1. This communication is responsive to the application filed 9/15/2023.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 15 and 20 are independent claims. This action is made Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (CN 115016753).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a data processing method comprising:
obtaining a first parameter, the first parameter characterizing a relative position (see fig 2A, 130; e.g., relative positional state is obtained through sensors on both the first and second screens; in a first positional state, the first and second screens are back to back; in a second positional state, the screens are side by side) of a first body (see fig 2A, 110) of an electronic device and a second body (see fig 2A, 120) of the electronic device, a deformation of a display screen of the electronic device being corresponding to the relative position of the first body and the second body (see fig 2A; e.g., first screen and second screen can be folded; relative positional state is obtained through sensors on both the first and second screens; in a first positional state, the first and second screens are back to back; in a second positional state, the screens are side by side); and
determining a target output area based on the first parameter, the target output area displaying a target object (see figs 15A and 15B; also see the Abstract; e.g., “displaying the adjusted display content on the first screen and the second screen by obtaining the orientation and display state of the terminal screen”), wherein:
the target output area belongs to a display area of the display screen (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by a inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a first positional relationship, the target output area is a first area; and if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a second positional relationship, the target output area is a second area, the first positional relationship being different from the second positional relationship, the second area including the first area (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by a inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a first positional relationship, the target output area is located at a first position; and if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a second positional relationship, the target output area is located at a second position, the first positional relationship being different from the second positional relationship, the first position being different from the second position (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by an inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses controlling a target display unit corresponding to the target output area to be in an operating state based on the target output area to display the target object, the display area of the display screen including a plurality of display units, the target display unit being a part of the plurality of display units (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by an inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses obtaining a second parameter, the second parameter being different from the first parameter (see fig 2A, 130; e.g., relative positional state is obtained through sensors on both the first and second screens; in a first positional state, the first and second screens are back to back; in a second positional state, the screens are side by side).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses wherein determining the target.
output area based on the first parameter includes:
determining the target output area based on the first parameter and the second parameter, the target output area being at least a partial area of the display area of the display screen (see fig 2A, 130; e.g., relative positional state is obtained through sensors on both the first and second screens; in a first positional state, the first and second screens are back to back; in a second positional state, the screens are side by side), wherein:
if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a first positional relationship and the second parameter indicates that the electronic device is at a first attitude relative to a reference plane, the target output area is a first area; and if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a first positional relationship and the second parameter indicates that the electronic device is at a second attitude relative to the reference plane, the target output area is a second area (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by an inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses if the second parameter satisfies a target condition, determine the target output area based on the first parameter, the target output area being the partial area of the display area of the display screen (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by an inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses wherein:
the target condition is a duration threshold (see fig 2A; e.g., “the terminal can measure the rotating angle of the terminal through the motion sensor; when the rotating angle exceeds a predetermined threshold value, the terminal determines the screen posture is converted into a vertical screen. the predetermined threshold can be determined according to the actual condition, for example, can be set as 45 degrees”); and
the second parameter characterizes one of:
a duration during which the first body and the second body of the electronic device are in a first positional relationship;
a duration during which the first body and the second body of the electronic device switch from a second positional relationship to a first positional relationship; and
a duration during which the first body and the second body of the electronic device switch from a third positional relationship to the first positional relationship (see fig 2A; e.g., “the terminal can measure the rotating angle of the terminal through the motion sensor. when the rotating angle exceeds a predetermined threshold value, the terminal determines the screen posture is converted into a vertical screen. the predetermined threshold can be determined according to the actual condition, for example, can be set as 45 degrees”).
Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses wherein:
the target condition is a speed threshold (see fig 2A; e.g., “the terminal can measure the rotating angle of the terminal through the motion sensor; when the rotating angle exceeds a predetermined threshold value, the terminal determines the screen posture is converted into a vertical screen. the predetermined threshold can be determined according to the actual condition, for example, can be set as 45 degrees”); and
the second parameter characterizes one of:
the speed at which the first body and the second body of the electronic device switch from a second positional relationship to a first positional relationship; and
the speed at which the first body and the second body of the electronic device switch from a third positional relationship to the first positional relationship (well-known feature in the art).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses determining the target object from a display object set based on the first parameter and determining the target output area based on the first parameter if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in the a positional relationship, privacy level of the target object being higher than the privacy level of the display objects other than the target object in the display object set (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by an inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses wherein:
the target output area corresponds to at least part of a second display area, the first body and the second body being in a first positional relationship such that the display screen is bent to form a first display area and the second display area (see fig 2A; e.g., first screen and second screen can be folded; relative positional state is obtained through sensors on both the first and second screens; in a first positional state, the first and second screens are back to back; in a second positional state, the screens are side by side).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses wherein:
if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in the first positional relationship, determining the target output area based on the first parameter and moving the target output area from the second display area to the first display area until the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a second positional relationship, the first body and the second body being in the second positional relationship such that the display screen is flattened, part of the first display area and the part of the second display area being located in the same plane (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by an inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses wherein:
if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in the first positional relationship, determining the target output area based on the first parameter and expanding the target output area from the second display area to the first display area until the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a second positional relationship, the first body and the second body being in the second positional relationship such that the display screen is flattened, part of the first display area and part of the second display area being located in the same plane (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by an inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses wherein: the number of target objects is related to the size of the target output area (see figs 15A and 15B).
Claims 15-19 are similar in scope to claims 1-5, respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (US 2021/0325242).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174