DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bezalel et al (US 2021/0187287) in view of Chang et al (US 2015/0088050).
Regarding claim 1, Bezalel discloses a device for vacuum-assisted in vivo electroporation of tissue, comprising: a housing 112 defining a receptacle 114 and at least one opening into the receptacle (fig 1); at least one port 115 extending through the housing, wherein the at least one port is remote from the at least one opening and is connectable to a vacuum source (fig 1; ¶28), such that the at least one port is configured to communicate vacuum pressure from the vacuum source to the receptacle (¶28); a plurality of electrodes 118 positioned within the chamber (¶32).
While Bezalel substantially discloses the invention as claimed, it does not disclose an insert receivable within the receptacle, the insert defining an internal chamber that is in communication with the vacuum source when the insert is received in the receptacle, the insert including: a plurality of electrodes positioned within the chamber, wherein the plurality of electrodes are configured to deliver one or more electroporation pulses to a targeted portion of tissue extending through the at least one opening and at least momentarily held in the chamber responsive to the vacuum pressure.
Chang discloses a plurality of inserts (fig 16; different inserts with different apertures 634) receivable within the receptacle (fig 17), the insert defining an internal chamber that is in communication with the vacuum source when the insert is received in the receptacle (fig 17, arrows leading to 659). The different inserts allow for different types of tips to be used as needed/desired (¶134).
One of ordinary skill in the art when viewing Bezalel in view of Chang would be motivated to provide a variety of different inserts with a variety of different electrode arrangements to allow for different electroporation patterns, as desired.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify Bezalel such that it comprises an insert receivable within the receptacle, the insert defining an internal chamber that is in communication with the vacuum source when the insert is received in the receptacle, the insert including: a plurality of electrodes positioned within the chamber, wherein the plurality of electrodes are configured to deliver one or more electroporation pulses to a targeted portion of tissue extending through the at least one opening and at least momentarily held in the chamber responsive to the vacuum pressure as suggested by Chang to allow for different arrangements of electrodes to be chosen, depending on the area/surface to be treated.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is allowed.
The examiner did not find a teaching or suggestion for modifying closest art Bezalel such that the plurality of inserts define different respective chamber diameters, in addition to the other limitations. Chang (see above) discloses a suggestion for different tip/insert types, but it is seen as impermissible hindsight to use its teachings for different sized inserts.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY J OSINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783