DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is in response to claims filed on 09/15/2023. Claims 1 – 20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 – 7 and 13 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 2 recites “the housing includes a step defined by the second opening having a smaller area than the first opening” in lines 4-5. This yields the claim indefinite, as one of ordinary skill in the art cannot ascertain the metes and bounds of the limitation.
It is unclear which component has a smaller area than the first opening.
Does the step have a smaller area than the first opening? Or, does the second opening have a smaller area than the first opening?
Because it is unclear which is the correct interpretation of the limitation, the claim is indefinite.
For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets the second opening to have a smaller area than the first opening.
Claims 3 – 7 are rejected for their dependency on Claim 2.
Claims 13 recites “the support member includes a step defined by the second opening having a smaller area than the first opening” in lines 4-5. This yields the claim indefinite, as one of ordinary skill in the art cannot ascertain the metes and bounds of the limitation.
It is unclear which component has a smaller area than the first opening.
Does the step have a smaller area than the first opening? Or, does the second opening have a smaller area than the first opening?
Because it is unclear which is the correct interpretation of the limitation, the claim is indefinite.
For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets the second opening to have a smaller area than the first opening.
Claims 14 – 18 are rejected for their dependency on Claim 13.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,194,055, listed on Applicant’s IDS dated 09/15/2023) in view of Choi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,389,007, listed on Applicant’s IDS dated 09/15/2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu shows (Figures 1 and 2):
An electronic device (100) comprising:
a housing (30, 40) configured to form a side surface (44) and an inner space (the inner space of 40 on the right side of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) of the electronic device (100);
wherein the housing (30, 40) includes:
an opening (442) located in (as illustrated in Figure 1) the side surface (44),
a receiving hole (46) configured to extend from (as illustrated in Figure 1) the opening (442) such that an external device (10) is accommodated in (as illustrated in Figure 2) the receiving hole (46), and
a through-hole (the hole formed between the innermost 45 and 44, as illustrated in Figure 1) configured to fluidly connect (as illustrated in Figure 1, fluid is able to flow from 442 into the inner space via the hole formed between the innermost 45 and 44) the receiving hole (442) and the inner space (the inner space of 40 on the right side of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1).
However, Liu lacks showing the electronic device comprises a ventilation member, wherein the ventilation member is disposed in the housing to cover the through-hole.
In the same field of endeavor of electronic devices, Choi teaches (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8):
It is known in the electronic device (100) art for the device (100) to comprise a ventilation member (252), wherein the ventilation member (252) is disposed in (as illustrated in Figure 8) a housing (housing of 100 including 210, 102, and 1025) to cover a through-hole (255, in which 252 and 241 are located).
Further, “recently, the gaps between the cases of the mobile terminal 100 having a waterproof structure may be sealed… A waterproof member 251 partitions off the space to the mobile terminal 100 into an inner portion and an outer portion such that it can be difficult to radiate the heat generated in the mobile terminal 100 outside. To solve the problem… Gas such as air can penetrate the air vent hole 255, while liquid cannot. A waterproof mesh 252 which allows only a gas unit particle to pass through may cover the air vent hole 255 such that water cannot pass through the air vent hole 255”, Col. 20, lines 32-46.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the electronic device shown by Liu to include a ventilation member disposed in the housing to cover the through-hole, as taught by Choi, to allow gas such as air to penetrate the air vent hole while liquid cannot. This effectively seals the electronic device in a waterproof manner while allowing heat generated in the electronic device to radiate outside.
Regarding Claim 2, Liu shows (Figures 1 and 2):
The housing (30, 40) and through-hole (the hole formed between the innermost 45 and 44, as illustrated in Figure 1).
However, Lui lacks showing the through-hole includes a first opening and a second opening fluidically connected with the first opening, and wherein the housing includes a step defined by the second opening having a smaller area than the first opening.
In the same field of endeavor of electronic devices, Choi further teaches (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8):
The through-hole (255, in which 252 and 241 are located) includes a first opening (the bottom portion of 255 in which 241 is located) and a second opening (the top portion of 255 which 252 covers, as illustrated in Figure 8) fluidically connected with (as illustrated in Figure 8) the first opening (the bottom portion of 255 in which 241 is located); and wherein
the housing (housing of 100 including 210, 102, and 1025) includes a step (the portion of 1025 that surrounds and defines 255, as illustrated in Figure 8) defined by the second opening (the top portion of 255 which 252 covers, as illustrated in Figure 8) having a smaller area (as illustrated in Figure 8, the top portion of 255 has a smaller area than the bottom portion of 255) than the first opening (the bottom portion of 255 in which 241 is located).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the through-hole and the housing shown by Liu such that the through-hole includes a first opening and a second opening fluidically connected with the first opening, wherein the second opening has a smaller diameter than the first opening, and the housing includes a step defined by the second opening, as taught by Choi, to provide a surface on which to mount the ventilation device, increasing the water tightness of the electronic device.
Regarding Claim 3, Choi teaches (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8):
The ventilation member (252) is seated on (as illustrated in Figure 8) the step (the portion of 1025 that surrounds and defines 255, as illustrated in Figure 8) and at least partially located in (as illustrated in Figure 8, 252 is seated on the step but located on the first opening side of the step; therefore, 252 is at least partially located in the bottom portion of 1025) the first opening (the bottom portion of 255 in which 241 is located).
Regarding Claim 4, Choi teaches (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8):
The ventilation member (252) has a polygonal shape (as evidenced in Figure 6B and Figure 8, 252 has a polygonal shape of four sides).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Liu (Figures 1 and 2) and Choi (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8) teaches:
The housing (Liu: 30, 40) includes a first surface (Lui: the right side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) configured to form (Liu: as illustrated in Figure 1, the right side surface of the innermost 45 defines the left boundary of the inner space) at least a portion of the inner space (Lui: the inner space of 40 on the right side of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) and a second surface (Lui: the left side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) configured to form (Liu: as illustrated in Figure 1, the left side surface of the innermost 45 defines the right boundary of 46) at least a portion of the receiving hole (Liu: 46), wherein
the through-hole (Liu: the hole formed between the innermost 45 and 44, as illustrated in Figure 1) extends from (Liu: as illustrated in Figure 1) the first surface (Lui: the right side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) to the second surface (Lui: the left side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1), and wherein
the ventilation member (Choi: 252) is disposed on (Choi: as illustrated in Figure 8, 252 is disposed on a side surface of the through-hole; accordingly, in combination, 252 is disposed on either the right side surface or the left side surface of Lui’s 45) the first surface (Lui: the right side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) or the second surface (Lui: the left side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) to cover (Liu: as illustrated in Figure 8) the through-hole (Liu: the hole formed between the innermost 45 and 44, as illustrated in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Liu shows (Figures 1 and 2):
The housing (30, 40) includes a support member (40) and a cover (30), wherein
the cover (30) is seated on (as illustrated in Figure 2) the support member (40) to form the inner space (the inner space of 40 on the right side of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) together with the support member (40), and wherein
the receiving hole (46) and the through-hole (the hole formed between the innermost 45 and 44, as illustrated in Figure 1) are formed in (as illustrated in Figure 1) the support member (40).
Regarding Claim 10, Choi teaches (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8):
The ventilation member (252) is configured to block moisture and pass air (“a waterproof mesh 252 which allows only a gas unit particle to pass through may cover the air vent hole 255 such that water cannot pass through the air vent hole 255”, Col. 20, lines 32-46).
Regarding Claim 11, Liu shows (Figures 1 and 2):
The external device (10) includes an electronic pen (as illustrated in Figure 1, 10 is a stylus/touch pen)
Regarding Claim 12, Liu shows (Figures 1 and 2):
A housing (30, 40) of an electronic device (100), the housing (40) comprising:
a support member (40);
a cover (30) disposed on (as illustrated in Figure 2) the support member (40);
wherein the support member (40) and the cover (30) form an inner space (the inner space of 40 on the right side of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1), wherein
the support member (40) includes:
an opening (442) located in (as illustrated in Figure 1) the side surface (44),
a receiving hole (46) in which an electronic pen (10) is accommodated (as illustrated in Figure 2); and
a through-hole (the hole formed between the innermost 45 and 44, as illustrated in Figure 1) configured to fluidly connect (as illustrated in Figure 1, fluid is able to flow from 442 into the inner space via the hole formed between the innermost 45 and 44) the receiving hole (442) and the inner space (the inner space of 40 on the right side of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1).
However, Liu lacks showing the electronic device comprises a ventilation member, wherein the ventilation member is disposed on the support member to cover the through-hole.
In the same field of endeavor of electronic devices, Choi teaches (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8):
It is known in the electronic device (100) art for the device (100) to comprise a support member (1025), a cover (102), and a ventilation member (252), wherein the ventilation member (252) is disposed on (as illustrated in Figure 8) the support member (1025) to cover (as illustrated in Figure 8) a through-hole (255, in which 252 and 241 are located).
Further, “recently, the gaps between the cases of the mobile terminal 100 having a waterproof structure may be sealed… A waterproof member 251 partitions off the space to the mobile terminal 100 into an inner portion and an outer portion such that it can be difficult to radiate the heat generated in the mobile terminal 100 outside. To solve the problem… Gas such as air can penetrate the air vent hole 255, while liquid cannot. A waterproof mesh 252 which allows only a gas unit particle to pass through may cover the air vent hole 255 such that water cannot pass through the air vent hole 255”, Col. 20, lines 32-46.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the housing of the electronic device shown by Liu to include a ventilation member disposed on the support member to cover the through-hole, as taught by Choi, to allow gas such as air to penetrate the air vent hole while liquid cannot. This effectively seals the electronic device in a waterproof manner while allowing heat generated in the electronic device to radiate outside.
Regarding Claim 13, Liu shows (Figures 1 and 2):
The support member (40) and through-hole (the hole formed between the innermost 45 and 44, as illustrated in Figure 1).
However, Lui lacks showing the through-hole includes a first opening and a second opening fluidically connected with the first opening, and wherein the housing includes a step defined by the second opening having a smaller area than the first opening.
In the same field of endeavor of electronic devices, Choi further teaches (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8):
The through-hole (255, in which 252 and 241 are located) includes a first opening (the bottom portion of 255 in which 241 is located) and a second opening (the top portion of 255 which 252 covers, as illustrated in Figure 8) fluidically connected with (as illustrated in Figure 8) the first opening (the bottom portion of 255 in which 241 is located); and wherein
the support member (1025) includes a step (the portion of 1025 that surrounds and defines 255, as illustrated in Figure 8) defined by the second opening (the top portion of 255 which 252 covers, as illustrated in Figure 8) having a smaller area (as illustrated in Figure 8, the top portion of 255 has a smaller area than the bottom portion of 255) than the first opening (the bottom portion of 255 in which 241 is located).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the through-hole and the support member shown by Liu such that the through-hole includes a first opening and a second opening fluidically connected with the first opening, wherein the second opening has a smaller diameter than the first opening, and the support member includes a step defined by the second opening, as taught by Choi, to provide a surface on which to mount the ventilation device, increasing the water tightness of the electronic device.
Regarding Claim 14, Choi teaches (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8):
The ventilation member (252) is seated on (as illustrated in Figure 8) the step (the portion of 1025 that surrounds and defines 255, as illustrated in Figure 8) and at least partially located in (as illustrated in Figure 8, 252 is seated on the step but located on the first opening side of the step; therefore, 252 is at least partially located in the bottom portion of 1025) the first opening (the bottom portion of 255 in which 241 is located).
Regarding Claim 15, Choi teaches (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8):
The ventilation member (252) has a polygonal shape (as evidenced in Figure 6B and Figure 8, 252 has a polygonal shape of four sides).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Liu (Figures 1 and 2) and Choi (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8) teaches:
The support member (Liu: 40) includes a first surface (Lui: the right side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) configured to form (Liu: as illustrated in Figure 1, the right side surface of the innermost 45 defines the left boundary of the inner space) at least a portion of the inner space (Lui: the inner space of 40 on the right side of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) and a second surface (Lui: the left side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) configured to form (Liu: as illustrated in Figure 1, the left side surface of the innermost 45 defines the right boundary of 46) at least a portion of the receiving hole (Liu: 46), wherein
the through-hole (Liu: the hole formed between the innermost 45 and 44, as illustrated in Figure 1) extends from (Liu: as illustrated in Figure 1) the first surface (Lui: the right side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) to the second surface (Lui: the left side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1), and wherein
the ventilation member (Choi: 252) is disposed on (Choi: as illustrated in Figure 8, 252 is disposed on a side surface of the through-hole; accordingly, in combination, 252 is disposed on either the right side surface or the left side surface of Lui’s 45) the first surface (Lui: the right side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) or the second surface (Lui: the left side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) to cover (Liu: as illustrated in Figure 8) the through-hole (Liu: the hole formed between the innermost 45 and 44, as illustrated in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 20, Choi teaches (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8):
The ventilation member (252) is configured to block moisture and pass air (“a waterproof mesh 252 which allows only a gas unit particle to pass through may cover the air vent hole 255 such that water cannot pass through the air vent hole 255”, Col. 20, lines 32-46).
Claims 5, 6, 7, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,194,055, listed on Applicant’s IDS dated 09/15/2023) and Choi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,389,007, listed on Applicant’s IDS dated 09/15/2023), as recited in Claims 3 and 14 above, further in view of Fukuda (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0114090, listed on Applicant’s IDS dated 09/15/2023).
Regarding Claims 5 and 16, the combination of Liu and Choi teaches the claimed invention except an adhesive member interposed between the step and the ventilation member, wherein a hole corresponding to the second opening is formed in the adhesive member.
The Examiner notes Choi is silent as to how the ventilation member is secured to the step. However, because Choi’s electronic device 100 is a waterproof device, it is inherent the ventilation member is secured to the step to seal the ventilation member to the step to prevent moisture from entering.
In the same field of endeavor of electronic devices, Fukuda teaches (Figures 6 and 7):
It is known in the electronic device (mobile device, title) art for an adhesive member (144) to be interposed between (as illustrated in Figures 6 and 7) the step (131b) and the ventilation member (140), wherein a hole (the hole corresponding to 137) corresponding to the second opening (137) is formed in (as illustrated in Figures 6 and 7) the adhesive member (144).
Further, “the air vent filter 140 having the above-described structure may be fixed to the other member by using the double-surface tape 144”, Paragraph 0044.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the securement of ventilation member to the step taught by the combination of Liu and Choi to use an adhesive member, as taught by Fukuda, by choosing a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. Fukuda teaches it is well known in the art to use an adhesive member to attach a ventilation member.
It is notes in combination, the hole formed in the adhesive member corresponds to Choi’s second opening, since Choi’s ventilation member is attached over the second opening.
Regarding Claims 6 and 17, the combination of Liu (Figures 1 and 2), Choi (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8), and Fukuda (Figures 6 and 7) teaches:
The first opening (Choi: the bottom portion of 255 in which 241 is located) is adjacent to (in combination, Choi’s first opening is either adjacent to Liu’s inner space or receiving hole, depending on how the first opening is oriented in Liu’s housing) the inner space (Liu: the inner space of 40 on the right side of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) or the receiving hole (Liu: 46), and wherein
the second opening (Choi: the top portion of 255 which 252 covers, as illustrated in Figure 8) is adjacent to (in combination, Choi’s second opening is either adjacent to Liu’s receiving hole or inner space, depending on how the first opening is oriented in Liu’s housing) the receiving hole (Liu: 46) or the inner space (Liu: the inner space of 40 on the right side of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Liu (Figures 1 and 2), Choi (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8), and Fukuda (Figures 6 and 7) teaches:
The housing (Liu: 30, 40) includes a first surface (Lui: the right side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) configured to form (Liu: as illustrated in Figure 1, the right side surface of the innermost 45 defines the left boundary of the inner space) at least a portion of the inner space (Lui: the inner space of 40 on the right side of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) and a second surface (Lui: the left side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) configured to form (Liu: as illustrated in Figure 1, the left side surface of the innermost 45 defines the right boundary of 46) at least a portion of the receiving hole (Liu: 46), wherein
the through-hole (Liu: the hole formed between the innermost 45 and 44, as illustrated in Figure 1) extends from (Liu: as illustrated in Figure 1) the first surface (Lui: the right side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) to the second surface (Lui: the left side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1), and wherein
the ventilation member (Choi: 252) located in (Choi: as illustrated in Figure 8, 252 is disposed on a side surface of the through-hole; accordingly, in combination, 252 is disposed on either the right side surface or the left side surface of Lui’s 45) the first opening (Choi: the bottom portion of 255 in which 241 is located) extends without a step (in combination, depending on the orientation of Choi’s first and second opening, the ventilation member extends along either Lui’s first surface or second surface) with the first surface (Liu: the right side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) or the second surface (Lui: the left side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) of the housing (Liu: 30, 40).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Liu (Figures 1 and 2), Choi (Figures 1A, 1B, 1C, and 8), and Fukuda (Figures 6 and 7) teaches:
The support member (Liu: 40) includes a first surface (Lui: the right side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) configured to form (Liu: as illustrated in Figure 1, the right side surface of the innermost 45 defines the left boundary of the inner space) at least a portion of the inner space (Lui: the inner space of 40 on the right side of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) and a second surface (Lui: the left side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) configured to form (Liu: as illustrated in Figure 1, the left side surface of the innermost 45 defines the right boundary of 46) at least a portion of the receiving hole (Liu: 46), wherein
the through-hole (Liu: the hole formed between the innermost 45 and 44, as illustrated in Figure 1) extends from (Liu: as illustrated in Figure 1) the first surface (Lui: the right side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) to the second surface (Lui: the left side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1), and wherein
the ventilation member (Choi: 252) located in (Choi: as illustrated in Figure 8, 252 is disposed on a side surface of the through-hole; accordingly, in combination, 252 is disposed on either the right side surface or the left side surface of Lui’s 45) the first opening (Choi: the bottom portion of 255 in which 241 is located) extends without a step (in combination, depending on the orientation of Choi’s first and second opening, the ventilation member extends along either Lui’s first surface or second surface) with the first surface (Liu: the right side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) or the second surface (Lui: the left side surface of the innermost 45, as illustrated in Figure 1) of the support member (Liu: 40).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided in the Notice of References Cited.
The following prior art teaches related electronic devices:
Jung et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0174827): see Figure 6
Lai et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2009/0237377): see Figures 3A and 3B
/DANA K TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3762