DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0116671, filed on 09/15/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 09/15/2023, 11/29/2023, 05/02/2024, and 04/28/2025 were filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 09/15/2023. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 4, the claim contains embodiments of ring CY2 that are outside the scope of parent claim 1 because they lack at least one six-membered ring. For example, claim 4 states that CY2 may be a condensed ring group in which two or more first rings are condensed with each other. However, the list of first groups include 5-membered ring systems such as furan, thiophene, pyrrole, pyrazole, imidazole, etc.
In continuing examination, the claim is being interpreted as requiring that at least one of the rings in the condensed group is six-membered.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
With respect to claim 4, the claim contains embodiments of ring CY2 that are outside the scope of parent claim 1 because they lack at least one six-membered ring. For example, claim 4 states that CY2 may be a condensed ring group in which two or more first rings are condensed with each other. However, the list of first groups include 5-membered ring systems such as furan, thiophene, pyrrole, pyrazole, imidazole, etc.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyatkin et al. (US 2023/0337519 A1).
With respect to claims 1-5 and 11-12, Dyatkin discloses an organometallic compound comprising a ligand LA of Formula I (abstract), such as the compound below (page 132).
Dyatkin also teaches that ligand LA may have the structure of
(page 21), wherein X8 may be CH, and RAA may represents no substitution (paragraph 0140).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of instant Formula 1 when M1 is iridium, L1 is represented by Formula 1A, n1 is 2, L2 is represented by Formula 1B, and n2 is 1.
In Formula 1A, X1 is nitrogen, X2 is carbon, Y1 is sulfur, CY2 is a 6-membered carbocyclic (benzene) group with a fused, 6-membered carbocyclic (benzene) group and forms a naphthalene moiety, b12 is 4 and R12 is hydrogen, b11 is 2 and R11 is hydrogen, b2 is 1, and R2 is a perfluoromethyl group.
In Formula 1B, R31 and R32 are each a substituted alkyl group (3-(3-trifluoromethyl)pentane). Any remaining R groups are hydrogen atoms or not present.
Dyatkin includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Dyatkin being one optional nitrogen atom. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known atom from the finite list of possible atoms (C or N) to arrive at the compound of the instant claims since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an organometallic compound with an electron-withdrawing (CF3) group, which demonstrates a moderate to significant red shift in emission spectra, a change in triplet energy value, and a significantly changed HOMO value compared to an analogous unfluorinated compound (paragraph 0273, lines 9-25), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 6, Dyatkin teaches the compound of claim 1, and the moiety of the instant claim is represented by instant formula 1-1, as pictured above.
With respect to claims 7-8, Dyatkin teaches the compound of claim 1, and CY2 is represented by instant formula 2-1 when CY25 is a C6 carbocyclic (benzene) ring, all X variables are carbon atoms, and R22 is CF3, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 9, Dyatkin teaches the compound of claim 1, and CY2 is represented by instant Formula 2A-1.
With respect to claim 10, Dyatkin teaches the compound of claim 1, and CY2 is represented by instant Formula 2A-11 when Z22 is CF3, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 13, Dyatkin teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound is represented by instant Formula 3-1, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 14, Dyatkin teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Dyatkin also teaches that ancillary acetylacetonate ligand, LC, may be represented by LC1-I, which is pictured below (paragraph 0173).
Such an additional modification produces instant compound 1.
Dyatkin includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Dyatkin being the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known combination of elements from the finite lists of possible combinations since the combination would have yielded the predictable result of an organometallic compound with an electron-withdrawing fluorine group, which demonstrates a moderate to significant red shift in emission spectra, a change in triplet energy value, and a significantly changed HOMO value compared to an analogous unfluorinated compound (paragraph 0273, lines 9-25), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With resepct to claims 15-17 and 19-20, Dyatkin teaches the compound of claim 1, and Dyatkin also teaches an electronic apparatus (a flat panel display, paragraph 0207) comprising an organic light emitting device with an anode (115), a cathode (160), and an organic layer between the anode and cathode which comprises a hole transport layer (125), an emission layer (135), and an electron transport layer (145) (paragraph 0212 and Figure 1), the compound is comprised as an emissive dopant (paragraph 0224) in the emissive layer (paragraph 0227) in combination with a host material (paragraph 0196).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound, with a host material, as an emissive dopant in the emissive layer of an organic light emitting device, such as a flat panel display, with the claimed structure as taught by Dyatkin.
With respect to claim 18, Dyatkin teaches the device of claim 16, as discussed above.
Dyatkin also teaches that ancillary ligand LC may be represented by LC1-I, which is pictured below (paragraph 0173).
Dyatkin includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Dyatkin being the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known combination of elements from the finite lists of possible combinations since the combination would have yielded the predictable result of an organometallic compound with an electron-withdrawing fluorine group, which demonstrates a moderate to significant red shift in emission spectra, a change in triplet energy value, and a significantly changed HOMO value compared to an analogous unfluorinated compound (paragraph 0273, lines 9-25), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Examiner is interpreting this compound to meet the requirements of the instant claim through its use as a preferred embodiment of the claimed invention, as given on page 33 of the instant specification (compound 1). Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, and it has been held that when the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (See MPEP 2112.01(II)), and the compound of Dyatkin reads on the claims.
Dyatkin is silent to the emissive wavelength of this specific compound. However, this is considered to be a property of the composition. Support for this presumption comes from the use of like materials and like processes when the organometallic compound is used as emitter in the organic layer of an electroluminescent device, which would result in the claimed property described in the instant claims. Therefore, the claims are considered to be obvious over Dyatkin, and the burden shifts to applicant to show that there is an unobvious difference between the claimed composition and the composition in the prior art. See MPEP 2112 (V). In addition, the presently claimed properties are considered to be present once the work of Dyatkin was first provided. See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boudreault et al. (US 2020/0227659 A1) – teaches the advantages of partial and full fluorination of alkyl substituents.
Shih et al. (US 2022/0194974 A1) – teaches fluorination of naphthalene moieties of iridium ligands.
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786