DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 13, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hongsheng CN 106288102 published 4 Jan. 2017 as translated by EPO (hereafter Hongsheng) and further in view of Guetersloh US 6,367,782 (hereafter Guetersloh).
Regarding claim 1, Hongsheng teaches a humidifying device (Fig 1), comprising:
a housing (housing shown in Fig 2 including cover 7 and plates 8-10) including an air inlet (17, ¶24), an air outlet (16, ¶24) and an installation socket (opening ¶23) disposed at an end (9) of the housing;
a humidifying module (module comprising 1) including a water receiving portion (3) and a wet membrane assembly (assembly comprising membrane 1), wherein the wet membrane assembly is disposed in the water receiving portion, and the water receiving portion is disposed in the installation socket in a pluggable manner (¶23); the wet membrane assembly includes a water receiving tray (2) on a top thereof; wherein
the wet membrane assembly is located in the housing, and the wet membrane assembly is configured to humidify air entering from the air inlet and allow humidified air passing through the wet membrane assembly to be output through the air outlet (¶29).
Hongsheng further teaches the water receiving tray includes a means to deliver water to the membrane (¶29).
Hongsheng does not teach the water receiving tray includes a plurality of first through holes; a water spray module disposed above the wet membrane assembly, wherein the water spray module includes a water spray board, a water spray cover disposed on the water spray board, and a water inlet assembly connected with the water spray cover; a water storage chamber exits between the water spray board and the water spray cover; and the water spray board includes a plurality of second through holes.
Guetersloh teaches a water distributor (Figs 9) for an membrane humidifier (col 1 lines 4-10) comprising a water receiving tray (70d) includes a plurality of first through holes (84d); a water spray module (module comprising 112 and 152) disposed above the wet membrane assembly (as shown in Figs 9), wherein the water spray module includes a water spray board (152), a water spray cover (138/114/112) disposed on the water spray board, and a water inlet assembly (assembly comprising feed tube 22) connected with the water spray cover; a water storage chamber exits between the water spray board and the water spray cover (as shown in Figs 9); and the water spray board includes a plurality of second through holes (col 7 lines 14-34) where the assembly enables a consistent, even flow of water at a desired flow rate therethrough and a quicker response time in which water is delivered to the evaporative water panel (col 2 lines 60-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the water receiving tray (2) of Hongsheng by incorporating the water distributor (Figs 9) comprising the water receiving tray (70d) and water spray module (module comprising 112 and 152) of Guetersloh in order to enable a consistent, even flow of water at a desired flow rate therethrough and a quicker response time in which water is delivered to the evaporative water panel (col 2 lines 60-64).
Regarding claim 2, Hongsheng in view of Guetersloh teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Hongsheng further teaches wherein the wet membrane assembly includes: a box body (frame of membrane assembly shown in Fig 3) disposed in the water receiving portion and having an installation cavity (cavity receiving membrane), surfaces of the box body opposite to the air inlet and the air outlet being hollow structures (as shown in Fig 3 where air passes through the hollow structures to humidify); and a wet membrane (¶29) located in the installation cavity and configured to absorb water to humidify the air passing through the wet membrane; wherein the water receiving tray is located on a top of the box body.
Regarding claims 3-4, Hongsheng in view of Guetersloh teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Hongsheng further teaches wherein the housing further includes a first connecting portion (portion connected to valve 4 outside the socket, where Fig 1 shows a pipe connection) located outside the installation socket, the water receiving portion includes a second connecting portion (portion shown in Fig 1 which connects valve 4 to tray 3), and the second connecting portion is detachably connected to the first connecting portion, the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion are screwed together (¶8).
Regarding claim 5, Hongsheng in view of Guetersloh teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Hongsheng further teaches wherein the water receiving portion is drawably disposed in the installation socket (where the portion can be disconnected from the water supply and withdrawn from the socket) and where the water receiving portion includes a side plate (plate shown in Fig 3).
Hongsheng does not teach where the water receiving portion includes a handle portion disposed on the side plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the side plate (plate shown in Fig 3) of Hongsheng by incorporating a handle portion in order to allow the portion to be more easily handled/gripped. Such a design would enable easier maintenance/cleaning.
Regarding claim 13, Hongsheng in view of Guetersloh teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Hongsheng further teaches wherein the housing further includes
a top plate (top plate shown in Fig 2), a front plate (16, ¶24), a rear plate (17, ¶24), and a baffle plate (plate facing viewer in Fig 2 with opening 12) between the front plate and the rear plate; the air outlet is disposed in the front plate, and the air inlet is disposed in the rear plate (¶24); and the baffle plate is located on a side of both the air inlet and the air outlet (as shown in Fig 2 where the baffle plate is on the inside of the front and back plates) away from the top plate (where the baffle plate extends down and away from the top plate); and the baffle plate has a through opening (opening covered by 12), and an opening of the through opening faces the installation socket (as shown in Figs 1-4 where the opening provides access to the installation socket).
Regarding claim 15, Hongsheng in view of Guetersloh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Hongsheng further teaches wherein the housing further includes an end plate (12), a sealing gasket (¶12, the edge of the soft plate would serve as a gasket sealing the opening from tampering) disposed on the end plate (edge end), and an air deflector (frame surrounding inlet reverse side 17 holding buckles 14 as shown in Figs 1-2) disposed on a side (outer side) of the air inlet away from the end plate; and the air deflector extends to another end of the wet membrane assembly (where the deflector extends form the end to the other end).
Hongsheng does not teach an end of the wet membrane assembly abuts against the sealing gasket.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifying device (Figs 1-4) of Hongsheng such that an end of the wet membrane assembly abuts against the sealing gasket in order to make the device more compact. The modification would result in the space between the wet membrane assembly (assembly comprising wet membrane 1) and the end plate (12) being elimated.
Regarding claim 17, Hongsheng in view of Guetersloh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Hongsheng further teaches wherein the air inlet and the air outlet are arranged opposite to each other, and tl1e wet membrane assembly is located between the air inlet and the air outlet (as shown in Figs 1-2).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hongsheng CN 106288102 published 4 Jan. 2017 as translated by EPO (hereafter Hongsheng) in view of Guetersloh US 6,367,782 (hereafter Guetersloh) as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Robinson US 9,593,860 (hereafter Robinson) and Kim et al. US 2021/0055008A1 (hereafter Kim).
Regarding claims 6-7, Hongsheng in view of Guetersloh teaches all the limitations of claim 5.
Hongsheng further teaches
Hongsheng does not teach an electric control box, wherein the water receiving portion further includes a drain pump configured to drain water in the water receiving portion; and the electric control box is electrically connected with the drain pump and configured to control operation of the drain pump; wherein the electric control box is rotatably disposed at the end of the housing; and the water receiving portion further includes a first locking portion disposed on the side plate, and the first locking portion is configured to lock the electric control box on the end of the water receiving portion.
Robinson teaches a humidifier (Fig 1) wherein the water receiving portion (20) further includes a drain pump (100) configured to drain water in the water receiving portion in order to recycle the water (col 1 lines 40-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the water receiving portion (3) of Hongsheng by incorporating the drain pump (100) of Robinson in order to recycle the water (col 1 lines 40-45).
Kim teaches an air conditioner comprising an electric control box (31) where the electric control box is electrically connected with the controlled components and configured to control operation of the controlled components (¶40) wherein the electric control box is rotatably disposed (¶56-58) at the end of the housing in order to allow more space such as for maintenance (¶2-6, ¶11-12) and the water receiving portion further includes a first locking portion (41, 42) disposed on the side plate, and the first locking portion is configured to lock the electric control box on the end of the water receiving portion (¶68-69).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifying device (Fig 1) of Hongsheng by incorporating a rotatable electric control box (¶56-58) of Kim in order to allow more space such as for maintenance (¶2-6, ¶11-12).
Further, it would have been obvious to include the electronic control box at an end of the water receiving portion in order to be close to the drain pump which would minimize wiring.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hongsheng CN 106288102 published 4 Jan. 2017 as translated by EPO (hereafter Hongsheng) in view of Guetersloh US 6,367,782 (hereafter Guetersloh) as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Lee et al. US 2016/0010882 (hereafter Lee).
Regarding claim 9, Hongsheng in view of Guetersloh teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Hongsheng does not teach wherein the housing further includes a support plate and two sliding rails disposed on the support plate and opposite to each other; and the water receiving portion includes a water tank and first matching portions on both sides of the water tank; the first matching portions are slidably disposed on the corresponding sliding rails.
Lee teaches an air conditioner wherein the housing further includes a support plate (plate comprising 600 in Fig 18) and two sliding rails (920) disposed on the support plate and opposite to each other; and the water receiving portion includes a water tank (710) and first matching portions (portions fixed to the two sliding rails, ¶214) on both sides of the water tank; the first matching portions are slidably disposed on the corresponding sliding rails (slide relative to the housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifying device (Fig 1) of Hongsheng by incorporating the support plate (plate comprising 600 in Fig 18) and rails (920) of Lee in order to allow the water tank to slide open (¶212-217).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hongsheng CN 106288102 published 4 Jan. 2017 as translated by EPO (hereafter Hongsheng) in view of Guetersloh US 6,367,782 (hereafter Guetersloh) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Lee et al. US 2015/0330643 (hereafter Lee ‘643) and Robinson US 9,593,860 (hereafter Robinson).
Regarding claim 16, Hongsheng in view of Guetersloh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Hongsheng further teaches a water outlet (portion of water tank which is connected to valve 4, as shown in Fig 1 as a fitting.
Hongsheng does not teach wherein the water receiving portion includes a water tank, a partition located in the water tank, and a water outlet and a drain pump that are connected to the water tank; and the water tank includes a main water tank and an auxiliary water tank that are independent; the partition is located between the main water tank and the auxiliary water tank, and a height of the partition is smaller than a height of a side wall of the water tank; wherein the water outlet is connected with the auxiliary water tank, and the drain pump is connected with the main water tank.
Lee ‘643 teaches a humidifying device (Fig 1) wherein the water receiving portion includes a water tank (Fig 5), a partition (201) located in the water tank; and the water tank includes a main water tank (200a) and an auxiliary water tank (200b) that are independent; the partition is located between the main water tank and the auxiliary water tank, and a height of the partition is smaller than a height of a side wall of the water tank (as shown in Fig 5, ¶84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifying device (Fig 1) of Hongsheng by incorporating the main (200a) and auxiliary (200b) water tanks and partition (201) of Lee ‘643 in order to separate auxiliary water from the water being used by the membrane (¶84, as shown in Fig 5).
Robinson teaches a humidifier (Fig 1) wherein the water receiving portion (20) further includes a drain pump (100) configured to drain water in the water receiving portion in order to recycle the water (col 1 lines 40-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the water receiving portion (3) of Hongsheng by incorporating the drain pump (100) of Robinson in order to recycle the water (col 1 lines 40-45).
The modification would have result in wherein the water outlet is connected with the auxiliary water tank (to receive make up water), and the drain pump is connected with the main water tank (to recycle humidifying water).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hongsheng CN 106288102 published 4 Jan. 2017 as translated by EPO (hereafter Hongsheng) in view of Guetersloh US 6,367,782 (hereafter Guetersloh) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Jiang et al. CN110529956 published 3 Dec. 2019 as translated by EPO (hereafter Jiang) and Xilian et al. CN104833018 published 12 Aug. 2015 as translated by EPO (hereafter Xilian).
Regarding claim 18, Hongsheng in view of Guetersloh teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Hongsheng does not teach a drying module disposed on the housing and proximate to the air inlet, the drying module being configured to heat the air entering the housing; a first humidity sensor disposed at the air inlet and configured to detect humidity of air at the air inlet; and a second humidity sensor disposed at the air outlet and configured to detect humidity of air at the air outlet.
Jiang teaches a humidifying device (Fig 1) comprising a humidifying module (module comprising 17) and a drying module (21) disposed on the housing and proximate to the air inlet (1), the drying module being configured to heat the air entering the housing in order to ensure humidification (¶50); and a second humidity sensor (13) disposed at the air outlet and configured to detect humidity of air at the air outlet in order to sense outlet air humidity (¶37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifying device (Fig 1) of Hongsheng by incorporating the drying module (21) and second humidity sensor (13) of Jiang in order to ensure humidification (¶50) and in order to sense outlet air humidity (¶37).
Xilian teaches a humidifying device (Fig 1) comprising a humidifying module (module comprising 9) and a first humidity sensor (17) disposed at the air inlet and configured to detect humidity of air at the air inlet in order to determine incoming air humidity (¶35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifying device (Fig 1) of Hongsheng by incorporating the drying module (21) and second humidity sensor (13) of Jiang in order to ensure humidification (¶50) and in order to sense outlet air humidity (¶37).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hongsheng CN 106288102 published 4 Jan. 2017 as translated by EPO (hereafter Hongsheng) in view of Guetersloh US 6,367,782 (hereafter Guetersloh) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Dobrinsky US 2019/0231912 (hereafter Dobrinsky).
Regarding claim 19, Hongsheng in view of Guetersloh teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Hongsheng does not teach an ultraviolet sterilization module disposed in the housing and configured to generate ultraviolet light to irradiate the humidifying module.
Dobrinsky teaches a humidifying device (Fig 2-3) comprising a humidifying module (24, 130) and an ultraviolet sterilization module (26B, 126B) disposed in the housing and configured to generate ultraviolet light to irradiate the humidifying module (¶27, ¶2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifying device (Fig 1) of Hongsheng by incorporating the ultraviolet sterilization module (26B, 126B) of Dobrinsky in order to disinfect (¶2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10-12, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the closest prior art is Hongsheng CN 106288102 which teaches a humidifying device comprising a housing and humidifying module. Hongsheng does not teach the water receiving portion as claimed including the plug-in portion and second locking portion and the wet membrane assembly including the third matching portion and recess portion as claimed.
Regarding claim 10, the closest prior art is Hongsheng CN 106288102 and Lee US 2016/00108802. Hongsheng teaches a humidifying device comprising a housing and humidifying module. Lee teaches a water tank comprising two sliding rails. The prior art does not teach sliding rail as claimed, including the straight portion and the guide portion oblique relative to the straight portion.
Regarding claim 11, the closest prior art is Hongsheng CN 106288102 which teaches a humidifying device comprising a housing and humidifying module. Hongsheng does not teach the support plate and decorative plate as claimed including the splice.
Claim 12 depends upon claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, the closest prior art is Hongsheng CN 106288102 which teaches a humidifying device comprising a housing and humidifying module. Hongsheng does not teach the baffle plate comprising the ribs and wet membrane distances as claimed.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776