DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-3, Claims 1-6, 8-16, 18-20 in the reply filed on 10/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kaneda et al. (US 2004/0159812).
In re claim 1, Kaneda, in figures 1-3, discloses a solenoid actuator, the actuator comprising: a coil (17) at least partially surrounding an axis; an armature sleeve (11a) extending at least partially through the coil, the armature sleeve including a longitudinally extending wall that extends generally parallel to the axis, and an end portion (the inner bottom surface of 14 forms this portion of the sleeve) that extends inwardly at an end of the longitudinally extending wall; an armature slidably supported in the armature sleeve for movement along the axis between at least first and second actuation positions, the armature having an armature body (16) having an outer longitudinal surface facing the longitudinally extending wall and an end surface facing the end portion of the armature sleeve; the longitudinally extending wall having a sliding fit with the outer longitudinal surface of the armature; and an oil reservoir space (A, 12a) formed on the armature in a region of an intersection between the outer longitudinal surface and the end surface of the armature (as seen in figure 1).
In re claim 2, Kaneda, in figures 1-3, discloses a housing (14) fixed to the coil and having an armature receiving space that receives at least a portion of the armature sleeve into which the armature is movable in at least one of the actuation positions and a coil receiving space in which the coil is located, and a solenoid cover (13) located on an opposite side of the coil from the housing.
In re claim 3, Kaneda, in figures 1-3, discloses that an actuator pin (26a, 26) extends from the armature and through the cover.
In re claim 4, Kaneda, in figures 1-3, discloses an actuator pin support (21) connected to the cover, and a stop (28) for the first actuation position of the armature formed on the actuator pin support, and the actuator pin extends through an opening in the actuator pin support.
In re claim 5, Kaneda, in figures 1-3, discloses that the oil reservoir space is annular (annular shape is shown in figure 2).
In re claim 9, Kaneda discloses that the longitudinally extending wall of the armature sleeve is generally cylindrical, and the outer longitudinal surface of the armature is generally cylindrical (as shown in figure 2).
In re claim 10, Kaneda discloses that the end portion of the armature sleeve forms a travel end stop for the second actuation position of the armature (as seen in figure 1).
In re claim 11, Kaneda, in figures 1-3, discloses an actuator assembly, comprising: a support part (any external part where the actuator is mounted); a solenoid actuator (shown in figure 1) connected to the support part, the solenoid actuator having a coil (17) at least partially surrounding an axis, an armature sleeve (11a) extending at least partially through the coil, the armature sleeve including a longitudinally extending wall that extends generally parallel to the axis, and an end portion (the inner bottom surface of 14 forms this portion of the sleeve) that extends inwardly at an end of the longitudinally extending wall, and an armature slidably supported in the armature sleeve for movement along the axis between at least first and second actuation positions, the armature having an armature body (16) having an outer longitudinal surface facing the longitudinally extending wall and an end surface facing the end portion of the armature sleeve, and an actuator pin (26a) extending from the armature; and an actuation part (26) that is acted upon by the actuator pin in at least one of the first or second actuation positions; wherein the longitudinally extending wall has a sliding fit with the outer longitudinal surface of the armature, and an oil reservoir space (A, 12a) is formed on the armature in a region of an intersection between the outer longitudinal surface and the end surface of the armature (as seen in figure 1).
In re claim 12, Kaneda discloses that the support part is located in a wet area of a transmission (see paragraphs 3 and 9 discussing this).
In re claim 13, Kaneda discloses that the solenoid actuator further comprises a housing (14) fixed to the coil and having an armature receiving space that receives at least a portion of the armature sleeve into which the armature is movable in at least one of the actuation positions and a coil receiving space in which the coil is located, and a solenoid cover (13) located on an opposite side of the coil from the housing.
In re claim 14, Kaneda, in figures 1-3, discloses an actuator pin support (21) connected to the cover, and a stop (28) for the first actuation position of the armature formed on the actuator pin support, and the actuator pin extends through an opening in the actuator pin support.
In re claim 15, Kaneda, in figures 1-3, discloses that the oil reservoir space is annular (annular shape is shown in figure 2).
In re claim 19, Kaneda discloses that the longitudinally extending wall of the armature sleeve is generally cylindrical, and the outer longitudinal surface of the armature is generally cylindrical (as shown in figure 2).
In re claim 20, Kaneda discloses that the end portion of the armature sleeve forms a travel end stop for the second actuation position of the armature (as seen in figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneda et al. (US 2004/0159812) in view of Ishibashi (US 2010/0301978).
In re claims 6 and 16, Kaneda discloses the claimed device except for the wedge shaped cross section. Ishibashi however, teaches a similar device having a wedge shaped cross section (figure 2b shows the best view). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted the wedge shaped cross section as taught by Ishibashi to the device of Kaneda to improve the magnetic flux distribution (see paragraph 67 of Ishibashi).
In re claims 8 and 18, Kaneda discloses the claimed device except for the claimed range of heights of the annular space. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen annular space height value in the claimed range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 34, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/Alexander Talpalatski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837