Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-12, 14, 18, 19, 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent JPH 0814754 to Nagai. (The art rejection is made based on the respective English translation by PE2E)
In Reference to Claim 1
Nagai discloses a system for drying a granular material, comprising: a drying hopper (Fig. 3, 8) comprising a body defining an interior volume configured to receive the granular material from a storage vessel (Fig. 3, 7) configured to hold the granular material, and a diffuser (Fig. 3, 22) configured to direct process air into the interior volume; a moisture sensor (Fig. 3, 2) configured to, during operation, determine a moisture content of the granular material at a location upstream (The sensor is positioned upstream of the vessel 8) of the drying hopper; and a controller (Fig. 4, 45) communicatively coupled to the moisture sensor and configured to, during operation, regulate a residence time of the granular material within the drying hopper and at least one of a temperature of the process air; a humidity of the process air; and a flow rate of the process air, based on the measured moisture content of the granular material. (Nagai discloses: “During this drying operation, the moisture difference between the grain moisture measured by the moisture sensor 2 at the start of drying and the finishing target moisture set by operating the moisture setting means 33 of the operating device 14 is calculated. The expected drying time (T0) is calculated from the difference, and the expected drying time (T0) is displayed on the display unit 43 to perform the drying operation. This scheduled drying time (T0) When changing or increasing, the timer increase / decrease setting means 41a and 41b are operated to increase or decrease. The timer increasing / decreasing setting means 41a, 41b When the scheduled drying time (T0) is changed by operating the and the drying time (T1) is set, the remaining time (TW)), The control device 45 and the timer 40 are provided in the operating device 14, and detect the paddy flow sensor 46)”)
In Reference to Claim 2
Nagai discloses the storage vessel. (Fig. 3, 7)
In Reference to Claim 3
Nagai discloses the storage vessel is a silo (Fig. 3, 7 as showed, it is a tower type vessel.
In Reference to Claim 5
Nagai discloses a dry air generator (Fig. 3, 15) in fluid communication with the drying hopper and configured to, during operation, remove moisture from the process air.
In Reference to Claim 6
Nagai discloses a heater (Fig. 3, 3) in fluid communication with the drying hopper and the dry air generator, the heater being configured to, during operation, heat the process air.
In Reference to Claim 7
Nagai discloses a blower (Fig. 3, 23) in fluid communication with the drying hopper, the dry air generator, and the heater, the blower being configured to, during operation, circulate the process air between the drying hopper, the dry air generator, and the heater.
In Reference to Claim 10
Nagai discloses the controller is further configured to, during operation, change the residence time from a manufacturer-recommended value to reach a target moisture content provided by the manufacturer, based on the measured moisture content of the granular material.
Nagai discloses: “During this drying operation, the moisture difference between the grain moisture measured by the moisture sensor 2 at the start of drying and the finishing target moisture set by operating the moisture setting means 33 of the operating device 14 is calculated. The expected drying time (T0) is calculated from the difference, and the expected drying time (T0) is displayed on the display unit 43 to perform the drying operation. This scheduled drying time (T0) When changing or increasing, the timer increase / decrease setting means 41a and 41b are operated to increase or decrease.” Therefore, the residence time is changed from the manufacturer recommended value since Nagai teaches the time is set based on the moisture level.
In Reference to Claim 11
Nagai discloses the controller is further configured to, during operation, change a temperature of the process air from a manufacturer-recommended value to reach the target moisture content provided by the manufacturer, based on the measured moisture content of the granular material.
Nagai discloses “stopping means 32 for stopping operation, moisture setting means 33 for setting the finishing target moisture of the grain, respective display lamps 34 for each moisture, grain type setting means 35 for setting the hot air temperature generated from the burner 3,” Therefore Nagai discloses the temperature from the burner is changed based on the moisture from the working media.
In Reference to Claim 12
Nagai discloses the controller is further configured to, during operation, regulate the residence time of the granular material within the drying hopper; and at least one of: the temperature of the process air; the humidity of the process air; and the flow rate of the process air, based on the measured moisture content of the granular material and a predetermined relationship between the moisture content of the granular material and at least one of the residence time of the granular material within the drying hopper; the temperature of the process air; the humidity of the process air; and the flow rate of the process air.
Nagai discloses Nagai discloses: “During this drying operation, the moisture difference between the grain moisture measured by the moisture sensor 2 at the start of drying and the finishing target moisture set by operating the moisture setting means 33 of the operating device 14 is calculated. The expected drying time (T0) is calculated from the difference, and the expected drying time (T0) is displayed on the display unit 43 to perform the drying operation. This scheduled drying time (T0) When changing or increasing, the timer increase / decrease setting means 41a and 41b are operated to increase or decrease. … stopping means 32 for stopping operation, moisture setting means 33 for setting the finishing target moisture of the grain, respective display lamps 34 for each moisture, grain type setting means 35 for setting the hot air temperature generated from the burner 3, ” Therefore, the residence time is changed from the manufacturer recommended value since Nagai teaches the time is set based on the moisture level and the temperature from the burner is changed based on the moisture from the working media.
In Reference to Claim 14
Nagai discloses the granular material comprises one or more of resin granulates, a powdered material, and an agricultural grain. (The abstract of Nagai)
In Reference to Claim 18
Nagai discloses a process for drying a granular material, comprising: providing a storage vessel (Fig. 3, 7) configured to hold the granular material; providing a drying hopper (Fig. 3, 8) comprising a body defining an interior volume configured to receive the granular material, and a diffuser (Fig. 3, 23) configured to direct process air into the interior volume; transferring the granular material from the storage vessel and to the drying hopper; measuring a moisture (Fig. 3, 2) content of the granular material upstream of the drying hopper; and regulating a residence time of the granular material within the drying hopper and at least one of a temperature of the process air; a humidity of the process air; and a flow rate of the process air, based on the measured moisture content of the granular material. (During this drying operation, the moisture difference between the grain moisture measured by the moisture sensor 2 at the start of drying and the finishing target moisture set by operating the moisture setting means 33 of the operating device 14 is calculated. The expected drying time (T0) is calculated from the difference, and the expected drying time (T0) is displayed on the display unit 43 to perform the drying operation. This scheduled drying time (T0) When changing or increasing, the timer increase / decrease setting means 41a and 41b are operated to increase or decrease.)
In Reference to Claim 19
Nagai discloses measuring (Fig. 3, 2) the moisture content of the granular material upstream of the drying hopper comprises measuring the moisture content of the granular material at the storage vessel.
(Since Nagai measure the moisture before the grain is sent to the drying hopper, therefore, the moisture measurement is the same as the moisture level in the storage vessel)
In Reference to Claim 24
Nagai discloses regulating at least one of: the residence time of the granular material within the drying hopper; the temperature of the process air; the humidity of the process air; and the flow rate of the process air, based on the measured moisture content of the granular material and a predetermined relationship between the moisture content of the granular material and at least one of the residence time of the granular material within the drying hopper; the temperature of the process air; the humidity of the process air; and the flow rate of the process air. (During this drying operation, the moisture difference between the grain moisture measured by the moisture sensor 2 at the start of drying and the finishing target moisture set by operating the moisture setting means 33 of the operating device 14 is calculated. The expected drying time (T0) is calculated from the difference, and the expected drying time (T0) is displayed on the display unit 43 to perform the drying operation. This scheduled drying time (T0) When changing or increasing, the timer increase / decrease setting means 41a and 41b are operated to increase or decrease.)
In Reference to Claim 25
Nagai discloses the storage vessel is one of a Gaylord box, an octobin, a remote storage vessel, a railcar, and a silo (As showed in Fig. 3, item 7 is a silo).
In Reference to Claim 26
Nagai discloses providing a dry air generator (Fig. 3, 15) in fluid communication with the drying hopper and configured to, during operation, remove moisture from the process air; providing a heater (Fig. 3, 22) in fluid communication with the drying hopper and the dry air generator, the heater being configured to, during operation, heat the process air; and providing a blower (Fig. 3, 23) in fluid communication with the drying hopper, the dry air generator, and the heater, the blower being configured to, during operation, circulate the process air between the drying hopper, the dry air generator, and the heater.
In Reference to Claim 27
Nagai discloses providing the granular material in the form of one or more of resin granulates, a powdered material, and agricultural grains. (The abstract)
In Reference to Claim 28
Nagai discloses the residence time from a manufacturer-recommended value to reach a target moisture content provided by the manufacturer, based on the measured moisture content of the granular material.
Nagai discloses Nagai discloses: “During this drying operation, the moisture difference between the grain moisture measured by the moisture sensor 2 at the start of drying and the finishing target moisture set by operating the moisture setting means 33 of the operating device 14 is calculated. The expected drying time (T0) is calculated from the difference, and the expected drying time (T0) is displayed on the display unit 43 to perform the drying operation. This scheduled drying time (T0) When changing or increasing, the timer increase / decrease setting means 41a and 41b are operated to increase or decrease. … stopping means 32 for stopping operation, moisture setting means 33 for setting the finishing target moisture of the grain, respective display lamps 34 for each moisture, grain type setting means 35 for setting the hot air temperature generated from the burner 3, ” Therefore, the residence time is changed from the manufacturer recommended value since Nagai teaches the time is set based on the moisture level and the temperature from the burner is changed based on the moisture from the working media.
In Reference to Claim 29
Nagai discloses changing a temperature of the process air from a manufacturer-recommended value to reach the target moisture content provided by the manufacturer, based on the measured moisture content of the granular material.
Nagai discloses “stopping means 32 for stopping operation, moisture setting means 33 for setting the finishing target moisture of the grain, respective display lamps 34 for each moisture, grain type setting means 35 for setting the hot air temperature generated from the burner 3,” Therefore Nagai discloses the temperature from the burner is changed based on the moisture from the working media.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai in view of US Patent Publication 2012/0144690 to Abramov.
In Reference to Claim 4
Nagai discloses drying hopper.
Nagai does not teach a vacuum source.
Abramov teaches a vacuum pump (The Office considers that a vacuum pump is a portion of a vacuum loader) positioned at the inlet of the drying hopper. (Paragraph 20)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Abramov into the design of Nagai. Doing so, would result in a vacuum pump being connected to the inlet of the drying to move grain. Both inventions of Nagai and Abramov for a grain drying hopper, Abramov teaches a design of reducing a process time with a positive method to move grains.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Nagai and Abramov as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of CN11311502 to Ren.
In Reference to Claim 9
The combination of Nagai and Abramov as applied to Claim 8 teaches the hooper dryer.
The combination of Nagai and Abramov as applied to Claim 8 does not teach a pickup wand.
Ren teaches a pickup wand having a moisture sensor ( the detecting rod is provided with a water detecting sensor and a temperature detecting sensor)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Ren into the combination of Nagai and Abramov as applied to Claim 8. Doing so, would result in the moisture senor of Nagai being attached to a detecting wang as being taught by Ren. Ren provides a method of detecting the water level in a grain process with a predictable result of success.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Nagai and Abramov as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US Patent 2015/0316320 to Maguire.
In Reference to Claim 17
The combination of Nagai and Abramov teaches the dryer system comprising the vacuum pump (The Office considers that a vacuum pump is a portion of a vacuum loader) positioned at the inlet of the drying hopper. (Paragraph 20)
The combination of Nagai and Abramov as applied to Claim 17 does not teach a load cell.
Maguire teaches a dryer system comprises load cell (Fig. 1, 36)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Maguire into the combination of Nagai and Abramov as applied to Claim 17. Doing so, would result in a load cell being coupled to the vacuum receiver (14) as being taught by Maguire. Both invention of Nagai and Maguire are for drying system. Maguire teaches a method of measure the weight of the material and send the measurement back to the controller as one of the control factor. Therefore, the process efficiency would be improved.
Claims 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagai in view of Abramov.
In Reference to Claims 20 and 23
Nagai discloses drying hopper.
Nagai does not teach a vacuum source.
Abramov teaches a vacuum pump (The Office considers that a vacuum pump is a portion of a vacuum loader) positioned at the inlet of the drying hopper. (Paragraph 20)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Abramov into the design of Nagai. Doing so, would result in a vacuum pump being connected to the inlet of the drying to move grain. Both inventions of Nagai and Abramov for a grain drying hopper, Abramov teaches a design of reducing a process time with a positive method to move grains.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Nagai and Abramov as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Ren.
In Reference to Claims 21
The combination of Nagai and Abramov as applied to Claim 20 teaches the hooper dryer.
The combination of Nagai and Abramov as applied to Claim 20 does not teach a pickup wand.
Ren teaches a pickup wand having a moisture sensor ( the detecting rod is provided with a water detecting sensor and a temperature detecting sensor)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Ren into the combination of Nagai and Abramov as applied to Claim 8. Doing so, would result in the moisture senor of Nagai being attached to a detecting wang as being taught by Ren. Ren provides a method of detecting the water level in a grain process with a predictable result of success.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 5/19/26