PSFCH-PRS resource configuration and operation method and PRS-related information that may be transmitted in […] the 1st-stage SCI, and/or the 2nd-stage SCI may be provided […] ¶0185 […] Specifically, for signaling frequency resources of actual PSFCH-PRS transmission, one of RBs indicated by a bitmap in a resource pool may be selected (or, for signaling frequency resources of actual PSFCH-PRS transmission, down-select one of the following: Bitmap indicates RBs in a resource pool); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. transmitted in […] the 1st-stage SCI, and/or the 2nd-stage SCI reads on: wherein, to receive the control message, where i.e. for signaling frequency resources of actual PSFCH-PRS transmission, one of RBs indicated by a bitmap reads on: the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a bitmap where per ¶0185 i.e. down-select one of the following: Bitmap indicates RBs in a resource pool reads on: wherein each bit of the bitmap indicates a corresponding resource block of the plurality of resource blocks ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ABREU in view of WANG, with teachings of Baek, since Baek enables a size of a frequency resource region for the PRS and a multiplexing type to be determined in consideration of the relationship with the feedback signal transmitted through a PSFCH, so that the PSFCH resource is efficiently used (Baek ¶0034 ).
Regarding Claim 23. (Original) ABREU in view of Wang and MIAO teaches: The method of claim 22,
(See the rejection of Claim 9, Claim 23 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 9, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 9 applies similarly to Claim 23. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein the control message indicates a frequency grid corresponding to the plurality of resource blocks(See the rejection of Claim 9, Claim 23 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 9, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 9 applies similarly to Claim 23. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 24. (Original) ABREU in view of Wang and MIAO teaches: The method of claim 22,
(See the rejection of Claim 10, Claim 24 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 10, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 10 applies similarly to Claim 24. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate)
wherein receiving the control message comprises: receiving a bitmap that indicates the plurality of resource blocks, wherein each bit of the bitmap indicates a corresponding resource block of the plurality of resource blocks(See the rejection of Claim 10, Claim 24 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 10, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 10 applies similarly to Claim 24. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MALICK A SOHRAB whose telephone number is (571)272-4347. The examiner can normally be reached on Mo-Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
04/27/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414