DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This communication is in response to the filing of Application 18/468,237 by ABOTABL et al. for “TECHNIQUES FOR REPORTING SUB-BAND FULL-DUPLEX (SBFD) CAPABILITY UPDATES”, filed on 09/15/2023.
Claims 1-30 are now pending. The independent claims are 1, 18, 29 and 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEI et al. (US20220006603A1), hereinafter LEI, in view of CHINCHOLI et al. (US20170230780A1), hereinafter CHINCHOLI.
Regarding claim 1, LEI teaches A user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: (LEI, Fig. 14, paragraph 100, teach UE comprising memory 1405 for storing code and processor 1404 configured to perform the overall functions claimed.)
communicate a signal using a first duplexing mode in accordance with a sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE; (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1206, paragraph 96, teach the UE 1204 communicating (i.e. a signal) using full duplex (FD) FDD (i.e. sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE).)
perform one or more measurements on the signal to obtain a channel impulse response associated with communicating the signal; (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1208, paragraph 96, teach the UE dynamically initiating FDD mode switching 1208, for example, to change the latency, power consumption, and/or performance of the UE (i.e. one or more measurements on the signal to obtain a response associated with communicating the signal).)
and transmit a message comprising information indicative of an update pertaining to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE, (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1210, paragraph 96, teach the UE transmitting a FDD mode switching command (i.e. a message comprising information indicative of an update pertaining to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE).)
wherein the update is based at least in part on the channel impulse response and identifies a second duplexing mode for wireless communication by the UE. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1212, paragraph 97, teach the UE communicating using a second FDD mode (i.e. second duplexing mode) based at least on the response and identifying the second duplexing mode for wireless communication.)
LEI does not describe the response as a channel impulse.
CHINCHOLI in the same field of endeavor teaches a UE configured to perform channel impulse (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114, teach parameters measured by a UE include channel impulse response.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure a duplex mode based on a channel impulse. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 2, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a first message at a first time, the first message comprising first information that is indicative of the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE and that identifies the first duplexing mode for wireless communication by the UE, (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1206, paragraph 96, teach the UE 1204 communicating the signal using full duplex (FD) FDD (i.e. sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE).) wherein the message is transmitted at a second time subsequent to the first time, and wherein the update is relative to the first information. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1210, paragraph 96, teach the UE subsequently transmitting FDD mode switching command.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to transmit a first message at a first time, the first message comprising first information that is indicative of the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE and that identifies the first duplexing mode for wireless communication by the UE, wherein the message is transmitted at a second time subsequent to the first time, and wherein the update is relative to the first information. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 3, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein: the update includes that the sub-band full-duplex capability is maintained at the UE over a duration between the first time and the second time, and the second duplexing mode is the same as the first duplexing mode based at least in part on the sub-band full-duplex capability being maintained. (LEI, paragraph 109, teach the UE maintaining the first duplexing mode.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure the update as including that the sub-band full-duplex capability is maintained at the UE over a duration between the first time and the second time, and the second duplexing mode is the same as the first duplexing mode based at least in part on the sub-band full-duplex capability being maintained. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 4, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein: the update includes that the sub-band full-duplex capability is not maintained at the UE over a duration between the first time and the second time, and the second duplexing mode is different than the first duplexing mode based at least in part on the sub-band full-duplex capability not being maintained. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1210, paragraph 96, teach the UE transmitting a FDD mode switching command.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure the update as including that the sub-band full-duplex capability is not maintained at the UE over a duration between the first time and the second time, and the second duplexing mode is different than the first duplexing mode based at least in part on the sub-band full-duplex capability not being maintained. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 5, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 4, wherein: the message is transmitted to a network entity, and the update indicates an expectation that the UE is operating in accordance with the second duplexing mode and the network entity is operating in accordance with the first duplexing mode. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1206, paragraph 96, teach the UE 1204 communicating with gNB 1202 (i.e. network entity).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure the message as transmitted to a network entity, and the update indicates an expectation that the UE is operating in accordance with the second duplexing mode and the network entity is operating in accordance with the first duplexing mode. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 6, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein: the information is indicative of a modification to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE, and the second duplexing mode is based at least in part on the modification. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1210, paragraph 96, teach the mode switching command which is indicative of a modification to the sub-band full duplex capability.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure the information as indicative of a modification to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE, and the second duplexing mode is based at least in part on the modification. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 7, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 6, wherein the modification is associated with at least one of a spatial domain parameter, a power domain parameter, or a frequency domain parameter usable at the UE for wireless communications in accordance with one or more duplexing modes. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1208, paragraph 96, teach the UE dynamically initiating FDD mode switching 1208, for example, to change the latency, power consumption, and/or performance of the UE (i.e. one or more measurements on the signal to obtain a response associated with communicating the signal).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configuring the modification as associated with at least one of a spatial domain parameter, a power domain parameter, or a frequency domain parameter usable at the UE for wireless communications in accordance with one or more duplexing modes. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 8, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 6, wherein the modification is based at least in part on the channel impulse response satisfying a threshold. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1208, paragraph 96, teach the UE dynamically initiating FDD mode switching 1208, for example, to change the latency, power consumption, and/or performance of the UE (i.e. one or more measurements on the signal to obtain a response associated with communicating the signal).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure the modification as based at least in part on the channel impulse response satisfying a threshold. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 9, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the information comprises at least one bit corresponding to the update. (LEI, paragraph 78 teaches the information comprising bits of information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure the information comprises at least one bit corresponding to the update. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 10, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second message comprising second information indicative of a mapping between the at least one bit and the update, wherein the information comprising the at least one bit is in accordance with the mapping. (LEI, paragraph 78 teaches the information comprising bits of information mapped to transport channels.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to receive a second message comprising second information indicative of a mapping between the at least one bit and the update, wherein the information comprising the at least one bit is in accordance with the mapping. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 11, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 10, wherein: the second information is indicative of a plurality of mappings between a plurality of bits and a plurality of updates, and the plurality of mappings includes at least the mapping. (LEI, paragraph 78 teaches the information comprising bits of information mapped to transport channels.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure the second information is indicative of a plurality of mappings between a plurality of bits and a plurality of updates, and the plurality of mappings includes at least the mapping. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 12, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein transmitting the message is based at least in part on an expiration of a timer. (LEI, paragraph 91 teaches transmitting the message based on a triggering timer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure transmitting the message as based at least in part on an expiration of a timer. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 13, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a first message comprising first information that is indicative of the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE and that identifies the first duplexing mode for wireless communication by the UE; (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1210, paragraph 96, teach the mode switching command which is indicative of a modification to the sub-band full duplex capability.) and initiate the timer in response to transmitting the first message. (LEI, paragraph 91 teaches transmitting the message based on a triggering timer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to transmit a first message comprising first information that is indicative of the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE and that identifies the first duplexing mode for wireless communication by the UE, and initiate the timer in response to transmitting the first message. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 14, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: identify a modification to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE based at least in part on the channel impulse response; (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1210, paragraph 96, teach the mode switching command which is indicative of a modification to the sub-band full duplex capability.) and initiate the timer in response to identifying the modification, wherein transmitting the message is based at least in part on the modification being maintained at the UE over a duration of the timer. (LEI, paragraph 91 teaches transmitting the message based on a triggering timer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to identify a modification to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE based at least in part on the channel impulse response; and initiate the timer in response to identifying the modification, wherein transmitting the message is based at least in part on the modification being maintained at the UE over a duration of the timer. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 15, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive an indication of a quantity of transmission time intervals (TTIs), wherein the timer is based at least in part on the quantity of TTIs. (LEI, paragraph 66 teaches shortened transmission time intervals (TTIs) occupying resources scheduled for transmissions.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to receive an indication of a quantity of transmission time intervals (TTIs), wherein the timer is based at least in part on the quantity of TTIs. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 16, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive an indication of a periodicity associated with reporting updates pertaining to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE, wherein transmitting the message is in accordance with the periodicity. (LEI, Fig. 17, paragraph 120 teaches process 1700 for switching between different FDD modes according to a periodicity of the FDD modes. In some aspects, the process 1700 may be performed by any of the scheduling entities or UEs in FIGS. 1, 2, 7, 11, and/or 12. At block 1702, a UE can receive a periodicity of a first FDD mode and a second FDD mode in at least one of system information or a radio resource control message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to receive an indication of a periodicity associated with reporting updates pertaining to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE, wherein transmitting the message is in accordance with the periodicity. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 17, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the information comprises an indication of the second duplexing mode. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1212, paragraph 97, teach the UE communicating using a second FDD mode (i.e. second duplexing mode) based at least on the response and identifying the second duplexing mode for wireless communication.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure the information as comprising an indication of the second duplexing mode. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 18, LEI teaches A network entity, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: (LEI, Fig. 18, paragraph 121, teach gNB 1800 comprising memory 1805 for storing code and processor 1804 configured to perform the overall functions claimed.)
communicate a signal between the network entity and a user equipment (UE) in accordance with a first duplexing mode that is based at least in part on a sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE; (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1206, paragraph 96, teach gNB 1202 and UE 1204 communicating (i.e. a signal) using full duplex (FD) FDD (i.e. sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE).)
and obtain a message comprising information indicative of an update pertaining to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE, (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1210, paragraph 96, teach the UE transmitting, the gNB, a FDD mode switching command (i.e. a message comprising information indicative of an update pertaining to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE).) wherein the update is based at least in part on a channel impulse response associated with communicating the signal, (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1208, paragraph 96, teach the UE dynamically initiating FDD mode switching 1208, for example, to change the latency, power consumption, and/or performance of the UE (i.e. one or more measurements on the signal to obtain a response associated with communicating the signal).) and wherein the update identifies a second duplexing mode for wireless communication by the UE. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1212, paragraph 97, teach the UE communicating using a second FDD mode (i.e. second duplexing mode) based at least on the response and identifying the second duplexing mode for wireless communication.)
LEI does not describe the response as a channel impulse.
CHINCHOLI in the same field of endeavor teaches a UE configured to perform channel impulse (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114, teach parameters measured by a UE include channel impulse response.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure a duplex mode based on a channel impulse. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 19, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the network entity of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: obtain a first message at a first time, the first message comprising first information that is indicative of the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE and that identifies the first duplexing mode for wireless communication by the UE, (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1206, paragraph 96, teach the UE 1204 communicating the signal using full duplex (FD) FDD (i.e. sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE).) wherein the message is obtained at a second time subsequent to the first time, and wherein the update is relative to the first information. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1210, paragraph 96, teach the UE subsequently transmitting FDD mode switching command.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to transmit a first message at a first time, the first message comprising first information that is indicative of the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE and that identifies the first duplexing mode for wireless communication by the UE, wherein the message is transmitted at a second time subsequent to the first time, and wherein the update is relative to the first information. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 20, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the network entity of claim 19, wherein: the update includes that the sub-band full-duplex capability is maintained at the UE over a duration between the first time and the second time, and the second duplexing mode is the same as the first duplexing mode based at least in part on the sub-band full-duplex capability being maintained. (LEI, paragraph 109, teach the UE maintaining the first duplexing mode.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure the update as including that the sub-band full-duplex capability is maintained at the UE over a duration between the first time and the second time, and the second duplexing mode is the same as the first duplexing mode based at least in part on the sub-band full-duplex capability being maintained. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 21, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the network entity of claim 19, wherein: the update includes that the sub-band full-duplex capability is not maintained at the UE over a duration between the first time and the second time, and the second duplexing mode is different than the first duplexing mode based at least in part on the sub-band full-duplex capability not being maintained. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1210, paragraph 96, teach the UE transmitting a FDD mode switching command.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure the update as including that the sub-band full-duplex capability is not maintained at the UE over a duration between the first time and the second time, and the second duplexing mode is different than the first duplexing mode based at least in part on the sub-band full-duplex capability not being maintained. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 22, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the network entity of claim 21, wherein the update indicates an expectation that the UE is operating in accordance with the second duplexing mode and the network entity is operating in accordance with the first duplexing mode. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1206, paragraph 96, teach the UE 1204 communicating with gNB 1202 (i.e. network entity).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure the message as transmitted to a network entity, and the update indicates an expectation that the UE is operating in accordance with the second duplexing mode and the network entity is operating in accordance with the first duplexing mode. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 23, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the network entity of claim 18, wherein: the information is indicative of a modification to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE, and the second duplexing mode is based at least in part on the modification. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1210, paragraph 96, teach the mode switching command which is indicative of a modification to the sub-band full duplex capability.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure the information as indicative of a modification to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE, and the second duplexing mode is based at least in part on the modification. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 24, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the network entity of claim 23, wherein the modification is associated with at least one of a spatial domain parameter, a power domain parameter, or a frequency domain parameter usable at the UE for wireless communications in accordance with one or more duplexing modes. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1208, paragraph 96, teach the UE dynamically initiating FDD mode switching 1208, for example, to change the latency, power consumption, and/or performance of the UE (i.e. one or more measurements on the signal to obtain a response associated with communicating the signal).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configuring the modification as associated with at least one of a spatial domain parameter, a power domain parameter, or a frequency domain parameter usable at the UE for wireless communications in accordance with one or more duplexing modes. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 25, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the network entity of claim 23, wherein the modification is based at least in part on the channel impulse response satisfying a threshold. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1208, paragraph 96, teach the UE dynamically initiating FDD mode switching 1208, for example, to change the latency, power consumption, and/or performance of the UE (i.e. one or more measurements on the signal to obtain a response associated with communicating the signal).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure the modification as based at least in part on the channel impulse response satisfying a threshold. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 26, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the network entity of claim 18, wherein the information comprises at least one bit corresponding to the update. (LEI, paragraph 78 teaches the information comprising bits of information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure the information comprises at least one bit corresponding to the update. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 27, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the network entity of claim 18, wherein obtaining the message is based at least in part on an expiration of a timer. (LEI, paragraph 91 teaches transmitting the message based on a triggering timer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure transmitting the message as based at least in part on an expiration of a timer. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 28, LEI in view CHINCHOLI teaches the network entity of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: output an indication of a periodicity associated with reporting updates pertaining to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE, wherein obtaining the message is in accordance with the periodicity. (LEI, Fig. 17, paragraph 120 teaches process 1700 for switching between different FDD modes according to a periodicity of the FDD modes. In some aspects, the process 1700 may be performed by any of the scheduling entities or UEs in FIGS. 1, 2, 7, 11, and/or 12. At block 1702, a UE can receive a periodicity of a first FDD mode and a second FDD mode in at least one of system information or a radio resource control message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to receive an indication of a periodicity associated with reporting updates pertaining to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE, wherein transmitting the message is in accordance with the periodicity. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 29, LEI teaches A method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising: communicating a signal using a first duplexing mode in accordance with a sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE; (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1206, paragraph 96, teach the UE 1204 communicating (i.e. a signal) using full duplex (FD) FDD (i.e. sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE).)
performing one or more measurements on the signal to obtain a channel impulse response associated with communicating the signal; (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1208, paragraph 96, teach the UE dynamically initiating FDD mode switching 1208, for example, to change the latency, power consumption, and/or performance of the UE (i.e. one or more measurements on the signal to obtain a response associated with communicating the signal).)
and transmitting a message comprising information indicative of an update pertaining to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE, (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1210, paragraph 96, teach the UE transmitting a FDD mode switching command (i.e. a message comprising information indicative of an update pertaining to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE).)
wherein the update is based at least in part on the channel impulse response and identifies a second duplexing mode for wireless communication by the UE. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1212, paragraph 97, teach the UE communicating using a second FDD mode (i.e. second duplexing mode) based at least on the response and identifying the second duplexing mode for wireless communication.)
LEI does not describe the response as a channel impulse.
CHINCHOLI in the same field of endeavor teaches a UE configured to perform channel impulse (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114, teach parameters measured by a UE include channel impulse response.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure a duplex mode based on a channel impulse. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Regarding claim 30, LEI teaches A method for wireless communication by a network entity, comprising: communicating a signal between the network entity and a user equipment (UE) in accordance with a first duplexing mode that is based at least in part on a sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE; (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1206, paragraph 96, teach gNB 1202 and UE 1204 communicating (i.e. a signal) using full duplex (FD) FDD (i.e. sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE).)
and obtaining a message comprising information indicative of an update pertaining to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE, (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1210, paragraph 96, teach the UE transmitting, the gNB, a FDD mode switching command (i.e. a message comprising information indicative of an update pertaining to the sub-band full-duplex capability of the UE).)
wherein the update is based at least in part on a channel impulse response associated with communicating the signal, (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1208, paragraph 96, teach the UE dynamically initiating FDD mode switching 1208, for example, to change the latency, power consumption, and/or performance of the UE (i.e. one or more measurements on the signal to obtain a response associated with communicating the signal).)
and wherein the update identifies a second duplexing mode for wireless communication by the UE. (LEI, Fig. 12, step 1212, paragraph 97, teach the UE communicating using a second FDD mode (i.e. second duplexing mode) based at least on the response and identifying the second duplexing mode for wireless communication.)
LEI does not describe the response as a channel impulse.
CHINCHOLI in the same field of endeavor teaches a UE configured to perform channel impulse (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114, teach parameters measured by a UE include channel impulse response.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings CHINCHOLI with the teachings of LEI to configure a duplex mode based on a channel impulse. The motivation would be to allow a UE to dynamically adapt thresholds based on measuring parameters related to channel condition (CHINCHOLI, paragraph 114).
Conclusion
/WALLI Z BUTT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2412