DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “slide mechanism” of claim 10, the “hood lift assist mechanism” of claim 16, and the “torque motor” of claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim limitation of a non-detachable attachment of the storage member to the front hood was not disclosed in the originally filed disclosure.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is not clearly understood and believed to be incorrect because it claims the storage member is “non-detachably attached to the front hood” when all disclosed attachments would be considered “detachable” by those in the art. The specification has disclosed the use of threaded fasteners for a fixed attachment embodiment and a movable attachment for another embodiment. The examiner has read non-detachbly attached as resisting unintended removal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10, 12, 13, 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zaranek (5,992,718).
Zaranek discloses a front hood assembly for a vehicle comprising a front hood (1) and a storage member (10) attached to a lower surface of the front hood (1) to store an item (39), as shown in Figures 1-4. The storage member (10) is configured to be placed at the lower surface of the front hood (1) when the front hood is closed. The storage member is movable to descend when the front hood is open, as shown in Figure 2. The downward pivoting motion of the storage member (10) about pivot pin (36) meets the limitation, as shown in Figure 2. The storage member (10) has an upper side which faces the lower surface of the front hood (1), as shown in Figure 2. The storage member is configured such that the item (39) is accessible from the upper side of the storage member (10) when the storage member (10) has descended, as shown in Figure 2. In reference to claim 2, the storage member (10) is non-detachably attached to the front hood (1), as shown in Figures 1 and 2. The storage member resists unintended removal due to the mounting bracket (12). In reference to claim 3, the storage member (10) comprises an item holder (20) fixed to the front hood (1), as shown in Figures 1-4. In reference to claim 4, the storage member (10) has a cover (30) to protect the items stored in the storage member (10), as shown in Figures 2-4. In reference to claim 5, the storage member (10) is detachably attached to the front hood (1) by mounting bracket (12), as shown in Figure 2. In reference to claim 7, a descending mechanism (36,38) is configured to hold the storage member against the lower surface of the front hood (1) when the front hood is closed and allow the storage member to descend when the front hood (1) is open, as shown in Figures 2-4 and disclosed on line 50 of column 4 through line of line 6 of column 5. In reference to claim 8, the descending mechanism (36,38) comprises a hinge (36) hingeably connecting the storage member (10) and the front hood (1), as shown in Figure 2. In reference to claim 10, the descending mechanism comprises a slide mechanism movably connecting the storage member (10) and the front hood (1). Second panel (14) of mounting bracket (12) slides through slot (35) of the lid (30), as shown in Figures 2-4 and disclosed on line 50 of column 4 through line of line 6 of column 5. In reference to claim 12, the storage member (10) includes a cover (30) to cover the upper side thereof, as shown in Figures 2-4. In reference to claim 13, the storage member (10) includes a container (20) when can be opened to allow access to the item (39) stored in the container (39), as shown in Figures 2-4. In reference to claim 19, the vehicle has the front hood assembly comprising a front hood (1) and a storage member (10) attached to a lower/inner surface of the front hood (1). The storage member (10) stores an item (39), as shown in Figure 4. The storage member (10) is configured to be placed at the lower surface of the front hood (1) when the front hood is closed. The storage member is movable to descend when the front hood is open, as shown in Figure 2. The downward pivoting motion of the storage member (10) about pivot pin (36) meets the limitation, as shown in Figure 2. The storage member (10) has an upper side which faces the lower surface of the front hood (1), as shown in Figure 2. The storage member is configured such that the item (39) is accessible from the upper side of the storage member (10) when the storage member (10) has descended, as shown in Figure 2. In reference to claim 22, a descending mechanism (36,38) is configured to hold the storage member at the lower surface of the front hood (1) when the front hood is closed and allow the storage member to descend when the front hood (1) is open, as shown in Figures 2-4 and disclosed on line 50 of column 4 through line of line 6 of column 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaranek (5,992,718) in view of Koch et al. (US 2023/0398938).
Zaranek does not disclose the pantograph mechanism to connect the storage member and the front hood.
Koch et al. teaches connecting the storage member (110) to a hood (106) with a pantograph mechanism (116), as shown in Figure 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the storage member and front hood of Zaranek with a pantograph mechanism, as taught by Koch et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to provide movement of the storage member toward the user for easier access.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaranek (5,992,718) in view of Harrell (US 2008/0231066).
Zaranek does not disclose the drawer.
Harrell teaches providing a storage member (100) with drawers (120,150,190) that can be pulled out to a side of the vehicle or horizontally from the storage member to store an item, as shown in Figure 1. In reference to claim 15, the drawer comprises a right drawer (150) is pulled out to a right side of the vehicle, a left drawer (190) to be pulled out to a left side of the vehicle, and a drawer (120) pulled away from the vehicle, as shown in Figure 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the storage member of Zaranek with a right drawer, a left drawer, and front drawer, as taught by Harrell, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide additional storage areas in the storage member that can be accessed from different areas around the vehicle.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaranek (5,992,718) in view of Krajenke (US 2016/0090769).
Zaranek does not disclose a lift assist mechanism for the hood.
Krajenke teaches providing a hood lift assist mechanism (20) , as shown in Figures 1 and 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a hood lift assist mechanism to the front hood of Zaranek, as taught by Krajenke, with a reasonable expectation for success to reduce the effort needed to open a hood.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaranek (5,992,718) in view of Cruz Lopez et al. (US 2021/0047872).
Zaranek does not disclose the torque hinge.
Cruz Lopez et al. discloses providing a torque hinge (12) to hold a position of a two elements of a storage compartment about a pivot axis, as shown in Figure 1 and disclosed in paragraph [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the hinge of Zaranek as a torque hinge, as taught by Cruz Lopez et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to maintain the position of the hinge at a desired location to improve access.
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaranek (5,992,718) in view of Foran et al. (US 2022/0242086).
Zaranek does not disclose the heating device.
Foran et al. teaches providing a heating device in a conduit (120) in a hood (52), as shown in Figure 5 and disclosed in paragraph [0040].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a heating element in the hood of Zaranek, as taught by Foran et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to remove ice and snow from the vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued the drawing objections by citing a passage of the MPEP. The cited passage is meant for applications directed to inventions that do not need a drawing, such as a “composition”, “pharmaceutical”, or article “where the sole distinguishing feature is the presence of a particular material”. The pending application does not meet the exemptions mentioned in 608.42 B (III). The objection is maintained.
Applicant has argued Zaranek does not disclose a storage member that is movable to descend relative to the hood when the hood is open. The examiner disagrees because Figure 2 shows the storage member in a lowered/descended position in phantom lines compared to the raised position shown in solid lines.
Applicant has argued Zaranek does not disclose an item stored on or in the upper side. The examiner disagrees because this feature is clearly shown in Figure 2. The item (39) is accessible from the upper side of the storage member when the storage member has descended, as shown in Figure 2.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 February 25, 2026