DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to Applicant’s Election filed August 21, 2026.
Claims 1-14 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1 and 3-8) (without traverse) in the reply filed on August 21, 2026 is acknowledged. Applicants’ further species election (with traverse) of the amide linking group as the B2 formula recited in claim 5 and AS1411 as the A1 structure recited in claim 7 in the reply filed on August 21, 2026 is also acknowledged.
The traversal is on the grounds that:
The Office Action does not specify what the mutually exclusive characteristics among the different species are, nor does the Office Action provide any rationale or explanation supporting a conclusion that the different species have mutually exclusive characteristics;
All of the species include a triptolide moiety, conjugated at the 14-hydroxy group to a divalent linking group, which is in turn linked to a nucleic acid aptamer. Applicants submit that there is considerable overlap among the different species, and these species do not appear to be mutually exclusive; and
The Office Action does not provide any evidence that there would be an actual burden when searching for the different species
Applicant’s traversal has been considered by the Examiner, however, it is not found to be persuasive because as detailed in the Requirement for Restriction/Election filed July 16, 2026, the species detailed in the action require a different field of search (employing different search queries). Applicants argument that there is considerable overlap among the different species substantiates this fact. In other words, considerable overlap does not guarantee that a search of one species will necessarily embrace and encompass another species. Furthermore, based on the current record, the species are not obvious variants of each other.
The Examiner maintains that the application contains claim directed to patentably distinct species. Therefore, claims 2 and 9-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on August 21, 2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1 and 3-8 have been examined on the merits as detailed below:
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s information disclosure statement (IDS) filed September 14, 2023 is acknowledged. It is noted that an English Translation of some references have not been provided. Also, copies of other references have not been furnished. Please note that references that have been lined-through have not been considered on the merits. Accordingly, the Examiner has considered the IDS and a signed copy is enclosed herewith.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's claim for foreign priority based on CN 202210163765.1, filed 02/22/2022. The certified copy has been placed in the file.
Drawings
The Drawings filed September 14, 2023 are objected to because the Figures of the instant application lack legible features. The Figures submitted with this application do not meet the required technical standards due to Legibility: The text, lines, and numbers in Figures 1-8 are blurry and indistinct; and Clarity: The X and Y axis of the Figures are faint or bleeding together, making it impossible to clearly see the details of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection.
The following quotation from section 2163 of the Manual of Patent Examination Procedure is a brief discussion of what is required in a specification to satisfy the 35 U.S.C. 112 written description requirement for a generic claim covering several distinct inventions:
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice..., reduction to drawings..., or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus... See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
Thus, when a claim covers a genus of inventions, the disclosure must provide written support for the entire scope of the genus. Support for a genus is generally found where the Applicant has provided a number of examples sufficient so that one in the art would recognize from the specification the scope of what is being claimed and that applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.
The instant claims are drawn to an acid-sensitive aptamer triptolide conjugate, characterized in having the following general formula:
wherein, A is a nucleic acid aptamer; B is a linking bond linking triptolide to the nucleic acid aptamer, and said linking bond has an acetal ester functional group formed at the position 14 hydroxyl of triptolide.
The present Specification provides experimental studies of an acid-sensitive aptamer triptolide conjugate, labeled Apt-TP; an acid-sensitive aptamer triptolide conjugate, labeled E07-TP; and an acid-sensitive aptamer triptolide conjugate, labeled AS1411-TP. See Examples 1, 2 and 3, respectively.
The art of Chen et al. (J Exp Clin Cancer Res. 2024 Jul 25;43:207) provides an experimental study of an acid-sensitive aptamer triptolide conjugate, characterized in having the following general formula:
wherein, A is a nucleic acid aptamer; B is a linking bond linking triptolide to the nucleic acid aptamer, and said linking bond has an acetal ester linker formed at the position 14 hydroxyl of triptolide.
There is insufficient written description of the acid-sensitive aptamer triptolide conjugates encompassed by the claims because the disclosure of Apt-TP, E07-TP and AS1411-TP does not demonstrate possession of the full genus. The Specification fails to show a representative species of acid-sensitive aptamer triptolide conjugates to satisfy the written description requirement.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111, clearly states “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116). It is noted that conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating it. The compound itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
To satisfy the written description requirement an applicant must describe the invention is such a way as to convey to one skilled in the art that applicant had the invention in his possession when the application was filed. Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). In cases such as the instant application where a genus is claimed, the specification must contain “either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can ‘visualize or recognize’ the members of the genus.” Id. at 1350. However, written description requirement for an acid-sensitive aptamer triptolide conjugate is not met.
The entire genus of acid-sensitive aptamer triptolide conjugates does not exist in the instant application. That is, adequate written description support does not exist to practice the full scope of the invention claimed. The specification nor the art discloses neither a representative number of species of an acid-sensitive aptamer triptolide conjugate that would enable one of skill to immediately envision the genus of acid-sensitive aptamer triptolide conjugates required to practice the full scope of the invention. Only Apt-TP, E07-TP and AS1411-TP have been reduced to practice.
As stated above, the MPEP states that written description for a genus can be achieved by a representative number of species within a broad generic claim. Given the breadth of the claims, the Specification lacks sufficient variety of species to reflect the variance in the genus.
In conclusion, the Specification as filed does not provide sufficient descriptive support for the myriad of acid-sensitive aptamer triptolide conjugates embraced by the claims. For the reasons discussed above, the 35 USC § 112 rejection for written description is therefore applicable.
******
The preamble of claim 1 recites the phrase, “an acid-sensitive aptamer triptolide conjugate”. The phrase “acid-sensitive” has not been defined in Applicant’s Specification. Without a definition, one of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine whether their own compound is "sensitive" enough to infringe upon the present claims because the claims fails to provide any baseline, pH threshold, or functional test.
MPEP § 2173.02 (II) states that one of the purposes of examination under 35 USC § 112, second paragraph is to determine whether the claim apprises one of ordinary skill in the art of its scope and, therefore, serves the notice function required by 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, by providing clear warning to others as to what constitutes infringement of the patent. See, e.g., Solomon v. Kimberly-Clark Corp., 216 F.3d 1372, 1379, 55 USPQ2d 1279, 1283 (Fed. Cir. 2000). See also In re Larsen, No. 01-1092 (Fed. Cir. May 9, 2001) (unpublished). If the language of the claim is such that a person of ordinary skill in the art could not interpret the metes and bounds of the claim so as to understand how to avoid infringement, a rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, would be appropriate. See Morton Int’l, Inc. v. Cardinal Chem. Co., 5 F.3d 1464, 1470, 28 USPQ2d 1190, 1195 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case, there is no “bright line” by which to reasonably apprise the scope of the invention. As presented, the claims are not clear or precise and therefore indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 9809822 B2 to Zhang in view of U.S. Patent No. 9216228 B2 to Kratz.
The claims are drawn to an acid-sensitive aptamer triptolide conjugate, characterized in having the following general formula:
wherein, A is a nucleic acid aptamer; B is a linking bond linking triptolide to the nucleic acid aptamer, and said linking bond has an acetal ester functional group formed at the position 14 hydroxyl of triptolide.
Zhang teaches a conjugate of triptolide and a nucleic acid aptamer in which a linking group is introduced at the C14 hydroxyl of triptolide and joined to the aptamer. See Summary, for example. Zhang teaches that the aptamer is AS1411. See Zhang Patent, throughout. Zhang further teaches that the linkage is acid-sensitive and demonstrates that the resulting conjugate retains antitumor activity in vitro and in vivo.
Zhang do not necessarily teach the linking bond has an acetal ester functional group formed at the position 14 hydroxyl of triptolide.
Kratz, directed to receptor- and antigen-targeted prodrugs comprising a pharmaceutically active compound bound through a cleavable linker to a targeting moiety, teaches that the cleavable linker preferably contains at least one acid-labile bond and identifies acetal bonds among the art-recognized options for this purpose, together with ester, ketal, imine, hydrazone, carboxylhydrazone and sulfonylhydrazone bonds.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a triptolide moiety, conjugated at the 14-hydroxy group to a divalent linking group, which is in turn linked to a nucleic acid aptamer was known in the prior art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute an acetal functional group for the enol ether functional group of Zhang because Kratz teaches acetal bonds to be an art-recognized equivalent means of achieving acid-triggered release of an active agent from a targeted conjugate – the same function Zhang requires of its linkage. The substitution of one known acid-labile linkage for another, each recognized in the art as suitable for releasing a drug from a targeting moiety under acidic conditions, yields no more than the predictable result of a conjugate that releases triptolide at acidic pH. See MPEP 2143(I). Also see, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex lnc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007).
Furthermore, it is obvious to substitute one functional equivalent for another, particularly when they are to be used for the same purpose. KSR forecloses that the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See Board Decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d). Also, see M.P.E.P. §2144.07 which states, "The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).” When substituting equivalents known in the prior art for the same purpose, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). M.P.E.P. §2144.06.
One of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making this substitution as evidenced by Gu et al. (Biomacromolecules, 2013 Vol. 14(8):2772-2780) who teaches that acetal linkages formed at the secondary hydroxyl of a compound were known to provide pH-dependent release.
Therefore, the subject matter of claims 1 and 3-8 is obvious over Zhang in view of Kratz and evidenced by Gu et al.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable at this time.
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO's Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO's Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO's PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199.
/TERRA C GIBBS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1635