Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 12/03/25 has been entered.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
Objection to Claim 18.
35 USC 112 Rejection to Claims 4, 10, 16 and 6, 12, 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/03/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the independent claims, Applicant argues Patil does not disclose “determining at least two TDLS DR frames” [Remarks pg. 11]. Examiner respectively disagrees. As mentioned in the previous office action Patil discloses multiple TDLS DR frames with different IDs based on the multiple APs [par. 0163]. Consequently, since Patil discloses the limitations as claimed, the claims remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Patil (US 20220124857 A1, see also 63/094,684).
Regarding claim 1, Patil discloses a direct link setup method [fig. 20, see also ‘684 fig. 20], applied to a first device [fig. 20 no. 304b], wherein the first device comprises one or more stations STAs (STA3, 4 [fig. 20 no. 304b]), the first device is connected to a third device [fig. 20 no. 302], the third device comprises a plurality of access points APs [fig. 20 no. 110a, b], a second device [fig. 20 no. 304a] is connected to the third device, the second device comprises a plurality of STAs [fig. 20 no. 120a, b], and the method comprises:
determining at least two tunneled direct-link setup (TDLS) discovery request frames (The non-AP MLD transmits more than one TDLS Discovery Request frames [par. 0163, see also ‘684 par. 0148]), wherein at least one of the at least two TDLS discovery request frames includes an identifier field indicating an AP in the third device (Link ID IE includes BSSID (i.e., ID field indicating an AP in the third device) [par. 0149, fig. 6, par. 0154, 081, 093]), and different TDLS discovery request frames one-to-one correspond to different APs in the third device (BSSIDs of APs (i.e., correspond one-to-one) [par. 0163]); and
sending the at least two TDLS discovery request frames [fig. 20 no. 2002, par. 0163].
Regarding claim 7, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Patil further discloses a first device [fig. 20 no. 304b], wherein the first device comprises one or more stations STAs (STA3, 4 [fig. 20 no. 304b]), the first device is connected to a third device [fig. 20 no. 302], the third device comprises a plurality of access points APs [fig. 20 no. 110a, b], a second device [fig. 20 no. 304a] is connected to the third device, the second device comprises a plurality of STAs [fig. 20 no. 120a, b], and the first device [fig. 21 no. 2102, par. 0046] comprising: a memory storage [fig. 21 no. 2112] including instructions [fig. 21 no. 2114-2118]; and one or more processors in communication with the memory [fig. 21 no. 2104].
Regarding claim 13, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in CRM claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Patil further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media [fig. 21 no. 2112] storing computer instructions [fig. 21 no. 2114-2118], wherein the non-transitory computer-readable media applied in a first device [fig. 21 no. 2102, par. 0046].
Regarding claims 2, 8, and 14, Patil discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Patil further discloses:
wherein the determining the at least two TDLS discovery request frames that includes the identifier field includes determining at least two TDLS discovery request frames that includes the identifier field that is a basic service set identifier (BSSID), and the BSSID is carried in a link identifier element field of the at least two TDLS discovery request frames (Link ID IE includes BSSID (i.e., ID field indicating an AP in the third device) [par. 0149, 163, fig. 6 no. 6, par. 0154, 081, 093]).
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 15, Patil discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Patil further discloses:
wherein the determining the at least two TDLS discovery request frames includes determining the at least two TDLS discovery request frames include a multi-link element field, the multi-link element field includes a type subfield, and the type subfield indicates tunneled direct-link setup (ML IE IDs specific links (i.e., “type” subfield indicates TDLS [par. 0148-149, 157, fig. 19, ‘684 par. 0133]).
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 16, Patil discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Patil further discloses:
wherein the determining the at least two TDLS discovery request frames includes determining the at least two TDLS discovery request frames includes a multi-link element field, the multi-link element field includes an MLD MAC address field, and the MLD MAC address field indicates a MAC address of the third device (ML element carries the AP MLD MAC Address and the TA field is set to the MAC address of the first device, where the first device is the AP MLD [par. 0087, ‘684 par. 0071]).
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 17, Patil discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Patil further discloses:
further comprising receiving, by the first device, a TDLS discovery response frame fed back by a STA that is associated with the AP of the third device and that is in the plurality of STAs of the second device [fig. 20 no. 2006, 2010].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil ‘857 (see also ‘684) as applied to claims 1, 7, and 13 respectively, and further in view of Patil (‘684).
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 18, Patil discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Patil ‘857 discloses the limitation in its entirety [Patil ‘857 par. 0087], not everything is explicitly disclosed in Patil ‘684. Nevertheless, Patil ‘857 and ‘684 disclose wherein the method further comprises: binding a MAC address of the third device to a TDLS peer (STAs use MAC addresses (non-AP and AP) to communicate through the AP [‘684 par. 0071]) and as discussed above. However, the AP MLD MAC address section of Patil ‘684 does not explicitly disclose to a TDLS peer key TPK. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by the TPK section of Patil ‘684.
In the same field of endeavor, Patil ‘684 discloses:
to a TDLS peer key TPK (The TDLS session uses non-AP MLDs (i.e., peers) during TPK [‘684 par. 0068, 78-79]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil ‘684 with Patil ‘684. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of performing a TPK handshake and encryption key generation for the TDLS session [Patil ‘684 par. 0078].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465