DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 5/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/7/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the limitation “an automated CPR device” (claims 3-4, line 3, the term “device” is a generic placeholder and the function in the current context is “automated CPR”).
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“an automated CPR device”: for example LUCAS® chest compression system manufactured by Stryker Corporation or CPR board of the AutoPulse® Resuscitation system manufactured by Zoll Medical®, see paragraphs 44 and 45 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “seem” (line 4) is unclear as to what the limitation “seem” is trying to claim, if the applicant’s intention is to claim “seam”, suggest to be changed to --seam--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joshi (2019/0008720).
Regarding claim 1, Joshi discloses a manual cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) board (entire device shown in figs. 31D-31F) for slowly raising the head of a patient to a recommended elevation (paragraphs 0339-0344) comprising: a base (board comprising surface 3110, figs. 31D-31F, paragraph 0039); an adjustable incline (the incline is 2025, 2105, 3175 for fig. 31F and the incline includes 2025, 3185, 2105 for figs. 31D-31E) coupled to the base (board comprising surface 3110, figs. 31D-31F and paragraph 0039); an internal channel (see the annotated-Joshi figs. 31D-31F above) defined between the base and the incline (the internal channel is the channel that the wedge 2610 slides within, see the annotated-Joshi figs. 31D-31F and paragraphs 0339-0343); a removable wedge insert (2610, figs. 31D-31F and paragraphs 0339-0343) configured to be inserted into the internal channel (see paragraphs 0339-0344, Joshi stated that the wedge can be inserted and can also be constrained by the pocket 3175, or strap 3170 or coupling 3665, therefore, is removable, furthermore, see paragraph 0007 and claim 30 regarding the wedge insert being removable), wherein the wedge is configured to rotate the incline relative to the base as it is being inserted into the internal channel (figs. 31D-31F and paragraphs 0339-0344 and arrow 3199).
Regarding claim 2, Joshi discloses that the incline (2025, 2105, 3175 for fig. 31F and the incline includes 2025, 3185, 2105 for figs. 31D-31E) comprises a first incline portion (2025) coupled to the base; and a second incline portion (2105 for figs. 31D-31F or 3185 for figs. 31D-31E) coupled to the first incline portion, wherein the second incline portion is configured to rotate relative to the base as the wedge insert is inserted into the internal channel (see paragraphs 0339-0344).
Regarding claim 3, Joshi discloses an indentation defined within a surface of the incline (defined within a surface of 2025 of incline, see the annotated-Joshi fig. 21A above), wherein the indentation is configured to accommodate at least a portion of an automated CPR device (see paragraph 0332, see the compressor 2105 comprising belt-based mechanism CC system 2014, which is accommodated by 2025 with the indentation, see the annotated-Joshi fig. 21A above, wherein the portion of an automated CPR device is 2104/2105).
Regarding claim 4, Joshi discloses an indentation (defined within a surface of 2025 of incline, see the annotated-Joshi fig. 21A above) defined within a surface of the first incline portion, wherein the indentation is configured to accommodate at least a portion of an automated CPR device (see paragraph 0332, see the compressor 2105 comprising belt-based mechanism CC system 2014, which is accommodated by 2025 with indentation, see the annotated-Joshi fig. 21A above, wherein the portion of an automated CPR device is 2104/2105).
Regarding claim 5, Joshi discloses at least one wall coupled to the base, wherein at least a portion of the incline rest upon the at least one wall when the CPR board is in an unactuated configuration (see fig. 31F, the wall is 3175, which rest below 2025 and is coupled to the base 3110, furthermore, when the CPR board is in an unactuated configuration, the incline (including 2025) would rest on the wall, see paragraphs 0343-0344).
Regarding claim 6, Joshi discloses that the internal channel is defined by a bottom surface of the incline, a top surface of the base, and at least one wall disposed between the incline and the base (see the annotated-Joshi figs. 31D-31F, for fig. 31D, the internal channel is defined by a top surface of 3110, wall 3665 and incline (2025), for fig. 31E, the internal channel is defined by a bottom surface of the incline 2025, a top surface of the base 3110 and a wall 3170, for fig. 31F, the internal channel is defined by a top surface of 3110, wall 3175, and bottom surface of incline 2025, see paragraphs 0339-0344).
Regarding claim 8, Joshi discloses that the second incline portion is configured to rotate about a joint disposed between the second incline portion and the first incline portion (see figs. 21A-21E, the second incline portion is 2105/2104 comprising 2750 (see paragraphs 0286 and 0332-0333), while the first incline portion is 2025, and as shown 2750 is connected to 2025 via a joint (motor 2195, figs. 21D-21E and paragraph 0286)).
Regarding claim 11, Joshi discloses that the wedge insert (2610) comprises at least one longitudinal wall comprising a tapered height (see the annotated-Joshi figs. 31D-31F).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi (2019/0008720) in view of Johnson (2022/0280366).
Regarding claim 7, Joshi discloses that the incline is configured to rotate about the base (Joshi discloses that the incline meets the base 3110 and the incline 2025 can rotate relative to 3110, see the annotated-Joshi figs. 31D-31F and paragraphs 0339-0344), but fails to disclose a joint between the incline and the base.
However, Johnson discloses a joint (344, figs. 3A-3B) between an incline (330) and a base (310, figs. 3A-3B, paragraphs 0041-0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base and the incline of Joshi to have the joint as taught by Johnson for the purpose of providing a low-profile hinge that allows the incline to be securely and rotatably mounted to the base (see paragraphs 0041-0044 of Johnson).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi (2019/0008720) in view of Williams (2022/0296464).
Regarding claim 9, Joshi fails to disclose that a plurality of adjustable head supports disposed on the incline.
However, Williams discloses a body support (11, fig. 6) comprising a plurality of adjustable head supports disposed on the body support (see 30 for the adjustable head supports, figs. 6-8 and paragraphs 0036-0038).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the incline of Joshi to have the plurality of adjustable head supports as taught by Williams for the purpose of securing the patient’s head to the incline in order to effectively position the patient for CPR (see paragraphs 0036-0038 of Williams).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Joshi discloses that each of the plurality of adjustable head supports (30 of Williams) comprises a planar portion which is configured to be selectively parallel relative to the incline when the head support is an expanded position and bent along a seem when the head support is in an actuated position (see figs. 6-8 and paragraphs 0036-0038 of Williams, furthermore, relatively, the planar portion is selectively parallel relative to 18 of Williams, therefore, would be selectively parallel relative to the incline of Joshi).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi (2019/0008720) in view of Lu (CN 211795658).
Regarding claim 12, Joshi discloses that the wedge insert comprises a side surface (see the annotated-Joshi figs. 31D-31F above), but fails to disclose a plurality of markings disposed thereon, wherein each one of the plurality of markings corresponds to a relative angle between the incline and the base when the wedge insert has been inserted into the internal channel up to that respective of one the plurality of markings.
However, Lu teaches a side surface comprising markings comprising logos (see logos 102 in fig. 1 and paragraphs 0034 and 0044 of the English translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the side surface of Joshi to have the marking as taught by Lu for the purpose of providing a logo to promote the brand of the board and the wedge of Joshi (see paragraphs 0034 and 0044 of Lu).
After the modification with Lu, there are a plurality of logos on the side surface, therefore, the markings/logos corresponds to a relative angle between the incline and the base when the wedge insert has been inserted into the internal channel up to that respective of one of the plurality of markings, since a viewer can view the relative distance and location of the logos relative to the base or the incline or the portion 3185 or 2105 of Joshi, see the annotated-Joshi figs. 31D-31F, it is noted that the claim does not claim the details of what the markings are).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liebman (4,266,759) is cited to show a head support.
Lurie (2017/0258677) (2018/0333328) (2019/0046394) (2021/0322264) (2023/0172801) (2016/0058660) (WO 2017/066770) (WO 2015/127102) is cited to show an elevation timing support for head up CPR.
Freeman (2018/0110667) is cited to show an adaptive body positioning for CPR.
/TU A VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785