DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Based on the current set of claims (Claims, 05 February 2026), Claims 1-28 are pending.
Based on the current set of claims (Claims, 05 February 2026), Claims 1, 8, 15, and 22 are amended and said amendments are narrowing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20190327061 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Li”) in view of Chen et al. (US 20160337087 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Chen”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 15.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 16.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 17.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 18.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 19.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 20.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 21.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 22.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 23.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 24.
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 11 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 25.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 26.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 27.
Regarding Claim 14, Claim 14 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 28.
Regarding Claim 15, Li discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (¶62 & Fig. 5, Li discloses a computer readable medium/memory 1006); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (¶62 & Fig. 5, Li discloses a processor 1004 coupled to the memory via a bus 1024), the at least one processor configured:
to transmit, to a network node, a first stage hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook on an orthogonal multiple access (OMA) resource (¶69-71 & Fig. 5 (523), Li discloses transmitting, to a base station (BS), a first negative acknowledgment (NACK) in a UE-specific resource where the UE-specific resource is not used as a non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) resource); and
to transmit, to the network node, the second stage HARQ-ACK codebook on a non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) resource in response to the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook indicating at least one negative acknowledgement (NACK) (¶69-71 & Fig. 5 (531), Li discloses transmitting, to the BS, a second negative acknowledgment (NACK) in a common resource where the common resource is used as a non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) resource).
However, Li does not disclose the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook indicating whether a second stage HARQ-ACK is to be sent depending on whether any of a multi-bit HARQ-ACK is a negative acknowledgement (NACK) and the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook having a different bit length than the second stage HARQ- ACK codebook.
Chen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook indicating whether a second stage HARQ-ACK is to be sent depending on whether any of a multi-bit HARQ-ACK is a negative acknowledgement (NACK) (¶71-73 & Fig. 4 (420->425->430), Chen discloses a first stage of feedback indicating whether a second stage of feedback is to be sent depending upon whether the first-stage feedback comprises a negative acknowledgment (NAK)) and the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook having a different bit length than the second stage HARQ- ACK codebook (¶39, Chen discloses that the first stage of feedback has a different bit length than the second stage of feedback).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li by requiring that the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook indicating whether a second stage HARQ-ACK is to be sent depending on whether any of a multi-bit HARQ-ACK is a negative acknowledgement (NACK) and the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook having a different bit length than the second stage HARQ- ACK codebook as taught by Chen because downlink throughput may be improved through the use of a two-stage transmission of feedback (Chen, ¶39).
Regarding Claim 16, Li in view of Chen discloses the apparatus of claim 15.
Li further discloses in which the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook comprises a single physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) bit (¶46, Li discloses that the NACK is transmitted over a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH). ¶69-71 & Fig. 5 (523), Li discloses a single negative acknowledgement (NACK). One having ordinary skill in the art prior to a time where the claimed invention was filed would understand that a bit could be used to signal a single NACK in uplink control information).
Regarding Claim 17, Li in view of Chen discloses the apparatus of claim 15.
Li further discloses in which the at least one processor is further configured to receive a configuration for a single resource for both the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook and the second stage HARQ-ACK codebook (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (501 & 503), Li discloses receiving, by the UE, an indication where the indication indicates configuration information for both a common resource pool designated for NACK(s) and UE-specific set of resources for the transmission of a UE-specific ACK/NACK), the configuration indicating an OMA portion of the single resource allocated to the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook and a NOMA portion of the single resource allocated to the second stage HARQ-ACK codebook (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (501), Li discloses that the configuration information corresponding to UE-specific set of resources is for the transmission of a UE-specific ACK/NACK using an OMA scheme and the configuration information corresponding to the pool of common resources is used for NOMA transmission).
Regarding Claim 18, Li in view of Chen discloses the apparatus of claim 15.
Li further discloses in which the at least one processor is further configured to
receive a first configuration for the OMA resource for the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (503), Li discloses receiving, by the UE, an indication where the indication indicates configuration information for a UE-specific set of resources for the transmission of a UE-specific ACK/NACK) and
receive a second configuration for the NOMA resource for the second stage HARQ-ACK codebook (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (501), Li discloses receiving, by the UE, an indication where the indication indicates configuration information for both a common resource pool designated for NACK(s)).
Regarding Claim 19, Li in view of Chen discloses the apparatus of claim 18.
Li further discloses in which the at least one processor is further configured to receive a link between the OMA resource and the NOMA resource via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (501), Li discloses receiving, by the UE, an indication where the indication indicates configuration information for both a common resource pool designated for NACK(s) via radio resource control (RRC) signaling).
Regarding Claim 20, Li in view of Chen discloses the apparatus of claim 15.
Li further discloses in which the at least one processor is further configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) configuration for the NOMA resource (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (501), Li discloses receiving, by the UE via RRC signaling, an indication indicating a common resource pool designated for NACK(s)).
Regarding Claim 21, Li in view of Chen discloses the apparatus of claim 15.
Li further discloses in which the at least one processor is further configured to receive a first configuration for the OMA resource for the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (503), Li discloses receiving, by the UE, an indication where the indication indicates configuration information for a UE-specific set of resources for the transmission of a UE-specific ACK/NACK) and receive downlink control information (DCI) requesting the second stage HARQ-ACK codebook (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (511), Li discloses receiving, by the UE, an indication where the indication indicates a NOMA sequence to be used by the UE to send/retransmit a NACK in the common resource under NOMA scheme. Here, the BS transmits the NOMA sequence as a request for a second transmission in the event that the first transmission is also NACK), the DCI indicating the NOMA resource for the second stage HARQ-ACK codebook (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (511) & ¶44, Li discloses that the indication can be received via downlink control information (DCI) in a downlink control channel like a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)).
Regarding Claim 22, Li discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (¶62 & Fig. 5, Li discloses a computer readable medium/memory 1006); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (¶62 & Fig. 5, Li discloses a processor 1004 coupled to the memory via a bus 1024), the at least one processor configured:
to receive, from a user equipment (UE), a first stage hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook on an orthogonal multiple access (OMA) resource (¶69-71 & Fig. 5 (523), Li discloses receiving, by a base station (BS), a first negative acknowledgment (NACK) in a UE-specific resource where the UE-specific resource is not used as a non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) resource); and
to receive, from the UE, the second stage HARQ-ACK codebook on a non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) resource in response to the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook indicating at least one negative acknowledgment (NACK) (¶69-71 & Fig. 5 (531), Li discloses receiving, by the BS, a second negative acknowledgment (NACK) in a common resource where the common resource is used as a non-orthogonal multiple access (NOMA) resource).
However, Li does not disclose the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook indicating whether a second stage HARQ-ACK is to be sent depending on whether any of a multi-bit HARQ-ACK is a negative acknowledgement (NACK) and the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook having a different bit length than the second stage HARQ- ACK codebook.
Chen, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook indicating whether a second stage HARQ-ACK is to be sent depending on whether any of a multi-bit HARQ-ACK is a negative acknowledgement (NACK) (¶71-73 & Fig. 4 (420->425->430), Chen discloses a first stage of feedback indicating whether a second stage of feedback is to be sent depending upon whether the first-stage feedback comprises a negative acknowledgment (NAK)) and the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook having a different bit length than the second stage HARQ- ACK codebook (¶39, Chen discloses that the first stage of feedback has a different bit length than the second stage of feedback).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Li by requiring that the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook indicating whether a second stage HARQ-ACK is to be sent depending on whether any of a multi-bit HARQ-ACK is a negative acknowledgement (NACK) and the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook having a different bit length than the second stage HARQ- ACK codebook as taught by Chen because downlink throughput may be improved through the use of a two-stage transmission of feedback (Chen, ¶39).
Regarding Claim 23, Li in view of Chen discloses the apparatus of claim 22.
Li further discloses in which the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook comprises a single physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) bit (¶46, Li discloses that the NACK is transmitted over a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH). ¶69-71 & Fig. 5 (523), Li discloses a single negative acknowledgement (NACK). One having ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed would understand that a bit could be used to signal a single NACK in uplink control information).
Regarding Claim 24, Li in view of Chen discloses the apparatus of claim 22.
Li further discloses in which the at least one processor is further configured to transmit a configuration for a single resource for both the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook and the second stage HARQ-ACK codebook (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (501 & 503), Li discloses transmitting, by the BS, an indication where the indication indicates configuration information for both a common resource pool designated for NACK(s) and UE-specific set of resources for the transmission of a UE-specific ACK/NACK), the configuration indicating an OMA portion of the single resource allocated to the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook and a NOMA portion of the single resource allocated to the second stage HARQ-ACK codebook (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (501), Li discloses that the configuration information corresponding to UE-specific set of resources is for the transmission of a UE-specific ACK/NACK using an OMA scheme and the configuration information corresponding to the pool of common resources is used for NOMA transmission).
Regarding Claim 25, Li in view of Chen discloses the apparatus of claim 22.
Li further discloses in which the at least one processor is further configured to transmit a first configuration for the OMA resource for the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (503), Li discloses transmitting an indication where the indication indicates configuration information for a UE-specific set of resources for the transmission of a UE-specific ACK/NACK) and transmit a second configuration for the NOMA resource for the second stage HARQ-ACK codebook (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (501), Li discloses transmitting an indication where the indication indicates configuration information for both a common resource pool designated for NACK(s)).
Regarding Claim 26, Li in view of Chen discloses the apparatus of claim 25.
Li further discloses in which the at least one processor is further configured to configure a link between the OMA resource and the NOMA resource via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (501), Li discloses receiving, by the UE, an indication where the indication indicates configuration information for both a common resource pool designated for NACK(s) via radio resource control (RRC) signaling).
Regarding Claim 27, Li in view of Chen discloses the apparatus of claim 22.
Li further discloses in which the at least one processor is further configured to transmit a radio resource control (RRC) configuration for the NOMA resource (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (501), Li discloses transmitting, by the BS via RRC signaling, an indication indicating a common resource pool designated for NACK(s)).
Regarding Claim 28, Li in view of Chen discloses the apparatus of claim 22.
Li further discloses in which the at least one processor is further configured to transmit a first configuration for the OMA resource for the first stage HARQ-ACK codebook (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (503), Li discloses transmitting, by the BS, an indication where the indication indicates configuration information for a UE-specific set of resources for the transmission of a UE-specific ACK/NACK) and transmit downlink control information (DCI) requesting the second stage HARQ-ACK codebook (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (511), Li discloses transmitting, by the BS, an indication where the indication indicates a NOMA sequence to be used by the UE to send/retransmit a NACK in the common resource under NOMA scheme. Here, the BS transmits the NOMA sequence as a request for a second transmission in the event that the first transmission is also NACK), the DCI indicating the NOMA resource for the second stage HARQ-ACK codebook (¶65-66 & Fig. 5 (511) & ¶44, Li discloses that the indication can be received via downlink control information (DCI) in a downlink control channel like a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474