DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 18/468153 filed on September 15, 2023. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination and are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang (WO 2014/015697).
Regarding claim 1, Tang teaches a virtual desktop system comprising:
one or more virtual desktops and associated public or private cloud infrastructure [Abstract: “An autonomic management system and method of a virtual network is provided.”; p.1: “The present invention relates to the field of autonomic computing and virtual networks.”; p.5: “The bottom layer of the hybrid autonomic computing reference architecture includes virtual and physical network device, the virtual and physical network device exists as a managed resource in the hybrid autonomic computing reference architecture…”]; and
a control plane configured to manage a life cycle of the one or more virtual desktops on the cloud infrastructure, the cloud infrastructure being configured to [p.2: “The ACRA autonomous system architecture divides the autonomic computing system into three layers: … The top level contains a coordinating manager that coordinates various resource managers. These coordinating managers themselves have the structure of autonomous management elements, and achieve certain global and system-level management objectives through system-wide large control loops, achieving system-wide autonomous management.”]:
(i) receive a first configurable set of rules from the control plane [Tang on p.38 discloses a system for designing and constructing a multi-cycle autonomous manager, comprising a design device and a construction device, wherein: Designing a device that adds at least one additional cycle between the analysis and the planning, the multi-cycle autonomous manager being an extension of the autonomous manager in the classical autonomous element model …; p.5: “Mapping the events in the event-driven process block diagram to an autonomous manager such that the analysis and planning portions of the autonomous manager can be represented by a set of rules, wherein the rules are implemented by complex event processing techniques.”],
(ii) store the first configurable set of rules [p.5: “The self-management manager forms a hybrid autonomy meter under the self-calculation reference architecture. Calculating the reference architecture, each part of the autonomous manager includes an instance of a complex event processing engine, and each instance may contain multiple rules.”; p.5: “The multi-cycle autonomous manager saves and searches rules in the event processing agent rule base, saves past experience, and automatically learns to obtain new rules;”],
(iii) evaluate the first configurable set of rules to determine whether conditions associated with one or more rules are met [p.38-39: “The monitor event processing agent forms an event column of at least one rule and is saved in the event processing agent rule base. The analyzer event processing agent searches for the current event column that matches the stimulus, and if successful, matches the score to the most similar hypothesis, otherwise returns to the monitor.”],
(iv) based on the conditions being met, perform one or more actions to execute the one or more rules [p.38-39: “The planner event processing agent identifies the target, target parameters, and searches for assumptions that match the target and meta-state. If successful, the failed experience is stored in the rule base and the score is matched to the most similar repair plan, otherwise it returns to the analyzer. The executor event processing agent searches for a remediation plan that matches the policy, and if successful, uses the score to match the best execution plan, otherwise it returns to the planner.”], and
(v) provide diagnostics related to the one or more executed rules to the control plane for further analysis [p18: “CEP itself is not necessarily intelligent, but EPA’s design can add intelligence and learn from past experiences. As mentioned earlier, the origin of autonomic computing is to mimic the executive function of the human brain, and the neurons responsible for memory during the brain’s execution play an important role. This memory is divided into three types: episodic memory, semantic memory, and procedural memory. An episode is a meaningful combination of events, hereinafter referred to as ‘a sequence of events.’ … The event column is similar to a short-lived memory, often changing, but the accumulated experience becomes a long-term memory, which can usually be imitated by the ‘rule of the rule’.” … “The intelligent CEP method that can be learned from experience can be found in the paper ‘An Episodic Based Approach to Complex Event Processing’ published by Dan Gabriel Tecuci 2009. … The self-managed Analyst provides a way to save and search the event column (ie episode) rules. … The monitor event processing agent forms an event column of at least one rule and is saved in the event processing agent rule library; The analyzer event processing agent searches for the current event column that matches the stimulus, and if successful, matches the score to the most similar hypothesis, otherwise returns to the monitor; … The planner event processing agent identifies the target, target parameters, and searches for assumptions that match the target and meta-state. If successful, the failed experience is stored in the rule base and the score is matched to the most similar repair plan, otherwise it returns to the analyzer; The executor event processing agent searches for a remediation plan that matches the policy, and if successful, uses the score to match the best execution plan, otherwise it returns to the planner.”. That is, Tang discusses episodic memory, learning from experience, and event history, but does not explicitly say agents report diagnostics/results to a control plane. Such reporting may be implied by the architecture but is not stated.].
Regarding claim 2, Tang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the cloud infrastructure includes at least one gateway virtual machine having a gateway agent, the gateway agent being configured to perform steps (i) through (v) [p.5: “the bottom layer of the hybrid autonomic computing reference architecture includes virtual and physical Network device, the virtual and physical network device exists as a managed resource in the hybrid autonomic computing reference architecture, and some managed resources themselves contain self-managed attributes…”; and p.33: “The logical POD server utilizes autonomous management to implement resource scheduling between push and pull with the software server. The service delivery platform utilizes autonomous management to implement operation competition for resources with multiple logical POD servers, and utilizes autonomous management to achieve competition for resources related to operation requests between multiple user agents (operation request) Competition for resources ). SIP protocol for autonomous virtual networks”].
Regarding claim 3, Tang teaches the system of claim 2, wherein steps (iii) through (iv) are performed when the gateway agent loses connectivity to the control plane [Tang describes autonomous agents/EPAs that act locally and event-driven, which implies operation even when disconnected, but does not state this directly.].
Regarding claim 4, Tang teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the first configurable set of rules includes a second configurable set of rules defining rules for the gateway agent and a third configurable set of rules defining rules for a desktop agent, and wherein step (ii) involves: storing, by the gateway agent in the gateway virtual machine, only the second configurable set of rules [p5: “Mapping the events in the event-driven process block diagram to an autonomous manager such that the analysis and planning portions of the autonomous manager can be represented by a set of rules,” … “the multi-cycle autonomous manager saves and searches rules in the event processing agent rule base, saves past experience, and automatically learns to obtain new rules;” ].
Regarding claim 5, Tang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more virtual desktops include at least one desktop agent, the desktop agent being configured to perform steps (i) through (v) [p.5: “the bottom layer of the hybrid autonomic computing reference architecture includes virtual and physical Network device, the virtual and physical network device exists as a managed resource in the hybrid autonomic computing reference architecture, and some managed resources themselves contain self-managed attributes;”; p.50: “There are complete local autonomous elements on the managed resource host. The local autonomous elements enable the host to manage itself according to local policies when the connection with the central collection and control system is cut off;”].
Regarding claim 6, Tang teaches the system of claim 5, wherein steps (iii) through (iv) are performed when the desktop agent loses connectivity to the control plane [p.31: “Figure 19 Managed Resources 1930a Host 1 has a complete local autonomous element. It enables the host 1 to achieve some degree of self-management based on local policies in the event of a disconnection (e.g., communication failure) with the central acquisition control system 1920. Host 1 is consistent with the autonomous element on the left side of the underlying system architecture in Figure 1.”].
Regarding claim 7, Tang teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the first configurable set of rules includes a second configurable set of rules defining rules for a gateway agent and a third configurable set of rules defining rules for the desktop agent, and wherein step (ii) involves: storing, by the desktop agent in the one or more virtual desktops, only the third configurable set of rules [p.39: “The monitor event processing agent forms an event column of at least one rule and is saved in the event processing agent rule base. The analyzer event processing agent searches for the current event column that matches the stimulus, and if successful, matches the score to the most similar hypothesis, otherwise returns to the monitor. The planner event processing agent identifies the target, target parameters, and searches for assumptions that match the target and meta-state. If successful, the failed experience is stored in the rule base and the score is matched to the most similar repair plan, otherwise it returns to the analyzer. The executor event processing agent searches for a remediation plan that matches the policy, and if successful, uses the score to match the best execution plan, otherwise it returns to the planner.”].
Regarding claim 8, Tang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first configurable set of rules are defined by an administrative user [p.2: “The ACRA autonomous system architecture divides the autonomic computing system into three layers: … The top level contains a coordinating manager that coordinates various resource managers. These coordinating managers themselves have the structure of autonomous management elements, and achieve certain global and system-level management objectives through system-wide large control loops, achieving system-wide autonomous management.”].
Regarding claim 9, Tang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the cloud infrastructure performing step (iv) involves: determining that one or more events has occurred, the one or more events including (a) a scheduled time has arrived, (b) a change in connectivity status between the control plane and the cloud infrastructure has occurred, (c) a modification of a configuration registry, (d) a change of a power status, (e) a request to change the power status, or (f) any combination thereof [p.10: “the sensor implementing process level monitoring, using a multiplexing method, so that the number of monitored events exceeds the number of performance monitoring unit counters The device can still be monitored, and the sensor also implements system level monitoring, including monitoring conversion buffer buffer loss, PCI bus latency and traffic, CPU stall cycles, memory access latency, device access latency, and cache instruction stalls;”].
Regarding claim 10, Tang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more rules include: (a) a rule associated with a health check, (b) a rule associated with a status of a networking service, (c) a rule associated with a power management service, (d) a rule associated with system operations, (e) a rule associated with versioning, (f) a rule associated with network performance, or (g) any combination thereof [p.11: “The MAPE component of the service server is global, and the MAPE component of the logical delivery point server is the server local. The rule base of the MAPE engine of the service server considers the competition of resources between the logical delivery point servers, and also considers the service from the user. demand; Business lifecycle management, business project server processing configuration, activation, deployment, uninstallation, service assurance, business scheduling, and FCAPS management when the business server is oriented to the project operation user;”].
Regarding claim 11, Tang teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more actions are included in the one or more rules [p.23: “The VFSM executor tells the service module to start the NEW entry service (service data and service parameters);”].
Regarding claim 12, Tang teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the one or more actions include: (a) raising an alert, (b) rebooting, (c) changing a registry value, (d) powering down a computing system, (e) starting or stopping a process or service, (f) changing a configuration file, (g) clearing a cache, or (h) any combination thereof [p.39: “The effector enters the kernel's interrupt service routine, with kernel ring 0 security permissions and preemption, controls the kernel level ring 1-3 memory manager, peripheral device manager, and task scheduler to terminate, restart, change the time slice Or a live migration process that runs on the operating system or virtual machine without preemptive privileges.”].
Regarding claims 13-19; these claim(s) limitations are significantly similar to those of claim(s) 1-7, 9 and 10; and, thus, are rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 20; these claim(s) limitations are significantly similar to those of claim(s) 1; and, thus, are rejected on the same grounds.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zeljko (US 9,426,182 B1) for policy/rule distribution to endpoints and context-based evaluation (but lacks self-healing action).
Sulcer '661 (US 2021/0026661 A1) for virtual desktop cloud infrastructure, control plane, and agent-based monitoring (but lacks local autonomous action).
Schmitt (TW 202105221 A) for controller-driven IT automation and rule/template-based deployment (but lacks decentralized local agent self-healing).
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658