DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted on June 3, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently claims 1 and 18 are amended and claims 12-13 are cancelled, resulting in claims 1-11 and 14-19 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 ultimately depends from claim 1 and claims the fiber comprising a thickening at its center which forms a rounded protrusion to at least one side of the fiber. The limitation is indefinite because amended claim 1 now requires the fiber comprises a thickening at its center such that a round bulge is formed towards to outer surface and does not lead to a bulge towards the inner surface. It is therefore unclear whether the protrusion in claim 6 further limits, or is in addition to, the bulge of claim 1. Since the protrusion cannot be on the inner surface of the fiber (due to the limitations of claim 1) and it is located at the same position as the bulge of claim 1, the limitation of claim 6 is interpreted as further limiting the bulge of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-8, 10-11, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 10-1989-0003997)1,2,3 in view of Wessells (US 3940522).
With respect to claims 1 and 18, Kim teaches a monofilament for artificial turf with a cross-sectional shape as in Fig. 7 (paragraph [0006]). As can be seen in Fig. 7, the artificial turf fiber has an arced cross-section shape defined by a boundary line consisting of uninterrupted undulations, wherein the boundary line of the fiber is free of planar areas, pointed elevations and pointed depressions (Fig. 7). The fibers are tufted into a polypropylene woven fabric (carrier) (paragraph [0010]).
Kim is silent as to the fiber comprising a thickening at its center, wherein the thickening at its center is formed such that a round bulge is formed towards the outer surface of the fiber, and therein the thickening does not lead to a bulge towards the inner surface of the fiber.
Wessells teaches synthetic turf fibers and pile fabrics made therewith (col. 1, lines 14-15). The fiber of synthetic material has a unique cross-section comprising two webs joined together by a rib to form a V-cross-section having an included angle of not greater than 160o (col. 1, lines 55-58). The central rib resists excessive bending and curling (col. 3, lines 25-26). As can be seen in Fig. 2, the rib is a round bulge formed towards the outer surface of the fiber and not the inner surface of the fiber (Fig. 2).
Wessells further teaches that a grass-like fiber of bi-arcuate cross-section has at least three modes or degrees of bending (col. 4, lines 1-19). Perpendicular to the width dimension, the fiber is elastically stable when bent toward the side of the included angle but is elastically unstable and buckles when bent toward the side of the rib (col. 4, lines 1-19). The fiber may be bent sideways to either side as a third mode of bending (col. 4, lines 1-19). This variation and the cross-sectional shape of the fibers together importantly contribute to the performance characteristics of the fibers when made into a cut pile fabric so that such fabrics exhibit characteristics similar to natural grass or turf (col. 4, lines 1-19). In addition, the recovery of such filaments from deformation is both rapid and nearly complete (col. 4, lines 1-19). A pile fabric constructed of such fibers exhibits isotropic response and less matting (col. 4, lines 1-19).
Since both Kim and Wessells teach arcuate fibers for artificial turf, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fiber cross-section of Kim to include a rib on the outer surface of the fiber in order to provide an artificial turf filament that is elastically stable when bent toward the inner angle but is unstable and buckles when bent toward the side of the rib, such that the resulting artificial turf pile fabric exhibits characteristics similar to natural grass or turf and has isotropic response with less matting.
With respect to claims 4-5 and 17, Kim in view of Wessells teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. As can be seen in Fig. 7, the monofilament has an outer convex boundary line and an inner concave boundary line. Kim further teaches that the cross-section of the spinneret used to form the monofilament in Fig. 7 has an outer periphery of continuously repeated triangles of the same size and an inner periphery continuously repeated with curved parts of the same size (paragraphs [0005]-[0006]). It is reasonable to presume the resulting monofilament has similar geometry, namely the undulations defined by the inner and outer boundaries are the same size (100%) and therefore will have the same diameters and length. As can be seen in Fig. 7, the first and second diameters are similar.
With respect to claim 7, Kim in view of Wessells teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Kim further teaches that the radius of the circle passing through the midpoint of the outer circumference and the inner circumference (fiber profile radius) is R = 16-30mm (paragraph [0005]). In an example the fiber has a width of 5 cm (paragraph [0017]). This results in a width to fiber profile radius of 1.67-3.13.
The ratio of width to radius range of Kim substantially overlaps the claimed range in the instant claim 7. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Kim, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
With respect to claim 8, Kim in view of Wessells teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. As can be seen in Fig. 7, the monofilament has ends connected by fiber arms to the center of the monofilament. Kim further teaches that the cross-section of the spinneret used to form the monofilament in Fig. 7 has an outer periphery of continuously repeated triangles of the same size and an inner periphery continuously repeated with curved parts of the same size (paragraphs [0005]-[0006]). It is reasonable to presume the resulting monofilament has similar geometry, namely the undulations defined by the inner and outer boundaries are the same size and therefore will have the same thickness along the fiber arm.
With respect to claims 10-11, Kim in view of Wessells teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. As can be seen in Fig. 7, the cross-section of the monofilament is shaped like the arc of a segment of a circle and like a catenary.
With respect to claim 15, Kim in view of Wessells teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Kim further teaches that the cross-section of the spinneret used to form the monofilament in Fig. 7 has an outer periphery of continuously repeated triangles (paragraphs [0005]-[0006]). The number of triangles on the outer periphery is 10-18 (paragraph [0005]). As can be seen in Figs. 1 and 7, the undulations on the inner surface alternate with those on the outer surface, resulting in a number that is one less than number on undulations on the outer surface (i.e., 9-17 bulges on the inner surface).
With respect to claim 19, Kim in view of Wessells teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Kim further teaches that the cross-section of the spinneret used to form the monofilament in Fig. 7 has an outer periphery of continuously repeated triangles (paragraphs [0005]-[0006]). The number of triangles on the outer periphery is 10-18 (paragraph [0005]). As can be seen in Figs. 1 and 7, the undulations on the inner surface alternate with those on the outer surface, resulting in a number that is one less than number on undulations on the outer surface (i.e., 9-17 bulges on the inner surface).
As to the ranges recited in the claims, it has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, both the fibers of Kim and the instant invention are suitable for use as artificial turf. Additionally, the instant disclosure states that at least 6, at least 7, or 7-10 bulges on the outer surface and at least 6 or 6-10 bulges are suitable for the inner surface (see e.g., claim 15). This broader teaching overlaps with the teaching of Kim. Therefore, since the fiber of Kim is used for the same purpose as the instant invention (artificial turf) and discloses bulge amounts considered suitable by the instant disclosure, one skilled in the art would have expected the fibers of Kim and claim 19 to have the same properties.
Claim(s) 2-3, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 10-1989-0003997)4,5,6 in view of Wessells (US 3940522) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Olde Weghuis (US 2011/0262665)3.
With respect to claims 2-3, Kim in view of Wessells teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Kim in view of Wessells is silent as to the fiber having a radius of curvature at least as large as the smallest radius defining the undulations of the boundary line of other parts of the cross-sectional shape and thickenings at the fiber ends, wherein the diameter of each of the thickenings is thicker than the thickest of a fiber arm connecting the end to the center of the fiber.
Olde Weghuis teaches a synthetic fiber, characterized in that the synthetic fiber has a curved section and a thickness/width ratio such that the synthetic fiber will buckle locally upon being subjected to an external load, preventing unnecessary distortion of the fibers so the fibers will have a longer life (paragraph [0018]). The synthetic fiber is provided with a thickened part (thickening) at its free ends so as to enhance its stiffness and straightening capacity (paragraph [0019]). Said thickened part is round so as to make the fiber more sliding-friendly, whilst the transition from the synthetic fiber to the thickened part is curved so as to prevent undesirable splitting of the fiber (the ends have a radius of curvature at least as large as the smallest radius defining the undulations of the boundary line) (paragraph [0019]). The synthetic fiber is a monofilament for use in an artificial lawn (paragraph [0002]).
Since both Kim in view of Wessells and Olde Weghuis teach monofilament fibers for artificial turf comprising an arced shape, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ends of the fiber of Kim to have a round thickened part so as to enhance the fiber stiffness and straightening capacity while also making the fiber more sliding-friendly.
With respect to claim 14, Kim in view of Wessells teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Kim in view of Wessells is silent as to the fiber having a width of 0.7 to 2.5 mm.
Olde Weghuis teaches a synthetic fiber, characterized in that the synthetic fiber has a curved section and a thickness/width ratio such that the synthetic fiber will buckle locally upon being subjected to an external load, preventing unnecessary distortion of the fibers so the fibers will have a longer life (paragraph [0018]). The width of the synthetic fiber ranges between 0.5 mm and 1.5 mm, preferably between 1.0 mm and 1.5 mm (paragraph [0048]).
Since both Kim in view of Wessells and Olde Weghuis teach monofilament fibers for artificial turf comprising an arced shape, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the monofilament of Kim to have a width of 0.5-1.5 mm, preferably 1.0-1.5 mm, because it is known in the art as a suitable width for arcuate monofilaments used in artificial turf. See MPEP 2143.
With respect to claim 16, Kim in view of Wessells teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Kim in view of Wessells is silent as to the majority of undulations forming consecutive pairs of a round bulge and a round indentation, wherein each pair has a length of 0.10 mm to 0.30 mm.
Olde Weghuis teaches a synthetic fiber, characterized in that the synthetic fiber has a curved section and a thickness/width ratio such that the synthetic fiber will buckle locally upon being subjected to an external load, preventing unnecessary distortion of the fibers so the fibers will have a longer life (paragraph [0018]). The width of the synthetic fiber ranges between 0.5 mm and 1.5 mm, preferably between 1.0 mm and 1.5 mm (paragraph [0048]).
Since both Kim in view of Wessells and Olde Weghuis teach monofilament fibers for artificial turf comprising an arced shape, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the monofilament of Kim to have a width of 0.5-1.5 mm, preferably 1.0-1.5 mm, because it is known in the art as a suitable width for arcuate monofilaments used in artificial turf. See MPEP 2143.
The length of the arc of the monofilament can be estimated using the formula for the arc length of a semicircle: arc length = πr. This results in an approximate cross-sectional length of the filament being approximately 0.785-2.355 mm, preferably 1.57-2.355 mm.
Kim further teaches that the cross-section of the spinneret used to form the monofilament in Fig. 7 has an outer periphery of continuously repeated triangles (paragraphs [0005]-[0006]). The number of triangles on the outer periphery is 10-18 (paragraph [0005]). Kim further teaches that the cross-section of the spinneret used to form the monofilament in Fig. 7 has an outer periphery of continuously repeated triangles of the same size and an inner periphery continuously repeated with curved parts of the same size (paragraphs [0005]-[0006]).
As can be seen in Fig. 7, the number of undulations is representative of the number of bulges and indentations. Therefore, a monofilament with a length of approximately 0.785-2.355 mm and 10-18 undulations would have an undulation pair length of approximately 0.044-0.236 mm.
The undulation pair length range of Kim in view of Wessells and Olde Weghuis substantially overlaps the claimed range in the instant claim 16. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Kim in view of Wessells and Olde Weghuis, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 10-1989-0003997)7,8,9 in view of Wessells (US 3940522) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Verleyen (US 2006/0159917)3.
With respect to claim 6, Kim in view of Wessells teaches all the limitations of claim 4 above.
Kim in view of Wessells is silent as to the curvature of the protrusion being defined by a circle having a radius selected such that a ratio of the said radius to the radius of the first circles is in the range of 1.40 to 1.80.
Verleyen teaches an artificial turf filament (paragraph [0001]) where the central area of the filament has a thickness greater than the thickness of the wing areas (paragraph [0014]). This cross-section shape results in an advantageous behavior of the filaments as the filaments are mechanically loaded (paragraph [0016]). The protrusion in the central area is rounded (Fig. 6). By having the protrusion in the middle part of the filament on the inside of the V or U-shape geometry of the filament, a situation is reached where the ability to bend the filament is higher in one direction that from the other side (paragraph [0072]). This means that when a ball rolls over the filament it will encounter less resistance when it hits the filament from the outside of the V or U-shape (paragraph [0072]). The random tufting of filaments in the formation of the artificial turf allows a rolling ball to encounter filaments that bend easily and others that give more resistance (paragraph [0072]), providing roll behavior which closely resembles the rolling of a ball over a well-maintained natural grass surface (paragraph [0016]). Preferably the central area of the filament has a thickness at least 50%, preferably at least 100%, greater than the thickness of the wing areas (paragraph [0018]).
Since both Kim in view of Wessells and Verleyen teach arced monofilaments for artificial turf with rounded protrusions that affect how the fibers bend in response to a load, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the thickness of the rounded protrusion compared to the undulations located on either side to include the claimed range. One would have been motivated to provide the desired resilience/response to mechanical loading in a given direction to the artificial turf monofilament. It has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 10-1989-0003997)10,11,12 in view of Wessells (US 3940522) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sick (US 2017/0051453)3.
With respect to claim 9, Kim in view of Wessells teaches all the limitation of claim 1 above. Kim further teaches the material used is nylon-6 or polypropylene (paragraph [0007]).
Kim in view of Wessells is silent as to the monofilament comprising a nucleating agent. Sick teaches a fiber for artificial turf comprising a polymer and a nucleating agent (paragraph [0006]). By adding the nucleating agent the relative fraction of crystalline portions of the polymer may be increased, resulting in a rougher surface of the monofilament (paragraph [0036]). This rougher surface provide increased mechanical grip, allowing the fiber to be firmly attached to any kind of backing material (paragraph [0036]). The polymer may be polypropylene (paragraph [0090]) or a mixture including polyamide (paragraphs [0101]-[0102]).
Since both Kim in view of Wessells and Sick teach polypropylene and nylon fibers for use as artificial turf monofilaments, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the monofilament of Kim to include a nucleating agent in order to provide the monofilament with a rougher surface, allowing for increased mechanical grip in a variety of backing materials.
Response to Arguments
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC §102 and 103
The rejections of claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8, 10-11, 15, and 17-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 10-1989-0003997) have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims filed June 3, 2026.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that the rejection of claim 6 still utilizes the teachings of Verleyen (US 2006/0159917) which was challenged in the June 3, 2026 response. It is the position of the Examiner that the teachings of the size of the rib of Verleyen are relevant to the fiber of Kim in view of Wessells because both Verleyen and Wessells teach that their rib affects the elastic response (particularly bending and bending direction) of the fiber when met with an external load, regardless of location of the rib (inside vs. outside). Therefore the ordinary artisan would be motivated to look to the teachings of Verleyen to modify the rib of Kim in view of Wessells.
Conclusion
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
1 Cited in IDS
2 Translation provided with IDS used as reference
3 Previously presented
4 Cited in IDS
5 Translation provided with IDS used as reference
6 Previously presented
7 Cited in IDS
8 Translation provided with IDS used as reference
9 Previously presented
10 Cited in IDS
11 Translation provided with IDS used as reference
12 Previously presented