Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al (US 2019/0297684) cited by applicant. Regarding claim 1, Takahashi discloses fluid heating component comprising a honeycomb structure portion (2) comprising an outer peripheral wall (see Figure 1) and partition walls (6, par. 0054) arranged on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall, the partition walls (6) defining a plurality of cells (3) each forming a flow path extending one end face (5a) to other end face (5b, Figure 1 in conjunction with par. 0051-par. 0052); and a magnetic material powder (4, 7) attached to or filled in at least one of the plurality of cells (Figure 4A-4C, 5A-C; par. 0084-par. 0087), wherein a volume and/or weight of the magnetic material powder (4, 7) per unit volume vary in an axial direction and/or an axis orthogonal direction of the honeycomb structure portion (2, par. 0082, par. 0084 and Figure 4A-C and Figure 5A-C). Regarding claim 2, Takahashi discloses regions with different number of magnetic cells (Figures 4A-5C). Regarding claims 3-4, Takahashi discloses different number of magnetic cells in a cell block and cell blocks of different sizes, each containing a magnetic cell (par. 0079). Regarding claim 5, Takahashi discloses a larger proportion of magnetic cells in the central region (Figure 4C, 5A; par. 0083). Regarding claims 6-8, Takahashi discloses coaxial areas with a different number of magnetic cell (Figures 4C-5A, par. 0083). Regarding claim 18, Takahashi discloses the honeycomb unit and not only a honeycomb structure with magnetic powder attached to cells and distributed inhomogeneous in the honeycomb structure, but also a unit with several of these honeycomb structure (Figure 10-13; par. 0119).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022076250A1 cited by applicant. Regarding claims 1 and 15, WO 2022076250A1 discloses honeycomb structure portion comprising an outer peripheral wall (Figure 4A) and partition walls (12) disposed on an inner side of the outer peripheral wall, the partition walls (12) defining a plurality of cells (10) each forming a flow path extending from one end face (6) to another end face (8, Figures 4A, B, page 17), and a magnetic material powder (20), which is attached to or filled into several cells (Figures 1A, B). In this case, the magnetic material powder may not only be attached to the partition walls (12), but may also be additionally present in the catalyst layer, whereby a different magnetic material powder may be used in the catalyst layer (Figure 4B, page 17, 2nd paragraph and page 19, 5th paragraph). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have such a catalyst layer with a different magnetic material powder, the magnetic material powder has several magnetic material powders, the proportion of which varies relative to one another in an axial direction and an axial orthogonal direction of the honeycomb structure section, in order to provide reasons of operational stability. Regarding claims 9-14, WO 2022076250A1 discloses cross-sections with different numbers of magnetic cells and areas with cells of different filling rates, to the further configuration (Figures 2A, B, 3). Regarding claims 16-17, WO 2022076250A1 discloses a magnetic material powder which has a higher permeability in the central area, since it will elect a material with a lower permeability for the magnetic material powder of the catalyst layer in order to obtain the heating profile intended by the loading (Figures 4A, 4B, 3 , page 16, 1st paragraph). Regarding claim 19, WO 2022076250A1 discloses the honeycomb unit having a honeycomb structure with magnetic material powders attached to cells and distributed differently in the honeycomb structure, which the latter, as usual, joins to form a larger unit if required (4A, 4B, page 17, 2nd paragraph and page 19, 5th paragraph).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al (US 2019/0297684), in view of WO 2021186792A1 both cited by applicant. Regarding claim 20, Takahashi discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention except a magnetic body or metal is disposed between the honeycomb structure. WO 2021186792A1 discloses a magnetic body between the honeycomb structure (Figure 5; par. 0071, par. 0072). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to utilize in Takahashi a magnetic body between the honeycomb structure as taught by WO 2021186792A1 in order to suit user specific application.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022076250A1, in view of WO 2021186792A1 both cited by applicant. Regarding claim 21, WO 2022076250A1 discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention except a magnetic body or metal is disposed between the honeycomb structure. WO 2021186792A1 discloses a magnetic body between the honeycomb structure (Figure 5; par. 0071, par. 0072). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to utilize in WO 2022076250A1a magnetic body between the honeycomb structure as taught by WO 2021186792A1 in order to suit user specific application.
Claim(s) 22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al (US 2019/0297684) in view of WO 2016021186A1 both cited by applicant. Regarding claims 22 and 24, Takahashi discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention except an induction heating coil arranged around an outer periphery of the honeycomb structure or the honeycomb unit, the induction heating coil heating the honeycomb structure or the honeycomb unit by induction heating. WO 2016021186A1 discloses an induction heating coil (210) arranged around an outer periphery of the honeycomb structure (120) or the honeycomb unit. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to utilize in Takahashi an induction heating coil arranged around an outer periphery of the honeycomb structure or the honeycomb unit as taught by WO 2016021186A1 in order to heat the honeycomb structure or the honeycomb unit by induction heating.
Claim(s) 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022076250A1 in view of WO 2016021186A1 both cited by applicant. Regarding claims 23 and 25, WO 2022076250A1 discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention except an induction heating coil arranged around an outer periphery of the honeycomb structure or the honeycomb unit, the induction heating coil heating the honeycomb structure or the honeycomb unit by induction heating. WO 2016021186A1 discloses an induction heating coil (210) arranged around an outer periphery of the honeycomb structure (120) or the honeycomb unit. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to utilize in WO 2022076250A1 an induction heating coil arranged around an outer periphery of the honeycomb structure or the honeycomb unit as taught by WO 2016021186A1 in order to heat the honeycomb structure or the honeycomb unit by induction heating.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Miyairi et al (US 12,065,957) discloses cylindrical can body and induction heating catalyst device. CN116322945A disclose Catalyst carrier and Induction heating catalyst system.
/QUANG T VAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 June 24, 2026