DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the application filed on January 09, 2026
Claims 1-30 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (USP 2025/0254683) in view of Kim et al. (USP: 2019/0045577).
As per Claim 1 Wu an apparatus for wireless communication at a distributed unit (DU) of a network node, comprising:
one or more memories (Paragraph 0077 memory); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to cause the DU to (Paragraph 0077 Each of the DUs 174 also includes processing hardware that can include one or more general-purpose processors (e.g., CPUs) and computer-readable memory storing machine-readable instructions ):
receive, from one or more of a user equipment (UE), a central unit (CU) of the network node, or another network node, assistance information, wherein the assistance information indicates (Paragraph 0 085, 0087, 0094 FIG. 2B illustrates, which the UE 102 can communicate with a DU (e.g., DU 174) and a CU (e.g., CU 172). The CU 172 includes a CU-CP 172A and a CU-UP 172B. In the scenario 300, the UE 102 initially operates in a connected state 302. T he UE 102 determines or detects data inactivity and transmits 320, to the DU 174, UE assistance information (e.g., a UEAssistanceInformation message) ): and
transmit uplink resources for the RLC retransmission based at least in part on an expected expiry of the PDCP reordering timer and robust header compression (ROHC) information (Paragraph 0094, 0096, 0106, 0140 UE assistance information (e.g., a UEAssistanceInformation message) indicating that the UE 102 prefers or requests to transition to the inactive state, the compression protocol can be a Robust Header Compression (ROHC). the UL data include or are PDU(s) (e.g., RRC PDU(s), PDCP PDU(s) or RLC PDU(s)) that includes RRC message(s), NAS message(s), IP packet(s), Ethernet packet(s), or application packet(s).).
However Wu does not explicitly disclose a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer, wherein a packet reordering for one or more packets of a radio link control (RLC) retransmission is performed prior to expiry of the PDCP reordering time
Kim teaches a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer, wherein a packet reordering for one or more packets of a radio link control (RLC) retransmission is performed prior to expiry of the PDCP reordering time (Paragraph 0323, 0346, 0372, 0386 the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires. PDCP reordering timer is set to a long period of time as before, it is necessary to buffer a large amount of received data because the data cannot be delivered to the upper layer until the expiry of the PDCP reordering timer. Multiplexing/demultiplexing of MAC SDUs belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TB) delivered to/from the physical layer on transport channels the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires, a large amount of data received while the timer is running may be delivered to the upper layer at one time and, thus, the upper layer is likely to fail to process all of the data, resulting in data loss. Multiple RLC entities established for one UE and takes charge of multiplexing RLC PDUs from the RLC layer into a MAC PDU and demultiplexing a MAC PDU into RLC PDUs. The main functions of the MAC protocol are summarized as follows: Mapping between logical channels and transport channels Multiplexing/demultiplexing of MAC SDUs belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TB) delivered ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to include the teaching of Kim so the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires. (See Kim Paragraph 0011).
As per Claim 2 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, are configured to cause the DU to: transmit, to the UE, an uplink grant indicating a transport block size (TBS) associated with a first header packet, in relation to an uplink grant indicating a TBS associated with a second header packet, based at least in part on the ROHC information (Paragraph 0006, 0026, 0127 the DU 174 in accordance with the uplink grant. FIG. 8A is a flow diagram of an example method implemented in a UE for determining whether to transmit SDT data to a RAN using a UL grant based on whether the UE has UL data to transmit; The network can then schedule subsequent uplink and/or downlink transmissions using dynamic uplink grants and downlink assignments, respectively, after the completion of the random access procedure. ).
However Wu does not explicitly disclose a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer, wherein a packet reordering for one or more packets of a radio link control (RLC) retransmission is performed prior to expiry of the PDCP reordering time
Kim teaches a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer, wherein a packet reordering for one or more packets of a radio link control (RLC) retransmission is performed prior to expiry of the PDCP reordering time (Paragraph 0323, 0346, 0372, 0386 the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires. PDCP reordering timer is set to a long period of time as before, it is necessary to buffer a large amount of received data because the data cannot be delivered to the upper layer until the expiry of the PDCP reordering timer. Multiplexing/demultiplexing of MAC SDUs belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TB) delivered to/from the physical layer on transport channels the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires, a large amount of data received while the timer is running may be delivered to the upper layer at one time and, thus, the upper layer is likely to fail to process all of the data, resulting in data loss. Multiple RLC entities established for one UE and takes charge of multiplexing RLC PDUs from the RLC layer into a MAC PDU and demultiplexing a MAC PDU into RLC PDUs. The main functions of the MAC protocol are summarized as follows: Mapping between logical channels and transport channels Multiplexing/demultiplexing of MAC SDUs belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TB) delivered ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to include the teaching of Kim so the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires. (See Kim Paragraph 0011).
As per Claim 3 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the DU to: receive, during a bearer setup procedure with the CU, a configuration associated with receiving the ROHC information (Paragraph 0080, 0135 a DU 174 is established by the CU-CP 172A using Bearer Context Management functions. the first DU-to-CU message, transmitting 408 the UE Context Request message, or receiving 410 the UE Context Response message, the CU-CP 172A transmits 412, to the CU-UP 172B, a Bearer Context Modification Request message to resume SDT DRB(s) of the UE 102. ).
As per Claim 4 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ROHC information indicates one or more of: a feedback type including an acknowledgement (ACK) or a negative acknowledgement (NACK), UE related identity information associated with the UE, an indication of whether downlink data is a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) data packet data unit (PDU) or a PDCP control PDU, a PDCP control PDU type based at least in part on the downlink data being the PDCP control PDU, a timestamp, an indication of whether an uplink packet size will change, an expected uplink packet size, a difference of the uplink packet size from a previous uplink packet size, or a recommended transport block size (TBS) (Paragraph 0106, 0181 the SDT CU configuration includes a compression protocol continuation indication (e.g., sdt-DRB-ContinueROHC) that indicates whether a PDCP entity for the DRB(s) configured for SDT, during SDT operation (i.e., initial and/or subsequent SDT described for FIG. 4), continues. For example, the compression protocol can be a Robust Header Compression (ROHC). The base station 104 releases the SDT configuration(s) in response to or after receiving an acknowledgement (e.g., a RLC acknowledgement or a HARQ acknowledgement) for the PDU(s) including the RRC resume message. In yet other implementations, the base station 104 (e.g., the CU-CP 172A and/or DU 174) releases the SDT configuration(s) in response to or after communicating 508 the UE Context Request message or 510 the UE Context Response message. ).
As per Claim 5 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ROHC information is associated with a New Radio (NR) user plane data packet data unit (PDU) format, and the ROHC information is associated with a voice packet or a non-voice packet configured with ROHC (Paragraph 0055, 0084, 0106 For example, the compression protocol can be a Robust Header Compression (ROHC). In some implementations, the SDT CU configuration includes a data volume threshold (e.g., sdt-DataVolumeThreshold) for the UE 102 to determine whether the UE 102 can initiate SDT, the NR PDCP sublayer 210 can provide signaling radio bearers (SRBs) or RRC sublayer (not shown in FIG. 2A) to exchange RRC messages or non-access-stratum (NAS) messages, for example. The UE 102 can support at least a 5G NR (or simply, “NR”) or E-UTRA air interface to communicate with the base stations 104 and 106. On a user plane, the EUTRA PDCP sublayer 208 and the NR PDCP sublayer 210 can provide Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) to support data exchange. Data exchanged on the NR PDCP sublayer 210 can be SDAP PDUs, Internet Protocol (IP) packets or Ethernet packets. ).
As per Claim 6 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ROHC information indicates one or more of: a number of packets transmitted with a specific ROHC header, a time period associated with the number of packets transmitted with the full ROHC header, or an indication of an applicability to an initial ROHC context establishment, an ROHC context update, an ROHC context resynchronization, or an ROHC context repair (Paragraph 0106 For example, the compression protocol can be a Robust Header Compression (ROHC). In some implementations, the SDT CU configuration includes a data volume threshold (e.g., sdt-DataVolumeThreshold) for the UE 102 to determine whether the UE 102 can initiate SDT. ).
As per Claim 7 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ROHC information is received from the UE, the ROHC information is received in a periodic manner or in an event triggered manner, and the ROHC information is signaled in accordance with a prohibit timer (Paragraph 0106, 0107 the SDT CU configuration includes a compression protocol continuation indication (e.g., sdt-DRB-ContinueROHC) that indicates whether a PDCP entity for the DRB(s) configured for SDT, during SDT operation (i.e., initial and/or subsequent SDT described for FIG. 4), continues. For example, a time alignment timer value for CG-SDT (e.g., CG-SDT time alignment timer (CG-SDT-TAT) value), and/or a timing advance validity threshold for CG-SDT, the compression protocol can be a Robust Header Compression (ROHC), a time alignment timer value for CG-SDT (e.g., CG-SDT time alignment timer (CG-SDT-TAT) value), and/or a timing advance validity threshold for CG-SDT. In some implementations, the UL BWP configuration configures a dedicated UL BWP for the UE 102 to perform CG-SDT. In some implementations, the SDT CU configuration includes a data volume threshold (e.g., sdt-DataVolumeThreshold) for the UE 102 to determine whether the UE 102 can initiate SDT. ).
However Wu does not explicitly disclose a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer, wherein a packet reordering for one or more packets of a radio link control (RLC) retransmission is performed prior to expiry of the PDCP reordering time
Kim teaches a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer, wherein a packet reordering for one or more packets of a radio link control (RLC) retransmission is performed prior to expiry of the PDCP reordering time (Paragraph 0323, 0346, 0372, 0386 the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires. PDCP reordering timer is set to a long period of time as before, it is necessary to buffer a large amount of received data because the data cannot be delivered to the upper layer until the expiry of the PDCP reordering timer. Multiplexing/demultiplexing of MAC SDUs belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TB) delivered to/from the physical layer on transport channels the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires, a large amount of data received while the timer is running may be delivered to the upper layer at one time and, thus, the upper layer is likely to fail to process all of the data, resulting in data loss. Multiple RLC entities established for one UE and takes charge of multiplexing RLC PDUs from the RLC layer into a MAC PDU and demultiplexing a MAC PDU into RLC PDUs. The main functions of the MAC protocol are summarized as follows: Mapping between logical channels and transport channels Multiplexing/demultiplexing of MAC SDUs belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TB) delivered ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to include the teaching of Kim so the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires. (See Kim Paragraph 0011).
As per Claim 8 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the ROHC information is received from the CU, the ROHC information includes static information, the ROHC information includes dynamic information associated with a UE uplink ROHC behavior, and the dynamic information is received in a periodic manner or in an event triggered manner (Paragraph the SDT CU configuration includes a compression protocol continuation indication (e.g., sdt-DRB-ContinueROHC) that indicates whether a PDCP entity for the DRB(s) configured for SDT, during SDT operation (i.e., initial and/or subsequent SDT described for FIG. 4), continues. For example, the compression protocol can be a Robust Header Compression (ROHC). In some implementations, the SDT CU configuration includes a data volume threshold (e.g., sdt-DataVolumeThreshold) for the UE 102 to determine whether the UE 102 can initiate SDT. ).
As per Claim 9 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the assistance information indicates one or more of: an identification of a stream, a UE identifier (ID), a flow ID, a bearer ID, a radio link control (RLC) entity ID, an RLC channel ID, an RLC bearer ID, or a logical channel ID (Paragraph 0004, 0062, 0064 The UL RRC message can include a UE ID of the UE 102 as described above, the UE 102 can include the UL PDCP PDU in a UL radio link control (RLC) PDU and then include the UL RLC PDU in the UL MAC PDU. Which in turn provides logical channels to the Radio Link Control (RLC) sublayer, and the RLC sublayer in turn provides data transfer services to the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) sublayer. The Radio Resource Control (RRC) sublayer is disposed above the PDCP sublayer. ).
As per Claim 10 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the assistance information indicates one or more of: a cause value associated with an expected expiry of a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer, or a request for additional uplink resources (Paragraph 0094, 0126 the UL data includes a PDU (e.g., PDCP PDU) or a data packet (e.g., IP packet or Ethernet packet), the CU-CP 172A determines to cause the UE 102 to transition to an inactive state from the connected state, based on data inactivity of the UE 102 (i.e., the UE 102 in the connected state has no data activity with the base station 104). ).
However Wu does not explicitly disclose a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer, wherein a packet reordering for one or more packets of a radio link control (RLC) retransmission is performed prior to expiry of the PDCP reordering time
Kim teaches a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer, wherein a packet reordering for one or more packets of a radio link control (RLC) retransmission is performed prior to expiry of the PDCP reordering time (Paragraph 0323, 0346, 0372, 0386 the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires. PDCP reordering timer is set to a long period of time as before, it is necessary to buffer a large amount of received data because the data cannot be delivered to the upper layer until the expiry of the PDCP reordering timer. Multiplexing/demultiplexing of MAC SDUs belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TB) delivered to/from the physical layer on transport channels the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires, a large amount of data received while the timer is running may be delivered to the upper layer at one time and, thus, the upper layer is likely to fail to process all of the data, resulting in data loss. Multiple RLC entities established for one UE and takes charge of multiplexing RLC PDUs from the RLC layer into a MAC PDU and demultiplexing a MAC PDU into RLC PDUs. The main functions of the MAC protocol are summarized as follows: Mapping between logical channels and transport channels Multiplexing/demultiplexing of MAC SDUs belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TB) delivered ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to include the teaching of Kim so the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires. (See Kim Paragraph 0011).
As per Claim 11 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the assistance information further indicates uplink data related information, the uplink data related information being received from the UE, the CU, or the other network node, the uplink data related information is associated with multimedia traffic, and the uplink data related information indicates one or more of: an expected periodicity of uplink data, an expected uplink data size, or a period of change to a periodicity of uplink data; and the one or more processors, are configured to cause the DU to: receive uplink data from the UE based at least in part on the uplink data related information (Paragraph 0229, 0231 the MAC 204B indicates a maximum RLC data size to the RLC 206B. The RLC 206B ensures a total size of the UL RLC PDU(s) or UL RLC PDU segment of the event 716 not larger than the maximum size. the MAC 204B generates 719 the initial UL MAC PDU upon receiving a UL grant in a random access response in the random access procedure. Alternatively, the MAC 204B generates 719 the initial UL MAC PDU in accordance with a MAC PDU size before initiating the random acc. ).
As per Claim 12 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, are configured to cause the DU to: control a scheduling for the UE, a bearer, or a logical channel based at least in part on the PDCP reordering timer (Paragraph 0004, 0231 the RLC sublayer in turn provides data transfer services to the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) sublayer. The Radio Resource Control (RRC) sublayer is disposed above the PDCP sublayer. The MAC 204B indicates a maximum RLC data size to the RLC 206B. The RLC 206B ensures a total size of the UL RLC PDU(s) or UL RLC PDU segment of the event 716 not larger than the maximum size. ).
However Wu does not explicitly disclose a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer, wherein a packet reordering for one or more packets of a radio link control (RLC) retransmission is performed prior to expiry of the PDCP reordering time
Kim teaches a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer, wherein a packet reordering for one or more packets of a radio link control (RLC) retransmission is performed prior to expiry of the PDCP reordering time (Paragraph 0323, 0346, 0372, 0386 the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires. PDCP reordering timer is set to a long period of time as before, it is necessary to buffer a large amount of received data because the data cannot be delivered to the upper layer until the expiry of the PDCP reordering timer. Multiplexing/demultiplexing of MAC SDUs belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TB) delivered to/from the physical layer on transport channels the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires, a large amount of data received while the timer is running may be delivered to the upper layer at one time and, thus, the upper layer is likely to fail to process all of the data, resulting in data loss. Multiple RLC entities established for one UE and takes charge of multiplexing RLC PDUs from the RLC layer into a MAC PDU and demultiplexing a MAC PDU into RLC PDUs. The main functions of the MAC protocol are summarized as follows: Mapping between logical channels and transport channels Multiplexing/demultiplexing of MAC SDUs belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TB) delivered ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to include the teaching of Kim so the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires. (See Kim Paragraph 0011).
As per Claim 13 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 12, wherein: the PDCP reordering timer is received from the CU; and the one or more processors, are configured to cause the DU to: maintain a PDCP reordering timer status based at least in part on a received uplink PDCP packet data unit (PDU); provide uplink resources for the UE, the bearer or the logical channel based at least in part on an expected expiry of the PDCP reordering timer; and trigger an RLC status report transmission to request the UE to perform an RLC retransmission in an uplink direction (Paragraph 0062, 0076 the CU 172 can include a radio link control (RLC) controller configured to manage or control one or more RLC operations or procedures. In further implementations, the CU 172 does not include an RLC controller. The data is an uplink (UL) service data unit (SDU) of the packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) or SDAP. The UE 102 applies the security function to the SDU and includes the secured SDU in a first UL PDU (e.g., a UL PDCP PDU). The UE 102 then includes the UL PDCP PDU in a second UL PDU such as a UL MAC PDU, which can be associated with the medium access control (MAC) layer. ).
However Wu does not explicitly disclose a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer, wherein a packet reordering for one or more packets of a radio link control (RLC) retransmission is performed prior to expiry of the PDCP reordering time
Kim teaches a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) reordering timer, wherein a packet reordering for one or more packets of a radio link control (RLC) retransmission is performed prior to expiry of the PDCP reordering time (Paragraph 0323, 0346, 0372, 0386 the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires. PDCP reordering timer is set to a long period of time as before, it is necessary to buffer a large amount of received data because the data cannot be delivered to the upper layer until the expiry of the PDCP reordering timer. Multiplexing/demultiplexing of MAC SDUs belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TB) delivered to/from the physical layer on transport channels the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires, a large amount of data received while the timer is running may be delivered to the upper layer at one time and, thus, the upper layer is likely to fail to process all of the data, resulting in data loss. Multiple RLC entities established for one UE and takes charge of multiplexing RLC PDUs from the RLC layer into a MAC PDU and demultiplexing a MAC PDU into RLC PDUs. The main functions of the MAC protocol are summarized as follows: Mapping between logical channels and transport channels Multiplexing/demultiplexing of MAC SDUs belonging to one or different logical channels into/from transport blocks (TB) delivered ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to include the teaching of Kim so the data that has triggered the PDCP reordering timer arrives before the expiry of the timer or if the PDCP reordering timer expires. (See Kim Paragraph 0011).
As per Claim 14 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the DU to: receive, from the CU and based at least in part on a trigger, an indication of a PDCP reordering timer status or a request for an uplink resource assignment, wherein the trigger is based at least in part on a periodic timer expiry or an event trigger; and the one or more processors, are configured to cause the DU to: provide uplink resources for the UE, the bearer or the logical channel based at least in part on the expected expiry of the PDCP reordering timer; and trigger an RLC status report transmission to request the UE to perform an RLC retransmission in an uplink direction (Paragraph 0062, 0076 the CU 172 can include a radio link control (RLC) controller configured to manage or control one or more RLC operations or procedures. In further implementations, the CU 172 does not include an RLC controller. The data is an uplink (UL) service data unit (SDU) of the packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) or SDAP. The UE 102 applies the security function to the SDU and includes the secured SDU in a first UL PDU (e.g., a UL PDCP PDU). The UE 102 then includes the UL PDCP PDU in a second UL PDU such as a UL MAC PDU, which can be associated with the medium access control (MAC) layer. ).
As per Claim 15 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the assistance information further indicates congestion related information, the congestion related information being received from the UE, the CU, or the other network node based at least in part on a trigger for sending the congestion related information, and the congestion related information indicates one or more of: a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) discard occurrence in an uplink direction, congestion resolution information, or transmission control protocol (TCP) acknowledgements (ACKs) transmitted in a downlink direction, and the one or more processors are configured to cause the DU to: provide uplink resources for the UE, a bearer, or a logical channel based at least in part on the congestion related information (Paragraph 0062, 0084, 0181he base station 104 releases the SDT configuration(s) in response to or after receiving an acknowledgement (e.g., a RLC acknowledgement or a HARQ acknowledgement) for the PDU(s) including the RRC resume message. the UL RRC message with an integrity key (e.g., K.sub.RRCint key), an integrity protection algorithm, and other parameters COUNT (e.g., 32-bit, 64-bit or 128-bit value), BEARER (e.g., 5-bit value) and DIRECTION (e.g., 1-bit value), the NR PDCP sublayer 210 can provide Data Radio Bearers (DRBs) to support data exchange. Data exchanged on the NR PDCP sublayer 210 can be SDAP PDUs, Internet Protocol (IP) packets or Ethernet packets. the base station 104 (e.g., the CU-CP 172A and/or DU 174) releases the SDT configuration(s) in response to or after communicating 508 the UE Context Request message or 510 the UE Context Response message. ).
As per Claim 16 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the congestion related information is received in response to one of: a packet discard, a certain time period having elapsed from a time when a packet arrived in a UE buffer, or a detection of an upper layer in recovering a packet loss through a slow-start or a duplicate ACK (DUPACK) recovery phase (Paragraph 0066, 0197, 0201 when the base station 104 determines that the MAC-I is invalid, the base station 104 discards the security-protected packet. Further, However, if the base station 104 determines that the MAC-I is invalid, the base station 104 discards the packet. The SDU configuration includes CG-SDT configuration(s). In some such cases, the UE 102 discards the CG-SDT configuration(s) because the base station 106 docs not configure the CG-SDT configuration(s) for the UE 102 (i.e., the CG-SDT configuration(s) is not valid). when the CU-CP 172A receives the CG-SDT configuration(s), the CU-CP 172A discards the CG-SDT configuration(s). In some implementations, the CU-CP 172A discards the SDT configuration, (e.g., in cases where the CU-CP 172A does not support delta configuration)..).
As per Claim 17 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the assistance information further indicates congestion related information, the session control information being received from the UE, the CU, or the another network node and indicates one or more of: an expected period of time to complete a session control procedure, an expected number of control packets to complete the session control procedure, or a cause value associated with a session start, a session resume, a session release, or a session termination; and the one or more processors, to cause the DU to perform the action, are configured to cause the DU to: provide uplink resources for the UE, a bearer, or a logical channel based at least in part on the session control information (Paragraph 0202- 0205 Retrieve UE Context Response message or receiving 614 the Bearer Context Setup Response message, the CU-CP 172A transmits 608 a UE Context Setup Request message to the DU 174 to request the DU 174 to establish a UE context for the UE 102. In some implementations, after receiving 609 the Retrieve UE Context Response message, the CU-CP 172A transmits 612 a Bearer Context Setup Request message to the CU-UP 172B to request the CU-UP 172B to establish bearer context(s) for SDT DRB(s) configured in the SDT configuration for the UE 102. In response, the CU-UP 172B establishes (i.e., sets up) bearer context(s) for the SDT DRB(s) and transmits 614 a Bearer Context Setup Response message to the CU-CP 172A to confirm that that bearer context(s) for the SDT DRB(s) are established.).
As per Claim 18 Wu-Kim the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the assistance information further indicates congestion related information, the RRC message information being received from the CU and indicates one or more of: an expected processing time of an RRC message, or an RRC message type; and the one or more processors, are configured to cause the DU to: provide, to the UE, an uplink grant to receive an RRC complete message, wherein a timing to provide the uplink grant is based at least in part on the expected processing time of the RRC message (Paragraph 0005, 0058, 0060 The UE obtains an uplink (UL) grant. The UE 102 includes a UE identity/identifier (ID) for the UE 102 in the UL RRC message. For clarity, the examples below refer to the RRC_INACTIVE or RRC_IDLE state of the RRC protocol. The RRC sublayer specifies the RRC_IDLE state, in which a UE does not have an active radio connection with a base station; the RRC_CONNECTED state, in which the UE has an active radio connection with the base station; and the RRC_INACTIVE to allow a UE to more quickly transition back to the RRC_CONNECTED state due to Radio Access Network (RAN)-level base station coordination and RAN-paging procedures.).
Claims 19- 30 are the User equipment claims corresponding to the method claims 1 - 18 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1 - 18. Claims 19 – 30 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1 - 18.
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SYED ALI whose telephone number is (571)270-3681. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Asad Nawaz can be reached on 571-272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov . Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463