1. This communication is responsive to the Amendment filed 5/14/2026.
2. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-15 and 20-26 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 15 and 26 are independent claims. In the instant Amendment, claims 1-2, 6-8, 12-13, 15 and 20 were amended, claims 5, 9 and 16-19 were canceled and claims 21-26 were added. This action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-15 and 20-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (CN 115016753) in view of An (US 2018/0137801) and Hulbert et al (“Hulbert” US 11,079,995).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a data processing method comprising:
obtaining a first parameter, the first parameter characterizing a relative position (see fig 2A, 130; e.g., relative positional state is obtained through sensors on both the first and second screens; in a first positional state, the first and second screens are back to back; in a second positional state, the screens are side by side) of a first body (see fig 2A, 110) of an electronic device and a second body (see fig 2A, 120) of the electronic device, a deformation of a display screen of the electronic device being corresponding to the relative position of the first body and the second body (see fig 2A; e.g., first screen and second screen can be folded; relative positional state is obtained through sensors on both the first and second screens; in a first positional state, the first and second screens are back to back; in a second positional state, the screens are side by side); and
determining a target output area based on the first parameter, the target output area belonging to a display area of the display screen and displaying a target object (see figs 15A and 15B; also see the Abstract; e.g., “displaying the adjusted display content on the first screen and the second screen by obtaining the orientation and display state of the terminal screen”).
Chen does not expressly disclose determining the target output area includes dynamically adjusting the target output area in at least one of a position or a size of the target area based on the first parameter.
However, An discloses determining the target output area includes dynamically adjusting the target output area in at least one of a position or a size of the target area based on the first parameter (see figs 9A and 9B and paragraphs [0133]-[0136]; e.g., “determine whether a deformation curvature equal to or greater than a critical curvature (e.g., 30 degrees) exists in the activated region 920 and adjust the activated region 920”…also see paragraphs [0079], [0164] and [0175]; e.g., reduce size of activated region). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include An’s teachings in Chen’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that simplifies user interactions.
Moreover, Hulbert discloses a foldable display with two display portions and modifies a selected one of the first display portion or the second display portion to present the at least one notification or dialog on the selected one of the first display portion or the second display portion with which the user is actively interfacing (Figs. 16A-16D; Col 119, line 62-Col 120, line 24 discusses detecting which of two displays the user is gazing at and displaying any notification events on that screen). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Hulbert’s teachings in Chen’s user interface in an effort to provide making content in a display region private allows the electronic device to provide for an easy manner to hide content from other devices or users, which simplifies interactions between the user and the device and enhances the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by reducing the number of inputs needed to hide content), which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 2, Chen and An disclose if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a first positional relationship, the target output area is a first area; and if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a second positional relationship, the target output area is a second area, the first positional relationship being different from the second positional relationship, the second area including the first area (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by a inter-key distance that is too small); and
dynamically adjusting the target output area includes dynamically adjusting the size of the target output area from a size of the first area to a size of the second area (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a first positional relationship, the target output area is located at a first position; and if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a second positional relationship, the target output area is located at a second position, the first positional relationship being different from the second positional relationship, the first position being different from the second position (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by an inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses controlling a target display unit corresponding to the target output area to be in an operating state based on the target output area to display the target object, the display area of the display screen including a plurality of display units, the target display unit being a part of the plurality of display units (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by an inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses obtaining a second parameter, the second parameter being different from the first parameter (see fig 2A, 130; e.g., relative positional state is obtained through sensors on both the first and second screens; in a first positional state, the first and second screens are back to back; in a second positional state, the screens are side by side);
wherein determining the target output area based on the first parameter includes:
determining the target output area based on the first parameter and the second parameter, the target output area being at least a partial area of the display area of the display screen (see fig 2A, 130; e.g., relative positional state is obtained through sensors on both the first and second screens; in a first positional state, the first and second screens are back to back; in a second positional state, the screens are side by side), wherein:
if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a first positional relationship and the second parameter indicates that the electronic device is at a first attitude relative to a reference plane, the target output area is a first area; and if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a first positional relationship and the second parameter indicates that the electronic device is at a second attitude relative to the reference plane, the target output area is a second area (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by an inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses obtaining a second parameter, the second parameter being different from the first parameter (see fig 2A, 130; e.g., relative positional state is obtained through sensors on both the first and second screens; in a first positional state, the first and second screens are back to back; in a second positional state, the screens are side by side);
wherein determining the target output area includes, in response to the second parameter satisfying a target condition, determining the target output area based on the first parameter, the target output area being the partial area of the display area of the display screen (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by an inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses wherein:
the target condition is a duration threshold (see fig 2A; e.g., “the terminal can measure the rotating angle of the terminal through the motion sensor; when the rotating angle exceeds a predetermined threshold value, the terminal determines the screen posture is converted into a vertical screen. the predetermined threshold can be determined according to the actual condition, for example, can be set as 45 degrees”) and the second parameter characterizes one of:
a duration during which the first body and the second body of the electronic device are in a first positional relationship;
a duration during which the first body and the second body of the electronic device switch from a second positional relationship to a first positional relationship; and
a duration during which the first body and the second body of the electronic device switch from a third positional relationship to the first positional relationship (see fig 2A; e.g., “the terminal can measure the rotating angle of the terminal through the motion sensor. when the rotating angle exceeds a predetermined threshold value, the terminal determines the screen posture is converted into a vertical screen. the predetermined threshold can be determined according to the actual condition, for example, can be set as 45 degrees”); or
the target condition is a speed threshold and the second parameter characterizes one of: the speed at which the first body and the second body of the electronic device switch from the second positional relationship to the first positional relationship; and the speed at which the first body and the second body of the electronic device switch from the third positional relationship to the first positional relationship.
Regarding claim 10, Hulbert discloses determining the target object from a display object set based on the first parameter and determining the target output area based on the first parameter if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in the a positional relationship, privacy level of the target object being higher than the privacy level of the display objects other than the target object in the display object set (see col. 106, lines 29-49; e.g., hide private content).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses wherein:
the target output area corresponds to at least part of a second display area, the first body and the second body being in a first positional relationship such that the display screen is bent to form a first display area and the second display area (see fig 2A; e.g., first screen and second screen can be folded; relative positional state is obtained through sensors on both the first and second screens; in a first positional state, the first and second screens are back to back; in a second positional state, the screens are side by side).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses wherein:
if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in the first positional relationship, the target output area is determined based on the first parameter and moved from the second display area to the first display area until the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a second positional relationship, the first body and the second body being in the second positional relationship such that the display screen is flattened, part of the first display area and the part of the second display area being located in the same plane (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by an inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses wherein:
if the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in the first positional relationship, the target output area is determined based on the first parameter and expanded from the second display area to the first display area until the first parameter indicates that the first body and the second body are in a second positional relationship, the first body and the second body being in the second positional relationship such that the display screen is flattened, part of the first display area and part of the second display area being located in the same plane (see figs 15A and 15B; e.g., a first screen of the terminal displays a currently running application, which may be an instant communication application or a transcript processing application, and a soft keyboard. When the second screen is rotationally unrolled along the axis of the screen-connected structure, as shown in (B) of FIG. 15, the terminal displays the application and the soft keyboard extension onto the first screen and the second screen. By extending the display application and the soft keyboard, the text browsing region and the text input region may be enlarged, reducing false inputs caused by an inter-key distance that is too small).
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses wherein: the number of target objects is related to the size of the target output area (see figs 15A and 15B).
Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 21, Chen and An disclose wherein dynamically adjusting the target output area includes, in response to the first parameter indicating that a positional relationship between the first body and the second body changes from a first positional relationship to a second positional relationship, dynamically adjusting at least one of the position or the size of the target output area based on the first parameter (see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 22, Chen and An disclose wherein dynamically adjusting the target output area includes dynamically adjusting the size of the target output area based on an association relationship between the first parameter and the size of the target output area (see figs 9A and 9B).
Regarding claim 23, Chen and An disclose wherein dynamically adjusting the target output area includes dynamically adjusting the size of the target output area at a predetermined rate of change (see Chen fig 2A; e.g., “the terminal can measure the rotating angle of the terminal through the motion sensor; when the rotating angle exceeds a predetermined threshold value, the terminal determines the screen posture is converted into a vertical screen. the predetermined threshold can be determined according to the actual condition, for example, can be set as 45 degrees”).
Regarding claim 24, An disclose wherein dynamically adjusting the target output area includes dynamically adjusting the position of the target output area based on an association relationship between the first parameter and the position of the target output area (see figs 9A and 9B).
Regarding claim 25, Chen and An disclose wherein dynamically adjusting the target output area includes dynamically adjusting the position of the target output area at a predetermined rate of change (see Chen fig 2A; e.g., “the terminal can measure the rotating angle of the terminal through the motion sensor; when the rotating angle exceeds a predetermined threshold value, the terminal determines the screen posture is converted into a vertical screen. the predetermined threshold can be determined according to the actual condition, for example, can be set as 45 degrees”).
Regarding claim 26, Chen discloses a data processing method comprising:
obtaining a first parameter, the first parameter characterizing a relative position (see fig 2A, 130; e.g., relative positional state is obtained through sensors on both the first and second screens; in a first positional state, the first and second screens are back to back; in a second positional state, the screens are side by side) of a first body (see fig 2A, 110) of an electronic device and a second body (see fig 2A, 120) of the electronic device, a deformation of a display screen of the electronic device being corresponding to the relative position of the first body and the second body (see fig 2A; e.g., first screen and second screen can be folded; relative positional state is obtained through sensors on both the first and second screens; in a first positional state, the first and second screens are back to back; in a second positional state, the screens are side by side); and
determining a target output area based on the first parameter, the target output area belonging to a display area of the display screen and displaying the target object (see figs 15A and 15B; also see the Abstract; e.g., “displaying the adjusted display content on the first screen and the second screen by obtaining the orientation and display state of the terminal screen”).
Chen does not expressly disclose determining a target object from a display object set based on the first parameter, a privacy level of the target object being higher than a privacy level of another display object other than the target object in the display object set.
However, Hulbert discloses determining a target object from a display object set based on the first parameter, a privacy level of the target object being higher than a privacy level of another display object other than the target object in the display object set (see col. 106, lines 29-49; e.g., hide private content). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Hulbert’s teachings in Chen’s user interface in an effort to provide making content in a display region private allows the electronic device to provide for an easy manner to hide content from other devices or users, which simplifies interactions between the user and the device and enhances the operability of the device and makes the user-device interface more efficient (e.g., by reducing the number of inputs needed to hide content), which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the device more quickly and efficiently.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (US 2021/0325242).
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174