Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H04257783 A ("Honda") in view of US 20070035420 A1 ("Yamada").
Claim 1: Honda teaches an electric straddled vehicle comprising: an electric component (50); a case (51) accommodating the electric component (para. 18, lines 1-3); a breather hose (87, 88, 89) having a first end (1E Annotated Fig. 1 below) and a second end (2E Annotated Fig. 1 below) that are opposite to each other, the first end being connected to the case (Figs. 1,2 and 7); and a cap (91a, 91) attached to the second end of the breather hose, the cap being breathable and waterproof (para. 40, lines 1-3). wherein the cap (91a, 91) includes a pipe (91, 90) including a through hole (Figs. 1,2, and 7; para. 40, lines 1-3 and para. 29, lines 1-4), the pipe being attached to the second end (2E) of the breather hose (87, 88, 89), a breathable waterproof sheet (99) closing the through hole of the pipe (Fig. 1; para. 39, lines 1-5), the breathable waterproof sheet being configured to allow moisture to penetrate therethrough without allowing water to penetrate therethrough (para. 40, lines 1-5), and a lid fixed to the pipe, the lid (28) covering at least a portion of the breathable waterproof sheet (Annotated Fig. 1 and Fig. 4). But does not teach the breathable waterproof sheet, which is a perforated waterproof film, fully closing the through hole of the pipe.
However, Yamada teaches the breathable waterproof sheet (58a), which is a perforated waterproof film (para. 16, lines 5-7), fully closing the through hole of the pipe. (para. 69, lines 4-11; Figs. 7 and 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the cited prior art with the features of Yamada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Yamada teaches “an existing moisture-permeable waterproof sheet 58a from the inside of the case. That is, the ventilation hole 58 is capable of allowing the moisture in the inside of the amplifier case 55 to be discharged to the outside, and also is capable of blocking intrusion of water therethrough into the amplifier case 55 from the outside” (para. 69, lines 5-11) and would advantageously block water intrusion.
Annotated Figure. 1
Claim 2: Honda teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Honda further teaches the electric straddled vehicle, wherein the second end (2E) of the breather hose (87, 88, 89) is disposed further upward than the case (Annotated Fig. 1).
Claim 3: Honda teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Honda further teaches the electric straddled vehicle, further comprising: a seat (Seat) for an operator of the electric straddled vehicle to sit thereon, wherein the second end (2E) of the breather hose (87, 88, 89) is disposed further upward than a lower end (Lower End) of the seat (Annotated Fig. 1).
Claim 4: Honda teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Honda further teaches the electric straddled vehicle, further comprising: a front wheel (14f), wherein the second end (2E) of the breather hose (87, 88, 89) is disposed further upward than the front wheel (Annotated Fig. 1).
Claim 5: Honda teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Honda further teaches the electric straddled vehicle, further comprising: a rear wheel (14r), wherein the second end (2E) of the breather hose (87, 88, 89) is disposed further upward than the rear wheel (Annotated Fig. 1).
Claim 6: Honda teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Honda further teaches the electric straddled vehicle, wherein the electric component (50) is a power unit including an electric motor (52) and a reducer (54) (para. 18, lines 1-3).
Claim 7: Honda teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Honda further teaches the electric straddled vehicle, wherein the case (50) is waterproof (para. 8, lines 1-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/A.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3618
/MINNAH L SEOH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3618