Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 12, and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13, and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (US 2024/0129933) (“Matsumura”) in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 2022/0007399) (“Rastegardoost”).
For claims 1, 5, 9, and 13; Matsumura discloses: receiving, from a base station, a control channel configuration (paragraph 53: For the PDCCH repetition, an association (or a linkage) between a plurality of (for example, two) search space sets may be configured by higher layer signaling/MAC CE); monitoring two physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates with different control resource set (CORESET) pool indices for detecting downlink control information (DCI) with same information based on the control channel configuration (paragraph 48-53: scheduling of one PDSCH (for example, the same PDSCH) is performed with repetition transmissions of the PDCCHs. A case in which PDCCH #1 is used for transmission of DCI #1 and corresponds to a first CORESET pool ID (here, #0) is shown. A case in which PDCCH #2 is used for transmission of DCI #2 and corresponds to a second CORESET pool ID (here, #1)).
Matsumura does not expressly disclose, but Rastegardoost from similar fields of endeavor teaches: receiving, from a base station, semi persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration (paragraph 434: a UE may receive one or more RRC messages comprising parameters of one or more semi-persistent scheduling (e.g. SPS PDSCH) configurations) and; identifying whether an activated SPS physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) is deactivated based on a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number, a redundancy version, a modulation and coding scheme, and a frequency domain resource assignment field included in the detected DCI (paragraph 267: The wireless device may determine a DL SPS release, e.g. if a received DCI format comprises of the first and the second and the third and the fourth fields, all set to the pre-defined values), wherein, based on a identifying that the activated SPS PDSCH is deactivated, decoding of data is not attempted in the deactivated SPS PDSCH (paragraph 411: The UE may receive a second DCI in slot p, indicating a deactivation/release of the SPS PDSCH configuration. The UE may stop receiving DL data via PDSCH based on the SPS PDSCH configuration).. Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Rastegardoost in the redundant PDDCH as described by Matsumura. The motivation is to improve resource configuration.
Claim(s) 2, 6, 10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Rastegardoost as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0087280) (“Zhang”).
For claims 2, 6, 10, and 14; Matsumura discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Matsumura does not expressly disclose, but Zhang from similar fields of endeavor teaches: in case that the DCI is associated with a configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI) (paragraph 289: A UE may validate, for scheduling activation or scheduling release, a DL SPS assignment PDCCH or configured UL grant Type 2 PDCCH if the CRC of a corresponding DCI format (e.g., DCI format 0_0, DCI format 0_1, DCI format 0_2, DCI format 1_0, DCI format 1_1 and/or DCI format 0_2) is scrambled with a CS-RNTI), and that the HARQ process number, redundancy version, modulation and coding scheme, and frequency domain resource assignment fields included in the DCI are configured to preconfigured values, the activated SPS PDSCH is deactivated, in case that the DCI is associated with the CS-RNTI and that a HARQ process ID (identity) included in the SPS configuration is identical to a HARQ process number included in the DCI, the SPS PDSCH is deactivated, or in case that HARQ process numbers included in the DCI are consecutive, the activated SPS PDSCH is deactivated (paragraph 62: These field/values may be HARQ process number set equal to zero; redundancy version (RV) field set equal to zero; modulation and coding scheme (MCS) set equal to one; a frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) field set to all zeros for a type-0 resource allocation or a dynamic-switch resource allocation; or to all ones for a type-1 resource allocation. These field/values may correspond to restrictions for a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) release; however, the SPS release is carried by DCI associated with a configured scheduled—RNTI (CS-RNTI), rather than C-RNTI or MCS-C-RNTI). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Zhang in the redundant PDDCH as described by Matsumura. The motivation is to improve resource configuration.
Claim(s) 3, 7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Rastegardoost as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (US 2023/0155737) (“Gao”).
For claims 3, 7, and 11; Matsumura discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action. Matsumura discloses: CORESET pool indices are consecutive (paragraph 48-53: scheduling of one PDSCH (for example, the same PDSCH) is performed with repetition transmissions of the PDCCHs. A case in which PDCCH #1 is used for transmission of DCI #1 and corresponds to a first CORESET pool ID (here, #0) is shown. A case in which PDCCH #2 is used for transmission of DCI #2 and corresponds to a second CORESET pool ID (here, #1)).
Matsumura does not expressly disclose, but Gao from similar fields of endeavor teaches: decoding, in case that activated SPS PDSCHs scheduled by the detected DCI overlap in a slot, data received in the activated SPS PDSCHs (paragraph 9, fig. 1: when a PDCCH indicating SPS resource release is received in a slot in which SPS PDSCHs need to be received, it is determined to feed back the hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement information to the PDCCH and not to feed back the hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement information to a predetermined SPS PDSCH among the SPS PDSCHs; implicitly all PDSCHs are received in the slot but not acknowledged). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Gao in the redundant PDDCH as described by Matsumura. The motivation is to improve resource configuration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 2023/0073095); Kim discloses when the same DCI/PDCCH is repetitively transmitted, a terminal may increase a DCI/PDCCH reception/decoding success rate through two methods (e.g., a soft combining method, and a multi-change method).
/JOHN D BLANTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466